DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant in part argues the method of measuring the basal plane dislocations remarks page 3-4, This is not persuasive as the claims as written are not directed to a specific method of testing and/or manufacturing a device, but a device. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the method of measuring/detecting dislocations and/or the method of growing the epitaxial layers) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In addition it is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations, within the skill of the competent worker [See MPEP 716.07]
The applicant in part argues that the office action has not established that the SiC epitaxial wafer of Ishibashi would inherently satisfy the feature of (3a) “among basal plane dislocations, the number of first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1 pm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 20 or less” or (3b) “among basal plane dislocations, the number of first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1 pm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 20 or less” page 4 of remarks. The examiner agrees, however this is not persuasive as the examiner does not rely on inherency [MPEP 2112] to meet the claimed limitation, Instead the examiner relies on Routine optimization of the prior [See MPEP 2144.05] such that the limitations are met to reduce fatal defects, to reduce resistance stacking in faults, improve reliability, and/or lower forward deterioration [Disclosed paragraph 007 Ishibashi] wherein explicitly teaches there are “basal dislocation” [paragraph 0058]. Ishibashi Teaches both Basal plane dislocations and reasons to reduce and/or minimize the height and number of basal dislocations such that the limitations are met. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In addition it is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations, within the skill of the competent worker [See MPEP 716.07].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220149160 A1 Ishibashi et al hereafter “Ishibashi”.
Claim 1 Ishibashi teaches A SiC epitaxial wafer, comprising: a SiC wafer (10 fig. 2); and
a SiC epitaxial layer (20 fig. 2) on one surface of the SiC wafer,
wherein the SiC epitaxial layer has a buffer layer (21 fig. 2) and a drift layer (22 fig. 2),
wherein the buffer layer is disposed between the drift layer and the SiC wafer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 2], and has a higher impurity concentration than the drift layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0048 “a SiC epitaxial layer 20 includes a high concentration layer 21, which is a buffer layer, and a drift layer 22 that is provided on the buffer layer and has an average value of the doping concentration lower than an average value of the doping concentration of the buffer layer”],
basal plane dislocations, wherein there is a number of first basal plane dislocations in a thickness direction from an interface (10a fig. 2) between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0058 “the basal dislocations of the SiC single crystal substrate at an interface between the epitaxial layer and the SiC single crystal substrate, +carriers (holes) and −carriers (electrons) are recombined, and the basal plane dislocations expand to the epitaxial layer”].
the SiC epitaxial wafer has a diameter of 149 mm or more [disclosed with sufficient specificity paragraph 0051 “150 mm or more” see MPEP 2131.03 II.].
Ishibashi does not explicitly teach the number of the first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1µm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 20 or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as a part of routine optimization to reduce and/or minimize the size and number of basal plane dislocations such that “the number of the first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1µm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 20 or less” to reduce fatal defects and/or reduce resistance stacking in faults and/or improve reliability and/or lower forward deterioration [Disclosed Paragraph 0007 Ishibashi] [See MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 2 Ishibashi teaches A SiC epitaxial wafer, comprising:
a SiC wafer (10 fig. 2); and
a SiC epitaxial layer (20 fig. 2) on one surface of the SiC wafer,
wherein the SiC epitaxial layer has a buffer layer (21 fig. 2) and a drift layer (22 fig. 2),
wherein the buffer layer is disposed between the drift layer and the SiC wafer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 2], and has a higher impurity concentration than the drift layer [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0048 “a SiC epitaxial layer 20 includes a high concentration layer 21, which is a buffer layer, and a drift layer 22 that is provided on the buffer layer and has an average value of the doping concentration lower than an average value of the doping concentration of the buffer layer”],
basal plane dislocations, wherein there is a number of first basal plane dislocations in a thickness direction from an interface (10a fig. 2) between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0058 “the basal dislocations of the SiC single crystal substrate at an interface between the epitaxial layer and the SiC single crystal substrate, +carriers (holes) and −carriers (electrons) are recombined, and the basal plane dislocations expand to the epitaxial layer”].
the SiC epitaxial wafer has a diameter of 199 mm or more [disclosed with sufficient specificity paragraph 0051 “150 mm or more” see MPEP 2131.03 II.].
Ishibashi does not explicitly teach the number of the first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1lxm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 20 or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as a part of routine optimization to reduce the size and number of basal plane dislocations such that “the number of the first basal plane dislocations having a height of 1lxm or less in a thickness direction from an interface between the SiC wafer and the SiC epitaxial layer is 35 or less” to reduce fatal defects and/or reduce resistance stacking in faults and/or improve reliability and/or lower forward deterioration [Disclosed Paragraph 0007 Ishibashi] [See MPEP 2144.05 II]
Claim 5 Ishibashi teaches as shown above the SiC epitaxial wafer according to claim 1 wherein the buffer layer has an impurity concentration of 5.0x1017/cm3 or more [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0082 “5x1017/cm3 or more”].
Claim 6 Ishibashi teaches as shown above the SiC epitaxial wafer according to claim 2 wherein the buffer layer has an impurity concentration of 5.0x1017/cm3or more [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0082 “5x1017/cm3 or more”].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi as applied to the claims above, and further in view of US 20220170179 A1 Honke et al hereafter “Honke”.
Claim 3 modified Ishibashi teaches The SiC epitaxial wafer according to claim 1,
Ishibashi does not explicitly teach when a measurement region excluding an exclusion region within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC epitaxial layer is divided into 5 mm squares, the number of first basal plane dislocations is less than 3 in 98% or more of the entire
divided area
Honke teaches a measurement region (comprising at least a portion of 50 and/or 45 fig. 3) excluding an exclusion region ( comprising at least 51a, 51b, 51c, 51d and/or 41 fig. 3) within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3] is divided into 5 mm squares [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device Ishibashi teaches with the device Honke teaches such that “a measurement region excluding an exclusion region within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC epitaxial layer is divided into 5 mm squares” for the benefit of “An average value of LTVs of a plurality of first square regions of a plurality of square regions is less than or equal to 0.75 μm” and/or “to provide a largest number of square regions” [Honke Paragraph 0004] and/or combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06] wherein they both serve the purpose of SiC wafers and/or chips for semiconductor device manufacturing.
In view of the modification made above the limitation “the number of first basal plane dislocations is less than 3 in 98% or more of the entire divided area” is necessarily met as part of the routine optimization of the number of basal plane dislocation as shown in claim 1 for the same reasons as shown in claim 1.
Claim 4 Ishibashi teaches as shown above the SiC epitaxial wafer according to claim 2.
Ishibashi does not explicitly teach when a measurement region excluding an exclusion region within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC epitaxial layer is divided into 5 mm squares, the number of first basal plane dislocations is less than 3 in 98% or more of the entire
divided area
Honke teaches a measurement region (comprising at least a portion of 50 and/or 45 fig. 3) excluding an exclusion region ( comprising at least 51a, 51b, 51c, 51d and/or 41 fig. 3) within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC layer [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3] is divided into 5 mm squares [sufficiently illustrated fig. 3] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device Ishibashi teaches with the device Honke teaches such that “a measurement region excluding an exclusion region within 5 mm from the outer circumference of the SiC epitaxial layer is divided into 5 mm squares” for the benefit of “An average value of LTVs of a plurality of first square regions of a plurality of square regions is less than or equal to 0.75 μm” and/or “to provide a largest number of square regions” [Honke Paragraph 0004] and/or combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06] wherein they both serve the purpose of SiC wafers and/or chips for semiconductor device manufacturing.
In view of the modification made above the limitation “the number of first basal plane dislocations is less than 3 in 98% or more of the entire divided area” is necessarily met as part of the routine optimization of the number of basal plane dislocation as shown in claim 1 for the same reasons as shown in claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893