DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 is acknowledged in the is acknowledged. Claims 9 - 14 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected invention.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 9, 16, 21 “at least one top surface” should be changed to “at least one bottom surface” because for example, fig. 1G of Applicant shows at least one top surface 141a relatively away from the at least one functional component 120. However, the surface 141a appears to be a bottom surface of the spacer 133. In order for further examination, “at least one top surface” will be assumed as “at least one bottom surface”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by KIM (2022/0359358).
With regard to claim 1, KIM discloses a package substrate (for example, see fig. 2), comprising:
a core layer (400), having a first surface (400a) and a second surface (400b) opposite each other, and at least one opening (400T) and a plurality of conductive through vias (415) connecting the first surface (400a) and the second surface (400b);
at least one functional component (340), disposed in the at least one opening (400T) of the core layer (400), wherein the at least one opening (400T) exposes at least one action surface (a top surface) of the at least one functional component (340);
at least one spacer (referred to as “420A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below; wherein the spacer 420A including conductive layers 350, an adhesive layer 450), disposed on the at least one functional component (340) and having at least one top surface (referred to as “350A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below; wherein the surface 350A to be the top surface when the package of the device as shown in fig. 2 is flipped over) relatively away from the at least one functional component (340);
a filler (460), filled in the at least one opening (400T) and having a third surface (referred to as “460A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below) and a fourth surface (referred to as “460A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below) opposite each other,
wherein the filler (460) covers the at least one functional component (340) and the at least one spacer (420A) and completely fills a gap (referred to as “G” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below) between the at least one opening (400T), the at least one functional component (340), and the at least one spacer (420A),
the third surface (460A1) exposes the at least one action surface (the top surface) of the at least one functional component (340), and the fourth surface (460A2) exposes the at least one top surface (350A) of the at least one spacer (420A);
a first build-up structure (200), disposed on the first surface (400a) of the core layer (400) and the third surface (460A1) of the filler (460) and electrically connected to the at least one functional component (340) and the conductive through vias (415); and
a second build-up structure (250), disposed on the second surface of the core layer (400) and the fourth surface (460A2) of the filler (460), contacting the at least one top surface (350A) of the at least one spacer (420A), and electrically connected to the conductive through vias (415).
With regard to claim 2, KIM discloses there is a first height difference between the third surface (460A1) of the filler (460) and the first surface (the bottom portion surface of the conductive portion 342) of the core layer (400), and there is a second height difference between the fourth surface (460A2) of the filler (460) and the second surface (the bottom portion surface of the conductive portion 352) of the core layer (400).
With regard to claim 3, KIM discloses an orthographic projection of the at least one spacer (420A) on (on the bottom surface) the at least one functional component (340) is smaller than the at least one functional component (340).
With regard to claim 4, KIM discloses wherein when viewed in cross section, a shape of the at least one spacer (420A) comprises a rectangle.
With regard to claim 7, KIM discloses the at least one spacer (420A) comprises at least one thermal interface material (conductive connection layer 350 functions as comprises at least one thermal interface material).
With regard to claim 8, KIM discloses wherein the at least one spacer (referred to as “420A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below; wherein the spacer 420A including conductive layers 350, adhesive layer 450) comprises at least one first spacer (450) and at least one second spacer (350), and the at least one first spacer (450) is located between the at least one functional component (340) and the at least one second spacer (350).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (2022/0359358) in view of KURAMOCHI (2025/0149527).
With regard to claim 5, KIM does not clearly disclose the core layer has a first thickness, the at least one functional component has at least one second thickness, and a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 100 microns.
However, KURAMOCHI discloses the core layer (22) has a first thickness, the at least one functional component (32) has at least one second thickness, and a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 100 microns. (a thickness of the core layer 22 is 2.0 mm = 2000 micrometer. The thickness of the at least one functional component 32 appears is a half thickness of the core layer 22, and to be about 1.0 mm = 1000 micrometer. Therefore, a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 1000 microns). However, since the patent drawings are not labeled as “to scale,” one cannot be certain that the thickness of the at least one functional component 32 appears is a half thickness of the core layer 22, and to be about 1.0 mm = 1000 micrometer as seemingly shown [see MPEP 2125]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 1000 microns, because Fig. 2 suggests a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 1000 microns and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where device dimensions of the prior art are such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same performance {MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the KIM’s device to have the core layer has a first thickness, the at least one functional component has at least one second thickness, and a difference between the first thickness and the at least one second thickness is at least more than 100 microns as taught by KURAMOCHI in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (2022/0359358) in view of Nickerson et al. (11705383).
With regard to claim 6, KIM does not clearly disclose the at least one functional component is separated from an inner wall of the at least one opening by at least one spacing, and the at least one spacing is at least more than 20 microns.
However, KURAMOCHI discloses the at least one functional component (134) is separated from an inner wall (referred to as “141A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 2 below) of the at least one opening (141) by at least one spacing (D), and the at least one spacing (D) is at least more than 500 microns (for example, column 4, lines 60, 61, figs. 1, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the KIM’s device to have the at least one functional component is separated from an inner wall of the at least one opening by at least one spacing, and the at least one spacing is 500 microns as taught by Nickerson et al. in order to minimize the signal interference and secure a high electrical connection efficiency for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812