DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-20, in the reply filed on 21 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 9 and 17: energy-saving trigger analyzing unit which has been interpreted as a circuit, a chip, a circuit board or a storage device, any of which stores program codes, and equivalents thereof, as set forth in the specification at para. 20.
Claim 9 and 17: energy-saving control unit has been interpreted as a circuit, a chip, a circuit board or a storage device, any of which stores program codes, and equivalents thereof, as set forth in the specification at para. 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a plurality of manufacturing parameters” without relating the same to the previously recited “at least one manufacturing parameter”. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to also include language stating the at least one manufacturing parameter is a plurality of manufacturing parameters and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0171919 to Shinohara et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0095537 to Takahashi et al.
Regarding claim 9: Shinohara et al. disclose a control assembly for controlling at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: an energy-saving trigger analyzing unit (6), used for generating an energy adjusting signal according to the at least one manufacturing parameter of a semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus; and an energy-saving control unit (e.g. Fig. 7, vacuum pump apparatus controller [not numbered], exhaust gas treatment apparatus controller [not numbered, and diluent N2 controller unit [not numbered]), used for generating an auxiliary apparatus controlling signal according to the energy adjusting signal, and used for controlling the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus according to the auxiliary apparatus controlling signal.
However, while Shinohara et al. do disclose a controller and a control units as the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and the energy-saving control unit respectively, Shinohara et al. fail to explicitly disclose the structure of the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and/or the energy-saving control unit as a circuit, a chip, a circuit board or a storage device, any of which stores program codes and equivalents thereof.
Takahashi et al. disclose a manufacturing system having a control assembly having a controller or control unit as a microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage connected thereto for the purpose of executing a process according to a programming in the storage, whereby the manufacturing system performs a desired process under control of the microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage (see, e.g., paras. 41 and 42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the controller and control unit representing the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and the energy-saving control unit as a microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage connected thereto in Shinohara et al. in order perform the disclosed processes as taught by Takahashi et al.
With respect to claim 10, in Shinohara et al., the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit is used for generating a process determination result based on whether one manufacturing parameter of the at least one manufacturing parameter meets a process determination condition (amount of powder build-up), and used for generating the energy adjusting signal according to the process determination result.
With respect to claim 11, in Shinohara et al., with repeated use, the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit is used for generating a process determination result based on whether a plurality of manufacturing parameters of the at least one manufacturing parameters meet any process determination conditions, and used for generating the energy adjusting signal according to the process determination result.
With respect to claim 12, in Shinohara et al., the at least one manufacturing parameter includes an energy setting value, a temperature setting value, a pressure setting value (as measured by 28), or a gas valve position.
With respect to claim 13, in Shinohara et al., the semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus may be used to perform semiconductor manufacturing processes on wafers, wherein the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus is connected to the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus to provide a processing environment for the semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus (see, e.g., abstract).
With respect to claim 14, in Shinohara et al., the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus includes a plurality of semiconductor auxiliary apparatus (vacuum pump apparatus 3, exhaust gas treatment apparatus 5, and diluent N2 unit 4), and the energy-saving control unit is used for performing different controls on the plurality of semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus according to the auxiliary apparatus controlling signal. See, e.g., Fig. 7 and accompany text.
With respect to claim 15, in Shinohara et al., the semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus is a lithography apparatus, an etching apparatus, a thin film deposition apparatus or a diffusion apparatus. See, e.g., paragraph 2.
With respect to claim 16, in Shinohara et al., the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus is a pump (3) or a scrubber (5).
Regarding claim 17, Shinohara et al. disclose a manufacturing system substantially as claimed and comprising: a semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus (Figs. 1-5 and 7, 1), having at least one manufacturing parameter (pressure as measured by sensor 28); at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus (e.g. 3, 4 and 5); and a control assembly (see, e.g., Figs. 7), including: an energy-saving trigger analyzing unit (6), used for generating an energy adjusting signal according to the at least one manufacturing parameter of a semiconductor manufacturing process apparatus; and an energy-saving control unit (e.g. Fig. 7, vacuum pump apparatus controller [not numbered], exhaust gas treatment apparatus controller [not numbered, and diluent N2 controller unit [not numbered]), used for generating an auxiliary apparatus controlling signal according to the energy adjusting signal, and used for controlling the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus according to the auxiliary apparatus controlling signal.
However, while Shinohara et al. do disclose a controller and a control unit as the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and the energy-saving control unit respectively, Shinohara et al. fail to explicitly disclose the structure of the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and/or the energy-saving control unit as a circuit, a chip, a circuit board or a storage device, any of which stores program codes and equivalents thereof.
Takahashi et al. disclose a manufacturing system having a control assembly having a controller or control unit as a microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage connected thereto for the purpose of executing a process according to a programming in the storage, whereby the manufacturing system performs a desired process under control of the microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage (see, e.g., paras. 41 and 42).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the controller and control unit representing the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit and the energy-saving control unit as a microprocessor (a computer) including a CPU and storage connected thereto in Shinohara et al. in order perform the disclosed processes as taught by Takahashi et al.
With respect to claim 18, in Shinohara et al., the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit is used for generating a process determination result based on whether one manufacturing parameter of the at least one manufacturing parameter meets a process determination condition (amount of powder build-up), and used for generating the energy adjusting signal according to the process determination result.
With respect to claim 19, in Shinohara et al., with repeated use, the energy-saving trigger analyzing unit is used for generating a process determination result based on whether a plurality of manufacturing parameters of the at least one manufacturing parameters meet any process determination condition of a plurality of process determination conditions, and used for generating the energy adjusting signal according to the process determination result.
With respect to claim 20, in Shinohara et al., the at least one semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus includes a plurality of semiconductor auxiliary apparatus (vacuum pump apparatus 3, exhaust gas treatment apparatus 5, and diluent N2 unit 4), and the energy-saving control unit is used for performing different controls on the plurality of semiconductor process auxiliary apparatus according to the auxiliary apparatus controlling signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 101314187, KR 102053931, USP Pub. 2003/0158705, and USP Pub. 2004/0143418 disclose manufacturing systems including a control assembly for an auxiliary apparatus thereof.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716