DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 8, 10 – 12, 14 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMANO (20160204126).
With regard to claim 1, AMANO discloses a support bracing structure (referred to as “A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below; wherein the structure A1 including top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9, and two connection portions 72D, 72L. The structure A1 is the same that Applicant for providing structural support to stabilize the device, so the structure A1 functioning as a support bracing structure), comprising:
a first bracing layer (the top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9 for providing structural support to stabilize the device, functioning as a first bracing layer) comprising:
two connection portions (72D, 72L) respectively positioned on top surfaces (upper surfaces) of two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L); and
a frame portion (the top interconnections L2 functioning as a frame portion) bridging the two connection portions (72D, 72L); and
a protection layer (referred to as “9A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) comprising: a first portion (referred to as “9A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) positioned on (on bottom surface) and conforming to an inner surface (referred to as “L2A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the frame portion (L2) and positioned between the two connection portions (72D, 72L);
wherein the inner surface (L2A1) of the frame portion (L2) is normal (forming on or above functioning as being normal) to the top surfaces (the upper surfaces) of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L).
With regard to claim 3, AMANO discloses a bottom surface (referred to as “9A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A) and a bottom surface (referred to as “L2A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the frame portion are substantially coplanar (it also cannot be coplanar).
With regard to claim 4, AMANO discloses the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A) is positioned between and in contact (indirectly or directly) with outer surfaces (lateral surfaces) of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L), which are oriented perpendicular to the top surfaces of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L).
With regard to claim 5, AMANO discloses the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L) respectively comprises: a bottom portion (referred to as “71D1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) oriented perpendicular to the inner surface (L2A1) of the frame portion (L2); and a sidewall portion (referred to as “71D2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) extending normally and upwardly from a border (a bottom surface of the electrode 71D functioning as a border) of the bottom portion (71D); wherein the first bracing layer (the top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9, functioning as the first bracing layer) is positioned on the sidewall portion (71D2).
With regard to claim 6, AMANO discloses a top surface of the sidewall portion comprises an exposed segment (referred to as “S2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below; wherein the exposed segment is exposed from the insulating layer 6) and an intact segment (referred to as “S1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), and the first bracing layer is partially positioned on the exposed segment (S2).
With regard to claim 7, AMANO discloses the sidewall portion (71D2) comprises a circular cross-sectional profile (a circular Via of 71D2 having a circular cross-sectional profile) in a top-view perspective.
With regard to claim 8, AMANO discloses a second portion (referred to as “9A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the protection layer (9A) positioned on and conforming to an outer surface of the sidewall portion (71D2) and connecting to the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A), wherein the outer surface of the sidewall portion (71D2) is oriented perpendicular to the bottom portion (71D1).
With regard to claim 10, AMANO discloses a semiconductor device (for example, see fig. 4), comprising:
a substrate (2);
at least two bottom electrodes (71D, 71L) positioned over the substrate (2) and adjacent to each other; and
a support bracing structure (referred to as “A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below; wherein the structure A1 including top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9, and two connection portions 72D, 72L. The structure A1 is the same that Applicant for providing structural support to stabilize the device, so the structure A1 functioning as a support bracing structure) bridging the at least two bottom electrodes (71D, 71L), wherein the support bracing structure (A1) comprises:
a first bracing layer (the top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9 for providing structural support to stabilize the device, functioning as a first bracing layer) positioned on both top surfaces of the at least two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L).
With regard to claim 11, AMANO discloses the first bracing layer (the top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9 for providing structural support to stabilize the device, functioning as a first bracing layer) comprises: two connection portions (72D, 72L) respectively positioned on top surfaces of the at least two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L); and a frame portion (the top interconnections L2 functioning as a frame portion) bridging the two connection portions (72D, 72L).
With regard to claim 12, AMANO discloses the support bracing structure (A1) comprises a protection layer (referred to as “9A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) comprising a first portion (referred to as “9A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) positioned on and conforming to an inner surface (referred to as “L2A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the frame portion (L2) and positioned between the two connection portions (72D, 72L), and the inner surface (L2A1) of the frame portion (L2) is normal (forming on or above functioning as being normal) to the top surfaces of the at least two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L).
With regard to claim 14, AMANO discloses a bottom surface (referred to as “9A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A) and a bottom surface (referred to as “L2A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the frame portion are substantially coplanar (it also cannot be coplanar).
With regard to claim 15, AMANO discloses the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A) is positioned between and in contact (indirectly or directly) with outer surfaces (lateral surfaces) of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L), which are oriented perpendicular to the top surfaces of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L).
With regard to claim 16, AMANO discloses the two adjacent bottom electrodes (71D, 71L) respectively comprises: a bottom portion (referred to as “71D1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) oriented perpendicular to the inner surface (L2A1) of the frame portion (L2); and a sidewall portion (referred to as “71D2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) extending normally and upwardly from a border (a bottom surface of the electrode 71D functioning as a border) of the bottom portion (71D); wherein the first bracing layer (the top interconnections L2, having lateral portions connecting to bottom electrodes 71D, 71L through an interlayer 9, functioning as the first bracing layer) is positioned on the sidewall portion (71D2).
With regard to claim 17, AMANO discloses a top surface of the sidewall portion comprises an exposed segment (referred to as “S2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below; wherein the exposed segment is exposed from the insulating layer 6) and an intact segment (referred to as “S1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below), and the first bracing layer is partially positioned on the exposed segment (S2).
With regard to claim 18, AMANO discloses the sidewall portion (71D2) comprises a circular cross-sectional profile (a circular Via of 71D2 having a circular cross-sectional profile) in a top-view perspective.
With regard to claim 19, AMANO discloses the protection layer (9A) comprising a second portion (referred to as “9A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4 below) of the protection layer (9A) positioned on and conforming to an outer surface of the sidewall portion (71D2) and connecting to the first portion (9A1) of the protection layer (9A), wherein the outer surface of the sidewall portion (71D2) is oriented perpendicular to the bottom portion (71D1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMANO (20160204126) in view of Fujita (8581414).
With regard to claims 2, 13, AMANO does not clearly disclose a bottom surface of the frame portion is lower than the top surfaces of the two adjacent bottom electrodes.
However, Fujita discloses a bottom surface of the frame portion (110) is lower than the top surfaces of the two adjacent bottom electrodes (4b). (for example, see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the AMANO’s device to have a bottom surface of the frame portion is lower than the top surfaces of the two adjacent bottom electrodes as taught by Fujita in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 9, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as a second bracing layer positioned on and conforming to an outer surface of the second portion of the protection layer, and connecting to the first bracing layer, wherein the outer surface of the second portion of the protection layer is oriented parallel to the outer surface of the sidewall portion as recited in claim 9.
Claim 20 is allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as the support bracing structure comprises a second bracing layer positioned on and conforming to an outer surface of the second portion of the protection layer, and connecting to the first bracing layer, and the outer surface of the second portion of the protection layer is oriented parallel to the outer surface of the sidewall portion as recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812