DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18395879 application filed December 26, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on November 17, 2025. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s withdrawal of claim 19 acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on November 17, 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Species 1a and 2a in the reply filed on November 17, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the term “tunsten halide” appears to contain a typographical error. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that this term is “tungsten halide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “(t)he etching method according to claim 2, wherein (b) is performed between (c) and (d)”. However, claim 2 recites “(t)he etching method according to claim 1, wherein… the etching method further comprises (d) after (c)”, and claim 1 recites “(c) after (b)”. One of skill in the art would not be clear how to perform (c) after (b), (d) after (c), and (b) between (c) and (d). For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that (b) is performed before (c) and (d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Veber et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20230298896), hereinafter “Veber”.
--Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7: Veber teaches a method of etching (Fig. 2 and 4), comprising(i) forming a mask layer 106 having an opening over a layer to be etched 103 ([0025]), wherein layer 103 may comprise a plurality of layers, such as SiO2, SiN, SiON, SiOC, SiCN, etc. ([0031]). (ii) partially etching the layer 103 through the opening ([0049]), such as by using a plasma comprising fluorocarbon and/or hydrogen ([0052]);(iii) depositing a protective layer on the sidewall of the opening ([0057-0060]), wherein the protective layer may comprise W or Mo ([0061]) and may be formed by using a first plasma of a metal-containing gas, such as WF6 or MoF6, and a reducing agent, such as CH4 ([0064-0070]);(iv) etching the layer 103 by using a second plasma ([0080-0081]), and wherein an etchant chemistry of the second plasma may be different than an etchant chemistry of the first plasma ([0084]).(v) repeating steps (iii) and (iv) a plurality of times (Step 440 in Fig. 4).--Claim 9: It is noted that CH4 is a hydrocarbon gas--Claim 10: Veber further teaches that the second plasma may be generated from a fluorocarbon and a hydrogen-containing reactant ([0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Veber:--Claim 8: Veber teaches the invention as in claim 5 above. Veber further teaches that the first plasma may further comprise an inert gas and a fluorine-containing gas ([0069-0070]), and that the flow of the metal-containing gas may be about 0.1-20 sccm, the flow of the reducing gas may be about 10-500 sccm, the flow of the inert gas may be about 0-500 sccm, and the flow of the fluorine-containing gas may be about 0-500 sccm ([0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to flow the metal-containing gas at 10 vol.% or less than the total gas flow.--Claim 12: Veber teaches the invention as in claim 1 above. Veber further teaches that layer 103 comprising a silicon oxide layer sandwiched between two silicon nitride layers ([0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the layer 103 comprising a top silicon nitride layer, a middle silicon oxide layer, then a bottom silicon nitride layer.
Claims 2-3, 11 and 13-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veber as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lian et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20230268235), hereinafter “Lian”:--Claims 2, 3: Veber teaches the invention, wherein an etching is performed to etch layer 103 comprising a plurality of different sub-layers, such as SiO2, SiN, SiON, SiOC, SiCN, etc., as shown above. Veber further teaches that layer 103 may comprise a silicon oxide layer sandwiched between two silicon nitride layers, or alternating layers of silicon oxide and silicon nitride ([0031]), that the second plasma may continue etching through the one or more layers of materials in step (iv), and that the etch may be selective to the one or more layers of materials and nonselective to the mask layer and the protective film ([0081]). Veber does not teach the claimed feature of etching a first sub-layer in the layer 103 by using a second plasma then etching a second sub-layer in the layer 103 by using a third plasma different than the second plasma. Lian, also directed to a method of etching a layer from a stack comprising different layers (Fig. 3A-B), teaches that the layer may be selectively etched by stopping the etching when an endpoint signal is detected that indicates the etching has exposed an underlying layer ([0004-0006, 0013-0014, 0024-0034, 0037-0040]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to (a) selectively etch a silicon nitride layer by using the second plasma wherein (b) the etching stops as soon as the silicon oxide layer is exposed, then (c) repeating the depositing a protective layer on the sidewall, then (d) selectively etch the silicon oxide layer by using a third plasma different than the second plasma because Veber teaches that the layer 103 may comprise a silicon oxide layer sandwiched between two silicon nitride layers, that the second plasma may etch one layer of material in step (iv), that the etching may be selective to the one layer of materials and nonselective to the mask layer and the protective film; and Lian teaches that a layer may be selectively etched with respect to an underlying layer by stopping the etching when an endpoint signal is detected that indicates the etching has exposed an underlying layer.--Claims 15, 16, 17, 18: Likewise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to etch the layer 103 comprising a plurality of different layers, such as alternating layers of silicon oxide and silicon nitride, by repeating the steps (a)-(d) above.--Claim 11: Since the second plasma is different than the third plasma, and since Veber teaches that the second plasma comprises a hydrogen-containing reactant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a third plasma that does not contain a hydrogen-containing reactant in the invention of Veber modified by Lian.--Claim 13: Veber further teaches that layer 103 comprising a silicon oxide layer sandwiched between two silicon nitride layers ([0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to form the layer 103 comprising a top silicon nitride layer, a middle silicon oxide layer, then a bottom silicon nitride layer.--Claim 14: Veber further teaches that each etching cycle may remove one layer or 10-2,000 nm ([0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to perform the etching on a layer 103 that comprises a silicon oxide layer sandwiched between two silicon nitride layers, or alternating layers of silicon oxide and silicon nitride, wherein each layer has a thickness of 10- 2,000 nm in the invention of Veber. It is noted that this overlaps the claimed range of 100 nm or more.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713