DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested:
“Display apparatus with Biased Pattern Layers in a Pixel Connection Area”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qin (US 20230189627).
Regarding claim 1. Fig 1 (plan view) and Fig 14 (a lateral portion view of Fig 1) of Qin disclose A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 101 comprising a first pixel area (Fig 1: the left top pixel of the pixels array) and a second pixel (Fig 1: the right top pixel of the pixels array) area spaced from each other, and
a first connection area (Fig 1, [0051]: ‘Q’ is bridge/connection region disposed adjacent pixel areas) between the first pixel area and the second pixel area;
a 1-1st electrode 401 in the first pixel area (Fig 14);
a 1-2nd electrode 401 in the second pixel area (Fig 14);
a second electrode 403 (Fig 14) above the 1-1st electrode and the 1-2nd electrode, and extending in the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area (Fig 14: 403 is common cathode extending continuously across the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area);
a pattern layer 502 above the second electrode in the first connection area (Fig 14), and biased from a center portion of the first connection area toward the first pixel area or the second pixel area, in plan view (Fig 1/Fig 14: the pattern layer formed in an asymmetrically positioned sub-region ‘H’ of the bridge portion ‘Q’, such that the pattern layer is biased from a center portion of the first connection area toward one of the adjacent pixel areas); and
an encapsulation layer 503 covering the pattern layer, and extending in the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area (Fig 14: 503 covering the pattern layer and extending across the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area).
Regarding claim 2. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a capping layer 501 in the first pixel area and the second pixel area (Fig 1/Fig 14).
Regarding claim 3. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the pattern layer is spaced from the capping layer in plan view (because the pixel area and the connection area Q are physically separate regions on the substrate, the 501 formed in the connection area is spatially separated in plan view from the 502 formed in the pixel areas).
Regarding claim 4. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the capping layer is above a portion of the second electrode in the first pixel area and the second pixel area (Fig 1/Fig 14), and
wherein the pattern layer is above another portion of the second electrode in the first connection area (Fig 1/Fig 14: the pattern layer 502 is disposed above another portion of the same second electrode 403 in the connection area Q).
Regarding claim 6. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 1 (refer to the attached annotated Fig 1 for each area), wherein the first connection area comprises a first area (A1) comprising the center portion, a second area (A2-1/A2-2) contacting the first pixel area or the second pixel area (Fig 1), and a third area (A3-1/A3-2) between the first area and the second area, and
wherein the pattern layer is in the third area (Fig 1/Fig 14; the pattern layer 502 extending from the pixel 1 to the pixel 2 via Q. Thus, inherently is in the third area as well).
Regarding claim 7. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 6 (refer to the attached annotated Fig 1 for each area, show in the claim 6), wherein the second area comprises a 2-1st area (A2-1) contacting the first pixel area (via Q), and a 2-2nd area (A2-2) contacting the second pixel area (via Q),
wherein the third area comprises a 3-1st area (A3-1) between the first area and the 2-1st area, and a 3-2nd area (A3-2) between the first area and the 2-2nd area, and
wherein the pattern layer comprises a first pattern layer in the 3-1st area, and a second pattern layer in the 3-2nd area (Fig 1/Fig 14: each portion of 502 in each area).
Regarding claim 8. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein an adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer 503 and the pattern layer 502 is different from an adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer 503 and the second electrode 403 (Fig 14: 503 is directly contacting the 502 while the 503 is indirectly contacting 403. Thus, each adhesive strength is inherently different).
Regarding claim 10. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a first intermediate layer 402 (Fig 14: in pixel 1) between the 1-1st electrode and the second electrode; and
a second intermediate layer 402 (Fig 14: in pixel 2) between the 1-2nd electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 11. Fig 1 (plan view) and Fig 14 (a lateral portion view of Fig 1) of Qin disclose A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 101 comprising a first pixel area (Fig 1: the left top pixel of the pixels array) and a second pixel area (Fig 1: the right top pixel of the pixels array) spaced from each other in a first direction (Fig 1: horizontal direction), and a first connection area (Fig 1, [0051]: ‘Q’ is bridge/connection region disposed adjacent pixel areas) extending in the first direction between the first pixel area and the second pixel area (Fig 1);
a 1-1st electrode 401 in the first pixel area (Fig 14);
a 1-2nd electrode 401 in the second pixel area (Fig 14);
a second electrode 403 (Fig 14) above the 1-1st electrode and the 1-1st electrode, and extending in the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area (Fig 14: 403 is common cathode extending continuously across the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area);
sub-pattern layers (Qin discloses multiple patterned layers disposed above the second electrode in the connection area and spaced apart along the direction between the pixel areas (see, e.g., Qin, patterned structures in the connection area) spaced from each other in the first direction above the second electrode in the first connection area (Fig 14), biased from a center portion of the first connection area toward the first pixel area or the second pixel area in plan view (Fig 1/Fig 14: the pattern layer formed in an asymmetrically positioned sub-region ‘H’ of the bridge portion ‘Q’, such that the pattern layer is biased from a center portion of the first connection area toward one of the adjacent pixel areas), and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (Qin discloses that the patterned layers extended laterally across the connection area in a direction crossing the direction between the pixel area (see, e.g., Qin plan-view and cross-sectional figures showing elongation of the patterns) and
an encapsulation layer 503 covering the sub-pattern layers, and extending in the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area (Fig 14: 503 covering the pattern layer and extending across the first pixel area, the second pixel area, and the first connection area).
Regarding claim 12. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a capping layer 501 in the first pixel area and the second pixel area (Fig 1/Fig 14).
Regarding claim 13. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the sub-pattern layers are spaced from the capping layer in plan view (because the pixel area and the connection area Q are physically separate regions on the substrate, the 501 formed in the connection area is spatially separated in plan view from the 502 formed in the pixel areas).
Regarding claim 14. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the capping layer is above a portion of the second electrode in the first pixel area and the second pixel area (Fig 14), and
wherein the sub-pattern layers are above another portion of the second electrode in the first connection area (Fig 14: Qin discloses patterned layers above the second electrode in the connection area, separate from the pixel regions).
Regarding claim 16. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 11 (refer to the attached annotated Fig 1 for each area), wherein the first connection area comprises a first area (A1) comprising the center portion, a second area (A2-1/A2-2) contacting the first pixel area or the second pixel area (Fig 1), and a third area (A3-1/A3-2) between the first area and the second area, and
wherein the sub-pattern layers are in the third area (Fig 1/Fig 14; the pattern layers extending from the pixel 1 to the pixel 2 via Q. Thus, inherently is in the third area as well).
Regarding claim 17. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 16 (refer to the attached annotated Fig 1 for each area, show in the claim 16), wherein the second area comprises a 2-1st area (A2-1) contacting the first pixel area (via Q), and a 2-2nd area (A2-2) contacting the second pixel area (via Q),
wherein the third area comprises a 3-1st area (A3-1) between the first area and the 2-1st area, and a 3-2nd area (A3-2) between the first area and the 2-2nd area, and
wherein some of the sub-pattern layers are in the 3-1st area, and others of the sub-pattern layers are in the 3-2nd area (Fig 1/Fig 14: each portion of sub-pattern layers in each area).
Regarding claim 18. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 11, wherein an adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the sub-pattern layers is different from an adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the second electrode (Fig 14: 503 is directly contacting the 502 while the 503 is indirectly contacting 403. Thus, each adhesive strength is inherently different).
Regarding claim 20. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 11, further comprising:
a first intermediate layer 402 (Fig 14: in pixel 1) between the 1-1st electrode and the second electrode; and
a second intermediate layer 402 (Fig 14: in pixel 2) between the 1-2nd electrode and the second electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US 20230189627) in view of Li (US 20240172528).
Regarding claim 5. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 2 except wherein the pattern layer comprises a same material as the capping layer.
However, Fig 30 of Li discloses the pattern layer 104 comprises a same material as the capping layer 106 [0105].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Qin’s device to have the Li’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced encapsulation reliability and simplify the layer structure, which are well-recognized design considerations in the art of display devices. Using the same material for the pattern layer and the capping layer reduces material interfaces, thereby improving barrier performance against moisture and oxygen. Such substitution represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established function.
Regarding claim 15. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 1 except wherein the sub-pattern layers comprise a same material as the capping layer.
However, Fig 30 of Li discloses the pattern layer 104 comprises a same material as the capping layer 106 [0105].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Qin’s device to have the Li’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced encapsulation reliability and simplify the layer structure, which are well-recognized design considerations in the art of display devices. Using the same material for the pattern layer and the capping layer reduces material interfaces, thereby improving barrier performance against moisture and oxygen. Such substitution represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established function.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US 20230189627).
Regarding claim 9. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 8. But Qin does not explicitly disclose wherein the adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the pattern layer is less than the adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the second electrode.
However, Qin discloses the encapsulation layer 502 is inorganic layer and the pattern layer 502 is organic layer. In the pixel region, 502 is directly contacting 503 whereas, in the boundary region (Fig 14: near 304-1), 503 is directly contacting another inorganic layer 501 and then contacting the second electrode 403. In the applicant field of endeavor, the adhesive strength between an inorganic insulating layer and an organic insulating layer is generally lower than the adhesion between dual inorganic layers or inorganic layer-metal interfaces. This occurs because organic/inorganic interfaces often suffer from chemical incompatibility, low surface energy of polymers, and significant mismatch in thermal expansion coefficients, leading to delamination. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Qin discloses the limitation.
Regarding claim 19. Qin discloses The display apparatus of claim 18. But Qin does not explicitly disclose wherein the adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the sub-pattern layers is less than the adhesive strength between the encapsulation layer and the second electrode.
However, Qin discloses the encapsulation layer 502 is inorganic layer and the pattern layer 502 is organic layer. In the pixel region, 502 is directly contacting 503 whereas, in the boundary region (Fig 14: near 304-1), 503 is directly contacting another inorganic layer 501 and then contacting the second electrode 403. In the applicant field of endeavor, the adhesive strength between an inorganic insulating layer and an organic insulating layer is generally lower than the adhesion between dual inorganic layers or inorganic layer-metal interfaces. This occurs because organic/inorganic interfaces often suffer from chemical incompatibility, low surface energy of polymers, and significant mismatch in thermal expansion coefficients, leading to delamination. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Qin discloses the limitation.
Conclusion
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812