DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 1 is/are amended; claim(s) 17 is/are newly added.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Park in addition to previously relied on references below.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 that it would not be obvious to modify Koyama’s mounting portion 20 to make it planar, such as with the design in Okita, doing so would eliminate the benefits of Koyama’s design; projection portions 20c help form the gas-filling portions 19 to reduce particles.
Examiner disagrees, and notes that Applicant may be confusing the definition of “flat” with the definition of “planar.” Flat refers to surface or objects that lack depth or are relatively smooth, has a continuous horizontal surface (definition from Merriam-Webster dictionary). “Planar” is defined as relating to or lying in a plane, or two-dimensional in quality (definition from Merriam-Webster dictionary). With these definitions clarified, Applicant’s arguments are referring to “flat” surfaces, and not “planar” surfaces. Further, Applicant’s own invention has surfaces that appear to be planar but not flat (see at least Fig. 5 of Applicant’s drawings) which show a large aperture in the center of the cover, and three surrounding non-referenced structures that appear to stick out of the cover vertically. Additionally, it appears that Koyama and Okita, as well as Applicant’s own invention, exhibit planar surface characteristics according to the clarified definitions above (though not explicitly expressed in Koyama).
Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090310274 to Koyama in view of US 20150126038 to Okita.
Claim 1: Koyama discloses a method of processing a substrate comprising the steps of: providing an electrostatic chuck (12 [base], Fig. 5) comprising an upper surface (12a [upper surface]); positioning a cover (20 [mounting portion]) that is a single piece (20) on the electrostatic chuck (12) to cover the upper surface thereof (para. [0038]), the cover (20) comprising a first face (20d [lower surface]) adjacent the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck (12a of 12), a second face (20b/20c) for supporting the substrate (17 [substrate], para. [0040]), and one or more conduits (21 [gas channels]) extending through the cover (20) to permit a cooling gas to flow from the first face to the second face (para. [0055]), wherein the second face (20b/20c) includes a substrate support region (20b/20c);
positioning the substrate (17) on the second face of the cover (20, para. [0040]); operating the electrostatic chuck (12) to electrostatically clamp the substrate in position (para. [0044]), wherein the substrate is electrostatically coupled to the electrostatic chuck (12) through the cover (20, para. [0051], Fig. 6); flowing a cooling gas from the first face to the second face via the one or more conduits to cool the substrate (para. [0049]-[0055] cooling gas is interpreted to be flowed through heat exchange); and processing the substrate (para. [0054]).
Koyama does not explicitly disclose and a peripheral region radially outward of the substrate support region, wherein the substrate support region has a diameter smaller than that of the clamping region, and wherein the second face in the substrate support region and the second face in the peripheral region are coplanar; wherein the substrate support region of the second face is planar.
Okita discloses a peripheral region (“outer peripheral side part” of 5 on 17, Fig. 2, para. [0044]) radially outward of the substrate support region (central part of 5 on 17), wherein the substrate support region (central part of 5 on 17) has a diameter smaller than that of the clamping region (where 24 [first attraction electrostatic attraction electrode] is located), and wherein the second face in the substrate support region and the second face in the peripheral region are coplanar (see Fig. 2), wherein the substrate support region (central part of 5 on 17) of the second face (top face) is planar (see Fig. 2), for the purpose of placing a cover (ring) on the outer peripheral portion (para. [0044]) and/or for the purpose of improving both the plasma process performance and the cooling performance (para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the peripheral region as taught by Okita with motivation to place a cover (ring) on the outer peripheral portion and/or for the purpose of improving both the plasma process performance and the cooling performance.
Claim 2: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the cover (20, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) has a thickness of 100-1500 µm (0.2 mm -1.0 mm which lies within the claimed range, para. [0039]).
Claim 3: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the thickness is 300-1000 µm (0.2 mm -1.0 mm which lies within the claimed range, para. [0039], Koyama).
Claim 4: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose wherein the thickness is from 100 um to less than 500 um.
Yet Koyama teaches overlap of the range of 0.2 mm to 1.0 mm for the purpose of a force also attracting and holding the substrate in addition to the cover when generating a coulomb force when a predetermined voltage is applied to the electrostatic chuck (20, para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range overlap requirement as taught by Koyama with motivation to a force also attract and hold the substrate in addition to the cover when generating a coulomb force when a predetermined voltage is applied to the electrostatic chuck.
Claim 5: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the cover (20, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) is a disc or disc-like (Fig. 4-6).
Claim 6: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the one or more conduits (21, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) are only disposed in a substrate support region (20b/20c, Fig. 6).
Claim 7: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose wherein the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck comprises an edge region extending radially outwardly of a clamping region.
Okita discloses wherein the upper surface of the electrostatic chuck (upper surface of 17 [electrostatic chuck], Fig. 2), comprises an edge region (edge region of 17) extending radially outwardly of a clamping region (region surrounding surface above 24 [attraction electrode]), for the purpose of improving both the plasma process performance and the cooling performance (para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two regions as two regions as taught by Okita with motivation to improve both the plasma process performance and the cooling performance.
Claim 8: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the cover (20, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) is made from Al2O3 or AIN (para. [0039]).
Claim 9: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the electrostatic chuck (12, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) further comprises one or more cooling channels (18 [gas channel]) for providing the cooling gas to the first face of the cover (20d of 20, para. [0048]).
Claim 10: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein the electrostatic chuck (12, Fig. 5-6, Koyama) further comprises at least one DC electrode (13 [electrostatic electrodes]) supplied by a DC power supply (“DC power supply” [not shown] but disclosed in para. [0044]).
Claim 12: The method of Koyama in view of Okita discloses wherein a pressure of the cooling gas is provided by one or more cooling channels (18, para. [0048-0049], Koyama).
Claims 13-14: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose (claim 13) wherein the pressure is at least 10 Torr; (claim 14) wherein the pressure is at least 25 Torr.
Yet Koyama discloses wherein the pressure is at least 10 Torr (where pressure range is 0-50 Torr which reads on the claimed amount, para. [0049]), for the purpose of improving a thermal conductivity between the base, the mounting portion (cover), and the substrate (para. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pressure requirements as taught by Koyama with motivation to improve a thermal conductivity between the base, the mounting portion (cover), and the substrate.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama in view of Okita as applied to claims 1-10, 12-14 above, and further in view of US 20180122633 to Lesser.
Claim 11: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose wherein the electrostatic chuck (140 [pedestal], Fig. 5, 1) further comprises at least one RF electrode (not shown but disclosed, para. [0034]) supplied by an RF power supply (104 [RF power supply], para. [0034]) for the purpose of depositing or forming films over the wafer (para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF power supply and RF electrode as taught by Lesser with motivation to deposit or form films over the wafer.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama in view of Okita as applied to claims 1-10, 12-14 above, and further in view of US 20150036259 to Cox.
Claims 15-16: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose (claim 15) further comprising lifting the substrate from the cover using lift pins that extend through apertures in the cover; (claim 16) further comprising detaching the cover from the electrostatic chuck after the lifting.
Cox discloses (claim 15) further comprising lifting the substrate (121 [substrate], Fig. 3) from the component plate (120) using lift pins (123 [lift pins]) that extend through apertures (125 [holes]) in the plate component (120, para. [0034]); (claim 16) further comprising detaching the component plate (120) from the support (118 [support body]) after the lifting (para. [0036]) for the purpose of facilitating robotic removal and replacement of the component plate without breaking vacuum thus reducing the cost and time associated with traditional maintenance procedures (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Cox with motivation to facilitate robotic removal and replacement of the component plate without breaking vacuum thus reducing the cost and time associated with traditional maintenance procedures.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama in view of Okita as applied to claims 1-10, 12-14 above, and further in view of US 20160035610 to Park.
Claim 17: The method of Koyama in view of Okita does not disclose further comprising positioning an annular focus ring around the substrate.
Park discloses further comprising positioning an annular focus ring (focus ring], Fig. 1) around the substrate (90 [substrate]) for the purpose of improving uniformity of process treatment performed on the substrate (para. [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the annular focus ring as taught by Park with motivation to improve improving uniformity of process treatment performed on the substrate.
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718