DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 6/2/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu (US Pub. No. 2021/0202610 A1).
As to claim 1, Ryu discloses a display device (100, [0034]) comprising:
a pixel circuit layer (111 with TFT) comprising a base layer (111) and a pixel circuit (TFT) on the base layer (111); and
a light emitting element (130 including electrodes 120/140) on the pixel circuit layer (111),
wherein the light emitting element (130, 120/140) comprises:
a first electrode (fig 4, 120);
a second electrode (140); and
an emission layer (130a including EML1) electrically connected to the first electrode (120) through a first contact portion (portion in physical contact) and electrically connected to the second electrode (140) through a second contact portion (portion in physical contact),
wherein the emission layer (130a including EML1) comprises:
a first sub-emission layer comprising a first N-type semiconductor layer (ETL is N-type), a first P-type semiconductor layer (HTL is P-type), and a first active layer (EML1) between the first N-type semiconductor layer (ETL) and the first P-type semiconductor layer (HTL); and
a second sub-emission layer (130c) comprising a second N-type semiconductor layer (ETL), a second P-type semiconductor layer (HTL), and a second active layer (EML2) between the second N-type semiconductor layer (ETL) and the second P-type semiconductor layer (HTL), and
wherein the first sub-emission layer and the second sub-emission layer are electrically connected in series between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig 4, 130a and 130c are connected in series between 120 and 140), and
wherein the first electrode and the second electrode of the light emitting element are offset from each other in a plan view (fig 3 shows wherein a portion of first electrode 120 is offset from a portion of second electrode 140 in a plan view as represented by the cross-sectional view shown).
As to claim 2, Ryu discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the pixel circuit layer comprises a first power source (anode 121) and a second power source (cathode 141), wherein the first power source is electrically connected to the pixel circuit layer (TFT layer), and
wherein the first sub-emission layer (EML1) and the second sub-emission layer (EML2) are electrically connected between the pixel circuit layer (TFT layer) and the second power source (cathode 141).
As to claim 4, Ryu discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the emission layer (130) further comprises an electrode layer (CGL) between the first P-type semiconductor layer (HTL) and the second N-type semiconductor layer (ETL).
As to claim 5, Ryu discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first P-type semiconductor layer and the second N-type semiconductor layer contact each other (fig 4, HTL and ETL contact each other through adjacent layers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Jo et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0194503 A1), hereafter referred to as Jo.
As to claim 6, Ryu discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Ryu does not disclose a quantum-dot layer on the emission layer,
wherein light emitted by the emission layer passes through the quantum-dot layer.
Nonetheless, Jo discloses a display device comprising a quantum-dot layer on an emission layer, wherein light emitted by the emission layer passes through the quantum-dot layer (fig 1, quantum-dot layer 230R/G/B for the sub-pixels; [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to include the quantum-dot layer Jo in the display of Ryu since this will improve the emission spectrum of the light emitted from each pixel of the display.
As to claim 7, Ryu in view of Jo disclose the display device according to claim 6 (paragraphs above).
Ryu further discloses a first sub-pixel area from which light of a first color is emitted (P1; [0047]);
a second sub-pixel area from which light of a second color is emitted (P2; [0047]); and
a third sub-pixel area from which light of a third color is emitted (P3, [0047]),
wherein the emission layer comprises a first emission layer overlapping the first sub-pixel area (131 overlapping P1), a second emission layer overlapping the second sub-pixel area (132 overlapping P2), and a third emission layer overlapping the third sub-pixel area in a plan view (133 overlapping P3).
As to claim 8, Ryu in view of Jo disclose the display device according to claim 7 (paragraphs above).
Ryu further discloses wherein the first sub-emission layer and the second sub-emission layer form a light emitting unit (fig 4, EML1 and EML2),
wherein the light emitting unit comprises a first light emitting unit (130a) and a second light emitting unit (130b), and
wherein the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit are in each of the first sub-pixel area, the second sub-pixel area, and the third sub-pixel area (130a and 130b in each of P1, P2, and P3).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0420618), hereafter referred to as Kim, in view of Moon et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0393071 A1), hereafter referred to as Moon.
As to claim 12, Kim discloses a display device (100) comprising sub-pixels (PX1-PX3), the display device comprising:
a light emitting element (300),
wherein the light emitting element (300) comprises a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit electrically connected in parallel in each sub-pixel of the sub-pixels (fig 5, parallel connected LEDs 300 in each sub-pixel PX1, PX2 and PX3), each of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit comprises:
a first electrode (210S);
a second electrode (220B);
an emission layer (300, [0109]) electrically connected to the first electrode 210S) through a first contact portion (portion contacting 210S) and electrically connected to the second electrode (140) through a second contact portion (portion contacting EML1); and
a quantum-dot layer on the emission layer ([0179]),
wherein each of the sub-pixels has a sub-pixel area overlapping the quantum-dot layer in a plan view ([0179]), and
wherein the second contact portion comprises contact portions in the sub-pixel area of each of the sub-pixels (portions of contact in each sub-pixel).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a pixel circuit layer comprising a base layer and a pixel circuit on the base layer.
Nonetheless, Moon discloses a display device comprising a display device including a pixel circuit layer comprising a base layer and a pixel circuit on the base layer (fig 3, 126, 110, 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the pixel circuit layer and base layer of Moon in the display of Kim since this will provide active pixel control to the display device while minimizing the footprint of the display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
Claims 3 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein the emission layer further comprises a distributed Bragg reflective layer on the second P-type semiconductor layer, wherein the first sub-emission layer further comprises a first superlattice layer between the first N-type semiconductor layer and the first active layer and a first electron blocking layer between the first active layer and the first P-type semiconductor layer, and wherein the second sub-emission layer further comprises a second superlattice layer between the second N-type semiconductor layer and the second active layer and a second electron blocking layer between the second active layer and the second P-type semiconductor layer, as recited in claim 3; or manufacturing a second sub-emission layer comprising a second N-type semiconductor layer, a second P-type semiconductor layer, and a second active layer between the second N-type semiconductor layer and the second P-type semiconductor layer; and forming a first electrode electrically connected to the first N-type semiconductor layer at a first contact portion and a second electrode electrically connected to the second P-type semiconductor layer at a second contact portion, and wherein the first sub-emission layer and the second sub-emission layer are electrically connected in series between the first electrode and the second electrode, as recited in claim 13; or wherein the manufacturing of the emission layer comprises disposing an undoped semiconductor layer, an N-type semiconductor layer, an active layer, and a P-type semiconductor layer on a growth substrate, wherein the emission layer forms a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit, and wherein the forming of the second electrode comprises forming a (2-1)th electrode corresponding to the first light emitting unit and a (2-2)th electrode corresponding to the second light emitting unit, as recited in claim 20; or wherein the second electrode comprises a (2-1)th electrode corresponding to the first light emitting unit and a (2-2)th electrode corresponding to the second light emitting unit, as recited in claim 9. Dependent claims 10-11 and 14-19 are allowable because of their dependence from one of claims 9 or 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Ryu does not anticipate the amended limitations of claim 1 because figure 4 does not show the offset. Examiner disagrees because figure 3 shows the offset between the electrodes 120 and 140.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2020/0185469; US Pub. No 2019/0355786 and US Pub. No 2022/0246802A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 6/17/2026