DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions pertain to a generic invention and are not mutually exclusive and that examination of the inventions would not be an undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the distinct inventions occupy different classifications, such as H10W74/114 for apparatus claims and H10P72/7424 for method claims, which constitutes a search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 22-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SU (US 20250017110 A1), hereinafter “Su.”
Re: Independent Claim 1, Su discloses a packaging structure (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
an electronic module (Fig. 4: thermoelectric cooling chip 10 and a heat source chip 20, i.e., electronic module);
an encapsulation layer having a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface and covering the electronic module (Fig. 4: molding compound 40, i.e., encapsulation layer, has a first bottom surface, flush with bottom surface 10b, and second top surface, which are opposing), wherein the electronic module is exposed from the second surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 4: heat source chip 20 is exposed from the second top surface of molding 40 via the bonding pads 301 of heat source chip 20); and
a protecting layer formed on the electronic module and the second surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 4: insulating layer DR, i.e., protecting layer, formed over chips 10/20 and molding 40).
Re: Claim 2, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1, and wherein the protecting layer is made of silicon nitride (¶0050: insulating layer DR may include… silicon nitride).
Re: Claim 3, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1, and further comprising a heat conduction element stacked on the electronic module and covered by the encapsulation layer (Fig. 4: thermoelectric cooling chip 10 and a heat source chip 20 are covered by molding 40),
wherein the heat conduction element is exposed from the second surface of the encapsulation layer (Fig. 4: heat source chip 20 is exposed from the second top surface of molding 40 via the bonding pads 301 of heat source chip 20), and the heat conduction element and the second surface of the encapsulation layer are covered by the protecting layer (Fig. 4: insulating layer DR is formed over chips 10/20 and molding 40).
Re: Claim 4, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1, and wherein the electronic module is a semiconductor chip or a multi-chip package (Fig. 4: chips 10/20).
Re: Claim 6, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1, and further comprising a heat conduction layer formed on the protecting layer (Fig. 4: thermal interface material (TIM) 510 on DR).
Re: Claim 7, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1, and wherein a thermal conductivity of the protecting layer is greater than 4 W/cm-k (¶0050: insulating layer DR may include… silicon nitride; While Su does not explicitly teach the thermal conductivity value of 4W/cm-k, applicant’s specification in [0036] stating that the protecting layer 23 has a thermal conductivity of greater than 4 W/cm-k is met by Su’s teachings since the structure disclosed by Su meets the structure in the claims; See MPEP 2112.01(II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SU (US 20250017110 A1) in view of YANG (US 20240404908 A1), hereinafter “Yang.”
Re: Claim 5, Su discloses the packaging structure of claim 1.
However, Su does not disclose wherein the first surface of the encapsulation layer is recessed with a plurality of voids, and the protecting layer is partially filled in the plurality of voids and has a plurality of recesses corresponding to the plurality of voids.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses wherein the first surface of the encapsulation layer is recessed with a plurality of voids (Fig. 1B shows encapsulant 15 with a plurality of surface variations, i.e., voids; ¶0026: surface variations in encapsulant 15 can manifest…; ¶0027: surface with variations), and
the protecting layer is partially filled in the plurality of voids and has a plurality of recesses corresponding to the plurality of voids (Fig. 1B shows a dielectric structure 161, i.e., protecting layer, with recesses corresponding to the plurality of voids.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have been aware of surface variations manifesting during the manufacturing process and thus compensate for said variations/voids using a dielectric layer (See Su, ¶¶0026-0027).
Re: Independent Claim 8, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 1 (Fig. 4: package structure P1),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 9, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 8.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 10, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 2 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; ¶0050: insulating layer DR may include… silicon nitride),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 11, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 10.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 12, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 3 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; See citations provided for claim 3 above.),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 13, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 12.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 14, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 4 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; See citations provided for claim 4 above.),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 15, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 14.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 16, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 5 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; See citations provided for claim 5 above.),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 17, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 16.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 18, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 6 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; See citations provided for claim 6 above.),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 19, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 18.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Re: Independent Claim 20, Su discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4: package structure P1), comprising:
…
the packaging structure of claim 7 (Fig. 4: package structure P1; See citations provided for claim 7 above.),
However, Su does not disclose a carrying structure; and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure.
Yang further discloses a carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18); and the packaging structure disposed on the carrying structure (Fig. 2I: support carrier 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included a carrier in order to provide support during different stages of the manufacturing process (See Yang, ¶0047, ¶0051).
Re: Claim 21, the combination of Su in view of Yang discloses the electronic package of claim 20.
Su also discloses further comprising a heat dissipation structure bonded onto the packaging structure (Fig. 4: heat sink 50; ¶0070: thermally conductive lid, heat spreader, or a heat sink on a thermal interface material (TIM)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
ESSIG et al. (US 20250029951 A1) – Fig. 1 shows a packaging structure relevant to the current claims. See ¶0072 for details regarding heat dissipating element 24 which includes Silicon Nitride.
DRY (US 20200083136 A1) – Fig. 2 shows a packaging structure relevant to the current claims.
IM et al. (US 20120119346 A1) – Fig. 1 shows a packaging structure relevant to the current claims.
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898