Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170264691 by Bai et al. (hereinafter “Bai”), further in view of US20190132424 by Jeong et al. (hereinafter “Jeong”), and further in view of US20220303305 by Shin et al. (hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding claim 1, Bai teaches An expansion unit configured to be detachably attached to an in-vehicle device including a computer configured to communicate with a cloud server configured to manage vehicle data via a communication device, see for example paragraphs [0036]-[0037], describing an add-on device. See also paragraph [0132], where the system can communicate with a remote server. Further, see paragraphs [0121]-[0123] describe how the vehicle itself can communicate with a server.
the expansion unit comprising: at least one input line that is provided for each communication protocol of input data that is data transmitted from an instrument of a vehicle and receives the input data; see for example paragraphs [0099]-[0100], where the add-on receives sensor data from the sensors.
at least one output line that is provided for each communication protocol of output data and outputs the output data; see for example paragraph [0093], where the add-on communicates with the vehicle; see also paragraph [0060], where the add-on communicates sensor data to the vehicle.
at least one connector for connecting the output line to the in-vehicle device; see again paragraphs [0093] and [0060], where the system communicates sensor data to the vehicle wirelessly or over a wired connection.
a processing unit configured to perform processing on the input data and cause the output line to output the output data according to the input data; see for example paragraph [0140], where the add-on includes its own processor for processing the data input from the sensors.
the expansion unit further includes an expansion Bai teaches determining whether the system has the appropriate drivers for the sensors, and downloading the corresponding drivers (see paragraphs [0140]-[0175]), and teaches mapping the capabilities of the vehicle to understand the sensor data. See also paragraph [0132], where the operations are performed either on the vehicle processor or the add-on’s processor.
.
Bai does not explicitly teach a table that defines determination of whether to cause the processing unit to perform the processing on the input data for each communication protocol or each data type, wherein the processing unit performs the processing on the input data when the processing is performed according to the table, and the processing unit causes the output line to output, as the output data, the input data without performing the processing on the input data when the processing is not performed according to the table. Bai teaches determining whether the system has the appropriate drivers for the sensors, and downloading the corresponding drivers (see paragraphs [0140]-[0175]), and teaches mapping the capabilities of the vehicle to understand the sensor data. See also paragraph [0132], where the operations are performed either on the vehicle processor or the add-on’s processor.
Neither does Bai explicitly teach the table includes information for determining a plurality of protocols including each communication protocol or a plurality of data types including each data type, in order to define whether to perform the processing on the input data, and the processing unit is configured to determine each communication protocol of the input data or each data type of the input data based on the table. Finally, Bai does not explicitly teach the expansion unit further includes an expansion table for determining whether normalization on the input data is necessary, and when the normalization on the input data is performed to generate normalization information, the generated normalization information includes identification information indicating a transmission source of the input data, position information indicating a data position in a data field of the input data, and information indicating resolution and an offset amount.
However, Jeong teaches a table that defines determination of whether to cause the processing unit to perform the processing on the input data for each communication protocol or each data type, wherein the processing unit performs the processing on the input data when the processing is performed according to the table, and the processing unit causes the output line to output, as the output data, the input data without performing the processing on the input data when the processing is not performed according to the table; see for example Figure 3 and paragraphs [0053]-[0066], where the system determines that data protocol conversion is necessary, calls a table for the appropriate conversion, and converts data according to its data type.
Jeong also teaches the table includes information for determining a plurality of protocols including each communication protocol or a plurality of data types including each data type, in order to define whether to perform the processing on the input data, and the processing unit is configured to determine each communication protocol of the input data or each data type of the input data based on the table. In addition to Figure 3 and paragraphs [0053]-[0066] above, see also paragraphs [0071]-[0074] and Table 1, where the system determines the communication protocol based on a table.
Jeong also teaches using a table for determining whether normalization or data structuring on the input data is necessary. See for example Figure 3 and paragraphs [0053]-[0066], where the system determines that data protocol conversion is necessary, calls a table for the appropriate conversion, and converts data according to its data type.
when the normalization on the input data is performed to generate normalization information, the generated normalization information includes identification information indicating a transmission source of the input data, position information indicating a data position in a data field of the input data, See for example paragraphs [0076]-[0079], where the system includes data fields in its packets in predetermined positions. See also for example paragraph [0068], where the data packets include a source address (reading on transmission source of the input data).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai with the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to convert data from one format to a more standardized or compatible format.
Neither Bai nor Jeong explicitly teach that the generated normalization information includes…information indicating resolution and an offset amount.
However, Shin teaches that when the normalization on the input data is performed to generate normalization information, the generated normalization information includes…information indicating resolution and an offset amount. See for example paragraphs [0040], [0044], and [0070]-[0071], where the system outputs a translated scale and offset relating to each sensor’s input in order to correctly interpret the signal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai, modified by the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong, with the message scaling and offset of Shin with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to read sensor data correctly by translating the CAN frames correctly.
Claims 16 and 17 have similar limitations to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected based on a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to perform first processing that is processing of reducing a data amount of the input data. See for example paragraph [0171], where the vehicle can negotiate with the add-on the reduce the amount of data to be transmitted to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, capture data by a camera, and perform, as the first processing, processing of recognizing an object from the capture data. See for example paragraph [0061], where the system can use the add-on camera.
Regarding claim 4, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, audio data, and perform, as the first processing, processing of recognizing a content of audio from the audio data. See for example paragraph [0103], where the add-on can include a microphone.
Regarding claim 5, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, obstacle data by an obstacle sensor that detects an obstacle in a periphery of the vehicle, and perform, as the first processing, processing of recognizing a position of at least a position of the obstacle from the obstacle data. See for example paragraph [0103], where the add-on can include sensors used to detect obstacles, such as a camera or 3D camera.
Regarding claim 6, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, device data from a short distance device, and perform, as the first processing, processing of extracting, from the input data, the device data obtained from the short distance device that is preset. See for example paragraph [0060], where the vehicle can communicate with a smart phone, and in paragraph [0093] this can be done via wire or wirelessly.
Regarding claim 7, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, cloud data from the cloud server, and perform, as the first processing, processing of extracting, from the input data, the cloud data obtained from the cloud server that is preset. See for example paragraph [0063], where a user’s phone can be used to communicate with a control center, such as OnStar.
Regarding claim 8, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to acquire, as the input data, . See again paragraph [0093], where the system can communicate via wired or wireless connection, and in paragraph [0100] can send or receive sensor data.
Bai does not explicitly teach communication via controller area network (CAN) protocol.
However, Jeong teaches communication via controller area network (CAN) protocol. See for example paragraph [0010], where the system can communicate via CAN data and convert the data to the appropriate protocol. See also for example Figure 3 and paragraphs [0053]-[0066], where the system determines that data protocol conversion is necessary, calls a table for the appropriate conversion, and converts data according to its data type, including to/from CAN data.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai with the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to convert data from one format to a more standardized or compatible format.
Regarding claim 9, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to perform second processing of converting data obtained by the first processing into data in a preset format configured to be handled by the in-vehicle device, and send data obtained by the second processing to the output line as output data. See paragraphs [0093]-[0100], where the system communicates via shared protocols.
Regarding claim 10, Bai teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to perform, as the second processing, processing of converting the data obtained by the first processing into a common data format including at least a payload and identification information of the payload. See paragraphs [0093]-[0100], where the system communicates via shared protocols.
Regarding claim 11, Bai teaches wherein a numerical number of the output line for the input data having a same type is less than a numerical number of the input line. See for example paragraph [0171], where the input data is reduced before being sent to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 12, Bai teaches wherein a numerical number of the output line for the input data having a same type is more than a numerical number of the input line. See for example paragraph [0172], where the system can upscale the sensor data before sending it to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Bai teaches wherein the input line is provided for each data type of the input data. See for example paragraph [0077], where the input/output is organized by type (e.g. cameras, range sensors, IMUS, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Bai teaches An in-vehicle device unit comprising: an in-vehicle device configured to communicate with a cloud server configured to manage vehicle data via a communication device; and a plurality of expansion units configured to serve as the expansion unit according to claim 1. See for example paragraphs [0036]-[0037], describing an add-on device. See also paragraph [0132], where the system can communicate with a remote server. Further, see paragraphs [0121]-[0123] describe how the vehicle itself can communicate with a server.
Regarding claim 15, Bai teaches wherein the plurality of expansion units include: a first expansion unit configured to set data obtained from a communication instrument located outside a vehicle to input data; and a second expansion unit configured to set data obtained from a vehicle side instrument located inside the vehicle, wherein the first expansion unit and the second expansion unit include a processing unit configured to perform processing on the input data and output output data according to the input data to the in-vehicle device. See for example paragraph [0046], where the system includes multiple processors and multiple machines. See also paragraph [0230], suggesting multiple add-on devices can be added. See also paragraph [0035] where the system connects to multiple devices.
Regarding claim 23, neither Bai nor Jeong explicitly teach, but Shin teaches wherein the generated normalization information further includes a control label, and the control label includes information indicating at least one of an intake air temperature, an engine rotation speed, a steering movement angle, a steering zero point, or a steering angle. See for example paragraphs [0036], [0047], and [0065], where the messages can contain engine RPM and ambient (intake) air temperature.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai, modified by the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong, with the message scaling and offset of Shin with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to read sensor data correctly by translating the CAN frames correctly.
Claims 24 and 25 have similar limitations to claim 23 above, and are therefore rejected based on a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 26, neither Bai nor Jeong explicitly teach, but Shin teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to generate new vehicle data that was not present in a payload of a communication frame of the input data, based on the normalization information and semantic information for converting data associated with a control label regarding a vehicle. See for example paragraphs [0036], [0047], and [0065], where the messages can contain engine RPM and ambient (intake) air temperature. See also paragraphs [0044] and [0071], where CAN frames have to be decoded in order to generate the data hidden inside the message.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai, modified by the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong, with the message scaling and offset of Shin with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to read sensor data correctly by translating the CAN frames correctly.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Jeong and Shin, and further in view of US20230085381 by Zhou (hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 22, Bai teaches wherein when the input data is an image data, a first output line among the at least one output line outputs the image data, . See for example paragraph [0112], where the add-on sensor device include add-on-device cameras. See again paragraphs [0093] and [0060], where the system communicates sensor data to the vehicle wirelessly or over a wired connection.
Bai does not explicitly teach the processing unit executes image recognition on the image data input via the at least one input line to generate a standard format of target objection information, and a second output line among the at least one output line outputs the standard format information.
However, Zhou teaches the processing unit executes image recognition on the image data input via the at least one input line to generate a standard format of target objection information, and a second output line among the at least one output line outputs the standard format information. Zhou teaches a system which outputs raw or processed sensor data. See for example paragraphs [0066]-[0067], where the sensors determine whether to output raw or “first target” data to the vehicle based on the capabilities of the vehicle to process the data, where converting the input raw data into output “first target” data reads on executes image recognition on the image data input via the at least one input line to generate a standard format of target objection information, and a second output line among the at least one output line outputs the standard format information.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor add-on system of Bai, modified by the communication protocol conversion table of Jeong and the message scaling and offset of Shin, with the image processing with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to incorporate image sensors into the vehicle, adding additional sensing capability to the vehicle and providing additional computation for performing object recognition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20200210775 by Patel et al. teaching vehicle data normalization.
US20200287775 by Khasis teaching vehicle data standardization for telematics and IoT.
US20210056058 by Lee et al. teaching vehicle media conversion on a signal bus.
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666