DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 6/17/2026, which amended claims 1, 13, and 18. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu (US PGPub 2013/0100573) in view of Wong et al. (US PGPub 2022/0384221, Wong hereinafter) in view of Van Haren et al. (US PGPub 2020/0218169, Van Haren hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Shu discloses a system (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0110]), comprising:
a first displacement sensor configured to measure one or more properties of a top surface of a substrate, wherein the one or more properties are associated with at least one of substrate bow or substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0052], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the flatness, warpage, and profile of the wafer);
a processing device communicatively coupled to the first displacement sensor (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0067], [0088], [0092]-[0110], control unit 240 is coupled to the measuring unit 230), wherein the processing device is configured to:
receive, from the first displacement sensor, sensor data indicative of the one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the substrate, and the control unit 240 receives data from the measuring unit);
construct a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0074]-[0076], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the control unit 240 receives the flatness data from the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 and necessarily forms a map in order to control the zones of the power supply units 212 independently to clamp the wafer in a flattened state); and
cause management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to control the zones of the electrostatic chuck on the basis of the wafer topology). Although Shu discloses the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 4, 12-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0052], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the warpage and profile of the wafer), Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate, determine a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, the management based on the correction factor.
Wong discloses construct a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage, wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate (Figs. 5-8, 11, paras. [0065]-[0071], [0087]-[0088], the displacement sensor measures the displacement data of a wafer, including the presence of a concave profile, a convex profile, or a combination of convex and concave portions having higher and lower points, and the displacement measurements are used to create a displacement map of the surface of the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate as taught by Wong as the substrate topology map in the processing device in the system as taught by Shu since including wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate is commonly used in the art to accurately characterize wafer warp or bow and to control wafer processing on the basis of regional irregularities of the wafer (Wong, paras. [0002], [0008]-[0009], [0071], [0077]).
Shu as modified by Wong does not appear to explicitly describe determine a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, the management based on the correction factor.
Van Haren discloses determine a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties (Figs. 4-7, paras. [0028], [0034]-[0044], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0055], a reference level map is subtracted from the level map determined for the test wafer to determine a delta level map to calibrate the out factors influencing the test wafer level map and the test wafer shape. An algorithm uses the delta level maps to compute warp level of the test wafer, a scale factor and a correction factor to the scale factor), and the management of the substrate based on the correction factor (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0030]-[0034], [0036]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0051]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0068], the clamping force is adjusted based on the geometry of the deformed substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determine a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, the management based on the correction factor as taught by Van Haren in the processing device in the system as taught by Shu as modified by Wong since including the processing device configured to determine a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and the management of the substrate based on the correction factor is commonly used to accurately determine the shape of a wafer and correct for in-plane distortion for optimized correction in situ (Van Haren, paras. [0009], [0047]-[0048], [0052], [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be chucked on a substrate support based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is further configured to cause a first zone of a plurality of zones of the substrate support to receive more than a threshold amount of voltage to electrically chuck the substrate to the substrate support, wherein, when the substrate is disposed on the substrate support, the first zone corresponds to a bowed region of the substrate or a warped region of the substrate reflected on the substrate topology map (Shu, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to apply voltages based on the measured surface flatness to chuck the wafer in an order corresponding to the warp).
Regarding claim 4, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren discloses wherein the processing device is further configured to determine whether the substrate satisfies one or more of a substrate bow criterion or a substrate warpage criterion (Shu, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the substrate, and the control unit 240 receives the data from the measuring unit to determine control of the zones of the electrostatic chuck based on the flatness data, and as modified by Wong, Figs. 5-8, 11, paras. [0065]-[0071], [0087]-[0088], the displacement sensor measures the displacement data of a wafer, including the presence of a concave profile, a convex profile, or a combination of convex and concave portions).
Regarding claim 5, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the processing device is further configured to: detect, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and cause, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch.
Wong discloses detect, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate (Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-16, paras. [0053]-[0059], displacement sensor 406 detects the location of the notch 416); and cause, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch (Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-16, paras. [0009], [0053]-[0060], [0074], [0078]-[0082], displacement sensor 406 detects the location of the notch 416, and the aligner aligns the wafer based on the notch location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processing device is further configured to: detect, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and cause, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch as taught by Wong in the system as taught by Shu since including wherein the processing device is further configured to: detect, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and cause, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch is commonly used to accurately correct a carrier parameter based on measurement data (Wong, para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first displacement sensor comprises at least one of a linear profile laser sensor or a point laser sensor, and wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to detect a distance between the top surface of the substrate and the first displacement sensor.
Wong discloses wherein the first displacement sensor comprises at least one of a linear profile laser sensor or a point laser sensor, and wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to detect a distance between the top surface of the substrate and the first displacement sensor (Figs. 4-5, 7 paras. [0056]-[0062], [0064], [0079], the displacement sensor 406 includes a laser displacement sensor that emits one or more laser beams to the surface of the wafer 404 and receives reflections to calculate the distance between the displacement sensor 406 and the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first displacement sensor comprises at least one of a linear profile laser sensor or a point laser sensor, and wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to detect a distance between the top surface of the substrate and the first displacement sensor as taught by Wong as the first displacement sensor in the system as taught by Shu since including wherein the first displacement sensor comprises at least one of a linear profile laser sensor or a point laser sensor, and wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to detect a distance between the top surface of the substrate and the first displacement sensor is commonly used to provide accurate distance measurements of the wafer with a well-known sensor.
Regarding claim 7, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe an aligner positioned within a factory interface chamber of a manufacturing system, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is disposed on the aligner.
Wong discloses an aligner positioned within a factory interface chamber of a manufacturing system, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is disposed on the aligner (Figs. 4-5, 7 paras. [0052]-[0062], [0064], [0072]-[0077], [0079], the system 400, 902 is an aligner in a semiconductor manufacturing system, and the aligner includes a displacement sensor to measure the distance between the surface of the wafer and the displacement sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an aligner positioned within a factory interface chamber of a manufacturing system, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is disposed on the aligner as taught by Wong in the system as taught by Shu since including an aligner positioned within a factory interface chamber of a manufacturing system, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is disposed on the aligner is commonly used to control processing of a wafer based on the shape of the wafer to improve uniformity (Wong, paras. [0002], [0007]-[0008], [0051]-[0052], [0056], [0072], [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the processing device is to cause the substrate to rotate relative to the first displacement sensor to multiple angular positions for measurement of multiple radial top surface profiles, each of the multiple radial top surface profiles corresponding to one of the multiple angular positions, and wherein the processing device is to construct the substrate topology map using the multiple measured radial top surface profiles.
Wong discloses wherein the processing device is to cause the substrate to rotate relative to the first displacement sensor to multiple angular positions for measurement of multiple radial top surface profiles, each of the multiple radial top surface profiles corresponding to one of the multiple angular positions, and wherein the processing device is to construct the substrate topology map using the multiple measured radial top surface profiles (Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-16, paras. [0009], [0053]-[0060], [0062]-[0064], [0074], [0078]-[0082], the wafer is rotated relative to displacement sensors 506c, 508c, 506d, 508d at multiple radial positions, and the multiple sensors provide displacement mapping of the entire surface of the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processing device is to cause the substrate to rotate relative to the first displacement sensor to multiple angular positions for measurement of multiple radial top surface profiles, each of the multiple radial top surface profiles corresponding to one of the multiple angular positions, and wherein the processing device is to construct the substrate topology map using the multiple measured radial top surface profiles as taught by Wong in the system as taught by Shu since including wherein the processing device is to cause the substrate to rotate relative to the first displacement sensor to multiple angular positions for measurement of multiple radial top surface profiles, each of the multiple radial top surface profiles corresponding to one of the multiple angular positions, and wherein the processing device is to construct the substrate topology map using the multiple measured radial top surface profiles is commonly used to provide a fast, low-cost measurement system for substrate surface mapping (Wong, paras. [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: a second displacement sensor configured to measure one or more properties of a bottom surface of the substrate, wherein the processing device is further configured construct the substrate topology map further based on sensor data received from the second displacement sensor.
Wong discloses further comprising: a second displacement sensor configured to measure one or more properties of a bottom surface of the substrate, wherein the processing device is further configured construct the substrate topology map further based on sensor data received from the second displacement sensor (Figs. 4-5, paras. [0062]-[0065], [0074], [0078]-[0082], multiple displacement sensors are arranged on a top side of the wafer and a bottom side of the wafer to obtain the surface mapping to determine the bow or warp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a second displacement sensor configured to measure one or more properties of a bottom surface of the substrate, wherein the processing device is further configured construct the substrate topology map further based on sensor data received from the second displacement sensor as taught by Wong in the system as taught by Shu since including a second displacement sensor configured to measure one or more properties of a bottom surface of the substrate, wherein the processing device is further configured construct the substrate topology map further based on sensor data received from the second displacement sensor is commonly used to provide accurate three-dimensional measurement of the substrate shape with improved throughput.
Regarding claim 11, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein, to construct the substrate topology map, the processing device compares the received sensor data with baseline measurements corresponding to a measured baseline substrate.
Wong discloses wherein, to construct the substrate topology map, the processing device compares the received sensor data with baseline measurements corresponding to a measured baseline substrate (Figs. 6-7, abstract, paras. [0058], [0065]-[0070], the displacement data of the wafer from the displacement sensor is compared with baseline displacement data measured from a known flat reference wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein, to construct the substrate topology map, the processing device compares the received sensor data with baseline measurements corresponding to a measured baseline substrate as taught by Wong in the system as taught by Shu since including wherein, to construct the substrate topology map, the processing device compares the received sensor data with baseline measurements corresponding to a measured baseline substrate is commonly used to calibrate the system (Wong, para. [0068]) and to quickly characterize measured displacement.
Regarding claim 13, Shu discloses a method (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0110]), comprising:
receiving, from a first displacement sensor, sensor data indicative of one or more properties of a top surface of a substrate, wherein the one or more properties are associated with at least one of substrate bow or substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the substrate, and the control unit 240 receives data from the measuring unit);
constructing a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0074]-[0076], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the control unit 240 receives the flatness data from the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 and necessarily forms a map in order to control the zones of the power supply units 212 independently to clamp the wafer in a flattened state); and
causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to control the zones of the electrostatic chuck on the basis of the wafer topology). Although Shu discloses the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 4, 12-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0052], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the warpage and profile of the wafer), Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate, determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and the management based on the correction factor.
Wong discloses constructing a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage, wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate (Figs. 5-8, 11, paras. [0065]-[0071], [0087]-[0088], the displacement sensor measures the displacement data of a wafer, including the presence of a concave profile, a convex profile, or a combination of convex and concave portions having higher and lower points, and the displacement measurements are used to create a displacement map of the surface of the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate as taught by Wong as the substrate topology map in the method as taught by Shu since including wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate is commonly used in the art to accurately characterize wafer warp or bow and to control wafer processing on the basis of regional irregularities of the wafer (Wong, paras. [0002], [0008]-[0009], [0071], [0077]).
Shu as modified by Wong does not appear to explicitly describe determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing management based on the correction factor.
Van Haren discloses determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties (Figs. 4-7, paras. [0028], [0034]-[0044], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0055], a reference level map is subtracted from the level map determined for the test wafer to determine a delta level map to calibrate the out factors influencing the test wafer level map and the test wafer shape. An algorithm uses the delta level maps to compute warp level of the test wafer, a scale factor and a correction factor to the scale factor), and causing management of the substrate based on the correction factor (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0030]-[0034], [0036]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0051]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0068], the clamping force is adjusted based on the geometry of the deformed substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing management based on the correction factor as taught by Van Haren in the method as taught by Shu as modified by Wong since including determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing management based on the correction factor is commonly used to accurately determine the shape of a wafer and correct for in-plane distortion for optimized correction in situ (Van Haren, paras. [0009], [0047]-[0048], [0052], [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be chucked on a substrate support based on the substrate topology map, the method further comprising: causing a first zone of a plurality of zones of the substrate support to receive more than a threshold amount of voltage to electrically chuck the substrate to the substrate support, wherein, when the substrate is disposed on the substrate support, the first zone corresponds to a bowed region of the substrate or a warped region of the substrate reflected on the substrate topology map (Shu, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to apply voltages based on the measured surface flatness to chuck the wafer in an order corresponding to the warp).
Regarding claim 16, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren discloses further comprising: determining whether the substrate satisfies one or more of a substrate bow criterion or a substrate warpage criterion (Shu, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the substrate, and the control unit 240 receives the data from the measuring unit to determine control of the zones of the electrostatic chuck based on the flatness data, and as modified by Wong, Figs. 5-8, 11, paras. [0065]-[0071], [0087]-[0088], the displacement sensor measures the displacement data of a wafer, including the presence of a concave profile, a convex profile, or a combination of convex and concave portions).
Regarding claim 17, Shu does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: detecting, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and causing, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch.
Wong discloses further comprising: detecting, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate (Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-16, paras. [0053]-[0059], displacement sensor 406 detects the location of the notch 416); and causing, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch (Figs. 4-5, 7, 9-16, paras. [0009], [0053]-[0060], [0074], [0078]-[0082], displacement sensor 406 detects the location of the notch 416, and the aligner aligns the wafer based on the notch location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included further comprising: detecting, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and causing, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch as taught by Wong in the method as taught by Shu since including further comprising: detecting, based on the received sensor data, an alignment notch in an edge of the substrate; and causing, responsive to detection of the alignment notch, the substrate to be aligned based on a location of the alignment notch is commonly used to accurately correct a carrier parameter based on measurement data (Wong, para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 18, Shu discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063]-[0070], [0088], [0089], [0094]-[0110], the control unit 240 includes a data reception unit and storage unit comprising a hard disk, memory, or flash memory to control the holding apparatus), cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first displacement sensor, sensor data indicative of one or more properties of a top surface of a substrate, wherein the one or more properties are associated with at least one of substrate bow or substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0031], [0034], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the substrate, and the control unit 240 receives data from the measuring unit);
constructing a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0074]-[0076], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the control unit 240 receives the flatness data from the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 and necessarily forms a map in order to control the zones of the power supply units 212 independently to clamp the wafer in a flattened state); and
causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology (Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to control the zones of the electrostatic chuck on the basis of the wafer topology). Although Shu discloses the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage (Figs. 4, 12-13, paras. [0029]-[0030], [0034], [0049]-[0052], [0063]-[0064], [0089], [0094]-[0096], the wafer flatness measuring unit 230 measures the warpage and profile of the wafer), Shu does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate, and determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing the management based on the correction factor.
Wong discloses constructing a substrate topology map based on the received sensor data, wherein the substrate topology map is indicative of at least one of the substrate bow or the substrate warpage, wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate (Figs. 5-8, 11, paras. [0065]-[0071], [0087]-[0088], the displacement sensor measures the displacement data of a wafer, including the presence of a concave profile, a convex profile, or a combination of convex and concave portions having higher and lower points, and the displacement measurements are used to create a displacement map of the surface of the wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate as taught by Wong as the substrate topology map in the non-transitory machine readable storage medium causing the processing device to perform operation as taught by Shu since including wherein the substrate topology map comprises an elevation map indicating at least one of a high spot or a low spot of the top surface of the substrate is commonly used in the art to accurately characterize wafer warp or bow and to control wafer processing on the basis of regional irregularities of the wafer (Wong, paras. [0002], [0008]-[0009], [0071], [0077]).
Shu as modified by Wong does not appear to explicitly describe determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing the management based on the correction factor.
Van Haren discloses determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with the differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties (Figs. 4-7, paras. [0028], [0034]-[0044], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0055], a reference level map is subtracted from the level map determined for the test wafer to determine a delta level map to calibrate the out factors influencing the test wafer level map and the test wafer shape. An algorithm uses the delta level maps to compute warp level of the test wafer, a scale factor and a correction factor to the scale factor), and causing management of the substrate based on the correction factor (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0030]-[0034], [0036]-[0039], [0048]-[0049], [0051]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0068], the clamping force is adjusted based on the geometry of the deformed substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing management based on the correction factor as taught by Van Haren in the non-transitory machine readable storage medium causing the processing device to perform operation as taught by Shu as modified by Wong since including determining a correction factor based on comparing the elevation map to a baseline map, wherein the correction factor is associated with differences between the measured one or more properties of the top surface of the substrate and one or more baseline properties, and causing management based on the correction factor is commonly used to accurately determine the shape of a wafer and correct for in-plane distortion for optimized correction in situ (Van Haren, paras. [0009], [0047]-[0048], [0052], [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be chucked on a substrate support based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: causing a first zone of a plurality of zones of the substrate support to receive more than a threshold amount of voltage to electrically chuck the substrate to the substrate support, wherein, when the substrate is disposed on the substrate support, the first zone corresponds to a bowed region of the substrate or a warped region of the substrate reflected on the substrate topology map (Shu, Figs. 3-13, paras. [0012]-[0013], [0031], [0033]-[0034], [0047], [0049]-[0057], [0063], [0064], [0071]-[0076], [0089], [0093]-[0110], the control unit 240 controls the power supply units 212 independently to apply voltages based on the measured surface flatness to chuck the wafer in an order corresponding to the warp).
Claims 3, 8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren as applied to claims 1, 13, and 18 above, and further in view of Cavins et al. (US PGPub 2018/0068881, Cavins hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren does not appear to explicitly describe wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is further configured to cause an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map.
Cavins discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to handle the substrate), and wherein the processing device is further configured to cause an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to determine the spacing of the tines 350T1, 3501T2 of the end effector 350 to hold the wafer based on the bow or warp to grip the wafer at extremities or peripheral edges of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is further configured to cause an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map as taught by Cavins in the system as taught by Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren since including wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is further configured to cause an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map is commonly used to provide a configurable end effector to enable support of the substrate while avoiding changing the shape of the substrate to prevent impact to substate processing (Cavins, paras. [0006], [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren does not appear to explicitly describe a substrate handling robot comprising an end effector, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is supported by the end effector.
Cavins discloses a substrate handling robot comprising an end effector, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is supported by the end effector (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, abstract, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058]-[0059], [0073], the substrate transport arm includes end effector 350, and camera 1300 or sensors simultaneously maps the substrate while the substrate is held to determine substrate bow and substrate warp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a substrate handling robot comprising an end effector, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is supported by the end effector as taught by Cavins in the system as taught by Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren since including a substrate handling robot comprising an end effector, wherein the first displacement sensor is configured to measure the one or more properties while the substrate is supported by the end effector is commonly used to increase throughput for substrate mapping (Cavins, para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren does not appear to explicitly describe wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, the method further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map.
Cavins discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to handle the substrate), the method further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to determine the spacing of the tines 350T1, 3501T2 of the end effector 350 to hold the wafer based on the bow or warp to grip the wafer at extremities or peripheral edges of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, the method further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map as taught by Cavins in the method as taught by Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren since including wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, the method further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map is commonly used to provide a configurable end effector to enable support of the substrate while avoiding changing the shape of the substrate to prevent impact to substate processing (Cavins, paras. [0006], [0051]).
Regarding claim 20, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren does not appear to explicitly describe wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map.
Cavins discloses wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to handle the substrate), and wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map (Figs. 3-14, 16-19, paras. [0030], [0044]-[0048], [0050]-[0053], [0058], [0073], the substrate bow or warp map is determined by a camera, and controller uses the map to determine the spacing of the tines 350T1, 3501T2 of the end effector 350 to hold the wafer based on the bow or warp to grip the wafer at extremities or peripheral edges of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map as taught by Cavins in the non-transitory machine readable storage medium causing the processing device to perform operation as taught by Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren since including wherein causing management of the substrate based on the substrate topology map comprises causing the substrate to be handled based on the substrate topology map, and wherein the processing device is to perform operations further comprising: causing an end effector of a substrate handling robot to grip the substrate at one or more edge locations satisfying one or more of a bow criterion or a warpage criterion, wherein the one or more edge locations are indicated by the substrate topology map is commonly used to provide a configurable end effector to enable support of the substrate while avoiding changing the shape of the substrate to prevent impact to substate processing (Cavins, paras. [0006], [0051]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujisawa et al. (US PGPub 2004/0185662, Fujisawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine, based on the substrate topology map, an edge exclusion zone; and cause the substrate to be handled further based on the edge exclusion zone.
Fujisawa discloses wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine, based on the substrate topology map, an edge exclusion zone (Figs. 1-6, 10, 12, 13, 15, 24, 25, 30, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0074]-[0080], [0086], [0100], [0107], [0117]-[0127], [0201], the surface shape of the wafer is determined, and the edge exclusion area is evaluated); and cause the substrate to be handled further based on the edge exclusion zone (Figs. 1-6, 10, 12, 13, 15, 24, 25, 30, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0074]-[0080], [0086], [0100], [0107], [0117]-[0127], [0201], the wafer disposition is decided based on the evaluation of the edge exclusion area, including the decision to ship or rework).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine, based on the substrate topology map, an edge exclusion zone; and cause the substrate to be handled further based on the edge exclusion zone as taught by Fujisawa in the system as taught by Shu as modified by Wong in view of Van Haren since including wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine, based on the substrate topology map, an edge exclusion zone; and cause the substrate to be handled further based on the edge exclusion zone is commonly used to obtain substrates with the required flatness to reduce CD variation (Fujisawa, paras. [0022]-[0025], [0093], [0120], [0122]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882