Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 06/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Chen (Pub. No.: US 2021/0336024).
Re claim 1, Chen teaches a method comprising:
forming a first structure (right 205/207, FIG. 14C) and a second structure (left 205/207) over a substrate;
forming a material layer (209, FIG. 14C) over each structure;
covering the first structure with a mask (270A, FIG. 15C), wherein the second structure is uncovered; and
performing an etch process to remove the material layer (209 of FIG.15C) from the second structure, wherein the etch process is performed with an etchant comprising a first component and an oxidant hydrogen peroxide (H.sub.2O.sub.2), and wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid (acetic acid (CH3COOH), ¶ [0036]) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol) and an organic base having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (note that acetic acid molecular weight is 60.052 g/mol).
Re claim 2, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each structure includes at least one nanosheet (205, FIG. 15C, [0026]), and wherein forming the material layer over each structure comprises depositing the material layer (209) around each nanosheet.
Re claim 7, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is an organic acid (acetic acid (CH3COOH) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element (C of COOH), Group V element, Group VI element (O of COOH), and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 8, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is an organic base (acetic acid) having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element (C of COOH), Group V element, Group VI element (O of COOH), and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 21, Chen teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) region and a p-channel metal- oxide-semiconductor (PMOS) region [0015];
forming a first work function adjustment layer (209 of FIG. 14C) over the NMOS region and the PMOS region;
forming a first mask over the NMOS region (270A), the PMOS region being uncovered by the first mask;
removing the first work function adjustment layer from the PMOS region (left 209) with a first wet etchant while the first mask covers the NMOS region;
removing the first mask from the NMOS region (FIG. 15D);
forming a second work function adjustment layer (261) over the NMOS region and the PMOS region;
forming a second mask over the PMOS region (270b), the NMOS region being uncovered by the second mask; and
removing the second work function adjustment layer from the NMOS region with a second wet etchant (FIG. 16C) while the second mask covers the PMOS region.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 14-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Chu (Pub. No.: US 2021/0257261).
Re claim 1, Chu teaches a method comprising:
forming a first structure (294c/204d, FIG. 6A) and a second structure (204a/204b) over a substrate;
forming a material layer (234) over each structure;
covering the first structure with a mask (236), wherein the second structure is uncovered; and
performing an etch process to remove the material layer (234 of FIG. 7A) from the second structure, wherein the etch process is performed with an etchant comprising a first component and an oxidant, and wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid (acetic acid (CH3COOH), ¶ [0030]) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol and an organic base having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (note that acetic acid molecular weight is 60.052 g/mol).
Re claim 2, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each structure includes at least one nanosheet (214, FIG. 6B, [0049], note that the gate spacers 214 has a height H6 ranging from about 5 nm to about 10 nm), and wherein forming the material layer over each structure comprises depositing the material layer (234) around each nanosheet.
Re claim 4, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is present in the etchant at a concentration of at least 0.001 wt. % (almost 100%).
Re claim 5, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the oxidant is present in the etchant at a concentration of from 0.1 to 107 ppm (almost 100%).
Re claim 6, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the etch process is performed at a temperature of from 10 to 70 °C (“a temperature between about 50° C. and about 60° C”, [0024]).
Re claim 7, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is an organic acid (acetic acid (CH3COOH) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element (C of COOH), Group V element, Group VI element (O of COOH), and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 8, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is an organic base (acetic acid) having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element (C of COOH), Group V element, Group VI element (O of COOH), and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 9, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein after covering the first structure with the mask, the mask has a side wall, and wherein while performing the etch process the etchant penetrates the side wall of the mask to a dimension of less than 2 nm (236 remain the same from FIG. 6A to 9A).
Re claim 21, Chu teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) region (NFET, [0033]) and a p-channel metal- oxide-semiconductor (PMOS) region (PFET);
forming a first work function adjustment layer (234, FIG. 6A) over the NMOS region and the PMOS region;
forming a first mask over the NMOS region (236 of FIG. 6A), the PMOS region being uncovered by the first mask (FIG. 10A);
removing the first work function adjustment layer from the PMOS region with a first wet etchant (acetic acid (CH3COOH), [0030]) while the first mask covers the NMOS region;
removing the first mask from the NMOS region (236, FIG. 12A → 13A);
forming a second work function (234’, FIG. 16A) adjustment layer over the NMOS region and the PMOS region;
forming a second mask over the PMOS region (236’), the NMOS region being uncovered by the second mask (FIG. 20A); and
removing the second work function adjustment layer from the NMOS region (FIG. 16A → 19A) with a second wet etchant [0043] while the second mask covers the PMOS region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Cheng (Pub. No.: US 2026/0143765).
Re claim 18, Chu teaches all the limitation of claim 10.
Chu fails to teach the limitation of claim 18.
Cheng teaches wherein the etchant comprises a first component and an oxidant, wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid and an organic base (acetic acid (CH3COOH), [0056]), and wherein the oxidant is hydrogen peroxide (hydrogen peroxide (H2O2)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of helping the nanowire stacks remain intact as taught by Cheng, [0057].
Claim(s) 3, 10-17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu.
Re claim 12/22, Chu differs from the invention by not showing wherein the work function adjustment layer is titanium, tungsten, vanadium, niobium, manganese, molybdenum, or aluminum (claim 12).
wherein the first work function adjustment layer is an n-channel work function adjustment layer comprising titanium, tungsten, vanadium, niobium, manganese, molybdenum, or aluminum, and wherein the second work function adjustment layer is a p-channel work function adjustment layer comprising titanium nitride (claim 22)
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the above said teaching since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 3/13, Chu differs from the claim invention by not disclosing wherein the material layer comprises a transition metal, and wherein the material layer is formed with a thickness of from 0.5 to 20 nm (claim 3).
wherein the work function adjustment layer has a thickness of from 10 to 40 Å (claim 13).
However, Applicant has not disclosed that the ranges are for particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Re claim 10, Chu teaches a method comprising:
forming a first gate-all-around (GAA) FET structure (212a/212b of FIG. 6B) in a first transistor region (220b) including at least one nanosheet (214);
forming a second gate-all-around (GAA) FET structure (212a/212b of FIG. 16B) in a second transistor region (220a) adjacent to the first transistor region including at least one nanosheet (214 of FIG. 6B),;
forming a work function adjustment layer (234) over the first GAA FET structure and the second GAA FET structure;
forming a mask (236) over the first GAA FET structure, wherein the second GAA FET structure is uncovered; and
performing an etch process with an etchant to remove the work function adjustment layer from the second GAA FET structure (FIG. 6A → 10A), wherein the etchant penetrates the mask to a dimension of less than 5 nm (mask 236 stay the same).
In re claim 10, Chu differs from the claim invention by not disclosing wherein the second GAA FET structure is located at a distance of less than 20 nm from the first GAA FET structure.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that the ranges are for particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Re claim 11, Chu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant penetrates the mask to a dimension of less than 2 nm (mask 236 stay the same).
Re claim 14, Chu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component, an oxidant (potassium hydroxide (KOH) solution [0030]), and water, and wherein the first component is an organic acid (and/or acetic acid (CH3COOH)) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element, Group V element, Group VI element, and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 15, Chu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component, an oxidant (potassium hydroxide (KOH) solution [0030]), and water, and wherein the first component is an organic base (and/or acetic acid (CH3COOH)) having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element, Group V element, Group VI element, and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 16, Chu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component and an oxidant (potassium hydroxide (KOH) solution [0030]), wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid (and/or acetic acid (CH3COOH)) and an organic base, and wherein the first component is present in the etchant at a concentration of at least 0.001 wt. % (almost 100%).
Re claim 17, Chu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component and an oxidant (potassium hydroxide (KOH) solution [0030]), wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid and an organic base (and/or acetic acid (CH3COOH)), and wherein the oxidant is present in the etchant at a concentration of from 0.1 to 107 ppm (almost 100%).
Claim(s) 10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Re claim 10, Chen teaches a method comprising:
forming a first gate-all-around (GAA) FET structure (right 205/207, FIG. 14C) in a first transistor region including at least one nanosheet (205);
forming a second gate-all-around (GAA) FET structure (left 205/207) in a second transistor region adjacent to the first transistor region including at least one nanosheet;
forming a work function adjustment layer (209) over the first GAA FET structure and the second GAA FET structure;
forming a mask (270A) over the first GAA FET structure, wherein the second GAA FET structure is uncovered; and
performing an etch process with an etchant to remove the work function adjustment layer (209) from the second GAA FET structure (left 205/207), wherein the etchant penetrates the mask to a dimension of less than 5 nm (mask 270A stay the same).
In re claim 10, Chu differs from the claim invention by not disclosing wherein the second GAA FET structure is located at a distance of less than 20 nm from the first GAA FET structure.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that the ranges are for particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Re claim 14, Chen teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component, an oxidant (hydrogen peroxide, [0036]), and water, and wherein the first component is an organic acid (acetic acid (CH3COOH)) having a molecular weight of from 14 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element, Group V element, Group VI element, and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 15, Chen teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component, an oxidant (hydrogen peroxide), and water, and wherein the first component is an organic base (acetic acid (CH3COOH)) having a molecular weight of from 20 to 104 g/mol (60.052 g/mol) and having a functional group including a Group III element, Group IV element, Group V element, Group VI element, and/or Group VII element.
Re claim 16, Chen teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the etchant comprises a first component and an oxidant, wherein the first component is selected from an organic acid and an organic base, and wherein the first component is present in the etchant at a concentration of at least 0.001 wt. % (almost 100%).
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893