DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “directing the multi-beam of charged particles along the multi-beam path towards an alignment feature” renders that claim indefinite. This is because it is unclear from the claims and the specification whether such directing requires moving all of the beamlets of the multi-beam towards the alignment feature, or if some subset of the beamlets moving towards the alignments feature would suffice. Support for either of these disparate interpretations can be found, but it is unclear which would dictate the scope of the instant invention. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 18 recites, “a control system configured to control the optical system to direct the multi-beam of charged particles towards the alignment feature in a field of view encompassing the alignment feature.” As with claim 1, it is unclear from the claims and the specification whether such directing requires moving all of the beamlets of the multi-beam towards the alignment feature, or if some subset of the beamlets moving towards the alignments feature would suffice. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites, “wherein the charged particle assessment system is configured to control the optical system to direct the multi-beam of charged particles towards the alignment feature in a field of view encompassing the alignment feature.” As with claim 1, it is unclear from the claims and the specification whether such directing requires moving all of the beamlets of the multi-beam towards the alignment feature, or if some subset of the beamlets moving towards the alignments feature would suffice. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 6 recites, “directing the multi-beam comprises scanning the multi-beam of charged particles over the alignment feature.” As with claim 1, it is unclear from the claims and the specification whether such directing requires scanning all of the beamlets of the multi-beam over the alignment feature, or if some subset of the beamlets scanning over the alignments feature would suffice. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 19 recites, “the multi-beam of charged particles scans over the alignment feature.” As with claim 6, it is unclear from the claims and the specification whether such scanning requires all of the beamlets of the multi-beam be scanned over the alignment feature, or if some subset of the beamlets scanning over the alignments feature would suffice. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 2 recites, “wherein the beamlets are simultaneously directed towards the alignment feature.” It is unclear if “the beamlets” refers to “an arrangement of beamlets” of claim 1, or if it is a reference to some unspecified subset thereof. As such, the claim lacks proper antecedent basis and is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the beamlet pitch.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and beamlet pitch can vary over an array, so it does not have an inherent value. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the field of view assigned to a beamlet of the multi-beam.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites, “wherein the charged particle assessment system is configured to control the optical system to direct the multi-beam of charged particles towards the alignment feature in a field of view encompassing the alignment feature;
to generate an a data set representative of the alignment feature based on the detection of the signal particles and to determine from the data set a global alignment of the sample with respect to at least one electron-optical column based on an image of the alignment feature.” First, the typo “generate an a data” is noted. More importantly, the recitation as a whole seeks to define the preamble by a configuration of said preamble. It is unclear whether this is to be understood as: reciting functions to be performed by the recited structure of the optical system; or reciting functions to be performed by any structure of the charged particle assessment system (claimed or unclaimed); or reciting intended use. Each interpretation yields an entirely different claim scope. Since one of ordinary skill in the art cannot resolve the metes and bounds of the scope of the claim, the claim is indefinite.
The above indefinite claims will be interpreted as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,901,391 B1 [hereinafter Saraswatula].
Regarding Claim 1:
Saraswatula discloses a method of aligning a sample in a charged particle assessment system comprising a support for supporting a sample, the assessment system being configured to project charged particles in a multi-beam towards a sample along a multi-beam path, the multi-beam comprising an arrangement of beamlets, and being configured to detect signal particles emitted from the sample in response to a corresponding beamlet of the multi-beam (abstract), the method comprising:
directing the multi-beam of charged particles along the multi-beam path towards an alignment feature of the sample, such that a field of view of the multi-beam of charged particles encompasses the alignment feature (Fig. 5 (1003), 12:54-58);
detecting the signal particles emitted from the sample (Fig. 5 (1003), 12:54-58);
generating a data set representative of the alignment feature based on the detecting of the signal particles (12:59-14:17 extensively describes the generation of such a data set); and
determining a global alignment of the sample with respect to the multi-beam path, using the data set (Fig. 5 (1007), 14:18-25).
Regarding Claim 2:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the beamlets are simultaneously directed towards the alignment feature. In that the first mSEM image of Fig. 5 (10003) includes the notch, beamlets must be directed towards said notch. Further, since the beamlets are projected simultaneously, their direction is simultaneous. 7:42-45.
Regarding Claim 3:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the combined field of view of a selection of beamlets of the multi-beam arrangement encompasses the alignment feature. 7:42-50.
Regarding Claim 4:
Saraswatula discloses the method claim 3, wherein directing the multi-beam comprises selecting the selection of beamlets from the multi-beam arrangement, the selection of beamlets adjoining each other defining a portion of the multi-beam arrangement or the selection of beamlets being disposed throughout the multi-beam arrangement. 7:42-50.
Regarding Claim 5:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 4, wherein multi-beam arrangement comprising the selection of beamlets and unselected beamlets, wherein the selecting comprises blanking the unselected beamlets. In that all beams are selected, no beams need be blanked.
Regarding Claim 6:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein directing the multi-beam comprises scanning the multi-beam of charged particles over the alignment feature. 7:42-50.
Regarding Claim 7:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the scanning of the multi-beam of charged particles over the alignment feature is over a distance greater than or equal to the beamlet pitch. The scanning takes place throughout the multi-beam. As such, scanning takes place over a distance far in excess of any given beamlet pitch.
Regarding Claim 8:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the scanning of the multi-beam of charged particles over the alignment feature is over a distance greater than or equal to a dimension in the plane of the sample surface of portion of beam arrangement and/or the field of view assigned to a beamlet of the multi-beam. The scanning takes place throughout the multi-beam. As such, scanning takes place over a distance far in excess of any given beamlet’s field of view.
Regarding Claim 9:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the scanning on the multi-beam of charged particles over the alignment feature is within the field of view. Fig. 5 (10003), the notch is imaged, and thus, must be within a field of view.
Regarding Claim 10:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting comprises selecting detector elements of a detector array to detect. 7:46-63 describes detecting, which indicates that such elements are selected.
Regarding Claim 11:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises selecting detector signals from the detecting for generating the data set. The mSEM imaging of Fig. 5 indicates that such signals were selected.
Regarding Claim 12:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining comprises selecting data from the data set corresponding to detection of selected detector elements of a detector array. The mSEM imaging of Fig. 5 indicates that such data was selected.
Regarding Claim 13:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining comprises determining the topography of the sample surface in the field of view of the multi-beam based on the intensity of the signal. 7:46-63 – surface quality of the wafer surface is indicative of determining topology, as is detection of a notch.
Regarding Claim 14:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the alignment feature comprises a feature defined in or on the rim of the sample and/or a feature of a major surface of the sample. See Fig. 1 (201)).
Regarding Claim 15:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising determining a fine alignment of the sample with respect to the multi-beam using the global alignment. 7:63-8:17.
Regarding Claim 16:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the determining the fine alignment comprises controlling at least an optical system using the global alignment by directing the arrangement of the beamlets along the multi-beam path towards a fine alignment feature of the sample, such that the field of view of the multi-beam of charged particles encompasses the fine alignment feature. The fine alignment feature is the notch, the field of view encompasses the notch, therefor the claim is met.
Regarding Claim 17:
Saraswatula discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the determining the fine alignment of the sample with respect to the multi-beam path, which is dependent on the global alignment, comprises detecting the signal particles emitted from the sample and generating a fine alignment data set representative of the alignment feature based on the detecting of the signal particles. Fig. 5 (10011).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0211814 A1 [hereinafter Van Der Toorn].
Regarding Claim 18:
Van Der Toorn discloses a charged particle assessment system configured to project a multi-beam of charged particles towards a sample comprising an alignment feature, the multi-beam comprising an arrangement of beamlets directed along a multi-beam path, the system (Fig. 2a) comprising:
a support for supporting a sample (Fig. 2a support for (190));
an optical system for projecting a multi-beam of charged particles towards the sample (Fig. 2a), the optical system comprising:
an array of objective lenses configured to direct a multi-beam of charged particles in an arrangement of beamlets towards the sample (para 45), and
a detector array associated with the objective lens array and configured to detect signal particles emitted from the sample in response to a corresponding beamlet of the multi-beam (Fig. 2a (140));
a control system configured to control the optical system (para 43) to direct the multi-beam of charged particles towards the alignment feature in a field of view encompassing the alignment feature (para 90); and
a processing system configured to generate a data set representative of the alignment feature based on the detection of the signal particles and to determine a global alignment of the sample with respect to the multi-beam path from the data set representative of the alignment feature (para 90).
Regarding Claim 19:
Van Der Toorn discloses charged particle assessment system of claim 18, wherein the control system is configured to control the optical system and/or movement of the support such that the multi-beam of charged particles scans over the alignment feature (paras 44, 61-63).
Regarding Claim 20:
Van Der Toorn discloses a charged particle assessment system configured to project a multi-beam of charged particles towards a sample comprising an alignment feature, the multi-beam comprising an arrangement of beamlets directed along a multi-beam path, the system comprising:
a support for supporting a sample (Fig. 2a support for (190));
an optical system for projecting a multi-beam of charged particles towards the sample, the optical system comprising (Fig. 2a):
an array of objective lenses configured to direct a multi-beam of charged particles in an arrangement of beamlets towards the sample (para 45),, and
a detector array associated with the objective lens array and configured to detection signal particles emitted from the sample in response to a corresponding beamlet of the multi-beam (Fig. 2a (140)); and
wherein the charged particle assessment system is configured to control the optical system to direct the multi-beam of charged particles towards the alignment feature in a field of view encompassing the alignment feature (para 90);
to generate an a data set representative of the alignment feature based on the detection of the signal particles and to determine from the data set a global alignment of the sample with respect to at least one electron-optical column based on an image of the alignment feature (para 90).
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881