DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 10-15) and new claims 21-34 in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-15 and 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the trench structure" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Applicant intended to reference “a vertically-arranged trench structure” in line 3, however “vertically-arrange” is not present within the language of the limitation of “the trench structure.” Examiner encourages amendment to either remove “vertically-arranged” from the first introduction of “a vertically-arranged trench” to fix antecedent issue or reintroduce “vertically-arranged” into all instances of “the trench structure” in subsequent claims. It appears however that “vertically-arranged” is unnecessary to the scope of the claim.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12-14, 21, 26, 28-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Budd et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0085215 A1; hereinafter Budd)
With respect to claim 10, Budd discloses a method, comprising: forming a photodiode structure in a first semiconductor device [47] (See ¶[0047]); forming a transmissive region including a vertically-arranged trench structure [40] in a second semiconductor device [41], wherein the transmissive region is transmissive to light waves (see Figure 4dl); and joining the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device along a bond line to locate the transmissive region including the vertically-arranged trench structure below the photodiode structure (see Figure 4dl).
With respect to claim 12, Budd discloses wherein forming the transmissive region including the vertically-arranged trench structure in the second semiconductor device comprises: forming a cavity [10] in a dielectric layer [11] (see ¶[0019]; dielectric materials can be used to form the substrate), and forming a reflector structure [12/14] within the cavity (see ¶[0020-0021]; “When a low index of refraction material is adjacent to a relatively high index of refraction material, light approaching the interface from the higher index material side intersecting the interface under the critical angle is internally reflected as defined by Snell's Law.”).
With respect to claim 13, Budd discloses wherein forming the transmissive region including the vertically-arranged trench structure further comprises: forming a micro-lens structure [102] on a substrate layer [101] exposed at a bottom of the cavity (see Figure 10d).
With respect to claim 14, Budd discloses wherein forming the reflector structure within the cavity comprises: forming one or more conformal layers of the reflector structure on surfaces of the dielectric layer and the cavity, and removing a portion of the one or more conformal layers from a bottom surface of the cavity (see Figures 5f-5I).
With respect to claim 21, Budd discloses wherein the trench structure is arranged in a direction that is orthogonal to the bond line, and wherein the trench structure is configured to transmit light waves into the first semiconductor device for propagation to the photodiode structure (see Figure 1d)
With respect to claim 26, Budd discloses wherein the trench structure is a first trench structure [70] arranged in a first direction that is orthogonal to the bond line, wherein the light waves are first light waves, wherein the transmissive region includes a second trench structure [70] adjacent to the first trench structure, wherein the second trench structure is arranged in a second direction that is orthogonal to the bond line, and wherein the second trench structure is configured to transmit second light waves into the first semiconductor device for propagation to the photodiode structure (see Figure 7e)
With respect to claim 28, Budd discloses wherein the first trench structure penetrates into the second semiconductor device a first height, and wherein the second trench structure penetrates into the second semiconductor device a second height that is a same approximate height as the first height (See Figure 7e)
With respect to claim 29, Budd discloses wherein the first light waves correspond to light waves of a first wavelength and the second light waves correspond to light waves of a second wavelength (see Figure 7e and ¶[0042]; note that no language disallows both the first and second wavelength being the same wavelength).
With respect to claim 30, Budd discloses wherein the transmissive region is arranged to receive the light waves through the trench structure in the second semiconductor device; and wherein the trench structure is configured to transfer the light waves to the photodiode structure (See Figure 1d).
With respect to claim 31, Budd discloses wherein the light waves are unimpeded by structures within the trench structure (See Figure 1d)
With respect to claim 32, Budd discloses wherein forming the transmissive region comprises: forming a micro-lens structure [102] in the trench structure, wherein the micro-lens structure is arranged to focus the light waves in the trench structure (See Figure 10a and 10d).
With respect to claim 33, Budd discloses providing a waveguide structure that is arranged to propagate the light waves in the first semiconductor device (See ¶[0023]).
With respect to claim 34, Budd discloses wherein the trench structure includes a reflective coating, and wherein the reflective coating includes one or more of: a silicon dioxide material, a titanium dioxide material, an aluminum arsenide material, a gallium arsenide material, an aluminum nitride material, or a gallium nitride material (see ¶[0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd in view of Kropp et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0373471 A1)
With respect to claim 15, Budd fails to disclose wherein forming the reflector structure within the cavity comprises: forming a distributed Bragg reflector structure within the cavity.
In the same field of endeavor, Kropp teaches wherein forming the reflector structure within the cavity comprises: forming a distributed Bragg reflector structure within the cavity (see ¶[0021]). Implementing a distributed Bragg reflector within the device of Budd, as taught by Kropp controls parasitic capacitance of the overall device (See ¶[0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11, 22-25 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 11, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, forming a dielectric layer on the echelle grating structure and over the substrate layer; and forming second cavity through the dielectric layer to the echelle grating structure.
With respect to claims 22-23, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, a segment that penetrates through a dielectric layer of the second semiconductor device and includes a gas that is transmissive to the light waves, and a distributed Bragg reflector structure on sidewalls of the segment to reflect and redirect light along a direction that is orthogonal to the bond line.
With respect to claims 24-25, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, a first segment that penetrates through a dielectric layer of the second semiconductor device and includes a gas that is transmissive to the light waves, and a second segment in a substrate layer of the second semiconductor device above the dielectric layer, wherein the second segment is aligned with the first segment.
With respect to claim 27, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, first trench structure penetrates into the second semiconductor device a first height, and wherein the second trench structure penetrates into the second semiconductor device a second height that is lesser relative to the first height.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doany et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,399,292 B2) discloses photodetector with a backside optical via but fails to disclose a segment that penetrates through a dielectric layer of the second semiconductor device and includes a gas that is transmissive to the light waves, and a distributed Bragg reflector structure on sidewalls of the segment to reflect and redirect light along a direction that is orthogonal to the bond line.
Wood et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,726,276 B1) discloses a photonic transceiver with echelle grating but fails to disclose forming a dielectric layer on the echelle grating structure and over the substrate layer; and forming second cavity through the dielectric layer to the echelle grating structure.
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818