DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Varghese et al. (US 20220344171 A1).
As to claim 1, Varghese discloses a method of stress management in a substrate [Abstract; claims 1-3], comprising:
providing a substrate having a main surface [claim 1]; and
forming a patterned stress compensation layer on the main surface [claim 1],
wherein the patterned stress compensation layer is formed by exposing the main surface to a processing beam while a movement of the processing beam with respect to the main surface takes place [claims 2-3].
As to claim 5, Varghese discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the forming the stress compensation layer comprises:
depositing the stress compensation layer by condensing species derived from the processing beam [para. 0029, “ion beam deposition”], during movement of the processing beam with respect to the first main surface, wherein the stress compensation layer has a non-uniform thickness as a function of position across the main surface [para. 0027-29].
As to claim 7, Varghese discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the processing beam comprises a ribbon ion beam [claim 6], wherein the substrate is scanned along a scan direction while the ribbon ion beam remains stationary [para. 0043].
As to claim 8, Varghese discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the patterned stress compensation layer is determined based upon a surface map of the main surface of the substrate [claims 2-3].
As to claim 9, Varghese discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the forming the patterned stress compensation layer comprises:
providing a substrate having a stress compensation layer on the main surface [claim 1]; and
performing a selective area damage operation, wherein the stress compensation layer is selectively damaged as a function of position across the main surface by scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner [claims 2-3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (US 20220344171 A1), as applied to claims 1, 5, and 7-9 above, in view of Schepis et al. (US 20230326814 A1).
As to claim 2, Varghese discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the forming the patterned stress compensation layer comprises:
providing a substrate having a stress compensation layer on the main surface; and
performing a selective area etching operation, wherein the stress compensation layer is selectively etched as a function of position across the main surface by scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner.
However, Schepis et al. (US 20230326814 A1) discloses a method of modifying stress in a wafer through selective etching of a stress compensation layer, as an alternative to ion implantation [para. 0083], comprising:
providing a substrate having a stress compensation layer on the main surface [para. 0090]; and
performing a selective area etching operation, wherein the stress compensation layer is selectively etched as a function of position across the main surface by scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner [para. 0092-96].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of selectively implanting ions in a stress compensation layer to form a stress relief pattern, of Varghese, to include a step of etching the stress compensation film by selective heat treatment to form a stress relief pattern within a photoresist layer, and performing a selective area etching operation using the patterned photoresist layer, of Schepis, because it is an effective alternative method to forming a stress relief pattern by implanting ions within the stress compensation film, as taught by Schepis [para. 0083].
As to claim 4, modified Varghese discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the processing beam is a ribbon beam [claim 6], the scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner comprises varying a scan speed of the substrate as a function of position of the processing beam on the main surface [para. 0043].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (US 20220344171 A1) in view of Schepis et al. (US 20230326814 A1), as applied to claims 2 and 4 above, and further in view of Reese et al. (US 20140065730 A1).
As to claim 3, modified Varghese discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner comprises varying a duty cycle of an ion beam while scanning the main surface with respect to the ion beam.
However, Reese discloses a method of implant-induced damage control [Abstract], comprising:
wherein the scanning the processing beam in a non-uniform manner comprises varying a duty cycle of an ion beam while scanning the main surface with respect to the ion beam [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method patterning a photoresist layer, of modified Varghese [i.e., selectively activated photoresist by heat treatment], to include a step of modulating the duty cycle of the ion beam, of Reese, in order to control the desired localized temperature, as taught by Reese [Abstract]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (US 20220344171 A1), as applied to claims 1, 5, and 7-9 above, in view of McFadden et al. (US 20190185989 A1).
As to claim 6, Varghese discloses the method of claim 5, but fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the depositing the stress compensation layer comprises varying a duty cycle of an ion beam while scanning the main surface with respect to the ion beam.
However, McFadden discloses a method of controlling the stress of a film by modulating a duty cycle of an ion beam deposition process [para. 0025].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method depositing a stress compensation layer by ion beam deposition, of Varghese, to include a step of modulating the duty cycle of the ion beam, of McFadden, in order to control the desired stress of the deposited film, as taught by McFadden [para. 0025].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The additionally cited references are cited to show methods of controlling stress patterns in stress compensation films and/or applying ion beams to films [Abstracts].
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713