DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I, (claims 1-15), in the reply filed on
07/07/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al. (US 20220077257 A1, hereinafter Choung).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Choung teaches a display device comprising:
Choung’s Figure 1A-Annotated.
a substrate (102, [0027], Fig. 1A);
a first pixel electrode (104, [0027], Fig. 1A) disposed in a first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102, [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) on the substrate (102);
an insulating layer (126 pixel-defining layer made of SiO2, [0027, 0028], Fig. 1A) covering edges of the first pixel electrode (104);
a first light-emitting layer (112 OLED material, [0029], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first pixel electrode (104) and the insulating layer (126);
a first common electrode (114 cathode, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first light-emitting layer (112);
a first bank (110A lower portion of overhang structures 110, [0030], Fig. 1A) disposed on the insulating layer (126) and surrounding the first emission area (emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102);
a second bank (110B upper portion of overhang structures 110, [0037], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first bank (110A) and around the first emission area (emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102), the second bank (110B) including:
tips (tips from 110B, Fig. 1A) projected from sides of the first bank; and
an etch control layer (121 a capping layer, [0035], Fig. 1A) disposed on a top surface of the first common electrode (114), on the sides of the first bank (110A), and on bottom surfaces of the tips of the second bank (110B).
Re: Claim 2, Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a first organic pattern (top-112 OLED material, [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) disposed on the second bank (110B), the first organic pattern (top-112) surrounding the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a, [0029], Fig. 1A) and including a same material as a material of the first light-emitting layer (112 OLED); and a first electrode pattern (top-114 cathode, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first organic pattern (top-112), the first electrode pattern (top-114) including a same material as a material of the first common electrode (114).
Re: Claim 3, Choung discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the etch control layer (121) is disposed on a top surface and sides of the first electrode pattern (top-114).
Re: Claim 4, Choung discloses the display device of claim 2, further comprising: a capping layer (123 a second capping layer, [0035], Fig. 1A) disposed on the etch control layer (121), in the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a, [0029], Fig. 1A); and a first capping pattern (top-123, [0035], Fig. 1A-Annotated) disposed on a part of the etch control layer (121) covering the first electrode pattern (top-114), the first capping pattern (top-123) including a same material as a material of the capping layer (123).
Re: Claim 5, Choung discloses the display device of claim 4, further comprising a first inorganic layer (116, made of an inorganic material [0034], Fig. 1A) disposed in the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a, [0029], Fig. 1A), on a top surface of the capping layer (123), on sides of the etch control layer (121), and on a top surface and sides of the first capping pattern (top-123).
Re: Claim 6, Choung discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein a vaporization temperature of the etch control layer (121) for a fluorine-based etching gas is higher than a vaporization temperature of the first inorganic layer (116) for the fluorine-based etching gas (since the claimed structure is substantially identical to that of the prior art structure, claimed properties are presumed to be present, see MPEP 2112.01(I).
Re: Claim 8, Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second pixel electrode (104-right, on right side [0027], Fig. 1A) disposed in a second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b, [0029], Fig. 1A) and on the substrate (102); a second light-emitting layer (112 OLED-right material on right side, [0029], Fig. 1A) disposed on the second pixel electrode (104-right); and a second common electrode (114-right cathode on right side, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the second light-emitting layer (112 OLED-right).
Re: Claim 9, Choung discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the first bank (110A) surrounds the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b), the second bank (110B) is disposed on the first bank (110A) and around the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b), and the etch control layer (121) is disposed on a top surface of the second common electrode (114-right), on sides of part of the first bank (110A) surrounding the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b), and on bottom surfaces of the tips of the second bank (110B) around the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b).
Re: Claim 10, Choung discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising: a second organic pattern (top-112-right OLED material, [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) surrounding the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b), on the second bank (110B), the second organic pattern (top-112-right) including a same material as a material of the second light-emitting layer (112 OLED-right); and a second electrode pattern (top-114-rigth cathode on right side, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the second organic pattern (top-112-right), the second electrode pattern (top-114-rigth) including a same material as a material of the second common electrode (114-right).
Re: Claim 11, Choung discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the etch control layer (121) is disposed on a top surface and sides of the second electrode pattern (top-114-rigth).
Re: Claim 12, Choung discloses the display device of claim 10, further comprising: a capping layer (123-right a second capping layer, [0035], Fig. 1A) disposed on the etch control layer (121), in the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b); and a second capping pattern (top-123-rigth, [0035], Fig. 1A-Annotated) disposed on a part of the etch control layer (121) covering the second electrode pattern (top-114-right), the second capping pattern (top-123-right) including a same material as a material of the capping layer (123-right).
Re: Claim 13, Choung discloses the display device of claim 12, further comprising a second inorganic layer (116-right, made of an inorganic material [0034], Fig. 1A) disposed in the second emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108b, Fig. 1A), on a top surface of the capping layer (123-right), on sides of the etch control layer (121), and on a top surface and sides of the second capping pattern (top-123-right).
Re: Independent Claim 14, Choung teaches a display device comprising:
a first pixel electrode (104, [0027], Fig. 1A) disposed in a first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102, [0029], Fig. 1A) on a substrate (102, [0027], Fig. 1A);
an insulating layer (126 pixel-defining layer made of SiO2, [0027, 0028], Fig. 1A) covering edges of the first pixel electrode (104);
a first light-emitting layer (112 OLED material, [0029], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first pixel electrode (104) and the insulating layer (126);
a first common electrode (114 cathode, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first light-emitting layer (112);
a first bank (110A lower portion of overhang structures 110, [0030], Fig. 1A) disposed on the insulating layer (126) and surrounding the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102, [0029], Fig. 1A);
a second bank (110B upper portion of overhang structures 110, [0037], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first bank (1101A) and around the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102, [0029], Fig. 1A), the second bank (110B) including:
tips (tips from 110B, Fig. 1A) projected from sides of the first bank (110A);
an etch control layer (121 a capping layer, [0035], Fig. 1A) disposed on a top surface of the first common electrode (114), on the sides of the first bank (110A), and on bottom surfaces of the tips of the second bank (110B); and
a capping layer (123 a second capping layer, [0035], Fig. 1A) disposed on the etch control layer (121), in the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a 102, [0029], Fig. 1A).
Re: Claim 15, Choung discloses the display device of claim 14, further comprising: a first organic pattern (top-112 OLED material, [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) disposed on the second bank (110B), the first organic pattern (top-112) surrounding the first emission area (the emission region of the sub-pixel 108a, [0029], Fig. 1A) and including a same material as a material of the first light-emitting layer (112 OLED); and a first electrode pattern (top-114 cathode, [0032], Fig. 1A) disposed on the first organic pattern (top-112), the first electrode pattern (top-114) including a same material as a material of the first common electrode (114), wherein the etch control layer (121) is disposed on a top surface and sides of the first electrode pattern (top-114).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered
pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner's knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: recited features of the device of claim 1, “…wherein the etch control layer includes at least one of indium gallium zinc oxide, indium zinc oxide, and gallium zinc oxide …” as recited in claim 7, in combination with remaining features of base claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tabatake (US 20240090272 A1) teaches “METHOD OF MANUFACTURING DISPLAY DEVICE AND MOTHER SUBSTRATE”. This document is related to a semiconductor structure with a lower electrode on a base, forming a rib which covers a part of the lower electrode, forming a partition including a lower portion disposed on the rib and an upper portion protruding from a side surface of the lower portion, removing the upper portion of at least a part of the partition, measuring a first width of the lower portion of the partition and a second width of the upper portion of the partition and measuring a distance between the side surface of the lower portion and an end portion of the upper portion based on the first and second widths.
Lee (US 20230371315 A1) teaches “HIGH RESOLUTION ADVANCED OLED SUB-PIXEL CIRCUIT AND PATTERNING METHOD”. This document is related to a sub-pixel. The sub-pixel includes an anode, overhang structures, separation structures, an organic light emitting diode (OLED) material, and a cathode. The anode is defined by adjacent first pixel isolation structures (PIS) and adjacent second PIS. The overhang structures are disposed on the first PIS. The overhang structures include a second structure disposed over the first structure and an intermediate structure disposed between the second structure and the first structure. A bottom surface of the second structure extends laterally past an upper surface of the first structure. The first structure is disposed over the first PIS. Separation structures are disposed over the second PIS. The OLED material is disposed over the anode and an upper surface of the separation structures. The cathode disposed over the OLED material and an upper surface of the separation structures.
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898