DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the third electrode comprises a first opening, and a portion of the first connection electrode and a portion of the second connection electrode are adjacent to each other, are spaced apart from each other, and overlap the first opening.”
It is not clear what overlaps the first opening. Is it a portion of the first connection electrode or a portion of the second connection electrode or both. Can only one of the portion overlap and while both are adjacent and spaced apart? Can collectively associated portions overlap without requiring each individually to overlap?
For the purposes as long as a portion of the first connection electrode or a portion of the second connection electrode overlaps the first opening the limitation considered to be met.
Claims 2-12 are rejected as being dependent on Claim 1.
Claim 13 recites “a portion of the first connection electrode and a portion of the second connection electrode are adjacent to each other, are spaced apart from each other, and overlaps the first opening. (See Fig. 1)”
It is not clear what overlaps the first opening. Is it a portion of the first connection electrode or a portion of the second connection electrode or both. Can only one of the portion overlap and while both are adjacent and spaced apart? Can collectively associated portions overlap without requiring each individually to overlap?
For the purposes as long as a portion of the first connection electrode or a portion of the second connection electrode overlaps the first opening the limitation considered to be met.
Claims 14-20 are rejected as being dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13, 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2014/0299843 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (101);
a first transistor comprising a first semiconductor layer (A1) on the substrate (101) and a first electrode (114-1) overlapping the first semiconductor layer (A1);
a first capacitor (Cst1) comprising the first electrode (114-1) and a second electrode (117), the second electrode overlapping the first electrode (Fig. 11);
a second capacitor (Cst2) comprising the second electrode (117) and a third electrode (118-1), the third electrode overlapping the second electrode (Fig. 11);
a first connection electrode (130) and a second connection electrode (120) disposed on the third electrode (118-1), wherein
the third electrode (118-1) comprises a first opening (opening in 118-1), and a portion of the first connection electrode (130) and a portion of the second connection electrode (120) are adjacent to each other (Fig. 11), are spaced apart from each other, and overlap the first opening. (See Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 2, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the first connection electrode (120) is electrically connected to the first electrode (114-1), and the second connection electrode (120) is electrically connected to the second electrode. (117)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the second electrode (117) comprises a second opening (115) overlapping the first opening in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (101), and a portion of the first connection electrode (130) overlaps the second opening. (See Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 4, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein
a size of the first opening is greater than a size of the second opening. (See Fig. 11)
The Examiner notes that opening have tapered edges and as long as the first opening is greater than a size of the second opening at any point the limitation is considered to be met.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein
a size of the first opening is substantially equal to or greater than twice a size of the second opening. (See Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the second electrode (117) is disposed above the first electrode (114-1), the third electrode (118-1) is disposed above the second electrode (117), and the first connection electrode (130) and the second connection electrode (120) are disposed above the third electrode (118-1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the first connection electrode (130) and the second connection electrode (120)) are disposed on a same layer. (Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 13, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (101);
a first semiconductor layer (A1) disposed above the substrate (101);
a first gate layer (GL1) disposed above the first semiconductor layer (A1), the first gate layer (GL1) comprising a first electrode (GL1);
a second gate layer (GL2) disposed above the first gate layer (GL2), the second gate layer comprising a second electrode (GL2) overlapping the first electrode (GL1) in a direction toward an upper surface of the substrate; (Fig. 11)
a connection conductive layer (GL3) disposed above the second gate layer (GL2), the connection conductive layer comprising a third electrode (GL3) overlapping the second electrode (GL2) and having a first opening; (Fig. 11) and
a connection electrode layer (130, 120) disposed above the connection conductive layer (GL3), the connection electrode layer comprising a first connection electrode (130) and a second connection electrode (120), wherein
a portion of the first connection electrode (130) and a portion of the second connection electrode (120) are adjacent to each other, are spaced apart from each other, and overlaps the first opening. (See Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 14, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 13, wherein
the second electrode (GL2) comprises a second opening overlapping (115) the first opening in a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate (101), and a portion of the first connection electrode (130) overlaps the second opening. (See Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 16, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein a size of the first opening is greater than a size of the second opening. (Fig. 11)
The Examiner notes that opening have tapered edges and as long as the first opening is greater than a size of the second opening at any point the limitation is considered to be met.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim (Fig. 11) discloses the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein
a size of the first opening is substantially equal to or greater than twice a size of the second opening. (Fig. 11)
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891