DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A1, B1 (claims 1-7, 15-16, 18-20) in the replies filed on 05/26/2026 (written election) and 08/18/2026 (oral election) is acknowledged.
Note: Examiner contacted Applicant on 08/18/2026, as the Response to Election filed 05/26/2026 was incomplete due to no selection of Species Group B; Applicant responded to the call and elected Species B1 as an oral election on 08/18/2026.
Claims 8-14, 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, Species A2-A5, B1, B2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the replies filed on 05/26/2026 (written election) and 08/18/2026 (oral election).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Signal generator (direct digital synthesizer {DDS}, para. [0028]) in at least claims 1-7, 15-20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " a low pass filter on the board and electrically coupled between the signal generator and the first mixer " in the claim. There is no embodiment with this limitation. Examiner interprets as “a band pass filter on the board and electrically coupled between the signal generator and the first mixer”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240412088 to Kanazawa.
Claim 1: Kanazawa discloses an apparatus, comprising: a board (304 [circuitry], Fig. 3); a signal generator (324 [signal generator]) for generating chirped signals on the board (302, para. [0061] where transition frequencies are disclosed); a first mixer (323 [upconverter mixer]) on the board (302) and electrically coupled to the signal generator (324);
a circulator (325 [RF circulator]) on the board (302), wherein the circulator (325) comprises a first port that is electrically coupled to the mixer (323), a second port that is electrically coupled to a connector (connector to 326), and a third port (Fig. 3);
a second mixer (329 [second I/Q mixer], Fig. 3) on the board (320) and electrically coupled to the third port of the circulator (325); and an analog to digital converter (ADC) (330 [ADC circuitry]) on the board (302) and electrically coupled to the second mixer (329).
Claim 6: Kanazawa discloses wherein the first mixer (323, Fig. 3, Kanazawa) is configured to up- convert a signal (para. [0063]), and wherein the second mixer (329) is configured to down-convert the signal (para. [0067]).
Claim(s) 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230126790 to Papeer.
Claim 15: Papeer discloses a tool, comprising: a chamber (108 [chamber], Fig. 1-3) suitable for generating a plasma (para. [0080]); a pedestal (302 [stage(s)], Fig. 3) within the chamber (108) for supporting a substrate (110 [target], para. [0068]); and a sensor (320 [sensor]) at least partially within the chamber (108) for measuring plasma properties (para. [0076]), wherein the sensor (320) comprises: a resonator (320) or transmission line; and RF circuitry (102 or 216, para. [0104, 0058, 0061], coupled to the resonator, wherein the RF circuitry is configured to generate chirped pulses that are fed to the resonator (320, para. [0059]).
Claim 19: Papeer discloses wherein the sensor (320, Fig. 3, Papeer) is configured to measure a frequency of the plasma generated within the chamber (108) using the transmission line or a resonant frequency shift of the resonator induced by interaction with a plasma (para. [0108, 0058, 0078]).
Claim 20: Papeer discloses wherein the frequency of the plasma or the resonant frequency shift are used to measure plasma properties (para. [0078]). Additionally regarding the limitations, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa as applied to claims 1, 6 above, and further in view of US 20030185287 to Ogawa.
Claim 2: Kanazawa does not disclose further comprising: a phase locked loop (PLL) synthesizer on the board and electrically coupled between the first mixer and the second mixer.
However Ogawa discloses further comprising: a phase locked loop (PLL) synthesizer (214a16 [PLL synthesizer], Fig. 15B) on the board (214) and electrically coupled between the first mixer (214a4 [first frequency mixer]) and the second mixer (214a11 [second frequency mixer]) for the purpose of securing high stability in frequency (para. [0102]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Ogawa with motivation to secure high stability in frequency.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa as applied to claims 1, 6 above, and further in view of US 20120002972 to Stiffler.
Claims 3-5: Kanazawa does not disclose (claim 3) wherein the signal generator is configured to generate the chirped signal with a pulse length up to 100ms; (claim 4) wherein the chirped signal is a linear chirp, an exponential chirp, or a hyperbolic chirp; (claim 5) wherein the chirped signal has a frequency range with a low frequency up to 0.01GHz and a high frequency up to 10.0GHz.
However Stiffler discloses (claim 3) wherein the signal generator (332 [chirp generator] or RF AWG, Fig. 3C) is configured to generate the chirped signal with a pulse length up to 100ms (para. [0057]); (claim 4) wherein the chirped signal is a linear chirp (para. [0048-0049], an exponential chirp, or a hyperbolic chirp; (claim 5) wherein the chirped signal has a frequency range with a low frequency up to 0.01GHz and a high frequency up to 10.0GHz (para. [0065] where the range overlaps the claimed range), for the purpose of having a wide range of uses (para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Stiffler with motivation to have a wide range of uses.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa as applied to claims 1, 6 above, and further in view of US 20100013711 to Bartlett.
Claim 7: Kanazawa does not disclose further comprising: a band pass filter (19 [band pass filter], Fig. 4) on the board (2) and electrically coupled between the signal generator (13 [DDS]) and the first mixer (20 [first mixer]) and/or a high pass filter on the board and electrically coupled between the first mixer and the circulator, for the purpose of generating and transmitting the chirp (para. [0093]) and/or reducing digital switching transients (para. [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Bartlett with motivation to generate and transmit the chirp (para. [0093]) and/or reduce digital switching transients.
Claims 8-14: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa as applied to claims 15, 19-20 above, and further in view of US 20220154330 to Cheng.
Claim 16: Papeer does not disclose wherein the resonator is provided along a wall of the chamber, and wherein the RF circuitry is coupled to the resonator through a link that passes through the wall of the chamber.
However Cheng discloses wherein the sensor(s) (132/134, Fig. 1) is provided along a wall of the chamber (walls of 110 [chamber]), and wherein the RF circuitry (139 [controller, para. [0027]) is coupled to the sensors (132/134) through a link that passes through the wall of the chamber (wall of 110, Fig. 1) for the purpose of detecting an abnormality of the process (para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Cheng with motivation to detect an abnormality of the process.
Claim 17: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa as applied to claims 15, 19-20 above, and further in view of US 20240412088 to Kanazawa.
Claim 18: Papeer does not disclose wherein the RF circuitry comprises: a board; a direct digital synthesizer (DDS) on the board; a first mixer on the board and electrically coupled to the DDS; a circulator on the board, wherein the circulator comprises a first port that is electrically coupled to the mixer, a second port that is electrically coupled to a connector, and a third port;
a second mixer on the board and electrically coupled to the third port of the
circulator; and an analog to digital converter (ADC) on the board and electrically coupled to the second mixer.
However Kanazawa discloses wherein the RF circuitry comprises: a board (304 [circuitry], Fig. 3); a signal generator (324 [signal generator]) for generating chirped signals on the board (302, para. [0061] where transition frequencies are disclosed); a first mixer (323 [upconverter mixer]) on the board (302) and electrically coupled to the signal generator (324);
a circulator (325 [RF circulator]) on the board (302), wherein the circulator (325) comprises a first port that is electrically coupled to the mixer (323), a second port that is electrically coupled to a connector (connector to 326), and a third port (Fig. 3);
a second mixer (329 [second I/Q mixer], Fig. 3) on the board (320) and electrically coupled to the third port of the circulator (325); and an analog to digital converter (ADC) (330 [ADC circuitry]) on the board (302) and electrically coupled to the second mixer (329). Kanazawa discloses all the above for the purpose of generating a RF readout control signal to enable measurement of a component (para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Kanazawa with motivation to generate an RF readout control signal to enable measurement of a component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170138847 discloses a signal generator (228, Fig. 2) coupled to a first and second mixer (222B, 222A), with a local oscillator (212) connected to two mixers, and an analog to digital converter (220, para. [0028-0029]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718