DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JATOU et al. (US 2021/0183922, hereinafter, Jatou.)
In regard to claims 1, 15 and 18, in figs. 6-7, for example, Jatou discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device 700 (para [0094]), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (silicon substrate) 512 (para [0072]);
a pixel comprising a photodetector 400 (para [0052]) in the semiconductor layer;
a conductive structure M1, M3 (para [0047]) electrically coupled to the pixel on a first side of the semiconductor layer;
a plurality of light diffusors 710 (para [0094]) overlying the photodetector on a second side of the semiconductor layer opposite the first side; and
a light-focusing structure 370 overlying the plurality of light diffusors (described in para [0064]), the light-focusing structure comprising a plurality of light-focusing portions 272, each of the plurality of light-focusing portions overlying, and configured to focus light on, a corresponding one or more of the plurality of light diffusors (described in para [0094].)
Regarding claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of light diffusors extends into the semiconductor layer. Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of light-focusing portions overlies, and is configured to focus light on, a corresponding single one of the plurality of light diffusors. Fig. 7.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, wherein each of the plurality of light diffusors comprises a pyramidal structure having an apex directed toward the first side of the semiconductor layer. Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the plurality of light diffusors are grouped into a plurality of groups of light diffusors, each of the plurality of groups of light diffusors optically coupled with a corresponding one of the plurality of light-focusing portions. Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of groups of light diffusors comprises a plurality of pyramidal structures, each of the plurality of pyramidal structures having an apex directed toward the first side of the semiconductor layer. Fig. 7.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, wherein the light-focusing structure comprises at least one of a plurality of microlenses 272 (para [0064]). Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of light-focusing portions comprises a corresponding different one of the plurality of microlenses. Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of light-focusing portions inherently comprises an aperture of the low-refractive-index grid (the ability of focusing certain colors, described in para [0064].)
Regarding claim 19, Jatou inherently shows wherein forming the plurality of light diffusors comprises: etching a plurality of voids into a surface of the second side of the photosensitive region, each of the plurality of voids having a shape of each of the plurality of light diffusors; and
forming a dielectric layer over the second side of the photosensitive region, the dielectric layer filling each of the plurality of voids. Para [0105] and fig. 7 describe how elements may be etched.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the plurality of light diffusors are arranged over the second side of the photosensitive region as a plurality of groups of light diffusors, wherein each of the plurality of groups of light diffusors comprises one or more of the plurality of light diffusors. Fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jatou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YUN et al. (US 2022/0208822, hereinafter, Yun.)
In regard to claims 1-143, Jatou discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above, except, wherein each of the plurality of light-focusing portions comprises a planar lens.
Yun, in fig. 4A and 5, discloses an analogous semiconductor device including an image sensor device 1000 including pixel element 1100 (para [0082]), and focusing elements, lens array 130 (para [0132]), the lens array includes several types of lenses including a planar lens 151, high and low index lens (paras [0093-0094]. This is common arrangement in the art since it provides proper light emission,
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the arrangement in order to emit proper lights.
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jatou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chou et al. (2021/0183822, hereinafter, Chou.)
In regard to claims 5 and 9, Jatou discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above, except, wherein each of the plurality of light diffusors comprises a columnar structure having a planar surface facing the first side of the semiconductor layer.
Chou, in figs. 7A, for example, discloses an analogous device, image sensor, 100 (para [0109]), including a photosensor 116 in a semiconductor layer 122, and light diffusor layer 117, for example, the diffusors having a columnar structure with a planar surface facing the conductive structure. The planar surface allows larger amount of the light passing the area. This is common in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to form the diffusors with different shape in order to increase the light emission.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jatou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WANG (US 2022/0190010.)
In regard to claim 8, Jatou discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above, except, wherein at least one of the plurality of pyramidal structures has a different size than another one of the plurality of pyramidal structures in a plan view of the IC device.
Wang, in figs. 1 and 2A-B, discloses an analogous device including a plurality of pyramidal structures 11/12. The pyramidal structures have different sizes in a plane view. The sizes provide a variety of light angels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to form the elements with different sizes in order to provide the control of the light diffusion.
Conclusion
/NATHAN W HA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814