DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 5/20/2026. Claims 1-10 & 12-19 are pending in this application. Claim 11 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0040306) in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0051964).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 8, [0060, 0066], a stretchable display device comprising:
-a plurality of display units (24) each comprising a light-emitting diode [0060]; and
-a connection unit (signal paths 42) disposed between two adjacent display units (24) among the plurality of display units and connected to each of the two adjacent display units (24),
wherein the connection unit (42) includes a curved part (as indicated) in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units (24) and a hole (as indicated) is defined in the connection unit (42) when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units (24) to form a convex shape.
Kim does not explicitly teach the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction.
Jung teaches, Fig. 14A, [0226], the curved part (of 682, 683) protruding upward in a thickness direction (vertical direction).
As taught by Jung, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction as claimed, because it aids in achieving a stretchable display device to be able to stretch/contact in a specific direction and changing into various shape. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Jung in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Kim teaches, Fig. 8, wherein the connection unit (42) comprises: a pair of first parts (both sides of indicated hole) respectively connected to the two adjacent display units (24); and a second part (curved part forms indicated hole) disposed between the pair of first parts and disposed on a surface different from a surface where each of the pair of first parts is disposed.
Re claim 4, Kim teaches, Fig. 8, wherein the pair of first parts (both side of indicated hole) and the second part (curved part forms indicated hole) are disposed on different surfaces from a surface where the display unit (24) of the plurality of display units (24) is disposed.
Re claim 5, Kim teaches, Figs. 8, 9 & 53, [0076, 0119, 0120], wherein one of the two adjacent display units comprises a sub-pixel circuit (24) electrically connected to the light-emitting diode (diodes) of the one display unit and comprising a thin-film transistor (transistors) and a capacitor (capacitors), and a plurality of lines (interconnects) electrically connected to the sub-pixel circuit and providing signals or voltages extend toward another one of the two adjacent display units (24) by passing the connection unit (42).
Re claim 6, Kim teaches, Figs. 8, 9 & 53, wherein the plurality of lines (50) comprise a first line and a second line (under two adjacent 24), and the first line and the second line are disposed on opposite sides with respect to the hole of the connection unit (42).
Re claim 7, Kim teaches, Figs. 6-7 & 19-21, abstract, wherein a shape of the connection unit (42) is changed and a curvature of the curved part is reduced when the stretchable display device is extended (based on elastomeric substrate & stretchable lighting unit).
3. Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US 2023/0075199) in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0051964).
Re claims 1 & 8, Tian teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1, 2a, 2b, 3a, [0038, 0041], a stretchable display device comprising:
-a substrate (10) comprising a plurality of first areas (having 100) and a second area (having 200) between two adjacent first areas among the plurality of first areas;
-a plurality of display units (100) respectively corresponding to the plurality of first areas of the substrate (10) and each comprising a light-emitting diode (light emitting device) disposed in corresponding one of the plurality of first areas; and
-a connection unit (bridge area 200) corresponding to the second area of the substrate (10),
wherein the connection unit (200) includes a curved part (as indicated) protruding upward and a hole (300) is defined in the connection unit (200) when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units (100) to form a convex shape,
wherein the hole (300) of the connection unit (200) has an elliptical shape.
Tian does not explicitly teach the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units.
Jung teaches, Fig. 14A, [0226], the curved part (of 682, 683) protruding upward in a thickness direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units (1360, 1460).
As taught by Jung, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units as claimed, because it aids in achieving a stretchable display device to be able to stretch/contact in a specific direction and changing into various shape. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Jung in combination with Tian due to above reason.
Re claim 9, Tian teaches wherein a shape of the hole of the connection unit (200) is changed from the elliptical shape to a circular shape when the stretchable display device is extended (based on result of deformation of stretchable display panel, [0037]).
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0027671) in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0051964).
Re claim 1, Lee teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-3 & 7A, [0057, 0074], a stretchable display device comprising:
-a plurality of display units (SPX) each comprising a light-emitting diode (160); and
-a connection unit (connection line 181, connection substrate CS) disposed between two adjacent display units (P) among the plurality of display units (SPX) and connected to each of the two adjacent display units (SPX),
wherein the connection unit (181, CS) includes a curved part (as indicated) protruding upward in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units (SPX) and a hole (as indicated) is defined in the connection unit (SPX) when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units (SPX).
Lee does not explicitly teach the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction.
Jung teaches, Fig. 14A, [0226], the curved part (of 682, 683) protruding upward in a thickness direction (vertical direction).
As taught by Jung, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the curved part protruding upward in a thickness direction as claimed, because it aids in achieving a stretchable display device to be able to stretch/contact in a specific direction and changing into various shape. Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Jung in combination with Lee due to above reason.
5. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0310752).
The teachings of Kim/Jung have been discussed above.
Re claim 8, Kim/Jung does not teach wherein the hole of the connection unit has an elliptical shape.
Liu teaches the hole of the connection unit has an elliptical shape (see claim 7).
As taught by Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the hole of the connection unit having an elliptical shape as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Liu in combination with Kim/Jung due to above reason.
Re claim 9, Kim/Jung/Liu does not explicitly teach wherein a shape of the hole of the connection unit is changed from the elliptical shape to a circular shape when the stretchable display device is extended.
Kim does teach the stretchable display device is extended (abstract) & Liu does teach shape of the hole of the connection unit is elliptical shape (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Kim/Liu to obtain a shape of the hole of the connection unit is changed from the elliptical shape to a circular shape when the stretchable display device is extended, because it is recognized as a result of a changing of elliptical shape during an extension.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 & 12-19 are allowed.
The allowable subject matter includes “a connection unit corresponding to the second area of the substrate,
wherein the connection unit includes a curved part curved in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of a display unit of the plurality of display units and a hole is defined in the connection unit when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units, and
the second area of the substrate includes a curved part curved in the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units and a hole corresponding to the hole of the connection unit is defined in the second area of the substrate when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the display unit of the plurality of display units” (claim 10).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2022/0231104, Figs. 3-5) discloses a stretchable display device including a stretchable substrate & light emitting pixels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/24/26