CTNF 18/401,911 CTNF 77635 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) filed on 04/27/2026 and withdrawn Group II (claim 20) has been acknowledged and considered. Applicants have the right to file a divisional application covering the subject matter of the non-elected claim (claim 20). Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application. Oath/Declaration 3. The oath/declaration filed on 01/02/2024 is acceptable. Priority 02-26 AIA 4. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement 5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant: Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 01/02/2024. Specification 6. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01). A title such as – DISPLAY PANEL COMPRISING A FIRST LIGHT EMITTING ELEMENT AND A SECOND LIGHT EMITTING ELEMENT INCLUDINF A FIRST PROTECTIVE LAYER AND A SECOND PROTECTIVE LAYER – or is suggested by the applicant. Note that the claims are directed to a semiconductor device instead of a method of making a semiconductor device. The specification needs to be updated. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-21 AIA 7. Claim s 1-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LI X (CN-112242420-A) in view of PARK et al., hereafter “PARK” (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0103575 A1) and further in view of WEHLUS T (DE-102012221191-A1) . Regarding claim 1, LI X discloses a display panel, comprising: a base layer (SUB); a lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1) disposed on the base layer (SUB) and having a first light emitting opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP) and a second light emitting opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP) which are defined in the lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1); an upper pixel defining layer (PDL1_2) disposed on the lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1) and having a first upper opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP) and a second upper opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP) which are defined in the upper pixel defining layer (PDL1_2), and which overlap the first light emitting opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP) and the second light emitting opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP), respectively; a first light emitting element (Left OLED) disposed in the first upper opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP); and a second light emitting element (Middle OLED) disposed in the second upper opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP) (Figs. 12 and 23-24 and English Text). LI X discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a first light emitting element including a first electrode, a first protective layer, a first light emitting pattern, and a second electrode and a second light emitting element including a first electrode, a second protective layer, a second light emitting pattern, and a second electrode , wherein each of the first protective layer and the second protective layer includes a titanium oxide. PARK, however, discloses or suggests a light emitting element (OLED) including a first light emitting element (Left OLED) including a first electrode (PE), a first protective layer (non-conductive oxide film 266), a first light emitting pattern (512), and a second electrode (613) (Figs. 5-8 and para [0088]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of LI X to provide a first light emitting element including a first electrode, a first protective layer, a first light emitting pattern, and a second electrode and a second light emitting element including a first electrode, a second protective layer, a second light emitting pattern, and a second electrode as taught by PARK for a purpose of increasing an electron-hole recombination rate in the light emitting element by controlling an amount of holes injected into the light emitting element. LI X and PARK, however, do not disclose wherein each of the first protective layer and the second protective layer includes a titanium oxide. WEHLUS T, however, discloses the insulating layer ( corresponding to the protective layer (6) ) contains, for example, non-conductive oxides such as aluminum oxides, titanium oxides and silicon oxides, a nitride such as silicon nitride or non-conductive coatings (Fig. 1A and English Text). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective layer teaching of WEHLUS T with LI X and PARK because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to improve the conductivity for the protective layer. MPEP 2144.06. Regarding claim 2, LI X, PARK and WEHLUS T (Citations to LI X unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first protective layer (1 st 266) overlaps the first light emitting opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP), and the second protective layer (2 nd 266) overlaps the second light emitting opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP) (Figs. 5-8 in PARK). Regarding claim 3, LI X, PARK and WEHLUS T (Citations to LI X unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first protective layer (1 st 266) contacts the first electrode (PE) of the first light emitting element, and the second protective layer (2 nd 266) contacts the first electrode (PE) of the second light emitting element (Figs. 5-8 in PARK). Regarding claim 4, LI X, PARK and WEHLUS T (Citations to LI X unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein each of the first protective layer (1 st 266) and the second protective layer (2 nd 266) has a thickness in a range of about 30 Å to about 50 Å (Figs. 5-8 and para [0015]). Regarding claim 5, LI X, PARK and WEHLUS T (Citations to LI X unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first protective layer (1 st 266) overlaps an inner side surface of the lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1) defining the first light emitting opening (Left pixel opening PX_OP), and the second protective layer (2 nd 266) overlaps an inner side surface of the lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1) defining the second light emitting opening (Middle pixel opening PX_OP) (Figs. 5-8). Regarding claim 18, LI X, PARK and WEHLUS T (Citations to LI X unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first light emitting element (Left OLED) and the second light emitting element (Middle OLED) emit mutually different color lights (blue/red/green) (Figs. 23-24 and English Text) . 07-21 AIA 8. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over LI X (CN-112242420-A) in view of OH J (KR-20050079097-A) in view of PARK et al., hereafter “PARK” (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0103575 A1) and further in view of WEHLUS T (DE-102012221191-A1) . Regarding claim 19, LI X discloses a display panel, comprising: a base layer (SUB) including: a light emitting region (PA1/PA2/PA3); and a non-light emitting region (NPA); a lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1) disposed in the non-light emitting region (NPA); an upper pixel defining layer (PDL1_2) disposed on the lower pixel defining layer (PDL1_1); and a light emitting element (OLED) disposed in the light emitting region (PA1/PA2/PA3) (Figs. 12 and 23-24 and English Text). LI X discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a lower pixel defining layer including an insulating material and an upper pixel defining layer including a conductive material. OH J, however, discloses or suggests a lower pixel defining layer (46) including an insulating material and an upper pixel defining layer (47) including a conductive material. (Figs. 8a-8b and English Text). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lower pixel defining layer and the upper pixel defining layer teaching of OH J with LI X because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to reduce the sheet resistance through the conductive second pixel definition layer in contact with the second electrode layer. MPEP 2144.06. LI X and OH J discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the light emitting element includes: a first electrode disposed on the base layer; a protective layer disposed on the first electrode and including a titanium oxide; a light emitting pattern disposed on the protective layer; and a second electrode disposed on the light emitting pattern, and the protective layer overlaps a top surface of the first electrode corresponding to the light emitting region. PARK, however, discloses or suggests a light emitting element (OLED) including a first light emitting element (Left OLED) including a first electrode (PE) disposed on the base layer (110), a first protective layer (non-conductive oxide film 266) disposed on the first electrode (PE), a first light emitting pattern (512) disposed on the protective layer (266), and a second electrode (613) disposed on the light emitting pattern (512), and the protective layer (266) overlaps a top surface of the first electrode (PE) corresponding to the light emitting region (900) (Fig. 7 and para [0167]-[0172]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of LI X to provide wherein the light emitting element includes: a first electrode disposed on the base layer; a protective layer disposed on the first electrode and including a titanium oxide; a light emitting pattern disposed on the protective layer; and a second electrode disposed on the light emitting pattern, and the protective layer overlaps a top surface of the first electrode corresponding to the light emitting region as taught by PARK for a purpose of increasing an electron-hole recombination rate in the light emitting element by controlling an amount of holes injected into the light emitting element. LI X, OH J and PARK, however, do not disclose wherein the protective layer including a titanium oxide. WEHLUS T, however, discloses the insulating layer ( corresponding to the protective layer (6) ) contains, for example, non-conductive oxides such as aluminum oxides, titanium oxides and silicon oxides, a nitride such as silicon nitride or non-conductive coatings (Fig. 1A and English Text). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective layer teaching of WEHLUS T with LI X, OH J and PARK because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to improve the conductivity for the protective layer. MPEP 2144.06 . Allowable Subject Matter 13-03-01 9. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter: 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Cited Prior Arts 07-96 AIA 10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. HWANG (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0152717 A1) discloses a display device comprising a pixel definition layer PLE may include the first pixel definition layer PD1 and the second pixel definition layer PD2. The first pixel definition layer PD 1 may be disposed on the third insulating layer IH. The first pixel definition layer PD1 may be formed to define a first opening OP1. For example, the first opening OP1 may be formed to penetrate the first pixel definition layer PD1, and in this case, the first opening OP1 may be define by a first side surface PD1-S of the first pixel definition layer PD 1 (Fig. 4A and para [0137]-[0138]). CHOI et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/006643 A1) discloses a display device comprising the organic light emitting display device 10 may include a substrate 100, a buffer layer 110, a first insulation layer 120, a second insulation layer 130, a protecting layer 190, a via pattern 200, an organic light emitting diode OLED, a pixel defining layer 400, a thin film encapsulation layer 600, a sensing structure 700, a black matrix 800, a color filter layer 900, an overcoating layer OC, and a cover window WIN. The organic light emitting diode OLED may include a first electrode 300, a light emitting layer 510, and a second electrode 530, and the pixel defining layer 400 may include a first pixel defining layer 410 and a second pixel defining layer 430. Each of the pixels PX may emit, for example, a red light, a green light, or a blue light, or may emit a red light, a green light, a blue light, or a white light, via the organic light-emitting diode OLED, for example via the light emitting layer 510 of the organic light-emitting diode OLED (Fig. 2 and para [0042]) . Conclusion 11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Phuc T. Dang whose telephone number is 571-272-1776. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 am-5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jacob Choi can be reached on 469-295-9060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 10 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/401,911 Page 11 Art Unit: 2897