DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/08/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-7 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits “Yuan fails to teach or suggest at least "circuitry to use one or more neural networks to generate one or more images from text based, at least in part, on one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images and one or more second images with text indicating content of the one or more second images," as recited in claim 1. Yuan discusses an image generation apparatus configured to generate images based on a text prompt. See Yuan at [0004], p. 1. Yuan also mentions that an image search may be based on a text prompt, and then using one or more retrieved images based on a text prompt. Id However, Yuan is silent at least regarding "one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images," as recited by claim 1, and further silent regarding the one or more processors to use a neural network to generate images from a text prompt from images without any text embeddings indicating their content. Rather, Yuan merely describes retrieving search images from a database based on a query of images with text embeddings and, thus, the system appears incapable of obtaining an image "without text indicating content" of the image, as claimed. Yuan does not anticipate each and every element of amended claim 1. Withdrawal of the pending rejection of claim 1, therefore, is respectfully requested.” (Remarks, Page 6).
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Examiner mapped “Search images” to “one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images” because the search image is the input without captions. See Fig. 5 and ¶0071. The image with captions is mapped to “one or more second images with text indicating content of the one or more second images” because when image and text features are embedded into a common space, it is image with captions. See ¶0075, “Image and text features are embedded into a common space and image-semantic contrastive losses are designed to force the features of semantically similar input examples to be closer.”
To further explain examiner point of view and without changing the ground, applicant can see Cho et al. (US Pub 2023/0153522 A1) in ¶0037, a “image search apparatus 110 can encode images and generate captions for the images according to a machine learning model.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US Pub 2023/0260164 A1).
As to claim 1, Yuan discloses a processor, comprising: one or more circuits to use one or more neural networks to generate one or more images from text based, at least in part, on one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images and one or more second images with text indicating content of the one or more second images (Yuan, Fig. 2, Fig. 5, ¶0004, “The same cross-modal encoder can then encode a text phrase to obtain a text phrase representation. An image search component is used to select a search image from the candidate images by comparing each of the search image representations to the text phrase representation. A search image is used as guidance along with the text phrase to generate a target image.” The search image is a first image without text indicating content. ¶0071, “identifying a training set comprising a set of images and a set of captions corresponding to the images, encoding the images using an image encoder to produce encoded images, encoding the captions using a text encoder to produce encoded text, computing a multi-modal loss function based on the encoded images and the encoded text, the multi-modal loss function comprising at least one image loss term, at least one text loss term, and at least one cross-modal term, and training the image encoder and the text encoder based on the multi-modal loss function.” Image with captions is a second image with text indicating content. ¶0075, “Image features are adjusted according to captions via back propagation, and vice versa.”).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the text indicating content is a caption embedded using one or more encoders (Yuan, ¶0071, “identifying a training set comprising a set of images and a set of captions corresponding to the images, encoding the images using an image encoder to produce encoded images, encoding the captions using a text encoder to produce encoded text, computing a multi-modal loss function based on the encoded images and the encoded text, the multi-modal loss function comprising at least one image loss term, at least one text loss term, and at least one cross-modal term, and training the image encoder and the text encoder based on the multi-modal loss function.”).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images are compared to the one or more second images based, at least in part, on the one or more neural networks performing one or more loss operations (Yuan, ¶0071, “computing a multi-modal loss function based on the encoded images and the encoded text, the multi-modal loss function comprising at least one image loss term, at least one text loss term, and at least one cross-modal term, and training the image encoder and the text encoder based on the multi-modal loss function.” ¶0072, “the multi-modal loss function includes an image-text contrastive loss. The image-text contrastive loss is based on a distance between a query image and a positive or negative sample of encoded text. For example, a low image-text contrastive loss indicates that a query image may be similar to a phrase of text, and a high image-text contrastive loss indicates that an image may not be similar to a phrase of text, based on the associated encoded query image and the encoded text.” ¶0075, “Image and text features are embedded into a common space and image-semantic contrastive losses are designed to force the features of semantically similar input examples to be closer.” ¶0082, “The visual-semantic contrastive learning involves multi-modal training with multiple types of contrastive losses.” ¶0110, “computing a discriminator contrastive learning loss based on the target image and an original image. Some examples further include updating parameters of the discriminator network based on the discriminator contrastive learning loss.”).
As to claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more neural networks generates the one or more images based, at least in part, on one or more captions of one or more portions of the one or more second images (Yuan, ¶0071, “identifying a training set comprising a set of images and a set of captions corresponding to the images, encoding the images using an image encoder to produce encoded images, encoding the captions using a text encoder to produce encoded text, computing a multi-modal loss function based on the encoded images and the encoded text, the multi-modal loss function comprising at least one image loss term, at least one text loss term, and at least one cross-modal term, and training the image encoder and the text encoder based on the multi-modal loss function.” ¶0075, “Image features are adjusted according to captions via back propagation, and vice versa. After the completion of multi-modal contrastive training, cross-modal encoder 505 can be directly applied to or fine-tuned for cross-modal search 500.”).
As to claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more second images comprise one or more ground truth images and the one or more ground truth images are compared to the one or more first images based, at least in part, on one or more loss operations (Yuan, Fig.3, ¶0044, “The example shown includes text phrase 300, search images 305, ground truth image 310, and target image 315.” ¶0045, “ground truth image 310 is a validation ground truth image.” ¶0060, “training component 420 computes a generator contrastive learning loss based on the target image and an original image, where the parameters of image generation network 440 are updated based on the generator contrastive learning loss. In some examples, training component 420 computes a discriminator contrastive learning loss based on the target image and an original image. In some examples, training component 420 updates parameters of the discriminator network based on the discriminator contrastive learning loss.” ¶0071, “cross-modal encoder 505 (or a retrieval module including cross-modal encoder 505) is pre-trained on cross-modal search tasks using contrastive learning.”).
As to claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more loss operations include a visual reconstruction loss, a contrastive caption loss, or a generative caption loss (Yuan, ¶0060, “training component 420 computes a generator contrastive learning loss based on the target image and an original image, where the parameters of image generation network 440 are updated based on the generator contrastive learning loss. In some examples, training component 420 computes a discriminator contrastive learning loss based on the target image and an original image. In some examples, training component 420 updates parameters of the discriminator network based on the discriminator contrastive learning loss.” ¶0071, “cross-modal encoder 505 (or a retrieval module including cross-modal encoder 505) is pre-trained on cross-modal search tasks using contrastive learning.”).
As to claim 8, Yuan discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors to use one or more neural networks to generate one or more images from text based, at least in part, on one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images and one or more second images with text indicating content of the one or more second images (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the text indicating content is a caption embedded using one or more encoders (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 10, claim 8 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images are compared to the one or more second images based, at least in part, on the one or more neural networks performing one or more loss operations (See claim 3 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 11, claim 8 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more neural networks generates the one or more images based, at least in part, on one or more captions of one or more portions of the one or more second images (See claim 4 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 12, claim 8 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more second images comprise one or more ground truth images and the one or more ground truth images are compared to the one or more first images based, at least in part, on one or more loss operations (See claim 5 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more loss operations include a visual reconstruction loss, a contrastive caption loss, or a generative caption loss (See claim 6 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 15, Yuan discloses a method, comprising: using one or more neural networks to generate one or more images from text based, at least in part, on one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images and one or more second images with text indicating content of the one or more second images (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 16, claim 15 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the text indicating content is a caption embedded using one or more encoders (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 17, claim 15 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more first images without text indicating content of the one or more first images are compared to the one or more second images based, at least in part, on the one or more neural networks performing one or more loss operations (See claim 3 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 18, claim 15 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more neural networks generates the one or more images based, at least in part, on one or more captions of one or more portions of the one or more second images (See claim 4 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 19, claim 15 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more second images comprise one or more ground truth images and the one or more ground truth images are compared to the one or more first images based, at least in part, on one or more loss operations (See claim 5 for detailed analysis.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US Pub 2023/0260164 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US Pub 2023/0153522 A1).
As to claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Yuan discloses the one or more circuits are to cause the one or more neural networks to be trained based, at least in part, on using one or more visual encoders to embed one or more captions (Yuan, ¶0071, “training cross-modal encoder 505 includes identifying a training set comprising a set of images and a set of captions corresponding to the images, encoding the images using an image encoder to produce encoded images, encoding the captions using a text encoder to produce encoded text, computing a multi-modal loss function based on the encoded images and the encoded text”).
Yuan does not discloses comparing the one or more captions with one or more ground truth captions.
Cho teaches the one or more neural networks to be trained based, at least in part, on using one or more visual encoders to embed one or more captions and comparing the one or more captions with one or more ground truth captions (Cho, ¶0004, “Image captioning is an NLP task of generating a textual description (i.e., a caption) of an image. Words in a caption can be used to index an image so that it can be retrieved from an image search database. Existing deep learning based approaches for image captioning train an image-conditioned language model on an image-caption dataset. For example, an image captioning model can be trained by maximizing likelihood over ground truth captions, then maximizing n-gram based metrics between predicted captions and ground truth captions.”).
Yuan and Cho are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to naural language processing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yuan with the features of “comparing the one or more captions with one or more ground truth captions” as taught by Cho. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 14, claim 8 is incorporated and the combination of Yuan and Cho discloses the one or more processors are to cause the one or more neural networks to be trained based, at least in part, on using one or more visual encoders to embed one or more captions and comparing the one or more captions with one or more ground truth captions (See claim 7 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 20, claim 15 is incorporated and the combination of Yuan and Cho discloses causing the one or more neural networks to be trained based, at least in part, on using one or more visual encoders to embed one or more captions and comparing the one or more captions with one or more ground truth captions (See claim 7 for detailed analysis.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613