Attorney’s Docket Number: 2519-0833PUS1
Filing Date: 1/03/2024
Claimed Priority Date: 12/14/2023 (PRO 63/610398)
Inventors: Kwok et al.
Examiner: Thomas McCoy
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the election filed 5/06/2026.
inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as
subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing
from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, reading on a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, in the reply filed 5/06/2026, is acknowledged. The applicant cancelled claims 18-20, added claims 21-23, and indicated claims 1-17 and 21-23 read on the elected invention. The examiner agrees.
Claim Objection
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “performing at least one an etching step…” is improper. For the purpose of examination, “performing at least one an etching step…” will be construed to recite “performing at least one etching step…”. It also recites the line “Using the plasma source to turn to the etchant gas into a plasma-phase etchant…” is improper. For the purpose of examination, “Using the plasma source to turn to the etchant gas into a plasma-phase etchant…” will be construed to recite “Using the plasma source to turn the etchant gas into a plasma-phase etchant…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20220344151 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows all aspects of the instant invention including a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
Placing a semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52) in an epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208); and
Performing at least one deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66) to form at least one first portion of a source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52), wherein the at least one deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66) comprises:
Introducing (see, e.g., paragraph 55) a first precursor gas (e.g., gas from plasma precursor delivery system 203) to a plasma source (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206);
Using the plasma source (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206) to turn the first precursor gas (e.g., gas from plasma precursor delivery system 203) into (see, e.g., paragraph 55) a plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220);
Introducing (e.g., note that the plasma 220 is sent to deposition chamber 208 after conversion, see paragraph 57) the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208);
Introducing (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “…the deposition precursors may initially flow from the deposition precursor delivery systems 204 through the manifold 210 and into the deposition chamber 208…”) a second precursor gas (e.g., deposition precursors of paragraph 61) to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208);
Regarding claim 8, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows wherein the at least one deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66): a first deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) to form a first part of the at least one first portion of the source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52); and a second deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204) to form a second part of the at least one first portion of the source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52), wherein a plasma density of the plasma-phase precursor in the first deposition step is different than a plasma density of the plasma-phase precursor in the second deposition step (e.g., note that the second deposition step is a gas deposition step that includes many inert gases that ignore the plasma conversion step, as it originates in deposition precursor delivery system 204 – hence the density of the plasma within this step is zero, and the plasma-phase deposition step thus has a different density).
Regarding claim 9, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows wherein a temperature (see, e.g., paragraph 70 “The deposition chamber 208 may be maintained at temperatures of between 10° C. and about 400° C”) of the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52) during the first deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) is lower than a temperature (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The deposition chamber 208 may be maintained at temperatures of between about 500° C. and about 850° C”) of the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52) during the second deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204).
Regarding claim 10, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows wherein a flow rate of the second precursor gas (e.g., deposition precursors of paragraph 61) during the first deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) is less than (e.g., note that the deposition precursors originate from the deposition precursor delivery system 204, so the second precursor gas during the first deposition step has a flow rate of 0) a flow rate (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The first deposition precursor may be flowed into the deposition chamber 208 at a rate of between about 0 sccm…and about 2000 scm…”) of the second precursor gas during the second deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204).
Regarding claim 11, Liu (see, e.g., figs 11-13C) shows performing a gas-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204) to form a second portion of the source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52), wherein the gas-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204) comprises introducing (see, e.g., paragraphs 50-51) the second precursor gas (e.g., deposition precursors of paragraph 61) to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208), and the gas-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, gas deposition originating from system 204) does not comprise (e.g., note that the steps are separate and the deposition gases originate from a different system than plasma 220) introducing the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208).
Regarding claim 12, Liu (see, e.g., figs 11-13C) shows performing a plasma-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) to form a third portion of the source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52), wherein the plasma-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) comprises introducing (see, e.g., paragraph 55) the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208), and the plasma-phase deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66, plasma deposition originating from systems 203 + 206) does not comprise (e.g., note that the steps are separate and the plasma 220 originates from a different system than deposition precursors) introducing the second precursor gas to the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20220262649 A1) in view of Liu (US 20220344151 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin (see, e.g., figs. 12A-13B) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
Etching (see, e.g., paragraph 71 “The source/drain recess 94 may be formed by etching the nanostructures 64, 66 using an anisotropic etching process…” or paragraph 73 “The etching process may be a dry etch using a fluorine-based gas such as hydrogen fluoride (HF) gas. In some embodiments the same etching process may be continually performed to both form the source/drain recesses 94…”) a source/drain recess (e.g., source/drain recess 94) in a semiconductor substrate (e.g., substrate 50);
Performing an epitaxy process (see, e.g., paragraph 75 “Then, the epitaxial source/drain regions in the n-type region 50N are epitaxially grown in the source/drain recess 94…”) to form a source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 94) in the source/drain recess (e.g., source/drain recess 94);
Lin (see, e.g., figs. 12A-13B), however, fails to explicitly show wherein the epitaxy process comprises: depositing a semiconductor material by introducing a plasma-phase precursor and a gas-phase precursor to the semiconductor substrate.
Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C), in a similar device to Lin, teaches wherein an epitaxy process comprises depositing a semiconductor material (e.g., material of source/drain regions 82, see e.g., paragraph 58 and note the source/drain regions are formed by processing system 202) by introducing a plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma precursor delivered by plasma precursor delivery system 203, see paragraphs 46-57) and a gas-phase precursor (e.g., deposition precursors from deposition precursor delivery systems 204, see paragraph 61 “…the first deposition precursor may comprise silane…chlorosilane…”) to a semiconductor substrate (e.g., fins 52 of wafer 10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the plasma-phase precursor and gas-phase precursor deposition of Liu within the epitaxial growth process of Lin, as the two precursors were known deposition techniques of epitaxial source/drain material at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Liu (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66).
Regarding claim 2, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 11) teaches wherein the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma precursor delivered by plasma precursor delivery system 203, see paragraphs 46-57) is introduced from a plasma cavity (e.g., manifold 210) coupled to an epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208), and the epitaxy process further comprises: introducing a dopant species (see, e.g., paragraphs 41-43, also noting that the epitaxy process is what forms the epitaxial source/drain regions on the fin 52 of wafer 10, and this deposition onto wafer 10 from manifold 210 is shown in fig. 11) from the plasma cavity (e.g., manifold 210) to the semiconductor substrate (e.g., fins 52 of wafer 10) during depositing the semiconductor material.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the plasma cavity and dopant species of Liu within the device of Lin in view of Liu, in order to provide the benefits of an in situ dopant process during growing the epitaxial structure within the device.
Regarding claim 3, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 11) teaches wherein the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma precursor delivered by plasma precursor delivery system 203, see paragraphs 46-57) and the gas-phase precursor (e.g., deposition precursors from deposition precursor delivery systems 204, see paragraph 61 “…the first deposition precursor may comprise silane…chlorosilane…”) comprise a same material (e.g., see, e.g., paragraph 55 “For example, a hydrogen gas (H.sub.2) precursor provided from its corresponding plasma precursor delivery system…” + paragraph 61 “…the first deposition precursor may comprise silane…trichlorosilane…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the hydrogen gas of Liu within both the plasma-phase precursor and gas-phase precursor of Lin in view of Liu, because it is recognized in the semiconductor art for its usage in precursor materials, as taught by Liu, and selecting between known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v.
Regarding claim 4, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 11) teaches wherein the epitaxy process further comprises: etching the semiconductor material (e.g., epitaxial material over fin 52) by introducing a gas-phase etchant (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The deposition precursors may comprise…an etching precursor” + paragraph 63 “…The etching precursor…may facilitate preferential growth over the fin 52…may preferentially etch a surface with one crystalline structure of the material…The etching precursor may comprise chlorine gas…”) to the semiconductor substrate (e.g., fins 52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the gas-phase etchant of Liu within the epitaxy process of Lin in view of Liu, in order to facilitate a specific epitaxial geometry within the recesses of the semiconductor material as desired.
Regarding claim 6, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 11) teaches wherein the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma precursor delivered by plasma precursor delivery system 203, see paragraphs 46-57) is introduced from a plasma cavity (e.g., plasma precursor delivery system 203) coupled (e.g., through the connection between plasma precursor gas controller 213 and plasma precursor delivery system 203) to a first inlet (see, e.g., annotated fig. 1 below) of an epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208), and the gas-phase precursor (e.g., deposition precursors from deposition precursor delivery systems 204, see paragraph 61 “…the first deposition precursor may comprise silane…chlorosilane…”) is introduced from a gas source (e.g., deposition precursor delivery system 204) coupled (e.g., through the connection between deposition precursor gas controller 214 and deposition precursor delivery system 204) to a second inlet (see, e.g., annotated fig. 1 below) of the epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208).
Annotated Fig. 1
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the inlet configuration of Liu within the setup of Lin in view of Liu, in order to achieve the expected result of providing necessary inlet and coupling relationships between the chamber configurations of the device to transfer and convert the necessary material to the epitaxy chamber.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Liu further in view of Tsuji (US 11339476 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 11) teaches wherein the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma precursor delivered by plasma precursor delivery system 203, see paragraphs 46-57) is introduced from a plasma cavity (e.g., plasma precursor delivery system 203 + remote plasma chamber 206) coupled to an epitaxy chamber (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206 + deposition chamber 208).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the plasma cavity configuration of Liu within the device of Lin in view of Liu, in order to achieve the expected result of providing an extended precursor plasma configuration within the device coupled to the epitaxy chamber for eventual plasma deposition.
Lin in view of Liu, however, fails to show wherein etching the semiconductor material involves a plasma-phase etchant, and the plasma-phase etchant is introduced from the plasma cavity.
Tsuji (see, e.g., fig. 3), in a similar device to Lin in view of Liu, teaches wherein etching a semiconductor material involves a plasma-phase etchant (see, e.g., paragraph 24 “The plasma treatment on the substrate may include…etching…”), and the plasma-phase etchant is introduced from a plasma cavity (e.g., lower shower plate 14 + paragraph 23).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of filing the invention to include the phase etchant alternative of Tsuji within the device of Lin in view of Liu, as plasma was a known material at the time of filing the invention to etch semiconductor material, as taught by Tsuji. Note that Liu in view of Liu already comprises a plasma cavity where gas is converted into plasma (similarly to Tsuji), and hence this would be the originating source of the plasma-phase etchant.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220344151 A1) in view of Wu (US 20090298225 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Liu (see, e.g., fig. 1) fails to show introducing a dopant species to the plasma source during the at least one deposition step.
Wu (see, e.g., fig. 1), in a similar device to Liu, teaches introducing a dopant species (e.g., dopant ions of paragraph 42) to a plasma source (e.g., plasma generator of paragraph 42).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the dopant species of Wu within the plasma source and ions of Liu, in order to achieve the expected result of providing a dopant ion species coupled with the processing chamber during epitaxial deposition of the device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220344151 A1) in view of Stowell (US 20090238998 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) fails to show providing a substrate bias to the semiconductor substrate during the at least one deposition step.
Stowell (see, e.g., figs. 4-5), in a similar device to Liu, teaches providing a substrate bias (e.g., electrical bias of paragraph 54) to a semiconductor substrate (e.g., substrate 120 + paragraph 42 – note that substrate 120 is noted as substrate 420 in fig. 4) during a deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 52-55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the substrate bias of Stowell within the semiconductor substrate of Liu, in order to modify the deposition characteristics of the plasma onto the substrate during fabrication of the device, as taught by Stowell (see, e.g., paragraph 54).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hammond, IV (US 20210166915 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) fails to show filtering the plasma-phase precursor by grounding a gas distribution plate in the epitaxy chamber during the at least one deposition step.
Hammond, IV (see, e.g., fig. 1), in a similar device to Liu, teaches filtering (see, e.g., paragraphs 32 or 36) a plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma of paragraphs 32-36) by grounding a gas distribution plate (e.g., gas distributor plate 112 + paragraph 32 “…the gas distributor plate 112 is grounded…”) in an epitaxy chamber (e.g., processing chamber 100).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grounded gas distribution plate of Hammond, IV within the epitaxy chamber of Liu, in order to modify the plasma-phase precursor properties within the epitaxy chamber as desired.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Tsuji (US 11339476 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows performing at least one etching step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66) to etch the at least one first portion of the source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain regions 82) after the at least one deposition step (see, e.g., paragraphs 46-66).
Liu, however, fails to show introducing an etchant gas to the plasma source, using the plasma source to turn the etchant gas into a plasma-phase etchant, and introducing the plasma-phase etchant to the epitaxy chamber.
Tsuji (see, e.g., fig. 3), in a similar device to Liu, teaches introducing an etchant gas (see, e.g., paragraph 23 “…while gas is supplied…”), using a plasma source (e.g., high frequency power application device 20b + paragraph 23) to turn the etchant gas into a plasma-phase etchant (e.g., plasma generated in paragraph 23), and introducing the plasma-phase etchant (e.g., plasma generated in paragraph 23) to an epitaxy chamber (e.g., chamber 30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the etchant gas, plasma-phase etchant conversion, and plasma-phase etchant exposure process of Tsuji within the device of Liu, in order to achieve the expected result of providing a converted etchant gas into a plasma etchant within the epitaxy chamber, making use of the remote plasma chamber of Liu to etch the substrate within the epitaxy chamber as desired.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Tsuji further in view of Shih (US 20200135874 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of Tsuji fails to teach wherein the etchant gas comprises a fluorine-based gas.
Shih (see, e.g., paragraph 52), in a similar device to Liu in view of Tsuji, teaches an etchant gas comprises a fluorine-based gas (see, e.g., paragraph 52 “…a fluorine-based etchant…other suitable etchant gases or plasmas…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the fluorine-based gas of Shih within the etchant gas of Liu in view of Tsuji, because it is recognized in the semiconductor art for its usage in etchant gas materials, as taught by Shih, and selecting between known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220344151 A1) in view of Mori (US 20220325437 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
Placing a semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52) on a wafer stage (e.g., note that wafer 10 is placed on a pedestal 218 within the reaction chamber 208) in a processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46); and
Introducing a first precursor gas (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The deposition precursors may comprise…silane…”) from a first gas source (e.g., deposition precursor delivery system 204) to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46) through a first gas supply line (e.g., gas supply 211);
Introducing a second precursor gas (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The deposition precursors may comprise…silane…”) from a second gas source (e.g., plasma precursor delivery system 203 + paragraphs 46-55, noting that plasma precursor delivery system 203 is a source of hydrogen gas) to a plasma source (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206) through a second gas supply line (e.g., plasma precursor gas controller 213)
Using the plasma source (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206) to turn the second precursor gas (see, e.g., paragraph 61 “The deposition precursors may comprise…silane…”) into a plasma-phase precursor (see, e.g., paragraph “…the remote plasma chamber 206 functions to convert some or all of the precursor(s) to a plasma 220...For example, a hydrogen gas (H.sub.2) precursor from its corresponding precursor delivery system 203 may be substantially converted...”);
Introducing (e.g., through manifold 210) the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208);
Providing heat (see, e.g., paragraph 78 “The deposition chamber 208 may be maintained at temperatures of between about 10° C. and about 400° C”) to the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52);
Depositing a semiconductor material (see, e.g., paragraphs 58 or 80) over the semiconductor substrate (e.g., wafer 10 + fins 52) to form at least a portion of a source/drain epitaxial structure (e.g., epitaxial source/drain region 82);
Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C), however, fails to explicitly show this heat is provided by a heater surrounding the processing chamber.
Mori (see, e.g., fig. 3), in a similar device to Liu, teaches providing heat (see, e.g., paragraph 77) to a semiconductor substrate (e.g., starting group III element source 105) with a heater (e.g., first heater 106) surrounding a processing chamber (e.g., reaction chamber 101).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the heater of Mori surrounding the processing chamber and within the device of Liu, in order to achieve the expected result of providing a source of heat during the reaction/deposition process of the device.
Regarding claim 22, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows wherein introducing the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46) comprises flowing (see, e.g., paragraph 57) the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) through a plasma supply line (e.g., through manifold 210) connecting a cavity (e.g. connecting portion between remote plasma chamber 206 and through manifold 210/selective modulation device 222, see fig. 12) of the plasma source (e.g., remote plasma chamber 206) to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46).
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220344151 A1) in view of Mori (US 20220325437 A1) further in view of Khan (US 20170009376 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Liu (see, e.g., figs. 11-13C) shows wherein the plasma-phase precursor (e.g., plasma 220) is introduced to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46) from a cavity of the plasma source (e.g., plasma 220) coupled (e.g., through manifold 210) to the processing chamber (e.g., deposition/reaction chamber 208, see paragraph 46).
Liu in view of Mori, however, fails to teach that the cavity of the plasma source is coupled directly to the processing chamber.
Khan (see, e.g., fig. 1), in a similar device to Liu in view of Mori, teaches a cavity (see, e.g., microwave coupling configuration 110) of a plasma source (e.g. microwave generator 106 + paragraph 73) is coupled directly to a processing chamber (e.g., plasma chamber 102).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the direct coupling configuration of Khan within the device of Liu in view of Mori, in order to achieve the expected result of providing a direct connection between the plasma generator and processing chamber, as opposed to filtering and modifying the plasma to a specific configuration before the processing step.
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/THOMAS WILSON MCCOY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814