CTNF 18/403,643 CTNF 98637 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicants’ election without an express traversal of Invention I (claim 1-13) in the reply filed on 28 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is deemed proper and made final. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US20220246818A1) . Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die (400) {[0069]}, comprising: a substrate (101), comprising at least one active component (111) {[0027]}; an interconnect (102, 103, 106), disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one active component (111) {[0064], the bump pad 107 [of interconnect 106] is electrically connected to the optical component 111 }; and at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140), disposed inside the interconnect (102, 103, 106) and thermally coupled to the at least one active component (111), wherein the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) in a vertical projection along a stacking direction of the substrate (600) and the interconnect (101, 130, 151) {Figs. 2, 5; [0085]; [0035], the thermal control mechanism 120 is configured to transfer heat from the optical component 111 }. Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) comprises a plurality of first thermal control elements (120, 130) arranged into a matrix with an opening within the matrix {Fig. 2; [0032]}, wherein in the vertical projection, the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the plurality of first thermal control elements (120, 130) arranged into the matrix, and the opening is overlapped with the at least one active component (111) {Fig. 2; [0085]}. Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) comprises a first thermal control element (120 and/or 130) of bulk form with an opening disposed therein or a first thermal control element of plate form (unselected alternative) with an opening disposed therein {Fig. 5; [0032]}, wherein in the vertical projection, the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the first thermal control element (120 and/or 130), and the opening is overlapped with the at least one active component (111) {Fig. 2; [0085]}. Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die (400) {[0069]}, comprising: a substrate (102, 111), comprising at least one active component (111) {[0027]}; an interconnect (101, 130, 150), disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one active component (111) {[0064], the bump pad 107 [of interconnect 106] is electrically connected to the optical component 111 }; and at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140), disposed inside the interconnect (101, 130, 150) and thermally coupled to the at least one active component (111), wherein the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) in a vertical projection along a stacking direction of the substrate (102, 111) and the interconnect (101, 130, 150) {Figs. 2, 5; [0085]; [0035], the thermal control mechanism 120 is configured to transfer heat from the optical component 111 }; wherein the semiconductor die (400) further comprises a second thermal control element (140) of continuous plate form, and the interconnect (101, 130, 150) is disposed between the second thermal control element (140) and the substrate (102, 111) {Fig. 5; [0050]}, wherein in the vertical projection, the at least one active component (111) is overlapped with the second thermal control element (140) {Fig. 5; [0085]} . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US20200118990A1) . Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the at least one active component (111) is separated from the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) through a dielectric layer (102) of the interconnect (102, 103, 106), and a thermal conductivity of the at least one first thermal control element (120, 130, 140) is greater than a thermal conductivity of the dielectric layer (102) of the interconnect (102, 103, 106) {[0031, 0041, 0045, 0050]; thermal conductivity of gold, silver, copper, nickel, aluminum, tungsten, etc. is greater than that of polyimide}. Chen does not teach wherein the at least one first thermal control element comprises a solid-solid phase change material. In an analogous art, Xu teaches in Fig. 4A and paragraph [0044] a thermal control element (118) comprises a solid-solid phase change material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Xu – such that the at least one first thermal control element comprises a solid- solid phase change material – to absorb[] … generated heat, and maintain[] the temperature substantially at the phase change temperature . Xu [0014] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law et al. (US20100225002A1) in view of Chen . Regarding claim 6, Law teaches in Fig. 5 a semiconductor device, comprising: a redistribution circuit structure (201) {[0026]}; a first die (507/505), disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure (201) {[0036]; the orientation of Fig. 5 may be rotated to achieve the claimed orientation}; a second die (505/507), disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure (201) {[0036]; the orientation of Fig. 5 may be rotated to achieve the claimed orientation}; and at least one through via (403), disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure (201) and electrically coupling the first die (507/505) and the second die (505/507) {[0039]}. Law does not teach the first die comprising: a first substrate, comprising at least one first active component; a first interconnect, disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one first active component; and at least one first thermal control element, disposed inside the first interconnect and thermally coupled to the at least one first active component, wherein the at least one first active component is surrounded by the at least one first thermal control element in a vertical projection. In an analogous art, Chen teaches in Figs. 2 and 5 a die (400) {[0069]} comprising: a substrate (101), comprising at least one active component (111) {[0027]}; an interconnect (102, 103, 106), disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one active component (111) {[0064], the bump pad 107 [of interconnect 106] is electrically connected to the optical component 111 }; and at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140), disposed inside the interconnect (102, 103, 106) and thermally coupled to the at least one active component (111), wherein the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140) in a vertical projection {Figs. 2, 5; [0085]; [0035], the thermal control mechanism 120 is configured to transfer heat from the optical component 111 }. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-described features, so heat is able to be effectively and efficiently dissipated . Chen [0025]. Law as modified by Chen above does not teach the second die comprising: a second substrate, comprising at least one second active component; and a second interconnect, disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one second active component. Chen teaches in Figs. 2 and 5 a die (400) {[0069]} comprising: a substrate (101), comprising at least one active component (111) {[0027]}; and an interconnect (102, 103, 106), disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one active component (111) {[0064], the bump pad 107 [of interconnect 106] is electrically connected to the optical component 111 }. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device as modified by Chen based on the further teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-described features, for the purpose of electrically interconnecting the active component with an externally-provided signal. Chen [0064]. Regarding claim 7, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, and Law further teaches wherein the first die (507) is disposed between the second die (505) and the redistribution circuit structure (201), and the at least one through via (403) penetrates through the second die (505) to electrically couple the first die (507) and the second die (505) {Fig. 5}. Regarding claim 8, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, and Law further teaches wherein the second die (507) is disposed between the first die (505) and the redistribution circuit structure (201), and the at least one through via (403) penetrates through the first die (507) to electrically couple the first die (507) and the second die (505) {Fig. 5}. Regarding claim 9, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, but Law does not teach wherein the second die further comprises: at least one second thermal control element, disposed inside the second interconnect and thermally coupled to the at least one second active component, wherein the at least one second active component is surrounded by the at least one second thermal control element in the vertical projection. Chen teaches in Figs. 2 and 5 a die (400) {[0069]} further comprises: at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140), disposed inside an interconnect (102, 103, 106) and thermally coupled to at least one active component (111), wherein the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140) in a vertical projection {Figs. 2, 5; [0085]; [0035], the thermal control mechanism 120 is configured to transfer heat from the optical component 111 }. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device as modified by Chen based on the further teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-described features, so heat is able to be effectively and efficiently dissipated . Chen [0025]. Regarding claim 11, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, and Law further teaches further comprising: a third die (501), disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure (201) {Fig. 5; [0036]}, wherein the at least one through via (403) further penetrates through the third die (501) {Fig. 5}. Law does not teach the third die comprising: a third substrate, comprising at least one third active component; and a third interconnect, disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one third active component. Chen teaches in Figs. 2 and 5 a die (400) {[0069]} comprising: a substrate (101), comprising at least one active component (111) {[0027]}; and an interconnect (102, 103, 106), disposed over and electrically coupled to the at least one active component (111) {[0064], the bump pad 107 [of interconnect 106] is electrically connected to the optical component 111 }. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device as modified by Chen based on the further teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-described features, for the purpose of electrically interconnecting the active component with an externally-provided signal. Chen [0064]. Regarding claim 12, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, but Law does not teach wherein the third die further comprises: at least one third thermal control element, disposed inside the third interconnect and thermally coupled to the at least one third active component, wherein the at least one third active component is surrounded by the at least one third thermal control element in the vertical projection. Chen teaches in Figs. 2 and 5 a die (400) {[0069]} further comprises: at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140), disposed inside an interconnect (102, 103, 106) and thermally coupled to at least one active component (111), wherein the at least one active component (111) is surrounded by the at least one thermal control element (120, 130, 140) in a vertical projection {Figs. 2, 5; [0085]; [0035], the thermal control mechanism 120 is configured to transfer heat from the optical component 111 }. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device as modified by Chen based on the further teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-described features, so heat is able to be effectively and efficiently dissipated . Chen [0025]. Regarding claim 13, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, and Law further teaches further comprising: at least one additional through via (rightmost 403), disposed over the redistribution circuit structure (201), wherein the at least one additional through via (rightmost 403) penetrates through the third die (501) to electrically couple the third die (501) and the second die (505/507) or to electrically couple the third die (501) and the first die (507/505) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law in view of Chen as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Tseng et al. (US20170025342A1) . Regarding claim 10, Law as modified by Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, and Law further teaches further comprising: a carrier (503), disposed over the redistribution circuit structure (201), wherein the first die (507/505), the second die (505/507) and the at least one through via (403) are disposed between the carrier (503) and the redistribution circuit structure (201) {Fig. 5; [0036]}. Law does not teach: a heat dissipating module, disposed over and thermally coupled to the carrier, wherein the carrier is disposed between the heat dissipating module and the redistribution circuit structure; and a plurality of conductive terminals, disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure, wherein the redistribution circuit structure is disposed between the carrier and the plurality of conductive terminals. In an analogous art, Tseng teaches in Fig. 6 a heat dissipating module (140) {[0042]}, disposed over and thermally coupled to a carrier (120) {[0042]}, wherein the carrier (120) is disposed between the heat dissipating module (140) and a redistribution circuit structure (124) {[0041]}; and a plurality of conductive terminals (129) {[0041]}, disposed over and electrically coupled to the redistribution circuit structure (129), wherein the redistribution circuit structure (124) is disposed between the carrier (120) and the plurality of conductive terminals (129). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s semiconductor device as modified by Chen based on the teachings of Tseng, to achieve the above-described features, to achieve[] favorable heat dissipation efficiency . Tseng [0043]. Citation of Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Elsherbini et al. (US20240063089A1) teaches a multichip composite device includes a dummy die, dummy vias, or integrated fluidic cooling channels laterally adjacent the integrated circuit dies to conduct heat from the base die . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID WARD whose telephone number is (703)756-1382. The examiner can normally be reached 6:30-3:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Landau can be reached at (571)-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891 /MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 2 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 3 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 4 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 5 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 6 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 7 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 8 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 9 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 10 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 11 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/403,643 Page 12 Art Unit: 2891