DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 15 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome each and every U.S.C. 103 rejection and Drawing and Specification objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 21 January 2026. However, Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1, 8, 11 and 15 do not overcome one claim objection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 15 April 2026, with respect to the U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-6 and 8-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has newly cited references teaching the amended claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 10, “first light, the controller” should be corrected to say –first light, wherein the controller--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison (US20100328648A1) in view of Ohishi et al. (US20070177145A1), hereinafter Ohishi, further in view of Chun Yang et al. (WO2006053444A1), hereinafter Chun Yang, and further in view of Ingber (US 20120196271 A1).
As to claim 1, Harrison teaches a method (Harrison claim 18; “A method of analyzing reflectance characteristics of a sample”), comprising:
positioning a first side of a substrate (Harrison fig. 9; [0090]; “The left hand side of the FIG. 9 presents a portion of a patterned sample 550 wherein with four rectangular structures 900 formed. For example, such structures 900 may be formed on a semiconductor substrate such as patterned polysilicon structures, metal structures or other structures formed on semiconductor wafers”) in an optical path of a multiwavelength light source system (Harrison [0014]; “a spectroscopy system is provided which is optimized for operation in the VUV and capable of performing well in the DUV-NIR… The use of broad band data sets which encompass VUV wavelengths, in addition to the DUV-NIR wavelengths enables a greater variety of materials to be meaningfully characterized”);
generating a first detection result by exposing a first region of a first material along the first side of the substrate to a first light having a first wavelength band (Harrison [0091]; fig. 9; “reflectance spectra plots 960 collected from five separate row sites 950 on the sample 550” whose materials are distinguished from one another, as shown in fig. 9 with differing reflectance plots),
generating a second detection result by exposing a second region of a second material along the first side of the substrate to a second light having a second wavelength band (Harrison [0091]; fig. 9; “reflectance spectra plots 960 collected from five separate row sites 950 on the sample 550” whose materials are distinguished from one another, as shown in fig. 9 with differing reflectance plots)
and wherein the second material is different from the first material (Harrison [0091]; fig. 9; “reflectance spectra plots 960 collected from five separate row sites 950 on the sample 550” whose materials are distinguished from one another, as shown in fig. 9 with differing reflectance plots);
and before the first light reaches the first region or the second light reaches the second region, measuring a respective wavelength band of a respective light that passes through the moving slit (Harrison [0098]; fig. 10; “During the reference measurement, the reference beam 1040 passes through the Beam Splitter 1020 and Shutter 3 before it is reflected back along its path by Mirror 4. It then reflects off the Beam Splitter 1020 and is focused onto the entrance slit 1060 of the spectrometer 1070 in a similar fashion to the sample beam”. Thus, the wavelength band of the light passing through the slit of the spectrometer is measured as the reference beam, before light reaches the sample),
and, when the respective wavelength band of the respective light measured by the first spectrometer includes multiple amplitude peaks at narrow bands (Harrison fig. 9 and 10; the at least three amplitude peaks from shutter 1, 2, 3 include beams from shutter 1 wherein the narrow 100-500 wavelength bands around the five separate row sites 950 all pass through the spectrometer entrance slit 1060 during the operating process) around the first wavelength band of the first light and the second wavelength band of the second light, the multiwavelength light source system is force stopped during an operating process to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside of a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit (Harrison [0078]; “During measurement of the sample Shutters 1 and 2 are open while Shutter 3 remains closed”. [0096]; “During the reference measurement Shutter 1 is closed, while Shutters 2 and 3 remain open”. Thus, when the wavelength band includes multiple amplitude peaks, i.e. through shutters 1, 2, 3, the spectroscopy system is force stopped by the controllable optical shutter 1 or 3. [0111]; “Shutter 2 also acts to prevent light from the source from reaching optical surfaces in the instrument during times when measurements are not actively underway in order to prevent changes in those surfaces which may result from prolonged exposure to the light from the source”)
by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system (Harrison [0096]; “For example, the apertures may be formed from controllable optical shutters”, thus, there is a controller in communication with the shutters of the spectroscopy systemarHarrison)
due to the narrow bands around the first wavelength band of the first light and the second wavelength band of the second light both passing through the slit during the operating process (Harrison fig. 9 and 10; The narrow 100-500 wavelength bands around the five separate row sites 950 all pass through the spectrometer entrance slit 1060 during the operating process. Harrison [0091]; “Further, though the slit width is shown as mapping a given row only upon the sample structure 900, the sample may be moved (left or right in the figure) such that the a given row of the slit width overlaps both patterned and unpatterned regions thus provided data indicative of a combination of both regions”. Thus, when the sample is moved, a given row 950 can be stopped from passing through the spectrometer entrance slit and the reflectance plot of said given row 950 can be absent).
Harrison teaches an effectively movable slit (Harrison [0091]; “Further, though the slit width is shown as mapping a given row only upon the sample structure 900, the sample may be moved (left or right in the figure) such that the a given row of the slit width overlaps both patterned and unpatterned regions thus provided data indicative of a combination of both regions”. Thus, the sample is movable, therefore, effectively, the slit is movable relative to the sample). However, Harrison does not explicitly disclose the first light being selected by the multiwavelength light source system by adjusting at least one of a position or a size of a moving slit with an actuator of the multiwavelength light source system; the second wavelength band that does not overlap the first wavelength band, the second light being selected by the multiwavelength light source by adjusting at least one of the position or the size of the moving slit with the actuator; and the first spectrometer of the multiwavelength light source system upstream from the first material or the second material.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the first light being selected by the multiwavelength light source system (Ohishi fig. 3; [0062]; The emission light from the diffraction grating 3 is propagated in a different direction for each wavelength and thus has a spatial spread, seen in fig. 3. [0068]; [0004]; First detection result is described by Ohishi as the resulting light strength data in fig. 3 (i.e. first light data) associated with sweep area Sp1 of P1 (i.e. the first region) centered at the wavelength λ1 (i.e. the center wavelength of the first wavelength band));
the second wavelength band that does not overlap the first wavelength band (Ohishi fig. 3; [0062]; The emission light from the diffraction grating 3 is propagated in a different direction for each wavelength and thus has a spatial spread, seen in fig. 3. [0068]; [0004]; Second detection result is described by Ohishi as the resulting light strength data in fig. 3 (i.e. second light data) associated with sweep area Sp2 of P2 (i.e. the second region) centered at the wavelength λ2 (i.e. the center wavelength of the second wavelength band. [0003]; The wavelength bands do not overlap because the emission light is propagated in a different direction for each wavelength and thus has a spatial spread).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include the first light being selected by the multiwavelength light source system; and the second wavelength band that does not overlap the first wavelength band; for the advantage of high speed wavelength sweeping and high wavelength resolution (Ohishi [0034]).
Still lacking the limitations such as adjusting at least one of a position or a size of a moving slit with an actuator of the multiwavelength light source system; the second light being selected by the multiwavelength light source by adjusting at least one of the position or the size of the moving slit with the actuator; and the first spectrometer of the multiwavelength light source system upstream from the first material or the second material.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches adjusting at least one of a position or a size of a moving slit with an actuator of the multiwavelength light source system; the second light being selected by the multiwavelength light source by adjusting at least one of the position or the size of the moving slit with the actuator (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18; The slit is mounted on a piezo-electric translation stage, making the slit movable and improving positional resolution for wavelength. The piezo-electric translation stage is known in the art as a type of actuator. Page 16 lines 24-26; Different wavelengths are focused at different locations on the intermediate image plane. Thus, the wavelength of the second light is chosen by adjusting the position or the size of a moving slit with an actuator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include adjusting at least one of a position or a size of a moving slit with an actuator of the multiwavelength light source system; the second light being selected by the multiwavelength light source by adjusting at least one of the position or the size of the moving slit with the actuator; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18) and high wavelength resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 26-31).
Still lacking the limitation such as the first spectrometer of the multiwavelength light source system upstream from the first material or the second material.
Ingber, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the first spectrometer (Ingber fig. 4D; spectrometer unit including the elements of fig. 4D) of the multiwavelength light source system upstream from the first material or the second material (Ingber fig. 4D; [0152]; “[T]he system and method can maintain a constant power level of a lamp 700 for use with a spectrometer 708 in the apparatus for the identification of bacteria in biological samples… A feedback control loop 710 is optically coupled, as depicted by 711 and 713, between the filter wheel 704 and the optical cup 706 for measuring the intensity level of the excitation wavelength and feeding this information to the iris 702”. Thus, the spectrometer 708 is between the light source and the sample, i.e. the biological samples to be detected by the spectrometer 708. Thus, the spectrometer is upstream from the sample).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi and Chun Yang to incorporate the teachings of Ingber to include the first spectrometer of the multiwavelength light source system upstream from the first material or the second material; for the advantage of controlling and optimizing a level of light (Ingber claim 10).
Harrison Fig. 9
Harrison Fig. 10
Ohishi Fig. 1
Ohishi Fig. 3
Ingber Fig. 4D
As to claim 2, Harrison does not explicitly disclose generating the first light and the second light utilizing an acousto-optical modulator of the multiwavelength light source system.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches generating the first light and the second light by utilizing an acousto-optical modulator of the multiwavelength light source system ((Ohishi fig. 1; [0055]; The AOD (acousto-optic deflector) 20 propagates the light signal which carries at least a first and a second light through the system, at separate angles. For example, making a comparison between the angular separation of 0th-order light and first-order light at frequency f1 and the angular separation of Oth-order light and first-order light at frequency f2, if frequency f1<f2, the angular separation at the frequency f2 is larger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include generating the first light and the second light utilizing an acousto-optical modulator of the multiwavelength light source system; for the advantage of ultrasonic wave propagation for shorter the period of compressional waves (Ohishi [0055]), i.e. faster wave sweeping.
As to claim 3, Harrison in view of Ohishi does not explicitly disclose selecting the first light when the moving slit is in a first position; and selecting the second light when the moving slit is in the second position.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches selecting the first light when the moving slit is in a first position (Chun Yang page 36 lines 14-21; The moveable adjustable-aperture slit allows the first focused light beam to continue); and selecting the second light when the moving slit is in the second position (Chun Yang page 4 lines 3-13; the optical waveguide guides light of a second wavelength, which is a different wavelength from the first wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include selecting the first light when the moving slit is in a first position; and selecting the second light when the moving slit is in the second position; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18) and high wavelength resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 26-31).
As to claim 4, Harrison in view of Ohishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the selecting the first light includes positioning the moving slit in a first path of the first light utilizing the actuator and blocking the second light; and the selecting the second light includes positioning the moving slit in a second path of the second light utilizing the actuator and blocking the first light.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the selecting the first light includes positioning the moving slit in a first path of the first light utilizing the actuator and blocking the second light (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18; The slit is mounted on a piezo-electric translation stage, making the slit movable, and thus, can block a second light. The piezo-electric translation stage is known in the art as a type of actuator);
and the selecting the second light includes positioning the moving slit in a second path of the second light utilizing the actuator and blocking the first light (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18; The slit is mounted on a piezo-electric translation stage, making the slit movable and improving positional resolution for wavelength. The piezo-electric translation stage is known in the art as a type of actuator. Page 16 lines 24-26; Different wavelengths are focused at different locations on the intermediate image plane. Thus, the wavelength of the second light is chosen by adjusting the position or the size of a moving slit with an actuator, also thus blocking the first light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include wherein the selecting the first light includes positioning the moving slit in a first path of the first light utilizing the actuator and blocking the second light; and the selecting the second light includes positioning the moving slit in a second path of the second light utilizing the actuator and blocking the first light; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18).
As to claim 6, Harrison in view of Ohishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the actuator is a piezoelectric transducer.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the actuator is a piezoelectric transducer (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18; the slit is mounted on a piezo-electric translation stage, making the slit movable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include wherein the actuator is a piezoelectric transducer; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison in view of Ohishi, Chun Yang and Ingber, further in view of Tamura et al. (US20200258793A1), hereinafter Tamura.
As to claim 5, Harrison in view of Ohishi does not explicitly disclose selecting the first light by adjusting the size of the moving slit based on digital data generated by the spectrometer.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches selecting the first light by adjusting the moving slit based on digital data generated by the spectrometer (Chun Yang fig. 4; page 23 line 24-page 24 line 5; As an optical spectrometer, light in a predetermined wavelength range is guided in the optical fiber 34. Light beams of different wavelength coupled out from the optical fiber 34 are focused onto corresponding intermediate images on intermediate image plane 26 at different locations. In some embodiments, the spatial light modulator 23 is a movable slit with a shape matching the shape of the intermediate image. By scanning the movable slit of spatial light modulator 23 across intermediate image plane 26, light beams of different wavelength can be selectively filtered before exiting the spatial light modulator 23. Thus, the first light is selected by adjusting the size of the moving slit based on the signal from the spectrometer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include selecting the first light by adjusting the moving slit based on digital data generated by the spectrometer; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18).
Still lacking the limitation such as adjusting the size of the moving slit.
Tamura, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches adjusting the size of the moving slit (Tamura [0053]; The distances of the slit gap correspond to respective piezoelectric elements 33 and are controlled depending on specific digital data. [0025]; The delivery amount adjustment parts 30 are used to adjust the resist delivery amount in accordance with an instruction from the control unit 16. Thus, the slit moves because it is adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Harrison in view of Ohishi, Chun Yang and Ingber to incorporate the teachings of Tamura to include adjusting the size of the moving slit; for the advantage of increasing control over the system (Tamura [0053]).
Chun Yang Fig. 4
Claims 8-11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohishi in view of Yang et al. (US20190094718A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Chen et al. (US 20230062418 A1), hereinafter Chen, in view of Chadha et al. (US20200182765A1), hereinafter Chadha, and further in view of Harrison.
As to claim 8, Ohishi teaches a method (Ohishi abstract; the method) comprising: an operating process (Ohishi [0084]; operation of an apparatus) including:
generating a first detection result by exposing a first region to a first light of a first wavelength (Ohishi fig. 3; [0062]; The emission light from the diffraction grating 3 is propagated in a different direction for each wavelength and thus has a spatial spread, seen in fig. 3. [0068]; [0004]; First detection result is described by Ohishi as the resulting light strength data in fig. 3 (i.e. first light data) associated with sweep area Sp1 of P1 (i.e. the first region) centered at the wavelength λ1 (i.e. the center wavelength of the first wavelength band));
generating a second detection result by exposing a second region to a second light of a second wavelength (Ohishi fig. 3; [0062]; The emission light from the diffraction grating 3 is propagated in a different direction for each wavelength and thus has a spatial spread, seen in fig. 3. [0068]; [0004]; Second detection result is described by Ohishi as the resulting light strength data in fig. 3 (i.e. second light data) associated with sweep area Sp2 of P2 (i.e. the second region) centered at the wavelength λ2 (i.e. the center wavelength of the second wavelength band));
generating at least one parameter of an optical system based on the first detection result and the second detection result (Ohishi fig. 3; [0040]; [0068]; the parameter of the optical system is described by Ohishi as the optical spectrum provided by measuring measured light, which includes the first and second light strengths, i.e. the first and second results).
However, Ohishi does not explicitly disclose a first material; a second material; wherein the second wavelength is different than the first wavelength and the second material is different from the first material; a substrate; depositing a plurality of particles on the first region and on the second region; determining a defect sensitivity of an inspection system by exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the first region of the first material to the first light of the first wavelength and exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the second region of the second material to the second light; and in response to the defect sensitivity exceeding a threshold value, performing an inspection based on the at least one parameter of the optical system; during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material, force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a substrate (Yang fig. 1; [0018]; The mask 18 includes a substrate);
and depositing a plurality of particles on the first region and on the second region (Yang [0018]; the mask 18 with inherent regions can have a plurality of particles deposited on the substrate, e.g. TiO2 doped SiO2, fused quartz, reflective multilayer, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Yang to include a substrate; and depositing a plurality of particles on the first region and on the second region; for the advantage of broader applications such as specific materials to measure deposited on the mask (Yang [0018]).
Still lacking the limitations such as a first material; a second material; wherein the second wavelength is different than the first wavelength and the second material is different from the first material; determining a defect sensitivity of an inspection system by exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the first region of the first material to the first light of the first wavelength and exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the second region of the second material to the second light; and in response to the defect sensitivity exceeding a threshold value, performing an inspection based on the at least one parameter of the optical system; during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material, force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system.
Chen, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a first material; a second material (Chen [0044]; a first material 200, and a second material 202);
wherein the second wavelength is different than the first wavelength (Chen [0063]-[0064]; fig. 6; The illumination source 102 may be configured to excite the photoluminescent material 208 on one of the first material 200 or the second material 202. Thus, the second wavelength is different than the first wavelength) and the second material is different from the first material (Chen [0044]; The pattern of the substrate 106 may be formed of at least a first material 200, and a second material 202, where the first material 200 is different from the second material 202);
and determining a defect sensitivity of an inspection system (Chen [0024]; a defect of interest can be determined as thin or thick, and the signal of the thin defect may be enhanced, thus determining its sensitivity) by exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the first region of the first material to the first light of the first wavelength and exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the second region of the second material to the second light (Chen [0047]; [0049]; The substrate 106 may include a defect 204 positioned between a portion of the first material 200 and a portion of the second material 202. The one or more photoluminescent materials 208 (i.e. the particles) may be configured to selectively bind to one of the first material 200 or the second material 202 to enhance a defect of interest. [0063]-[0064]; fig. 6; The illumination source 102 may be configured to excite the photoluminescent material 208 on one of the first material 200 or the second material 202. [0048]; The targeted material is the first material 200 or the second material 202. Thus, if the particles are on the first region of the first material, they are exposed to the first light, and if the particles are on the second region of the second material, they are exposed to the second light);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Chen to include a first material; a second material; wherein the second wavelength is different than the first wavelength and the second material is different from the first material; and determining a defect sensitivity of an inspection system by exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the first region of the first material to the first light of the first wavelength and exposing respective particles of the plurality of particles on the second region of the second material to the second light; for the advantage of enhancing photon emission (Chen [0024]).
Still lacking the limitation such as in response to the defect sensitivity exceeding a threshold value, performing an inspection based on the at least one parameter of the optical system; during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material, force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system.
Chadha, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches in response to the defect sensitivity exceeding a threshold value, performing an inspection based on the at least one parameter of the optical system (Chadha [0051]-[0052]; When, for example, it is determined that the concentration is lower than typical (i.e. a threshold), the pulse frequency is decreased, for an inspection via the detector 306).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Chadha to include in response to the defect sensitivity exceeding a threshold value, performing an inspection based on the at least one parameter of the optical system; for the advantage of accurate calibration (Chadha [0072]).
Still lacking the limitation such as during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material, force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system.
Harrison, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit (Harrison fig. 9 and 10; the at least three amplitude peaks from shutter 1, 2, 3 include beams from shutter 1 wherein the narrow 100-500 wavelength bands around the five separate row sites 950 all pass through the spectrometer entrance slit 1060 during the operating process)
that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material (Harrison fig. 10; the entrance slit is upstream of the spectrometer 1070 in the same optical path of the light from the sample 1050 through shutter 1),
force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit (Harrison [0078]; “During measurement of the sample Shutters 1 and 2 are open while Shutter 3 remains closed”. [0096]; “During the reference measurement Shutter 1 is closed, while Shutters 2 and 3 remain open”. Thus, when the wavelength band includes multiple amplitude peaks, i.e. through shutters 1, 2, 3, the spectroscopy system is force stopped by the controllable optical shutter 1 or 3. [0111]; “Shutter 2 also acts to prevent light from the source from reaching optical surfaces in the instrument during times when measurements are not actively underway in order to prevent changes in those surfaces which may result from prolonged exposure to the light from the source”)
by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system (Harrison [0096]; “For example, the apertures may be formed from controllable optical shutters”, thus, there is a controller in communication with the shutters of the spectroscopy systemarHarrison).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang, Chen and Chadha to incorporate the teachings of Harrison to include during the operating process, in response to a spectrometer detecting a first narrow band of the first light and a second narrow band of the second light passing through a slit that is positioned upstream an optical path along which the first light of the first wavelength travels along to reach the first region of the first material and the second light of the second wavelength travels along to reach the second region of the second material, force stopping the inspection to prevent utilizing an incoming light outside a selected spectrum for the inspection or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by a controller in electrical communication with the multiwavelength light source system; for the advantages of higher level of constraint (Harrison [0011]), heightened levels of sensitivity (Harrison [0015]) and minimizing environmental effects (Harrison [0016]).
Yang Fig. 1
Chen Fig. 6
As to claim 9, Ohishi teaches wherein the generating at least one parameter includes generating a radio frequency signal that drives an acousto-optical modulator of a light source that generates the first light and generates the second light ([0051]; A voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) 26 is a device that outputs a radio frequency signal following the voltage of a ramp wave from the divider 9 to the AOD 20 (acousto-optic deflector)).
As to claim 10, Ohishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the performing the inspection includes inspecting a mask.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the performing the inspection includes inspecting a mask (Yang fig. 1; [0018]; The mask 18 includes a substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Yang to include wherein the performing the inspection includes inspecting a mask; for the advantage of broader applications such as specific materials to measure deposited on the mask (Yang [0018]).
As to claim 11, Ohishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of particles are nanoscale particles.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the plurality of particles are nanoscale particles (Yang [0019]; The particles are deposited over the layers of the mask 18, i.e. sprayed. One example is tantalum boron nitride, which is a known nanoparticle in the art. [0040]; Further, nano-scale microstructures are used in the system. Thus, a plurality of nanoscale particles is sprayed on the regions of the mask 18).
As to claim 13, Ohishi in view of Yang does not explicitly disclose generating the first light by a first single-wavelength light source; and generating the second light by a second single-wavelength light source different than the first single-wavelength light source.
Chadha, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches generating the first light by a first single-wavelength light source; and generating the second light by a second single-wavelength light source different than the first single-wavelength light source (Chadha [0080]; fig. 7B; lasers of discrete wavelength are used, such as blue laser 752, green laser 754, and red laser 756, which have single wavelengths different from one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang to incorporate the teachings of Chadha to include generating the first light by a first single-wavelength light source; and generating the second light by a second single-wavelength light source different than the first single-wavelength light source; for the advantage of integrating multiwavelength measurements via mutli-wavelength collimated lasers (Chadha [0081]).
Chadha Fig. 3A
Chadha Fig. 3B
Chadha Fig. 7A
Chadha Fig. 7B
As to claim 14, Ohishi in view of Yang and Chen does not explicitly disclose prior to the generating the first detection result, detecting a spectrum of the first light by a spectrometer.
Chadha, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches prior to the generating the first detection result, detecting a spectrum of the first light by a spectrometer ([0081]; [0176]; fig. 7A; spectrometer 356 generates a pulse height distribution at one or more wavelengths for the single particle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Chadha to include prior to the generating the first detection result, detecting a spectrum of the first light by a spectrometer; for the advantage of more detailed spectral analysis (Chadha [0053]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohishi in view of Yang, Chen, Chadha, Harrison, and further in view of Sakuma (US20160334652A1).
As to claim 12, Ohishi teaches the first light being zeroth-order light and the second light being first-order light ([0055]; The angular separation of the first light and the second light separates the 0th-order light and the first-order light).
However, Ohishi in view of Yang, Chen, Chadha and Harrison does not explicitly disclose generating the first light and the second light by a nonlinear light source.
Sakuma, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches generating the first light and the second light by a nonlinear light source (Sakuma [0012]; [0017]; the light source apparatus comrpises a first laser light source and at least one nonlinear optical crystal that generates nonlinear light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ohishi in view of Yang, Chen, Chadha and Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Sakuma to include generating the first light and the second light by a nonlinear light source; for the advantage of improved conversion efficiency (Sakuma [0046]).
Claims 15-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadha in view of Ohishi and Yang, further in view of Harrison.
As to claim 15, Chadha teaches a system (claim 1; fluid optical characterization system), comprising:
a multiwavelength light source system (fig. 7A; [0082]; laser 702 generates a white or multiwavelength collimated beam 704 onto an area 802) including:
a light source (fig. 7A; [0082]; laser 702) and
a spectrometer operable to measure a spectrum of a first light or a second light ([0081]; [0176]; fig. 7A; spectrometer 356 generates a pulse height distribution at one or more wavelengths for the single particle).
However, Chadha does not explicitly disclose a wavelength selector in an optical path of light generated by the light source, wherein the wavelength selector includes a slit along the optical path of light generated by the light source; the first light or the second light selected by the wavelength selector; wherein the spectrometer is downstream the optical path relative to the light source and the wavelength selector such that the slit of the wavelength light selector is between the light source and the spectrometer; a mask stage operable to position a mask in the optical path; and a controller operable to adjust at least one parameter of the multiwavelength light source system in response to the spectrum of the first light or the second light, the controller outputs a force stop when the spectrometer detects when two amplitude peaks at narrow bands around respective wavelengths of the first light and the second light both pass through the slit of the wavelength selector when utilizing the multiwavelength light source to detect defects along a first region of a first material or along a second region of a second material of a workpiece during an operating process to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by the controller during the operating process.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a wavelength selector in an optical path of light generated by the light source, wherein the wavelength selector includes a slit along the optical path of light generated by the light source (Ohishi fig. 1; [0091]; [0093]; the slits 21a-21c select the wavelength and are in the optical path of light from the optical fiber 13, which emits the light);
the first light or the second light selected by the wavelength selector (Ohishi [0091]); the slits 21a-21c select the wavelength);
and a controller operable to adjust at least one parameter of the multiwavelength light source in response to the spectrum of the first light or the second light (Ohishi [0005]-[0006]; the motor control section 8 controls the motor 7 which rotates the diffraction grating 3, thereby changing the wavelength of the light transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include a wavelength selector in an optical path of light generated by the light source, wherein the wavelength selector includes a slit along the optical path of light generated by the light source; the first light or the second light selected by the wavelength selector; and a controller operable to adjust at least one parameter of the multiwavelength light source in response to the spectrum of the first light or the second light; for the advantage of more control over output (Ohishi [0049]).
Still lacking the limitations such as wherein the spectrometer is downstream the optical path relative to the light source and the wavelength selector such that the slit of the wavelength light selector is between the light source and the spectrometer; a mask stage operable to position a mask in the optical path; and the controller outputs a force stop when the spectrometer detects when two amplitude peaks at narrow bands around respective wavelengths of the first light and the second light both pass through the slit of the wavelength selector when utilizing the multiwavelength light source to detect defects along a first region of a first material or along a second region of a second material of a workpiece during an operating process to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by the controller during the operating process.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a mask stage operable to position a mask in the optical path (Yang [0016]; the mask 18 is secured to the mask stage 16 into position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha in view of Ohishi to incorporate the teachings of Yang to include a mask stage operable to position a mask in the optical path; for the advantage of securing the mask and avoiding intensity loss (Yang [0017]).
Still lacking the limitation such as wherein the spectrometer is downstream the optical path relative to the light source and the wavelength selector such that the slit of the wavelength light selector is between the light source and the spectrometer; and the controller outputs a force stop when the spectrometer detects when two amplitude peaks at narrow bands around respective wavelengths of the first light and the second light both pass through the slit of the wavelength selector when utilizing the multiwavelength light source to detect defects along a first region of a first material or along a second region of a second material of a workpiece during an operating process to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by the controller during the operating process.
Harrison, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the spectrometer is downstream the optical path relative to the light source and the wavelength selector such that the slit of the wavelength light selector is between the light source and the spectrometer (Harrison fig. 10; The spectrometer 1070 is downstream the optical path relative to the source 1010 and the shutters 1, 2, 3 which select the wavelength, such that the shutters 1, 2, 3 are between the source 1010 and the spectrometer 1070);
and the controller outputs a force stop when the spectrometer detects when two amplitude peaks at narrow bands around respective wavelengths of the first light and the second light both pass through the slit of the wavelength selector (Harrison [0078]; “During measurement of the sample Shutters 1 and 2 are open while Shutter 3 remains closed”. [0096]; “During the reference measurement Shutter 1 is closed, while Shutters 2 and 3 remain open”. Thus, when the wavelength band includes multiple amplitude peaks, i.e. through shutters 1, 2, 3, the spectroscopy system is force stopped by the controllable optical shutter 1 or 3)
when utilizing the multiwavelength light source (Harrison fig. 10; [0014]; source 1010 and “the use of broad band data sets which encompass VUV wavelengths, in addition to the DUV-NIR wavelengths enables a greater variety of materials to be meaningfully characterized”) to detect defects along a first region of a first material or along a second region of a second material of a workpiece during an operating process (Harrison [0091]; “each individual row of pixels will record data corresponding to different discrete locations on the patterned sample… for any given row site 950 of sample information a spectra plot for a range of wavelengths may be obtained”. [0134]; “the VUV techniques described herein may be utilized to monitor the composition of a material or film”. Thus, defects of these materials can be detected during an operating process)
to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by the controller during the operating process (Harrison [0078]; “During measurement of the sample Shutters 1 and 2 are open while Shutter 3 remains closed”. [0096]; “During the reference measurement Shutter 1 is closed, while Shutters 2 and 3 remain open”. Thus, when the wavelength band includes multiple amplitude peaks, i.e. through shutters 1, 2, 3, the spectroscopy system is force stopped by the controllable optical shutter 1 or 3. [0111]; “Shutter 2 also acts to prevent light from the source from reaching optical surfaces in the instrument during times when measurements are not actively underway in order to prevent changes in those surfaces which may result from prolonged exposure to the light from the source”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha in view of Ohishi and Yang to incorporate the teachings of Harrison to include wherein the spectrometer is downstream the optical path relative to the light source and the wavelength selector such that the slit of the wavelength light selector is between the light source and the spectrometer; and the controller outputs a force stop when the spectrometer detects when two amplitude peaks at narrow bands around respective wavelengths of the first light and the second light both pass through the slit of the wavelength selector when utilizing the multiwavelength light source to detect defects along a first region of a first material or along a second region of a second material of a workpiece during an operating process to prevent utilizing an incoming light that is outside a selected spectrum or to prevent miscalibration of the slit by the controller during the operating process; for the advantages of higher level of constraint (Harrison [0011]), heightened levels of sensitivity (Harrison [0015]) and minimizing environmental effects (Harrison [0016]).
As to claim 16, Chadha does not explicitly disclose wherein the multiwavelength light source further comprises: an acousto-optical modulator between the light source and the wavelength selector.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches an acousto-optical modulator between the light source and the wavelength selector (Ohishi fig. 1; [0047]; [0055]; the AOD (acousto-optic deflector) 20 is between the optical fiber 13 and the slits 21a-21c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include an acousto-optical modulator between the light source and the wavelength selector; for the advantage of high-speed modulation (Ohishi [0058]).
As to claim 17, Chadha teaches wherein the light source comprises a plurality of single-wavelength light sources ([0080]; lasers of discrete wavelength (or narrow wavelength range), such as blue laser 752, green laser 754, and red laser 756).
As to claim 18, Chadha does not explicitly disclose wherein the wavelength selector includes an opening having an opening size.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the wavelength selector includes an opening having an opening size ([0091]; the exit slits 21a-21c each have a slit width opened).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include wherein the wavelength selector includes an opening having an opening size; for the advantage of more control over output (Ohishi [0049]).
As to claim 21, Chadha teaches does not explicitly disclose wherein the multiwavelength light source further comprises: a lens between the light source and the acousto-optical modulator.
Ohishi, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the multiwavelength light source further comprises: a lens between the light source and the acousto-optical modulator (Ohishi fig. 1; [0047]; a collimator lens 14 is between the light source optical fiber 13 and the acousto-optic deflector (AOD) 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha to incorporate the teachings of Ohishi to include wherein the multiwavelength light source further comprises: a lens between the light source and the acousto-optical modulator; for the advantage of more control over output (Ohishi [0049]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadha in view of Ohishi, Yang and Harrison, further in view of Chun Yang.
As to claim 19, Chadha in view of Ohishi, Yang and Harrison does not explicitly disclose wherein the wavelength selector includes a piezoelectric transducer operable to adjust position of the opening.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the wavelength selector includes a piezoelectric transducer operable to adjust position of the opening (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18; the slit is mounted on a piezo-electric translation stage, making the slit movable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha in view of Ohishi, Yang and Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include wherein the wavelength selector includes a piezoelectric transducer operable to adjust position of the opening; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18).
As to claim 20, Chadha in view of Ohishi, Yang and Harrison does not explicitly disclose wherein the wavelength selector is operable to pass one light beam therethrough while blocking other light beams.
Chun Yang, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the wavelength selector is operable to pass one light beam therethrough while blocking other light beams (Chun Yang page 22 lines 3-10; By scanning the movable slit of spatial modulator 23 across the intermediate image plane 26, the light beam from each guided mode can be selectively filtered before exiting the spatial light modulator 23. Therefore, optical power in the light beam guided from each mode can be separately received by the light receiver 29. Thus, the light beam may pass one guided mode while blocking the others).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chadha in view of Ohishi, Yang and Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Chun Yang to include wherein the wavelength selector is operable to pass one light beam therethrough while blocking other light beams; for the advantage of improved positional resolution (Chun Yang page 16 lines 12-18).
Conclusion
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877