DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Publication No. 2025/0219031) in view of Su et al (US Publication No. 2024/0047513).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first substrate Fig 5, S; a capacitor structure disposed over the first substrate and comprising: a semiconductor substrate Fig 5, 10 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a first capacitor Fig 2, 12 or Fig 5, 12 disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 2 and Fig 5; and a second capacitor Fig 2, 22 or Fig 5, 22 disposed on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 2 and Fig 5; and a plurality of first conductive connectors Fig 5, 29 disposed over the capacitor structure and electrically coupled to the first capacitor; and a plurality of second conductive connectors Fig 5, 29 disposed below the capacitor structure and electrically coupled to the second capacitor Fig 2 and Fig 5. Hsu discloses all the limitations but silent on the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement. Whereas Su discloses a capacitor structure disposed over the first substrate and comprising: a semiconductor substrate Fig 1M, 102 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface Fig 1M;a first capacitor Fig 1M, 106 disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of first conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed over and electrically coupled to the first capacitor Fig 1I; a first conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed over the plurality of first conductive vias; a first conductive pad Fig 1J, 186 disposed over the first conductive layer ¶0042; and a second capacitor Fig 1M disposed on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed below and electrically coupled to the second capacitor Fig 1I;a second conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed below the plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118; and a second conductive pad Fig 1J, 186disposed below the second conductive layer ¶0042. Hsu and Su are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsu because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement to improve connectivity.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses, wherein the capacitor structure further comprises: a first metal layer Fig 5, 16 disposed between the semiconductor substrate and the first capacitor and electrically coupled to one of the first conductive connectors; and a second metal layer Fig 5, 26 disposed over a top surface of the first capacitor and electrically coupled to another one of the first conductive connectors Fig 5.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses wherein the capacitor structure further comprises: a dielectric layer Fig 5, 14 disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and surrounding the first metal layer, the first capacitor, and the second metal layer Fig 5.
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses wherein the first capacitor vertically overlaps the second capacitor Fig 5.
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses wherein the first conductive connectors and the second conductive connectors each comprises microbumps, wire bonds, copper pillar bumps, or a combination thereof Fig 5.
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses a second substrate Fig 5, 40 disposed over the capacitor structure and electrically coupled to the first substrate through a plurality of conductive terminals, wherein the capacitor structure is disposed between the plurality of conductive terminals; and a semiconductor die disposed over the second substrate¶0031-0033, 0041 Fig 5.
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses wherein the first conductive connectors are electrically coupled to the second substrate and the second conductive connectors are electrically coupled to the first substrate Fig 5.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al (US Publication No. 2025/0219031) and Su et al (US Publication No. 2024/0047513) in view of Ye et al (US Publication No. 2024/0072022).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu discloses all the limitations but silent on the length of the second metal layer. Whereas Ye discloses wherein a length of the first metal layer is greater than a length of the second metal layer Fig 3. Hsu and Ye are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsu because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal layer length to improve connectivity.
Claims 9-11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2020/0294889) in view of Su et al (US Publication No. 2024/0047513).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a substrate Fig 4, 600; a redistribution layer Fig 4, 310B/320B disposed over the substrate; a capacitor structure disposed over the redistribution layer and electrically coupled to the redistribution layer Fig 4, wherein the capacitor structure comprises: a semiconductor substrate Fig 2 or 4, 220 ¶0024; a first capacitor Fig 2 or 4, 230 disposed over the semiconductor substrate; and a second capacitor Fig 2 or 4, 230 disposed below the semiconductor substrate Fig 2 or 4, 220 and vertically overlapping the first capacitor; and a first semiconductor die Fig 4, 100 disposed over the redistribution layer Fig 4, 310B/320B and electrically coupled to the redistribution layer Fig 4. Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement. Whereas Su discloses a capacitor structure disposed over the first substrate and comprising: a semiconductor substrate Fig 1M, 102 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface Fig 1M;a first capacitor Fig 1M, 106 disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of first conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed over and electrically coupled to the first capacitor Fig 1I; a first conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed over the plurality of first conductive vias; a first conductive pad Fig 1J, 186 disposed over the first conductive layer ¶0042; and a second capacitor Fig 1M disposed on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed below and electrically coupled to the second capacitor Fig 1I;a second conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed below the plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118; and a second conductive pad Fig 1J, 186disposed below the second conductive layer ¶0042. Choi and Su are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement to improve connectivity.
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses wherein the first semiconductor die Fig 4, 100T is disposed over the capacitor structure and electrically coupled to the first capacitor, and the redistribution layer is electrically coupled to the second capacitor Fig 4.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a conductive pillar adjacent to the capacitor structure and electrically coupling the first semiconductor die to the redistribution layer Fig 4.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a substrate Fig 4, 600; a semiconductor die Fig 4, 100 disposed over the substrate; a capacitor structure disposed between the substrate and the first semiconductor die Fig 4 and comprising: a semiconductor substrate Fig 2 or 4, 220 ¶0024; a first capacitor Fig 2 or 4, 230 disposed over the semiconductor substrate and electrically coupled to the first semiconductor die; and a second capacitor Fig 2 or 4, 230 disposed below the semiconductor substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate, wherein the first capacitor vertically overlaps the second capacitor Fig 4. Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement. Whereas Su discloses a capacitor structure disposed over the first substrate and comprising: a semiconductor substrate Fig 1M, 102 having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface Fig 1M;a first capacitor Fig 1M, 106 disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of first conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed over and electrically coupled to the first capacitor Fig 1I; a first conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed over the plurality of first conductive vias; a first conductive pad Fig 1J, 186 disposed over the first conductive layer ¶0042; and a second capacitor Fig 1M disposed on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate Fig 1M; a plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118 disposed below and electrically coupled to the second capacitor Fig 1I;a second conductive layer Fig 1I, 170 disposed below the plurality of second conductive vias Fig 1I, 118; and a second conductive pad Fig 1J, 186disposed below the second conductive layer ¶0042. Choi and Su are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor structure’s layer arrangement to improve connectivity.
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses a conductive pillar disposed over the substrate and electrically coupling the semiconductor die to the substrate; and a plurality of conductive terminals disposed below the substrate Fig 4.
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses a first conductive connector electrically coupling the first capacitor to the first semiconductor die; and a second conductive connector electrically coupling the second capacitor to the substrate Fig 4.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2020/0294889)and Su et al (US Publication No. 2024/0047513) in further view of Ye et al (US Publication No. 2024/0072022).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses wherein the capacitor structure is disposed over the first semiconductor die Fig 4, 100B and electrically coupled to the first semiconductor die Fig 4. Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of bonding. Whereas Ye discloses a capacitor structure coupled to the semiconductor die through a first wire bond Fig 5. Choi and Ye are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the type of connection between devices as an alternative method known in the art as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 13, Ye discloses a second semiconductor die disposed over the first semiconductor die and electrically coupled to the first semiconductor die through a second wire bond Fig 5.
Regarding claim 14, Ye discloses wherein the first semiconductor die is electrically coupled to the redistribution layer through a second wire bond ¶0026 Fig 3-4 and Fig 8A.
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses wherein the capacitor structure is adjacent to the first semiconductor die, wherein the capacitor structure and the first semiconductor die are electrically coupled to the redistribution layer Fig 4. Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of bonding. Whereas Ye discloses a capacitor structure coupled to the semiconductor die through a first wire bond Fig 5. Choi and Ye are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the type of connection between devices as an alternative method known in the art as a matter of design.
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a second semiconductor die disposed over the redistribution layer and electrically coupled to the capacitor structure and the first semiconductor die Fig 4. Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the type of bonding. Whereas Ye discloses a capacitor structure coupled to the semiconductor die through a first wire bond Fig 5. Choi and Ye are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the type of connection between devices as an alternative method known in the art as a matter of design
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2020/0294889) and Su et al (US Publication No. 2024/0047513) in view of Ye et al (US Publication No. 2024/0072022) and in further view of Kung et al (US Publication No. 2023/0065615).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses all the limitations but silent on the connector/pillar arrangement. Whereas Kung discloses wherein a height of the conductive pillar is equal to a total height of the first conductive connector, the capacitor structure, and the second conductive connector Fig 2. Choi and Kung are analogous art because they are directed to capacitor structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Choi because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector arrangement and incorporate the teachings of Kung as an alternative arrangement to improve device connectivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811