DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested:
“Display Apparatus with Peripheral Bank Structure for Light-Blocking Layer Control”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim 18 depends on the claim 16, which refers to a ‘light blocking layer’. However, the claim 18 then discusses “the water-soluble salt”. While the claim 17 introduces the water-soluble salt, the claim 16 does not. Therefore, the claim 18 has no antecedent basis for the “the water-soluble salt” unless it depends on the claim 17. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interpreted the limitation as “The display apparatus of claim [[16]] 17”.
Thus, the examiner recommends amending the limitation to “The display apparatus of claim [[16]] 17”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Won (US 20230209967).
Regarding claim 1. Fig 2 (a lateral view of Fig 4), Fig 4 (top plan view) and Fig 8 (a lateral portion view of Fig 4) of Won disclose A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 111 including a display area (AA) and a peripheral area (NA) disposed around the display area (Fig 4, [0050]),
wherein the peripheral area includes a bending area (BA) that is bent about a bending axis (Fig 2, [0055]);
at least one inorganic material layer 142 [0124] disposed on the substrate (Fig 8);
at least one organic material layer 144 [0124] disposed on the at least one inorganic material layer (Fig 8);
a touch electrode layer 154e [0130] disposed on the at least one organic material layer, the touch electrode layer including a plurality of touch electrodes arranged in the peripheral area ([0075]: 162, 170);
at least one bank 106 disposed on the at least one inorganic material layer, the at least one bank arranged between the bending area and the display area in a plan view (Fig 4/Fig 8); and
a light-blocking material layer 182 ([0115]: the black matrix is to ‘prevent optical interference and light leakage between adjacent subpixel areas’. Thus being light-blocking layer) disposed on the touch electrode layer (Fig 8),
the light-blocking material layer having an end (right end of 182) arranged between the at least one bank and the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 2. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one bank includes:
a first bank 106 arranged between the bending area and the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8); and
a second bank 128 [0122] arranged between the first bank and the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view, wherein the second bank is apart from the first bank (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 3. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the end of the light-blocking material layer is arranged between the first bank and the second bank in a plan view (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 4. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the light-blocking material layer covers the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8: 182 and 154e are vertically overlapped. Thus, when viewed from substrate, 182 covers the touch electrodes).
Regarding claim 5. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one bank further includes a third bank 188 arranged between the second bank and the plurality of touch electrodes (between 128 and 170), the third bank being apart from the second bank in a plan view (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 6. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the end of the light-blocking material layer is arranged between the second bank and the third bank in a plan view (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 7. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the light-blocking material layer overlaps the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 9. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an outer bank 188 arranged in the bending area (Fig 8), the outer bank filling an opening (the opening between 156 and above 188) disposed in the bending area in a plan view 9Fig 8), and the outer bank including an organic material [0056].
Regarding claim 12. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one organic material layer includes:
a first organic insulating layer 144 [0124] disposed on the at least one inorganic material layer;
a second organic insulating layer 158 [0133] disposed on the first organic insulating layer; and
a pixel-defining layer 120 (each pixel defined by light emitting layer) disposed on the second organic insulating layer (Fig 8: 120 is located on the lower side of 158).
Regarding claim 15. Fig 2 (a lateral view of Fig 4), Fig 4 (top plan view) and Fig 8 (a lateral portion view of Fig 4) of Won disclose A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 111 including a display area (AA) and a peripheral area (NA) disposed around the display area, wherein the peripheral area includes a bending area (BA) that is bent about a bending axis (Fig 2, Fig 4, [0050]);
a plurality of inorganic material layers 142/146 [0079] disposed on the substrate, the plurality of inorganic material layers including a plurality of openings 166a/166b each arranged in the bending area and exposing an upper surface of the substrate (Fig 8, the opening area of 188 prior to forming 168);
a plurality of organic material layers 144/158 disposed on the plurality of inorganic material layers, the plurality of organic material layers including a plurality of ends each arranged between the bending area and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8: refer the ends in the boundary);
a touch electrode layer 154e [0130] disposed on the plurality of organic material layers, the touch electrode layer including a plurality of touch electrodes disposed in the peripheral area ([0075]: 162, 170) (Fig 8);
an outer bank 188 arranged in the bending area in a plan view, the outer bank including an organic material [0056], wherein a portion of the outer bank fills the plurality of openings (Fig 8);
a first bank 106 disposed on the plurality of inorganic material layers and arranged between the bending area and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8);
a second bank 128 arranged between the first bank and the display area and apart from the first bank in a plan view (Fig 8); and
a light-blocking material layer 182 disposed on the touch electrode layer, the light-blocking material layer having a portion of an edge thereof arranged between the first bank and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8), wherein
a lateral surface of the outer bank and a lateral surface of the first bank are arranged to face each other and define a first valley structure another lateral surface of the first bank and a lateral surface of the second bank are arranged to face each other and define a second valley structure (Fig 8), and
a portion of the edge of the light-blocking material layer overlaps the second valley structure in a plan view (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 16. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the light-blocking material layer covers the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8: 182 and 154e are vertically overlapped. Thus, when viewed from substrate, 182 covers the touch electrodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 20230209967).
Regarding claim 8. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 1. But Won does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a plan view, a distance between an inner surface of the bending area and the end of the light-blocking material layer is in a range of about 400 μm to about 750 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the claimed range is a strategic design choice in flexible display manufacturing to prevent light leakage, manage layer stress during bending, and ensure reliability. This specific tolerance range balances optimal display aesthetics, ensuring no light escapes at the hinge, with mechanical durability to prevent cracking of the blocking material under tension.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose the particular claimed range because the applicant has not disclosed that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. The claim(s) is(are) obvious without showing that the claimed range(s) achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) and In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art).
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 20230209967) in view of Kim (US 20210056282).
Regarding claim 10. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 1 except wherein the light-blocking material layer includes a water-soluble salt.
However, Kim discloses the light-blocking material layer includes a water-soluble salt [0111]: e.g. sodium borate which is known as water soluble salt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Won’s light blocking layer with Kim’s material for the purpose of providing enhanced stability, improved color discrimination, and reduced trap densities in display devices.
Regarding claim 11. Won in view of Kim discloses The display apparatus of claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the water-soluble salt includes at least one of sodium [0111], potassium, magnesium, manganese, aluminum, and calcium.
Regarding claim 17. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 15 except wherein the light-blocking material layer includes a water-soluble salt.
However, Kim discloses the light-blocking material layer includes a water-soluble salt [0111]: e.g. sodium borate which is known as water soluble salt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Won’s light blocking layer with Kim’s material for the purpose of providing enhanced stability, improved color discrimination, and reduced trap densities in display devices.
Regarding claim 18. Won in view of Kim discloses The display apparatus of claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the water-soluble salt includes at least one of sodium [0111], potassium, magnesium, manganese, aluminum, and calcium.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 20230209967) in view of Gwon (US 20190326361).
Regarding claim 19. Fig 2 (a lateral view of Fig 4), Fig 4 (top plan view) and Fig 8 (a lateral portion view of Fig 4) of Won disclose A display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 111 including a display area (AA) and a peripheral area (NA) disposed around the display area, wherein the peripheral area includes a bending area (BA) that is bent about a bending axis (Fig 2, Fig 3, [0050]);
a plurality of inorganic material layers 142/146 disposed on the substrate, the plurality of inorganic material layers including a plurality of openings 166a/166b each arranged in the bending area and exposing an upper surface of the substrate (Fig 8);
a plurality of organic material layers 144/158 disposed on the plurality of inorganic material layers, the plurality of organic material layers including a plurality of ends each arranged between the bending area and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8);
a touch electrode layer 154e disposed on the plurality of organic material layers and including a plurality of touch electrodes disposed in the peripheral area ([0075]: 162, 170) (Fig 8);
an outer bank 188 arranged in the bending area in a plan view, and including an organic material [0056], wherein a portion of the outer bank fills the plurality of openings (Fig 8);
a first bank 106 disposed on the plurality of inorganic material layers and arranged between the bending area and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8);
a second bank 128 arranged between the first bank and the display area and apart from the first bank (Fig 8);
a light-blocking material layer 182 disposed on the touch electrode layer and arranged between the second bank and the display area in a plan view (Fig 8), wherein
a lateral surface of the outer bank and a lateral surface of the first bank are arranged to face each other and define a first valley structure (Fig 8),
another lateral surface of the first bank and a lateral surface of the second bank are arranged to face each other and define a second valley structure (Fig 8).
But Won does not disclose a third bank arranged between the second bank and the display area and apart from the second bank; and
another lateral surface of the second bank and a lateral surface of the third bank are arranged to face each other and define a third valley structure, and
an end of the light-blocking material layer overlaps the third valley structure in a plan view.
However, Fig 3 of Lee discloses a third bank 106 (left side) arranged between the second bank 106 (right side) and the display area (AA) and apart from the second bank (Fig 3); and
another lateral surface of the second bank and a lateral surface of the third bank are arranged to face each other and define a third valley structure (Fig 3), and
an end of the light-blocking material layer overlaps the third valley structure in a plan view (the end of the light-blocking material layer taught by Won, then Won in view of Lee teaches the limitation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bank structures of Gwon within the Won’s display device for the purpose of providing enhanced mechanical reliability and bending resistance.
Regarding claim 20. Won in view of Gwon discloses The display apparatus of claim 19, Won discloses wherein the light-blocking material layer covers the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8: 182 and 154e are vertically overlapped. Thus, when viewed from substrate, 182 covers the touch electrodes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13. Won discloses The display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one bank includes:
a first bank 106 arranged between the bending area and the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8); and
a second bank 128 arranged between the first bank and the plurality of touch electrodes in a plan view (Fig 8).
But the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “a (1-1)st sub-bank disposed on the at least one inorganic material layer, the (1-1)st sub-bank and the first organic insulating layer including a same material; a (1-2)nd sub-bank disposed on the (1-1)st sub-bank, the (1-2)nd sub-bank and the second organic insulating layer including a same material; and a (1-3)rd sub-bank disposed on the (1-2)nd sub-bank, the (1-3)rd sub-bank and the pixel-defining layer including a same material”.
Conclusion
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812