DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I, Species (c) (claims 1-11), in the reply filed
on 07/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-28 are withdrawn by consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…an alignment mark disposed in a
corner opening among the plurality of openings disposed at at least one edge…”. It should be read “…an alignment mark disposed in a corner opening among the plurality of openings disposed at least one edge …”.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…the corner opening at at least one corner of the second area…”. It should be read “…the corner opening at least one corner of the second area…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (US 20200321401 A1, hereinafter Ahn).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Ahn teaches a display device comprising:
Ahn’s Figure 5-Annotated.
a first area (A1 a center region including opening 423 in [0046], Fig. 4-Annotated), a second area (A2 a region surrounding A1 including openings 421 and 422 in [0046], Fig. 4-Annotated) surrounding the first area (A1), and a third area (A3 a region surrounding A2 in [0046], Fig. 4-Annotated) surrounding the second area (A2);
a first base substrate (110 a lower substrate in [0052], Fig. 7 corresponding to a cross section of Fig. 2, but the same section of Figure 4);
a display structure (130 active layers, 450 thin film encapsulation structure, 530 an optical filter layer and 510 a color filter layer in [0052, 0054], Fig. 7) disposed on the first base substrate (110) in the first area (A1);
a second base substrate (410 an upper substrate in [0052], Fig. 7 corresponding to a cross section of Fig. 2, but the same section of Figure 4) facing the first base substrate (110);
a bank portion (495 a second protective layer having openings that define a pixel region in [0052], Fig. 7 corresponding to a cross section of Fig. 2, but the same section of Figure 4) disposed between the first base substrate (110) and the second base substrate (410) in (Fig. 5) the first (A1) and second (A2) areas and including a plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423 in Fig. 5) in the first (A1) and second (A2) areas;
a color conversion layer (530-612 optical filter layer 530 and color filter alignment pattern 612 in [0054], Fig. 7 corresponding to a cross section of Fig. 2, but the same section of Figure 4) disposed in the plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423, wherein 612 is included in 421 in [0054], Fig. 6 and 530 is included in 423, Fig. 7); and
an alignment mark (alignment marks-421, alignment structure disposed in 421 in [0047], Fig. 5) disposed in a corner opening (421-top-left Fig. 5-Annotated) among the plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423 in Fig. 5) disposed at least one edge of the second area (A2), positioned on a same line in a first direction (horizontal-direction) as a center part of an opening (422) adjacent to the corner opening ((421-top-left) among the plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423 in Fig. 5) in the first direction (horizontal-direction), and having a center part positioned on a same line in a second direction (vertical-direction) as a center part of an opening adjacent (421-bottom Fig. 4-Annotated) to the corner opening (421-top-left) among the plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423 in Fig. 5) in the second direction (vertical-direction) intersecting the first direction (horizontal-direction).
Re: Claim 2, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of openings (421, 422 and 423 in Fig. 5) include: the corner opening (421-top-left Fig. 5-Annotated) at least one corner of the second area (A2); dummy openings (421 and 422) in the second area (A2) excluding the corner opening (421-top-left Fig. 5-Annotated); and pixel openings (423) entirely overlapping the first area (A1).
Re: Claim 3, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein each of the pixel openings (423) includes first, second, and third sub-pixel openings (sub-pixel areas 30 may be entirely arranged to have a matrix form in the display area 10 in [0044, 0045], Fig. 1, 7) adjacent to each other, and each of the dummy openings (421-422) includes first, second, and third sub-dummy openings (openings including optical filter alignment pattern 615, 617, 618 in 422 and 611, 613, 614 in 421 in [0054], Fig. 6) adjacent to each other.
Re: Claim 5, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the alignment mark (alignment marks-421) includes first (611, first color filter alignment pattern [0054], Fig. 6), second (613, second color filter alignment pattern [0054], Fig. 6), and third (614, third color filter alignment pattern [0054], Fig. 6) alignment patterns adjacent to each other.
Re: Claim 6, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein a center part of the first alignment pattern (611) is positioned on a same line in the first direction (horizontal-direction) as a center part of the first sub-dummy openings (615) adjacent in the first direction (horizontal-direction) and is positioned on a same line in the second direction as a center part of the first sub-dummy opening (611-421-bottom in [0054], Fig. 6, 7) adjacent in the second direction (vertical direction), a center part of the second alignment pattern (613) is positioned on a same line in the first direction (horizontal-direction) as a center part of the second sub-dummy openings adjacent (617) in the first direction and is positioned on a same line in the second direction (vertical direction) as a center part of the second sub-dummy opening (613-421-bottom in [0054], Fig. 6, 7) adjacent in the second direction, and a center part of the third alignment pattern (614) is positioned on a same line in the first direction (horizontal-direction) as a center part of the third sub-dummy openings (618) adjacent in the first direction and is positioned on a same line in the second direction as a center part of the third sub-dummy opening (614-421-bottom in [0054], Fig. 6, 7) adjacent in the second direction.
Re: Claim 8, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a sealing member (390 a sealing pattern in [0043], Fig. 5) disposed between the first base substrate (110) and the second base substrate (410).
Re: Claim 9, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the sealing member (390) is disposed in the third area (A3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn.
Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 3,
Ahn does not expressly disclose wherein a shape of the corner opening is different from a shape of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings, and an area of the corner opening is larger than an area of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings in a plan view.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“a shape of the corner opening is different from a shape of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings, and an area of the corner opening is larger than an area of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed shape of the corner opening is different from a shape of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings, and an area of the corner opening is larger than an area of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of a shape of the corner opening is different from a shape of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings, and an area of the corner opening is larger than an area of each of the first, second, and third sub-dummy openings” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art.
Therefore it is a prima facie obvious in view of In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see 2144.04 IV(A).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Kim (US 20180062111 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Re: Claim 7, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 5,
Ahn does not expressly disclose wherein each of the first, second, and third alignment pattern has a cross shape.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Kim discloses an alignment pattern (151 align key in [0068], Fig. 3) has a cross shape (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Kim’s feature of an alignment pattern has a cross shape to Ahn’s device to obtain wherein each of the first, second, and third alignment pattern has a cross shape to improving the reliability and the luminous efficacy ([0072], Kim).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Lee et al. (US 20140138646 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Re: Claim 10, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 1,
Ahn does not expressly disclose wherein the alignment mark includes a same material as the bank portion.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Lee discloses an alignment mark (107b align mark in [0057], Fig. 2B) includes a same material (107 and 150 having a same material in [0016], [0125]) as the bank portion (150 pixel defining layer in [0085], Fig. 4 corresponding to a cross-section of Fig. 2A but it similar to a same region of Fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Lee’s feature of wherein the alignment mark includes a same material as the bank portion to Ahn’s device to reduce cost for making the same patterning process of the pixel defining layer ([0125], Lee).
Re: Claim 11, Ahn discloses the display device of claim 1,
Ahn does not expressly disclose wherein the bank portion and the alignment mark are integral with each other.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Lee discloses wherein the bank portion (150 pixel defining layer in [0085], Fig. 4 corresponding to a cross-section of Fig. 2A but it similar to a same region of Fig. 2B) and the alignment mark (107b align mark in [0057], Fig. 2B) are integral with each other (107 and 150 formed in the same patterning process in [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Lee’s feature of wherein the bank portion and the alignment mark are integral with each other to Ahn’s device to reduce cost for making the same patterning process of the pixel defining layer ([0125], Lee).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 20210027673 A1) teaches “STRETCHABLE DISPLAY DEVICE”. This document is related to a stretchable display device according to embodiments of the present disclosure includes a plurality of first substrates in which a plurality of pixels are defined, the plurality of first substrates being spaced apart from each other; a plurality of second substrates disposed between first substrates adjacent to each other among the plurality of first substrates to connect the adjacent first substrates; a lower substrate on which a plurality of first areas, a plurality of second areas, and a plurality of third areas excluding the plurality of first areas and the plurality of second areas are defined, the plurality of first substrates being disposed in the plurality of first areas, and the plurality of second substrates being disposed in the plurality of second areas; and a plurality of align keys disposed in a portion of the plurality of third areas and formed of an elastic material.
Lim et al. (US 20200365676 A1) teaches “DISPLAY DEVICE”. This document is related to a display device including: a base substrate including a display area and a non-display area positioned at a side of the display area; at least one transistor in the display area of the base substrate and conductive lines in the non-display area of the base substrate; at least one light-emitting element in the display area that is coupled to the at least one transistor; an encapsulation layer covering the light-emitting element; a sensing electrode on the encapsulation layer and a sensing line on the encapsulation layer coupled to the sensing electrode; and an align mark on the encapsulation layer at least partially overlapping some of the conductive lines in the non-display area, in a plan view.
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898