DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on April 29, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “a plurality of cores” should be amended with “a plurality of conductive cores”, in order to avoid indefiniteness due to a lack of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pagaila et al. (US 2012/0056329, hereinafter Pagaila) in view of Suh et al. (US 2015/0287491, hereinafter Suh).
Regarding claim 1, Pagaila discloses for a semiconductor device, comprising that
a first electrical component (left semiconductor die or component 124, Fig. 5h);
an electrical connector (left conductive pillars 164, Fig. 5h) disposed adjacent to the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h); and
a conductive layer (conductive layer 160, see attached Fig. 5h below) formed between the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h) and electrical connector (left 164, Fig. 5h), because as shown in the attached Fig. 5h of Pagaila below, the seventh conductive layer 160 from a left side of Fig. 5h is formed between the left component 124 and the conductive pillar 218, therefore, the conductive layer 160 corresponds to the conductive layer in the claimed invention.
Pagaila differs from the claimed invention by not showing that a conductive layer including a graphene core shell, wherein the graphene core shell includes a conductive core and a graphene coating formed over and around an outer surface of the conductive core.
However, Suh discloses that a graphene-coated composite powder having excellent electric conductivity ([0053]) includes a metal core 610 and a carbon-coated layer 620 (Fig. 6). Suh further discloses that “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” and “a carbon-coated layer 620 including a multilayer graphene film” ([0060]), therefore, the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh corresponds to the graphene core-shell including a conductive core and a graphene coating formed over and around an outer surface of the conductive core in the claimed invention; Suh further discloses that “such multilayer graphene-coated composite powders may be applied as a material for various applied diodes. For example, the composite powder may be applied in various fields such as an electric/electronic electrode material, a material for storing energy, a composite powder additive, a catalyst, an ink, and a paste” (emphasis added, [0066]), in view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor packaging art would have recognized that the conductive electrodes/vias/layers by Pagaila could be formed using the electrically conductive composite powder by Suh.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer or electrode of Pagaila to comprise the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder of Suh, in order to achieve high electrical conductivity, while reducing manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 2, Pagaila further discloses that a second electrical component (right semiconductor die or component 124, Fig. 5h) disposed adjacent to a side of the electrical connector (adjacent to right side of left 164, see Fig. 5h above) opposite the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h); and
an encapsulant (encapsulant or molding compound 172, Fig. 5h) deposited around the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h), second electrical component (right 124, Fig. 5h), and electrical connector (164, Fig. 5h), wherein the conductive layer (right 160, Fig. 5h) is formed between the second electrical component (right 124, Fig. 5h) and electrical connector (right 164, Fig. 5h) over the encapsulant (over 172, Fig. 5h), because as shown in the attached Fig. 5h of Pagaila above, the seventh conductive layer 160 from a right side of Fig. 5h is formed between the right component 124 and the conductive pillar 218, therefore, the conductive layer 160 corresponds to the conductive layer in the claimed invention.
Pagaila differs from the claimed invention by not showing that a conductive layer including a graphene core shell.
However, Suh discloses that a graphene-coated composite powder having excellent electric conductivity ([0053]) includes a metal core 610 and a carbon-coated layer 620 (Fig. 6). Suh further discloses that “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold, silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” ([0060]) and “a carbon-coated layer 620 including a multilayer graphene film” ([0060]), therefore, the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh corresponds to the graphene core-shell in the claimed invention; Suh further discloses that “such multilayer graphene-coated composite powders may be applied as a material for various applied diodes. For example, the composite powder may be applied in various fields such as an electric/electronic electrode material, a material for storing energy, a composite powder additive, a catalyst, an ink, and a paste” (emphasis added, [0066]), in view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor packaging art would have recognized that the conductive electrodes/vias/layers of Pagaila could be formed using the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer or electrode of Pagaila to comprise the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder of Suh, in order to achieve high electrical conductivity, while reducing manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 3, Suh further discloses that the conductive core (610, Fig. 6) includes copper or silver, because “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold, silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” (emphasis added, [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, Suh further discloses that the conductive layer (multilayer graphene-coated layer, [0068]) includes a plurality of conductive cores (610, Fig. 6) covered by graphene (620, Fig. 6), because a plurality of the multilayer graphene-coated composite powders by Suh are dispersed in solution (Fig. 5A-B) and formed the electrically conductive layer ([0068]) and the graphene is interconnected within the conductive layer (multilayer graphene-coated layer, [0068]) to form an electrical conduction path, because “a multilayer graphene film is uniformly coated on almost all surface of the metal particle cores to prevent oxidation of internal metal particle cores, and since a multilayer graphene film-coated layer has conductivity, the composite powder also exhibits electric conductivity” ([0064]), therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the electrically conductive multilayer graphene-coated layer by Suh would be electrically conductive when the multilayer graphene is interconnected to form an electrical conduction path.
Regarding claim 6, Pagaila further discloses that an insulating layer (insulating layer 148, Fig. 5h) formed over the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h) and conductive layer (160, Fig. 5h); and an interconnect structure (conductive vias 146, Fig. 5h) formed over the conductive layer (160, Fig. 5h).
Regarding claim 7, Pagaila further discloses for a semiconductor device, comprising that a plurality of stacked semiconductor assemblies (Fig. 3a), each semiconductor assembly (Fig. 5h) including:
a first electrical component (left semiconductor die or component 124, Fig. 5h);
an electrical connector (left 164, Fig. 5h) disposed adjacent to the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h); and
a conductive layer (conductive layer 160, Fig. 5h) including formed between the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h) and electrical connector (left 164, see attached Fig. 5h above).
Pagaila differs from the claimed invention by not showing that a conductive layer including a graphene core shell, wherein the graphene core shell includes a conductive core and a graphene coating formed over and around an outer surface of the conductive core.
However, Suh discloses that a graphene-coated composite powder having excellent electric conductivity ([0053]) includes a metal core 610 and a carbon-coated layer 620 (Fig. 6). Suh further discloses that “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” and “a carbon-coated layer 620 including a multilayer graphene film” ([0060]), therefore, the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh corresponds to the graphene core-shell including a conductive core and a graphene coating formed over and around an outer surface of the conductive core in the claimed invention; Suh further discloses that “such multilayer graphene-coated composite powders may be applied as a material for various applied diodes. For example, the composite powder may be applied in various fields such as an electric/electronic electrode material, a material for storing energy, a composite powder additive, a catalyst, an ink, and a paste” (emphasis added, [0066]), in view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor packaging art would have recognized that the conductive electrodes/vias/layers of Pagaila could be formed using the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer or electrode of Pagaila to comprise the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder of Suh, in order to achieve high electrical conductivity, while reducing manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 8, Pagaila further discloses that a second electrical component (right 124, Fig. 5h) disposed adjacent to a side of the electrical connector (adjacent to a side of left 164, Fig. 5h) opposite the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h); and
an encapsulant (encapsulant or molding compound 172, Fig. 5h) deposited around the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h), second electrical component (right 124, Fig. 5h), and electrical connector (164, Fig. 5h), wherein the conductive layer (160, Fig. 5h) is formed between the second electrical component (right 124, Fig. 5h) and electrical connector (right 164, Fig. 5h) over the encapsulant (over 172, Fig. 5h).
Pagaila differs from the claimed invention by not showing that a conductive layer including a graphene core shell.
However, Suh discloses that a graphene-coated composite powder having excellent electric conductivity ([0053]) includes a metal core 610 and a carbon-coated layer 620 (Fig. 6). Suh further discloses that “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold, silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” ([0060]) and “a carbon-coated layer 620 including a multilayer graphene film” ([0060]), therefore, the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh corresponds to the graphene core-shell in the claimed invention; Suh further discloses that “such multilayer graphene-coated composite powders may be applied as a material for various applied diodes. For example, the composite powder may be applied in various fields such as an electric/electronic electrode material, a material for storing energy, a composite powder additive, a catalyst, an ink, and a paste” (emphasis added, [0066]), in view of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor packaging art would have recognized that the conductive electrodes/vias/layers of Pagaila could be formed using the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder by Suh.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer or electrode of Pagaila to comprise the electrically conductive, graphene-coated composite powder of Suh, in order to achieve high electrical conductivity, while reducing manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 9, Suh further discloses that the conductive core (610, Fig. 6) includes copper or silver, because “the metal core 610 may be composed of copper, nickel, aluminum, iron, gold, silver, stainless steel, tin, zinc, titanium, tantalum, an alloy thereof, or a mixture thereof, for example” (emphasis added, [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Suh further discloses that the conductive layer (multilayer graphene-coated layer, [0068]) includes a plurality of cores (610, Fig. 6) covered by graphene (620, Fig. 6), because a plurality of the multilayer graphene-coated composite powders by Suh are dispersed in solution (Fig. 5A-B) and formed the electrically conductive layer ([0068]) and the graphene is interconnected within the conductive layer (multilayer graphene-coated layer, [0068]) to form an electrical conduction path, because “a multilayer graphene film is uniformly coated on almost all surface of the metal particle cores to prevent oxidation of internal metal particle cores, and since a multilayer graphene film-coated layer has conductivity, the composite powder also exhibits electric conductivity” ([0064]), therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the electrically conductive multilayer graphene-coated layer by Suh would be electrically conductive when the multilayer graphene is interconnected to form an electrical conduction path.
Regarding claim 12, Pagaila further discloses that an insulating layer (insulating layer 148, Fig. 5h) formed over the first electrical component (left 124, Fig. 5h) and conductive layer (160, Fig. 5h); and an interconnect structure (conductive vias 146, Fig. 5h) formed over the conductive layer (160, Fig. 5h).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagaila et al. (US 2012/0056329, hereinafter Pagaila) in view of Suh et al. (US 2015/0287491, hereinafter Suh) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Yoshida al. (WO 2022/113729, hereinafter Yoshida). The teachings of Pagaila in view of Suh are discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, Pagaila in view of Suh does not explicitly disclose that the conductive layer includes thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix and the graphene core shell is embedded within the thermoset material or polymer or composite epoxy type matrix.
However, Yoshida discloses an electrically conductive resin comprising a conductive gel dispersed in the resin (see page 2 of attached machine-translated copy), the conductive gel includes a carbon-based material such as carbon black (CB), graphite (GF), carbon nanotube (CNT), carbon nanofiber (CNF), carbon nanowire (CNW), carbon fiber, and graphite (see page 3, “Gel formation” section, machine-translated copy), and the resin includes a silicone-based resin such as polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polyphenylmethylsilosane (PMPS), and polydiphenylsiloxane (PDPS) (see page 4, “Resin insoluble in deep eutectic liquid” section, machine-translated copy); Yoshida further discloses that “the resin insoluble in these deep eutectic liquids may be cured by any method, for example, a thermosetting resin that is cured by heat…” (emphasis added, page 4, “Resin insoluble in deep eutectic liquid” section, machine-translated copy), therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the conductive vias/layers by Pagaila in view of Suh can be modified with the electrically conductive resin including thermoset material or polymer taught by Yoshida, in order to reduce manufacturing cost.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive vias/layers of Pagaila in view of Suh with the electrically conductive resin having a thermosetting material or polymer taught by Yoshida, in order to reduce manufacturing cost and achieve desired electrical conductivity.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected by the same reasons discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Pagaila et al. (US 2012/0056329, hereinafter Pagaila) in view of Suh et al. (US 2015/0287491, hereinafter Suh) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Gaines et al. (US 2018/0190593, hereinafter Gaines). The teachings of Pagaila in view of Suh are discussed above.
Regarding claim 13, Pagaila in view of Suh does not explicitly disclose that a pulsed light transmitted onto the conductive layer.
However, Gaines discloses a conductive adhesive layer for semiconductor devices and packages including metal particles and an epoxy matrix, and further discloses “the conductive sinterable metal (for example, silver, copper) nanoparticles adhesive can be cured using a photonic curing method. Photonic curing can refer to the high-temperature thermal processing of the conductive adhesive using pulsed light, for example, pulsed light from a flashlamp. Photonic curing may allow the conductive adhesive to be cured much more rapidly than with an oven” (emphasis added, [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrically conductive graphene-coated composite powder by Suh to be curable using the pulsed light photonic curing technique, as disclosed by Gaines, in order to reduce processing time and manufacturing cost.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/WOO K LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2815