DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendment
2. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 06/04/2026
Claims
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-20 have been remained
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are notpersuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hsu (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0120656 A1) in view of Chang et al., hereafter “Chang” (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0361176 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses a structure, comprising:
a nanostructure element (408) on a substrate (401);
a gate structure (450) surrounding the nanostructure element (408);
an inner spacer structure (434) abutting the gate structure (450);
a first epitaxial layer (438) in contact with a side surface of the nanostructure element (408) and over a side surface of the inner spacer structure (434); and
a second epitaxial layer (440) on the first epitaxial layer (438) (Fig. 30 and para [0064]-[0067]).
Hsu discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose the second epitaxial layer in contact with the inner spacer structure.
Chang, however, discloses the second epitaxial layer (240) in contact with the inner spacer structure (234) (Fig. 14 and para [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hsu to provide the second epitaxial layer in contact with the inner spacer structure as taught by Chang for a purpose of reducing the contact resistance between the second epitaxial layer and the inner spacer structure and improving the operation frequency of the semiconductor device.
Hsu and Chang (citations to Hsu unless otherwise noted) disclose wherein a dopant concentration of the first epitaxial layer (238) is less than a dopant concentration of the second epitaxial layer (240) (Fig. 14 in Chang).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu and Chang (Citations to Hsu unless otherwise noted) disclose wherein a vertical length of the first epitaxial layer (438) is greater than a thickness of the nanostructure element (408) (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu, Chang and LIN S (Citations to Hsu unless otherwise noted) disclose wherein the first epitaxial layer (438) extends from a top edge of the side surface of the inner spacer structure (434) to a bottom edge of the side surface of the inner spacer structure (434) (Fig. 30).
6. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hsu and Chang in view of LIN S (CN-115881765-A).
Hsu and Chang disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the first epitaxial layer is over an edge of an interface between the nanostructure element and the gate structure.
LIN S, however, discloses wherein the first epitaxial layer (134) is over an edge of an interface between the nanostructure element (106) and the gate structure (140) (Fig. 4D or 6B and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hsu and Chang to provide wherein the first epitaxial layer is over an edge of an interface between the nanostructure element and the gate structure as taught by LIN S for a purpose of improving the quality of the first epitaxial layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 8-20 would be allowed.
Claims 8-20 are considered allowable since the prior art of record and the considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed invention of a structure having a structure of an epitaxial layer on the substrate and separated from the plurality of nano-sheet layers by the diffusion barrier structure, as cited in the independent claim 8 and forming a diffusion barrier structure in contact with side surfaces of the plurality of channel layers and over side surfaces of the plurality of inner spacers; and forming an epitaxial region over side surfaces of the diffusion barrier structure, as cited in the independent claim 15.
Claims 9-14 and 16-20 are directly or indirectly depend on the independent claims 8 and 15, then, they are also being allowed.
Claims 2-3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion8. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897