DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 15 – 20 have been considered, and have found to be persuasive. Please find new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spielmann et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0205726).
Regarding claim 15, in Figure 20, Spielmann discloses a method of fabricating a substrate support, the method comprising: printing a heater material (14, 16, paragraph [0086]) on to a dielectric base layer (44) of the substrate support (46) as thermal traces to form a printed heater (Abstract, paragraph [0001]); and sealing the printed heater within the substrate support by printing a dielectric top layer (56, paragraph [0109]) over the printed heater.
Regarding claim 16, Spielmann discloses printing the dielectric base layer on a metal base plate of the substrate support (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 17, Spielmann discloses printing a dielectric cover layer over the printed heater; printing an electrically conductive material onto the dielectric cover layer as electrical traces to form a printed electrostatic chuck (ESC) circuit; and wherein sealing the printed heater within the substrate support further comprises printing the dielectric top layer over the printed ESC circuit (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 18, Spielmann discloses wherein printing the dielectric base layer, printing the heater material, and sealing the printed heater within the substrate support are all performed in situ within a single processing chamber (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 19, Spielmann discloses printing an electrically conductive material as wiring traces to form a printed wiring layer below the printed heater; forming vias in the dielectric base layer electrically coupled to the wiring traces before printing the heater material; and wherein the printed heater comprises a plurality of independently-controllable heater zones electrically coupled to the vias (Figure 20).
Regarding claim 20, Spielmann discloses wherein sealing the printed heater within the substrate support further comprises forming a dielectric side layer on exterior sidewalls of the substrate support (Figure 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 14 are allowed.
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847