Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive because different classification for the two claimed inventions is proof of serious burden in and of itself. As stated in MPEP 808.02, a serious burden is present when there is A) Separate classification thereof: this shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search. Patents need not be cited to show separate classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Patent Pub 20210292157 A1) in view of Miller et al. (US Patent Pub 20250011162 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) structure, comprising:
a first stationary element (Fig. 6A, first stationary element (Left portion of 106));
a second stationary element (Fig. 6A, second stationary element (Right portion of 106));
a cap structure connecting the first stationary element and the second stationary element (Fig. 6A, cap structure 116, which connects the first stationary element and the second stationary element);
and a moveable element between the first stationary element and the second stationary element and under the cap structure (Fig. 6A, moveable element 110, which is disposed between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and the second stationary element (right portion of 106) as well as under the cap structure 116);
a first spring comprising a first dielectric layer and a first conductive layer and spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element (Fig. 6A, first spring 108 (portion of 108 to the right of moveable element 110, see annotated figure below) located between the second stationary element (right portion of 106) and the moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the first spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a first dielectric layer (109c of the first spring) and a first conductive layer (109b of the first spring));
and a second spring comprising a second dielectric layer and a second conductive layer and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element, wherein (Fig. 6A, second spring (portion of 108 to the left of 110, see annotated figure below) spanning between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the second spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a second dielectric layer (109c of the second spring) and a second conductive layer (109b of the second spring)):
the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprise silicon and oxygen (Fig. 6A and paragraph 0060 teaches the first and second dielectric layer (109c of both the first and second spring) can be formed of amorphous silicon dioxide, which comprises silicon and oxygen).
Chang fails to specifically teach a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element.
However, Miller teaches a MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element (Miller, Fig. 1 and paragraph 0075 teaches a MEMS device 101 having a spring structure 113 spanning between moveable element 104 and the cap structure 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Miller into the method of Chang by forming the MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing operation stress and improving device accuracy and reliability (Miller, paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 2, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 1, comprising: a third spring comprising a third dielectric layer and a third conductive layer and spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element, wherein: the third dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Miller, Fig. 1 teaches a third spring (113 disposed to the right of 103) spanning between the second stationary element (right portion of 109) and the moveable element 103. Chang, fig. 6A and paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b. Therefore, the combination of Chang in view of Miller would teach a third spring comprising a third dielectric layer (109c of the third spring) and a third conductive layer (109b of the third spring) spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element, wherein (paragraph 0060 of Chang) the third dielectric layer (109c of the third spring) can be formed of amorphous silicon dioxide, which comprises silicon and oxygen).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 1, wherein:
the first conductive layer has a first thickness, and the first dielectric layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (Chang, fig. 6A and paragraph 0113 teaches the first conductive layer 109b has a first thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm, and the first dielectric layer 109c has a second thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm. Therefore, the first conductive layer and the first dielectric layer can be arranged such that the first dielectric layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (e.g. they can be arranged such that the thicknesses are the same)).
Regarding Claim 4, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 1.
Chang in view of Miller fails to specifically teach the MEMS Structure comprising: a third spring adjacent the first spring and spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element; and a fourth spring adjacent the second spring and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element.
However, Miller (Fig. 1) teaches a plurality of springs formed around the MEMS device structure.
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate a plurality of springs spanning between he cap structure and the moveable element, as well as between the first stationary element and the moveable element, such that the MEMS structure comprises a third spring adjacent the first spring and spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element; and a fourth spring adjacent the second spring and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang in view of Miller in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing operation stress and improving device accuracy and reliability (Miller, paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 5, Chang teaches the MEMS structure of claim 1, wherein: the first spring comprises a third dielectric layer adjacent the first conductive layer and a third conductive layer adjacent the third dielectric layer (Chang, fig. 10A. See annotated figure of first spring below).
Regarding Claim 6, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 1, wherein: the first spring comprises a buffer layer adjacent the first conductive layer, a third dielectric layer adjacent the buffer layer and a third conductive layer adjacent the third dielectric layer (Chang, fig 10A. See annotated figure of first spring above).
Regarding Claim 7, Chang in view of Miller teaches The MEMS structure of claim 1, wherein: the first conductive layer exhibits tensile stress, and the first dielectric layer exhibits compressive stress (Chang, fig. 6A and paragraph 0033 teaches the first conductive layer 109b can be formed of a metal (e.g. aluminum). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the first conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the first dielectric material 109c can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the first dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress).
Regarding Claim 8, Chang teaches a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) structure, comprising:
a first stationary element (Fig. 6A, first stationary element (Left portion of 106));
a second stationary element (Fig. 6A, second stationary element (Right portion of 106));
a cap structure connecting the first stationary element and the second stationary element (Fig. 6A, cap structure 116, which connects the first stationary element and the second stationary element);
a moveable element between the first stationary element and the second stationary element and under the cap structure (Fig. 6A, moveable element 110, which is disposed between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and the second stationary element (right portion of 106) as well as under the cap structure 116);
a first spring comprising a first tensile layer and a first compressive layer and spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element (Fig. 6A, first spring 108 (portion of 108 to the right of moveable element 110, see annotated figure below) located between the second stationary element (right portion of 106) and the moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the first spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a first dielectric layer (109c of the first spring) and a first conductive layer (109b of the first spring). Paragraph 0033 teaches the first conductive layer 109b can be formed of a metal (e.g. aluminum). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the first conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress, and therefore 109b (of the first spring) is considered the first tensile layer. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the first dielectric material 109c can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the first dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress and therefore 109c (of the first spring) is considered the first compressive layer);
and a second spring comprising a second tensile layer a second compressive layer and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element, wherein (Fig. 6A, second spring (portion of 108 to the left of 110, see annotated figure below) spanning between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the second spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a second dielectric layer (109c of the second spring) and a second conductive layer (109b of the second spring). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the second conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the second conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress, and therefore 109b (of the second spring) is considered the second tensile layer. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the second dielectric material 109c can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the second dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress and therefore 109c (of the second spring) be considered the second compressive layer):
the first tensile layer has a first thickness and the first compressive layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (Chang, fig. 6A and paragraph 0113 teaches the first tensile layer 109b has a first thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm, and the first compressive layer 109c has a second thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm. Therefore, the first tensile layer and the first compressive layer can be arranged such that the first compressive layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (e.g. they can be arranged such that the thicknesses are the same)).
Chang fails to specifically teach a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element.
However, Miller teaches a MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element (Miller, Fig. 1 and paragraph 0075 teaches a MEMS device 101 having a spring structure 113 spanning between moveable element 104 and the cap structure 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Miller into the method of Chang by forming the MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing operation stress and improving device accuracy and reliability (Miller, paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 9, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 8, comprising: a third spring comprising a third compressive layer and a third tensile layer and spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element (Miller, Fig. 1 teaches a third spring (113 disposed to the right of 103) spanning between the second stationary element (right portion of 109) and the moveable element 103. Chang, fig. 6A and paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a compressive layer 109c and a tensile layer 109b. Therefore, the combination of Chang in view of Miller would teach a third spring comprising a third compressive layer (109c of the third spring) and a third tensile layer (109b of the third spring)) spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element).
Regarding Claim 10, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 8.
Chang in view of Miller fails to specifically teach the MEMS Structure comprising: a third spring adjacent the first spring and spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element; and a fourth spring adjacent the second spring and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element.
However, Miller (Fig. 1) teaches a plurality of springs formed around the MEMS device structure.
it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate a plurality of springs spanning between he cap structure and the moveable element, as well as between the first stationary element and the moveable element, such that the MEMS structure comprises a third spring adjacent the first spring and spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element; and a fourth spring adjacent the second spring and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang in view of Miller in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing operation stress and improving device accuracy and reliability (Miller, paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 11, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 8, wherein: the first spring comprises a third tensile layer adjacent the first compressive layer and a third compressive layer adjacent the third tensile layer (Chang, fig. 10A, see annotated figure of first spring below).
Regarding Claim 12, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 8, wherein: the first spring comprises a buffer layer adjacent the first tensile layer, a third compressive layer adjacent the buffer layer and a third tensile layer adjacent the third compressive layer (Chang, fig. 10A, see annotated figure of first spring above).
Regarding Claim 21, Chang teaches a micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) structure, comprising:
a first stationary element ((Fig. 6A, first stationary element (Left portion of 106));
a second stationary element (Fig. 6A, second stationary element (Right portion of 106));
a cap structure connecting the first stationary element and the second stationary element (Fig. 6A, cap structure 116, which connects the first stationary element and the second stationary element);
a moveable element between the first stationary element and the second stationary element and under the cap structure (Fig. 6A, moveable element 110, which is disposed between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and the second stationary element (right portion of 106) as well as under the cap structure 116);
a first spring comprising a first dielectric layer exhibiting compressive stress and a first conductive layer exhibiting tensile stress and spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element (Fig. 6A, first spring 108 (portion of 108 to the right of moveable element 110, see annotated figure below) located between the second stationary element (right portion of 106) and the moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the first spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a first dielectric layer (109c of the first spring) and a first conductive layer (109b of the first spring). Paragraph 0033 teaches the first conductive layer 109b can be formed of a metal (e.g. aluminum). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the first conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the first dielectric material 109c can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive. Therefore, the first dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress);
and a second spring comprising a second dielectric layer and a second conductive layer and spanning between the first stationary element and the moveable element (Fig. 6A, second spring (portion of 108 to the left of 110, see annotated figure below) spanning between the first stationary element (left portion of 106) and moveable element 110. Paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, therefore, the second spring (see annotated figure below) comprises a second dielectric layer (109c of the second spring) and a second conductive layer (109b of the second spring). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the second conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the second conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the second dielectric material 109c can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the first dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the second dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress).
Chang fails to specifically teach a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element.
However, Miller teaches a MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element (Miller, Fig. 1 and paragraph 0075 teaches a MEMS device 101 having a spring structure 113 spanning between moveable element 104 and the cap structure 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Miller into the method of Chang by forming the MEMS device having a spring structure spanning between the cap structure and the moveable element. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chang in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing operation stress and improving device accuracy and reliability (Miller, paragraph 0066).
Regarding Claim 22, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 21, wherein: the second conductive layer exhibits tensile stress, and the second dielectric layer exhibits compressive stress (Chang, fig. 6A and paragraph 0033 teaches the second conductive layer 109b (of the second spring) can be formed of a metal (e.g. aluminum). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the second conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the second conductive layer of Chang, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the second dielectric material 109c (of the second spring) can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the second dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the second dielectric layer of Chang, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress).
Regarding Claim 23, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 21, comprising: a third spring comprising a third dielectric layer and a third conductive layer and spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element (Miller, Fig. 1 teaches a third spring (113 disposed to the right of 103) spanning between the second stationary element (right portion of 109) and the moveable element 103. Chang, fig. 6A and paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teach spring structures 108 comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b. Therefore, the combination of Chang in view of Miller teaches a third spring comprising a third dielectric layer (109c of the third spring) and a third conductive layer (109b of the third spring) spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element).
Regarding Claim 24, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 21, wherein:
the first conductive layer has a first thickness, and the first dielectric layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (Chang, fig. 6A and paragraph 0113 teaches the first conductive layer 109b has a first thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm, and the first dielectric layer 109c has a second thickness ranging from 5 to 500 µm. Therefore, the first conductive layer and the first dielectric layer can be arranged such that the first dielectric layer has a second thickness of at least 50 percent of the first thickness (e.g. they can be arranged such that the thicknesses are the same)).
Regarding Claim 25, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 21, wherein: the first spring comprises a buffer layer adjacent the first conductive layer (Chang, Fig. 10A, see annotated figure of the first spring below).
Regarding Claim 26, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 21, wherein: the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprise silicon and oxygen (Chang, paragraph 0060 teaches the dielectric layers (109c of both the first spring and the second spring, and therefore the first and second dielectric layers) of spring structures 108 comprise silicon dioxide, which comprises silicon and oxygen).
Regarding Claim 27, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 23, wherein: the first dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer, and the third dielectric layer comprise silicon and oxygen (Chang, paragraphs 0033 and 0060 teaches first spring and second spring structures, that spring structures comprise a dielectric layer 109c and a conductive layer 109b, and that the dielectric layers of the springs comprise silicon dioxide, which comprises silicon and oxygen. Miller, fig. 1 teaches a third spring structure. Therefore, the combination of Chang in view of Miller teaches a MEMS structure comprising a first dielectric layer (109c of the first spring), a second dielectric layer (109c of the second spring), and a third dielectric layer (109c of the third spring), wherein the first through third dielectric layers comprise silicon and oxygen).
Regarding Claim 28, Chang in view of Miller teaches the MEMS structure of claim 23, wherein: the third conductive layer exhibits tensile stress, and the third dielectric layer exhibits compressive stress (Chang in view of Miller teaches a third spring comprising a third dielectric layer (109c of the third spring) and a third conductive layer (109b of the third spring) spanning between the second stationary element and the moveable element. Paragraph 0033 teaches the third conductive layer (109b of the third spring) can be formed of a metal (e.g. aluminum). Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the third conductive layer can be formed of a metal and gives the example of aluminum and exhibits tensile stress. Therefore, the third conductive layer, which can be formed of the same material, may also exhibit tensile stress. Paragraph 0060 of Chang teaches that the third dielectric material (109c of the third spring) can comprise silicon and oxygen. Paragraph 0035 of Applicant’s own specification teaches the third dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen and exhibits compressive stress. Therefore, the third dielectric layer, which may comprise the same materials, may also exhibit compressive stress.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) attached herewith.
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899