DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/28/26. Claims 1-25 are pending. Claims 1-13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0118971, hereinafter referred to as “Tang”).
Tang discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-24 and corresponding text, where Tang teaches, in claim 14, a semiconductor device, comprising: (figures 1-2; [0027-0033])
an integrated passive device (IPD) die (128) including an IPD formed on the IPD die; a semiconductor die (102) mounted on the IPD die; an interconnect structure (108) mounted on the IPD die;
an encapsulant (104) deposited over the IPD die (128) with the interconnect structure (108) exposed from the encapsulant; and
a shielding layer (110) (functions as a shielding portion antenna) formed over the encapsulant.
Tang teaches, in claim 15, further including a second interconnect structure disposed adjacent to the IPD die, wherein the encapsulant is deposited over the IPD die and second interconnect structure (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 16, further including a build-up interconnect structure formed over the IPD die and encapsulant (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 17, wherein the IPD die includes a conductive via formed through the IPD die (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 18, wherein the shielding layer includes an embedded backside RDL plane (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 19, further including a solder or solder paste deposited over the interconnect structure (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 20, a semiconductor device, comprising:
(figures 1-2; [0027-0033])
an integrated passive device (IPD) die; a semiconductor die mounted on the IPD die; an encapsulant deposited over the IPD die; and a shielding layer formed over the encapsulant.
Tang teaches, in claim 21, further including an interconnect structure disposed adjacent to the IPD die, wherein the encapsulant is deposited over the IPD die and interconnect structure (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 22, further including a build-up interconnect structure formed over the IPD die and encapsulant.
Tang teaches, in claim 23, wherein the IPD die includes a conductive via formed through the IPD die (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 24, further including: an interconnect structure disposed over the IPD die; Anda solder or solder paste disposed over the interconnect structure (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Tang teaches, in claim 25, wherein the shielding layer includes a backside RDL plane (figures 1-2; [0027-0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks the applicant raises the clear issue as to whether Tang suggests or render obvious an integrated passive device (IPD) die including an IPD formed on the IPD die; a shielding layer formed over a side surface of the encapsulant and directly on a second surface of the IPD die opposite the first surface.
The examiner views that Tang does suggest the above limitation and/or statements. Specifically, Tang teaches a passive device (128) formed on an IC die (102) (figures 3A-3C; [0034-0037]). In addition, the shielding layer (110a) is formed above and directly contacting the molding material (figures 3A-3C; [0034-0037]). The examiner would like to point out that Tang teaches, in paragraph ([0034]), that the mounted devices are adapted to communicate with and/or control functions of the antenna and takes official notice that a integrate passive device (IPD) is included.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 12, 2026
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898