DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s RCE dated 08/07/2026.
4. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
5. Claims 7-20 have been withdrawn.
6. Claims 1, 7, and 16 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McMillin et al (US 2014/0235063).
Regarding claim 1:
McMillin teaches an edge ring (400/500) for a plasma etcher [fig 2 & 0034], the edge ring (400/500) comprising: a circular lower portion (500) having a lower opening sized to receive an electrostatic chuck (210 is an electrostatic chuck assembly) supporting a semiconductor device (220) [fig 2 & 0032, 0034]; and a circular upper portion (400) disposed on the circular lower portion (500), wherein the circular upper (400) portion and the circular lower portion (500) have different materials (400 is SiC and 500 is anodized aluminum) [fig 2 & 0034], wherein the circular upper portion (400) comprises: a first portion (lower part of 400) having a first opening (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0032, 0034]; and a second portion (upper part of 400) disposed on the first portion (lower part of 400) and having a second opening different from the first opening (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0032, 0034], wherein a sidewall of the first portion (400 can have an inner diameter of about 11.636 inches ± 0.10% ~ e.g. 11.634 inches) adjacent to the electrostatic chuck is vertically coincident with a sidewall of the circular lower portion (500 can have an inner diameter of about 11.634 inches ± 0.10% ~ e.g. 11.634 inches) adjacent to the electrostatic chuck [0046, 0048, 0051].
The claim limitations “wherein both of the first portion and the circular lower portion are in contact with a sidewall of the electrostatic chuck” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the electrostatic chuck is NOT a positively recited structure of the edge ring. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). It is noted that the above limitations merely defines where applicant intends to position the edge ring relative to a structure (electrostatic chuck) external therefrom. The edge ring of McMillin is capable of surrounding an electrostatic chuck of a diameter and/or shape in contact with both of the first portion and the circular lower portion.
Regarding claims 2-3:
McMillin teaches the first opening (opening of lower part of 400) is sized to receive the electrostatic chuck (210) [fig 2 & 0032, 0034]; and the second opening (opening of upper part of 400) is sized to receive the semiconductor device (220), wherein a lateral width of the second opening is substantially greater than a lateral width of the first opening (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0032, 0034]; wherein the first portion (lower part of 400) completely covers a top surface of the circular lower portion (top surface of 500) [fig 2 & 0034, 0046, 0048, 0051].
Regarding claims 4-6:
McMillin teaches a dielectric constant of the circular upper portion (400 is SiC) is substantially greater than a dielectric constant of the circular lower portion (500 is anodized aluminum) [fig 2 & 0034]; wherein an electrical conductivity of the circular lower portion (500 is anodized aluminum) is substantially greater than an electrical conductivity of the circular upper portion (400 is SiC); and wherein a material of the circular lower portion (500) is anodized aluminum (anodized aluminum), and a material of the circular upper portion (400) is silicon carbide (SiC) [fig 2 & 0034].
Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2112.01].
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that McMillin depicts the sidewall of the lower part of 400 being misaligned with the sidewall of 500 in figure 2.
In response, it is noted that the written specification anticipates the claim. McMillin teaches wherein a sidewall of the first portion (400 can have an inner diameter of about 11.636 inches ± 0.10% ~ e.g. 11.634 inches) adjacent to the electrostatic chuck is vertically coincident with a sidewall of the circular lower portion (500 can have an inner diameter of about 11.634 inches ± 0.10% ~ e.g. 11.634 inches) adjacent to the electrostatic chuck [0046, 0048, 0051].
It is noted that applicant was aware of examiner’s position [see interview summary and appendix dated 03/05/2026].
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Daugherty et al (US 6,344,105) teaches an edge ring comprising a circular lower portion and a circular upper portion [fig 5].
12. All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896