DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response filed 07/07/2026 has been fully considered.
The cancellation of claim 6 overcomes the rejection under 35. U.S.C. 112.
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 by Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) and under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Ma et al (US 10,756,136) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) and Feng (US 2021/0143229).
Applicant’s arguments as they apply to the combination of Ma and Feng have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued Ma, alone or in combination with any of the other references, does not teach columns having at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row because the light transmitting region A31 of Ma is not a plurality of discrete transmission portions.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a plurality of discrete transmission portions) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claimed invention includes a ‘base unit’ of ‘pixel groups’ and ‘transmission portions’ for the layout of a display, paragraphs 120 and 121 of Applicant’s specification.
Ma and Feng similarly utilize unit layouts to group and space pixels and transmission areas, Ma paragraphs 47 and 48, Feng paragraph 44.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘transmission portions’ encompasses the sort of virtual transmission portions contemplated by Ma (areas A311 in Figure 11 or A312 in Figure 12) and Feng (S15, S16 in Figure 6) that are part of such units.
As addressed in more detail below, Ma and Feng teach rows and columns of pixel groups and transmission portions that render the invention as claimed obvious. For at least these reasons, the invention as claimed is rejected herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229).
In reference to claim 1, Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286), hereafter “Ma,” discloses a display device, with reference to Figure 3, including a substrate;
a first display area A2 at which a plurality of main sub-pixels are on the substrate; and
a second display area A3 at which a base unit is on the substrate, the base unit comprising a plurality of pixel groups A32 including auxiliary sub-pixels arranged in rows extending in a first direction (y-direction) and columns extending in a second direction (x-direction) and transmission portions A31, arranged in rows extending in the first direction and columns extending in the second direction, paragraphs 28 and 31,
wherein the pixel groups and the transmission portions are alternately arranged along the first direction, and auxiliary sub-pixels included in one pixel group among the pixel groups are provided in two rows, and
[AltContent: arrow] wherein gaps and relative positions between the auxiliary sub-pixels of the pixel groups of the second display area are equal to corresponding gaps and relative positions between corresponding groups of sub-pixels of the main sub-pixels.
Ma is silent regarding each column having at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein.
Feng (US 2021/0143229), hereafter “Feng,” discloses an analogous display device, with reference to Figure 6, including teaching a second display area including a base unit on the substrate, the base unit comprising a plurality of pixel groups PX1 including auxiliary sub-pixels arranged in rows extending in a first direction (vertical) and columns extending in a second direction (horizontal) and transmission portions S15, S16 arranged in rows extending in the first direction and columns extending in the second direction, each column having at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein.
Feng teaches pixel groups PX1 in Figure 6 are spaced from one another in the horizontal direction by transparent regions S15 and spaced from each other in the vertical direction by transparent regions S16, paragraph 44, see annotated Figure 6 below. It is implied by the description and depiction in Figure 6 that the layout includes portions along the AB-direction where pixel groups PX1 alternate with transparent regions S16 and portions along the AB-direction where transparent regions S16 alternate with transparent regions S15, see annotated Figure 6 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for each column to have at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a low pixel density transparent display region, paragraph 56.
In reference to claim 2, Ma discloses a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the one pixel group among the pixel groups is three, 21, 22, and 23, and each of the auxiliary sub-pixels is arranged at a vertex of a virtual triangle.
In reference to claim 5, Ma does not disclose in the embodiment of Figure 3, a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the one pixel group among the pixel groups is four, and each of the auxiliary sub-pixels is arranged at a vertex of a virtual rectangle.
However, Ma discloses in the embodiment of Figure 10, a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the one pixel group among the pixel groups is four, 21, 22, 23, and 24 in Figure 10, and each of the auxiliary sub-pixels is arranged at a vertex of a virtual rectangle, paragraph 44. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the one pixel group among the pixel groups to be four, and for each of the auxiliary sub-pixels to be arranged at a vertex of a virtual rectangle. One would have been motivated to do so in order to add an additional sub-pixel for one of the emitted colors, paragraph 45.
In reference to claim 8, Ma discloses the pixel groups 20 are apart from each other in the base unit, Figures 3 and 10.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625).
In reference to claim 3, Ma is silent regarding a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit is 3/8 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area as that of the base unit in the first display area.
Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) discloses a display device including teaching a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit, A02 is 3/8 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area (2 × A01) as that of the base unit in the first display area A1, paragraph 97. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit to be 3/8 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area as that of the base unit in the first display area. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form the second display area of a lower pixel density for transparency, paragraph 78 and the end of paragraph 97.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Lin (CN 109343662 A).
In reference to claim 7, Ma does not disclose a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit is 1/4 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area as that of the base unit in the first display area.
Lin (CN 109343662 A), a machine translation of which is included herewith and cited herein, discloses an analogous display device including teaching a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit (in area 101) is 1/4 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area as that of the base unit in the first display area 102, Figures 3 and 4 and paragraph 33.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention a number of the auxiliary sub-pixels included in the base unit to be 1/4 of a number of the main sub-pixels included in a corresponding unit having a same area as that of the base unit in the first display area. One would have been motivated to do so in order to set the pixel density low to allow high transmittance of a signal, paragraph 47.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ou et al. (US 2020/0203445).
In reference to claim 9, Ma does not disclose the transmission portions each have a circular shape.
Ou et al. (US 2020/0203445) discloses a display device including teaching transmission portions, 30 in Figure 1, each have a circular shape (not pictured) paragraph 34. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the transmission portions to each have a circular shape. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a collimator effect to reduce interference or diffraction of light incident on an underlying sensor, id.
Claims 10, 13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) and Ma et al (US 10,756,136).
In reference to claim 10, Ma is silent regarding opposite electrodes integrally provided in the main sub-pixels and the auxiliary sub-pixels are arranged in the first display area and the second display area, and the opposite electrodes each comprise an opening corresponding to one of the transmission portions.
Ma et al. (US 10,756,136), hereafter "the Ma patent," discloses a display device including teaching opposite electrodes integrally provided in the main sub-pixels and the auxiliary sub-pixels are arranged in the first display area and the second display area, and the opposite electrodes each comprise an opening, 211 in Figure 13, corresponding to one of the transmission portions, Figure 13 and col. 9 lines 8-31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for opposite electrodes integrally provided in the main sub-pixels and the auxiliary sub-pixels to be arranged in the first display area and the second display area, and the opposite electrodes each comprise an opening corresponding to one of the transmission portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form the cathode layer as a whole layer in the device manufacturing process, col. 9 lines 15-17.
In reference to claim 13, Ma discloses a display apparatus, with reference to Figure 3, comprising:
a substrate comprising a first display area A2 in which main sub-pixels are provided and a second display area A3 in which a plurality of pixel groups A32 including auxiliary sub-pixels, 21, 22, and 23, arranged in rows extending in a first direction (y-direction) and columns extending in a second direction (x-direction) and a plurality of transmission portions A31 arranged in rows extending in the first direction and columns extending in the second direction are provided, paragraphs 28 and 31;
a first pixel electrode 61 and a first emission layer 62, each configured to implement a first main sub-pixel among the main sub-pixels;
a second pixel electrode 61 and a second emission layer, 62 each configured to implement a first auxiliary sub-pixel exhibiting a same color as that of the first main sub-pixel among the auxiliary sub-pixels, paragraphs 50 and 51 and Figures 15 -17; and
wherein the auxiliary sub-pixels included in a pixel group from among the pixel groups are provided in two rows, Figure 3, and
wherein gaps and relative positions between the auxiliary sub-pixels of the pixel groups of the second display area are equal to corresponding gaps and relative positions between corresponding groups of sub-pixels of the main sub-pixels, Figure 3.
[AltContent: arrow]
Ma is silent regarding each column having at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein and
does not disclose an opposite electrode integrally arranged in the first display area and the second display area.
The Ma patent discloses a display device including teaching an opposite electrode integrally arranged in the first display area and the second display area, Figure 13 and col. 9 lines 8-31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an opposite electrode to be integrally arranged in the first display arca and the second display arca. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form the cathode layer as a whole layer in the device manufacturing process, col. 9 lines 15-17.
Feng discloses an analogous display device, with reference to Figure 6, including teaching a second display area including a base unit on the substrate, the base unit comprising a plurality of pixel groups PX1 including auxiliary sub-pixels arranged in rows extending in a first direction (vertical) and columns extending in a second direction (horizontal) and transmission portions S15, S16 arranged in rows extending in the first direction and columns extending in the second direction, each column having at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein.
Feng teaches pixel groups PX1 in Figure 6 are spaced from one another in the horizontal direction by transparent regions S15 and spaced from each other in the vertical direction by transparent regions S16, paragraph 44, see annotated Figure 6 below. It is implied by the description and depiction in Figure 6 that the layout includes portions along the AB-direction where pixel groups PX1 alternate with transparent regions S16 and portions along the AB-direction where transparent regions S16 alternate with transparent regions S15, see annotated Figure 6 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for each column to have at least two of the transmission portions that are aligned in a same row located therein. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a low pixel density transparent display region, paragraph 56.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
In reference to claim 16, Ma discloses a pixel defining layer, unlabeled in Figure 17, comprising a first opening and a second opening configured to expose central portions of the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode 61, respectively, wherein an emission area of the first main sub-pixel is defined by the first opening, and an emission area of the first auxiliary sub-pixel is defined by the second opening, paragraph 51.
In reference to claim 20, Ma discloses an image sensor arranged below the second display area, paragraph 62.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhang (US 2021/0366933).
In reference to claim 11, Ma does not disclose an inorganic insulating layer on the substrate, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings corresponding to the transmission portions.
Zhang (US 2021/0366933), hereafter “Zhang,” discloses a display device including teaching an inorganic insulating layer, 121 in Figure 3B, on the substrate 111, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings 132 corresponding to the transmission portions, paragraph 70. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an inorganic insulating layer to be on the substrate, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings corresponding to the transmission portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the intensity of light incident on an underlying sensor, end of paragraph 70.
In reference to claim 12, Ma does not disclose a lower electrode layer between the substrate and the auxiliary sub-pixels, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes corresponding to the transmission portions.
Zhang discloses a display device including teaching a lower electrode layer, 113 in Figure 3B, between the substrate 111 and the sub-pixels, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes 114 corresponding to the transmission portions, paragraphs 69 and110. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a lower electrode layer to be between the substrate and the auxiliary sub-pixels, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes corresponding to the transmission portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a light shielding layer, paragraph 69.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) and Ma et al. (US 10,756,136) as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Moon (US 2014/0183484).
In reference to claim 14, Ma does not disclose a functional layer arranged between the first pixel electrode and the opposite electrode, wherein the functional layer is arranged to correspond to the transmission portion.
Moon (US 2014/0183484) discloses a display device including teaching a functional layer arranged between the first pixel electrode and the opposite electrode, wherein the functional layer is arranged to correspond to the transmission portion, paragraph 66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a functional layer arranged between the first pixel electrode and the opposite electrode, wherein the functional layer is arranged to correspond to the transmission portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form the layer for all pixels in a single step.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) and Ma et al. (US 10,756,136) as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Zhang (US 2021/0366933).
In reference to claim 15, Wang does not disclose a lower electrode layer arranged between the substrate and the second pixel electrode, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes corresponding to the transmission portions.
Zhang discloses a display device including teaching a lower electrode layer, 113 in Figure 3B, between the substrate 111 and the pixel electrode 152, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes 114 corresponding to the transmission portions, paragraphs 69 and110. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a lower electrode layer to be arranged between the substrate and the second pixel electrode, wherein the lower electrode layer comprises lower holes corresponding to the transmission portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a light shielding layer, paragraph 69.
In reference to claim 17, Wang does not disclose an inorganic insulating layer on the substrate, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings corresponding to the transmission portions.
Zhang discloses a display device including teaching an inorganic insulating layer, 121 in Figure 3B, on the substrate 111, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings 132 corresponding to the transmission portions, paragraph 70. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an inorganic insulating layer to be on the substrate, wherein the inorganic insulating layer comprises openings corresponding to the transmission portions. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the intensity of light incident on an underlying sensor, end of paragraph 70.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2021/0159286) in view of Feng (US 2021/0143229) and Ma et al. (US 10,756,136) as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2016/0293687).
In reference to claim 18, Wang does not disclose the first display area and the second display area are sealed by an encapsulation substrate arranged to face the substrate.
Chang et al. (US 2016/0293687), hereafter “Chang,” discloses a display device including teaching a display area sealed by an encapsulation substrate, 200 in Figure 2, arranged to face the substrate 100, paragraph 79. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first display area and the second display area are sealed by an encapsulation substrate arranged to face the substrate. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent air and moisture from permeating into the device, id.
In reference to claim 19, Wang does not disclose a thin-film encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer, which are sequentially arranged on the opposite electrode.
Chang teaches a thin-film encapsulation layer, 190 in Figure 5, comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer, which are sequentially arranged on the opposite electrode EL2, paragraphs 140 and 157. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a thin-film encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer, which to be sequentially arranged on the opposite electrode. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent air and moisture from permeating into the device, paragraph 157.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897