DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 16, 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (9496217).
With regard to claim 1, Tsai et al. disclose a structure (for example, see figs. 9A, 9B) comprising:
a dielectric layer (55);
a metal line (140; for example, see column 9, lines 41 - 52) in the dielectric layer (55), wherein the metal line (140) comprises a first straight edge (referred to as “140A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the top edge 140A1 of the metal line 140 functioning as a first straight edge) and a second straight edge (referred to as “140A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the another top edge 140A2 of the metal line 140 functioning as a second straight edge) extending in a lengthwise direction of the metal line (140),
wherein the first straight edge (140A1) and the second straight edge (140A2) are parallel to each other; and
a via (165) underlying and joined to the metal line (140), wherein the via (165) comprises: a third straight edge (referred to as “165A3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the underline edge 165A3 of the via 165 functioning as a third straight edge wherein the via 165 forming under the metal line 140 as shown in fig. 9B) underlying and vertically aligned (partially and vertically aligned as shown in fig. 9A, and wherein the via 165 forming under the metal line 140 as shown in fig. 9B, so it is inherently the third straight edge 165A3 is vertically aligned to the first straight edge 140A1) to the first straight edge (140A1); and
a first curved edge (referred to as “165A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) and a second curved edge (referred to as “165A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) connecting to opposite ends of the third straight edge (165A3).
With regard to claim 2, Tsai et al. disclose the metal line (140) extends laterally beyond the first curved edge (165A1) and the second curved edge (165A2) in the lengthwise direction.
With regard to claim 3, Tsai et al. disclose the via (165) further comprises: a fourth straight edge (referred to as “165A4” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the underline edge 165A4 of the via 165 functioning as a fourth straight edge wherein the via 165 forming under the metal line 140 as shown in fig. 9B) underlying and vertically aligned (partially and vertically aligned as shown in fig. 9A, and wherein the via 165 forming under the metal line 140 as shown in fig. 9B, so it is inherently the fourth straight edge 165A4 is vertically aligned to the second top straight edge (140A2) wherein a first curved edge (referred to as “165A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) and a second curved edge (referred to as “165A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) connecting to opposite ends of the fourth straight edge (165A4).
With regard to claim 4, Tsai et al. disclose an entirety of the via (165) is overlapped by the metal line (140).
With regard to claim 5, Tsai et al. disclose entireties of the first curved edge (165A1) and the second curved edge (165A2) are continuously curved.
With regard to claim 6, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) fits a circle (the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62 or a circle including curved edges 165A1, 165A2).
With regard to claim 7, Tsai et al. disclose the second curved edge (165A2) also fits the circle (the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62; or a circle including curved edges 165A1, 165A2).
.With regard to claim 8, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) and the second curved edge (165A2) have convex shapes (curved shapes having convex shapes) in a top view of the structure (as shown in fig. 9A).
With regard to claim 9, Tsai et al. disclose a structure (for example, see figs. 9A, 9B) comprising:
a first metal line (140; for example, see column 9, lines 41 - 52) and a second metal line (145; for example, see column 9, lines 41 - 52) adjacent to and parallel to each other;
a first via (165) underlying the first metal line (140), wherein an entirety of the first via (165) is in a first region directly underlying the first metal line (140), and the first via (165) comprises:
a first curved edge (referred to as “165A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) directly underlying the first metal line (140 as shown in figs. 9A, 9B); and
a first straight edge (referred to as “B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the first straight edge B1 is an edge of the via 165) vertically aligned (partially and vertically aligned as shown in fig. 9A, and wherein the via 165 forming under the metal line 140 as shown in fig. 9B, so it is inherently the first straight edge B1 is vertically aligned to an edge of the first metal line 140) to an edge (referred to as “140A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the top edge 140A1 of the metal line 140 functioning as an edge) of the first metal line (140), wherein the first straight edge (B1) is joined to the first curved edge (165A1); and
a second via (155) underlying the second metal line (145), wherein an entirety of the second via (155) is in a second region directly underlying the second metal line (145), and the second via (155) comprises:
a second curved edge (referred to as “155A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) directly underlying the second metal line (145); and
a second straight edge (referred to as “B2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the second straight edge B2 is an edge of the via 165) vertically aligned (partially and vertically aligned as shown in fig. 9A, and wherein the via 155 forming under the metal line 145 as shown in fig. 9B, so it is inherently the second straight edge B2 is vertically aligned to an edge of the first metal line 145) to an additional edge (referred to as “145A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the top edge 145A1 of the metal line 145 functioning as an additional edge) of the second metal line (145), wherein the second straight edge (B2) is joined to the second curved edge (155A1).
With regard to claim 10, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) fits a first circle (the lower level contact surfaces are denoted having circles in a vertical view, by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62; or a circle including the curved edge 165A1), and the second curved edge (155A1) fits a second circle (the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62; or a second circle including the curved edge 155A1).
With regard to claim 11, Tsai et al. disclose the first circle of the first via (165) indirectly at least touches the second circle of the second via (155). (the lower level contact surfaces are denoted having circles in a vertical view, by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62; or circles including the curved edges 155A1, 165A1).
With regard to claim 12, Tsai et al. disclose the first via (165) further comprises: a third curved edge (referred to as “165A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below), wherein the first curved edge (165A1) and the third curved edge (165A2) are joined to opposite ends of the first straight edge (B1), wherein the third curved edge (165A2) is overlapped by the first metal line (140), and the first metal line (140) extends laterally beyond both of the first curved edge (165A1) and the third curved edge (165A2).
With regard to claim 13, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) and the third curved edge (165A2) are convex edges (curved shapes having convex shapes).
With regard to claim 14, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) and the third curved edge (165A2) fit a same circle (a circle including the first curved edge 165A1 and the third curved edge 165A2, wherein the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 – 62; or a circle including the curved edges 165A1, 165A1) in a top view of the structure (as shown in fig. 9A).
With regard to claim 15, Tsai et al. disclose in a top view of the structure, a first center of the first via (165) and a second center of the second via (155) have a connection line (43) perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the first metal line (140).
With regard to claim 16, Tsai et al. disclose first opposite ends of the first curved edge (165A1) are joined to second opposite ends of the first straight edge (B1).
With regard to claim 18, Tsai et al. disclose a structure (for example, see figs. 9A, 9B) comprising:
a dielectric layer (55);
a metal line (140; for example, see column 9, lines 41 - 52) in the dielectric layer (55), and a via (165) underlying (as shown in fig. 9B) and joined to the metal line (140), wherein the via (165) comprises:
a straight edge (referred to as “B1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below; wherein the top edge B1 of the metal line 140 functioning as a straight edge); and
a first curved edge (referred to as “165A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) connecting to a first end of the straight edge (B1); and
a second curved edge (referred to as “165A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 9A below) connecting to a second end of the straight edge (B1), wherein both of the first curved edge and the second curved edge have convex shapes (curved shapes, as shown in fig. 9A, having convex shapes) in a top view of the structure.
With regard to claim 19, Tsai et al. disclose the first curved edge (165A1) and the second curved edge (165A2) fit a same circle (a circle including the first curved edge 165A1 and the third curved edge 165A2; wherein the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 - 62 or a circle including the curved edges 165A1, 165A2) in the top view of the structure.
With regard to claim 20, Tsai et al. disclose both of the first curved edge (165A1) and the second curved edge (165A2) extend to opposite ends of the metal line (140) in the top view of the structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (9496217) in view of Sato et al. (11638351).
With regard to claim 17, Tsai et al. disclose in a top view of the structure, the first curved edge (165A1) fits a circle (the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 - 62), and the second curved edge (155A1) fits a second circle (the lower level contact surfaces having circles in a vertical view, are denoted by the dashed circles as shown in fig. 9A; for example, see column 9, lines 59 - 62), and wherein the first and second circles of the vias (165, 155) are close to each other.
Tsai et al. do not clearly disclose the first via and the second via have an overlapped region.
However, Sato et al. disclose the first and second vias (4), inherently having a circle shape in a top view, have an overlapped region. (for example, see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Tsai et al.’s device to have the first via and the second via have an overlapped region as taught by Sato et al. in order to secure the electrical connection in the interlayer and minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812