Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18, 33-34, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burbach et al., US 2006/0046400.
Burbach et al. shows the invention as claimed including a method for forming a semiconductor package component, comprising:
Forming a conductive feature (12,13,22,23,25,26);
Forming a tensile stressed layer 301 over the conductive feature;
Forming a compressive stressed layer 302 over the tensile stressed layer, wherein the compressive stressed layer is interfaced with a top surface of the tensile stressed layer (see figs. 3a-3b);
Forming a dielectric layer 310 over the compressive-stressed layer;
Exposing a portion of a top surface of the conductive feature (see fig. 3B); and
Forming a conductor over the exposed portion of the conductive feature (see, for example, paragraph 0079).
With respect to dependent claim 18, note that Burbach et al. discloses that the tensile-stressed layer and the compressive-stressed layer can comprise a same silicon nitride material (see paragraphs 0036 and 0044).
With respect to independent claim 33, note that Burbach et al. shows the invention as claimed including a method of forming a component comprising:
Forming a conductive feature (12,13,22,23,25,26);
Forming a first tensile-stressed layer (lower half of layer 301) over the conductive feature;
Forming a second tensile-stressed layer (upper half of layer 301) over the first tensile-stressed layer;
Forming a compressive-stressed layer 302 over the second tensile-stressed layer;
Forming a dielectric layer 310 over the compressive-stressed layer; and
Forming a conductor over the dielectric layer and coupled to the conductive feature (see paragraph 0079).
Concerning dependent claim 34, note that Burbach et al. discloses wherein the first tensile-stressed layer and the second tensile-stressed layer comprise a same material.
As to dependent claim 36, note that when giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, the first tensile-stressed layer can be selected in such a way so that it is greater than a thickness of the second tensile-stressed layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbach et al., US 2006/0046400.
Burbach et al. is applied as above and additionally discloses forming the tensile and compressive layers using plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition but does not expressly disclose processing parameters such as the RF power used when making the layers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum RF energy during plasma deposition depending upon a variety of factors including the desired film density and adhesion and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
Concerning dependent claim 21, Burbach et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein a thickness of the tensile-stressed layer is equal to a thickness of the compressive-stressed layer. However, the thicknesses of the tensile-stressed layer 201 and compressive-stressed layer overlap (see paragraphs 0035 and 0046). Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because overlapping ranges establish a prima case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum thickness of the tensile and compressively strained layers depending upon a variety of factors including the overall desired stress levels and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant invention absent a showing of unexpected results.
Concerning dependent claim 22, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the claimed second conductive feature, for example, in order to have a multi-level metallization configuration that is well known in the art.
As to dependent claims 23-26 and 30, Burbach et al. does not expressly disclose the claimed thickness of the tensile-stressed layer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum thickness of the tensile-stressed layer depending upon a variety of factors in including the desired overall stress of the dielectric layers and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant invention absent a showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbach et al., US 2006/0046400 in view of Crook et al., U.S. Patent 9,472,610.
Burbach et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose where a tensile stress of the second tensile-stressed layer is less than a tensile stress of the first tensile-stressed layer. However, Crook et al. discloses changing the particular values of a stressed film by changing processing parameters during formation of the layer (see, for example, col. 7-line 6 to col. 8-line 34). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the second tensile-stressed layer less than a tensile stress of the first tensile-stressed layer in order to provide an effective transition to the overlying layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-32 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
October 9, 2026