DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1,
line 10, the letter “s” between “on” and “second” should be deleted;
line 17, the word “are” should be changed to --is--.
The other claims are objected as being dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,181,480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
claim 1 of the instant application recites: the first source region and the first drain region includes a first impurity ion, and each of the second source region and the second drain region includes a second impurity ion which are different from the first impurity;
claim 1 of the ‘480 patent recites: an impurity concentration at the second drain region and the second source region is lower than an impurity concentration at the first drain region and the first source region.
The terminology different means that the impurity is either lower or higher. Accordingly, these claims are substantially equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0115542 (Yang).
Yang discloses
1. A display device, comprising:
a substrate 110; and
a transistor 100, the transistor 100 including an oxide semiconductor layer 130 as an active layer and a gate electrode 140 disposed on the oxide semiconductor layer 130 to overlap the oxide semiconductor layer 130,
wherein the oxide semiconductor layer 130 includes:
a channel region 131, and
a source region 132a / 133a disposed on a first side of the channel region 131 and a drain region 132b / 133b disposed on [[s]] second side of the channel region 131,
wherein the source region 132a / 133a includes a first source region 132a disposed adjacent to the channel region 131 and a second source region 133a disposed adjacent to the first source region 132a, and the drain region 132b / 133b include a first drain region 132b disposed adjacent to the channel region 131 and a second drain region 133b disposed adjacent to the first drain region 132b, and
wherein each of the first source region 132a and the first drain region 132b includes a first impurity ion ([0204]), and each of the second source region 133a and the second drain region 133b includes a second impurity ion ([0213]) which [[are]] is different from the first impurity ([0213]).
Yang discloses (at least Fig. 5)
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein: the second source region 133a and the second drain region 133b further include the first impurity ion.
Yang discloses (H<B<F<P, [0204], [0213])
3. The display device of claim 1, wherein: atomic mass of the second impurity ion is greater than the atomic mass of the first impurity ion.
Yang discloses (B= p-type, P= n-type)
4. The display device of claim 3, wherein: the first impurity ion is a p-type impurity and the second impurity ion is an n-type impurity.
Yang discloses (at least Fig. 5, [0204], [0213])
9. The display device of claim 1, wherein: each of the first source region 132a and the second source region 133a includes B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1, 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0320008 (Kim).
Yang fails to disclose
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein: the first impurity ion includes B and the second impurity ion includes at least one of As, Sb, Si, Ge, and an In.
Yang fails to disclose
10. The display device of claim 1, wherein: each of the second source region and the second drain region includes B and at least one of As, Sb, Si, Ge, and In.
Kim teaches ([0035])
A device comprising:
the first impurity ion 107 includes B and the second impurity ion 108 includes at least one of As, Sb, Si, Ge, and an In; and
each of the second source region 22 and the second drain region 22 includes B (107) and at least one of As, Sb, Si, Ge, and In (108).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known impurity ion in Yang. The motivation would be a matter of routine engineering considerations based on their suitability as discussed in Kim. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. 4701487 (平林 幸哉).
Yang fails to disclose
6. The display device of claim 1, wherein: doping concentration of the first source region and the first drain region is lower than that of the second source region and the second drain region.
Yang fails to disclose
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein: a doping concentration of the first impurity ions is 1 x 1012 ions/cm2 to 1 x 1013 ions/cm2.
Yang fails to disclose
8. The display device of claim 6, wherein: a doping concentration of the second impurity ions is 1 x 1012 ions/cm2 to 1 x 1014 ions/cm2.
平林 幸哉 teaches ([0099]-[0109])
A display device comprising:
doping concentration of the first source region 1b and the first drain region 1c is lower than that of the second source region 1d and the second drain region 1e;
a doping concentration of the first impurity ions is 1 x 1012 ions/cm2 to 1 x 1013 ions/cm2; and
a doping concentration of the second impurity ions is 1 x 1012 ions/cm2 to 1 x 1014 ions/cm2.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a doping concentration in Yang. The motivation would be a matter of engineering considerations based on routine optimization as discussed in 平林 幸哉. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2017/0373094 (Park), 2008/0217693 (Wang), 2008/0182354 (Lee), U.S. Patent Nos. 7,572,690, 8,278,159 (Park) teach a display device having multiple source/drain regions and different impurity ions.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893