DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “attaching structure” in claims 8 through 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ku et al. (US 2019/0385929 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ku et al. discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising:
an interposer substrate (107) formed over a package substrate (103);
a die (115, 117 processor / memory dies) disposed over the interposer substrate;
a first heat spreader (127, thermal conductive ring) disposed over the package substrate (103); and
a second heat spreader (131, VC-Lid) disposed over the die and connected to the first heat spreader,
wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the first heat spreader and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the second heat spreader are different (Materials of the ring/frame can differ from the VC-Lid (¶ 33, 64) — e.g., copper ring vs. CuW lid — implying different CTEs).
Regarding claim 2, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: an adhesive layer (third thermal interface material (TIM) 129 (¶ 39–40)) formed between the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader.
Regarding claim 3, Ku et al. the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a bottom surface of the second heat spreader is higher than a top surface of the die (VC‑Lid 131 sits on top of TIM 113 over encapsulant/die stack (¶ 40–46); encapsulant and TIM create a vertical separation; the lid’s bottom surface is above the die’s top surface; see Figures (FIG. 1A, FIG. 5) clearly show the lid bottom surface higher than die top surface.
Regarding claim 4, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first heat spreader comprises an inner portion and an outer portion, wherein the second heat spreader covers the inner portion of the first heat spreader (Thermally conductive ring / VC‑Lid Frame has inner portion facing encapsulant/dies and outer portion facing outward (¶ 59–64); VC‑Lid covers inner portion when assembled (¶ 40–46, FIG. 5)).
Regarding claim 5, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 4, wherein a top surface of the outer portion of the first heat spreader is higher than a top surface of the inner portion of the first heat spreader (In FIG. 5 and related text (¶ 69–71), outer portion can have higher top surface than inner portion — differences in height are described in context of gaps/offsets and geometry).
Regarding claim 6, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 4, wherein a sidewall of the outer portion of the first heat spreader is separated from a sidewall of the second heat spreader (Separation/offset between sidewalls of lid and ring/frame explicitly described (¶ 69–71, distances D1 and D2 between inner/outer sidewalls); Figures show the separation).
Regarding claim 7, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 4, wherein a bottom surface of the outer portion of the first heat spreader is wider than a top surface of the outer portion of the first heat spreader (ring/frame has an L‑shaped cross‑section (¶ 59–64), which inherently means the base (bottom surface) is wider than the top surface).
Regarding claim 8, Ku et al. semiconductor package structure, comprising:
an interposer substrate (107) disposed over a package substrate (103);
a first heat spreader (127, thermally conductive ring) attached to the package substrate (103);
an attaching structure formed over the first heat spreader (the VC‑Lid connects via TIM 129 to the ring/frame — TIM functions as attaching structure. No mechanical protrusion/recess; attachment is thermal adhesive);
a die (115, 117; processor / memory dies) disposed over the interposer substrate; and
a second heat spreader (130) attached to the die and the attaching structure (VC-Lid 131 attached to die via TIM 113 and to ring/frame via TIM 129),
wherein the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader are made of different materials (materials can differ — ring/frame vs. lid (¶¶ 33, 64).
Regarding claim 9, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein the attaching structure is in direct contact with the first heat spreader and the second heat spreader (the “attaching structure” between the first heat spreader (thermally conductive ring 127 / VC‑Lid Frame 535) and the second heat spreader (VC‑Lid 131) is the third thermal interface material (TIM) 129 (¶ 39–40); TIM 129 is physically in contact with both the ring/frame and the lid — i.e., direct contact).
Regarding claim 11, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, further comprising:
an encapsulating layer surrounding the die (encapsulant 125 surrounds processor/memory dies (¶ 26–27);
a thermal interface material (TIM) covering the die and the encapsulating layer (TIM 113 covers the die and encapsulant (¶ 30, 40–46), wherein a top surface of the thermal interface material is substantially level with a top surface of the attaching structure (TIM 129 (attaching structure) sits on ring/frame; top surfaces of TIM 113 and TIM 129 are at similar heights so lid can seat evenly — this is visible in FIG. 1A and described in ¶ 40–46).
Regarding claim 12, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second heat spreader has an inner portion and an outer portion, and a bottom surface of the inner portion of the second heat spreader is lower than a bottom surface of the outer portion of the second heat spreader (VC‑Lid geometry: inner portion over encapsulant/die, outer portion over ring/frame; some embodiments, offsets/gaps show inner portion bottom surface lower than outer portion bottom surface (¶¶ 69–71, FIG. 5); this is part of the described height differences to accommodate TIM thickness).
Regarding claim 13, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein a sidewall of the second heat spreader is between opposite sidewalls of the first heat spreader (sidewall positioning: distances D1 and D2 between sidewalls of lid and ring/frame (¶¶ 69–71); figures show second heat spreader’s sidewalls located inward from first heat spreader’s outer sidewalls — i.e., between them).
Regarding claim 14, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein the first heat spreader comprises an inner portion and an outer portion, and the inner portion of the first heat spreader is thicker than the outer portion of the first heat spreader (Ring/frame geometry: inner portion near cavity can be thicker than outer portion — implied by L‑shaped cross‑section (¶ 59–64); outer portion is narrower at top; inner portion has more vertical material thickness).
Regarding claim 15, Ku et al. discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising:
a first die (115) and a second die (117) disposed over a package substrate (103);
an encapsulating layer (125) surrounding the first die (115) and the second die (117) (Encapsulant 125 surrounding processor and memory dies (¶ 26–27, FIG. 1A);
a first heat spreader (127) surrounding the encapsulating layer (125) (thermally conductive ring 127 or VC-Lid Frame 535 surrounds encapsulant and dies (¶¶ 31–33, 59–64)); and
a second heat spreader (131) partially overlapping a first top surface of the first heat spreader and exposing a second top surface of the first heat spreader (VC-Lid 131 overlaps ring/frame; gaps/offsets (D1, D2) leave parts of ring/frame exposed (¶¶ 69–71).
Regarding 19, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first top surface of the first heat spreader is coplanar with the second top surface of the first heat spreader (ring/frame top is presented as a single top plane receiving TIM 129 (FIG. 1A; ¶¶ 39–41); “first” vs “second” top surfaces as different regions of the same ring/frame, they are coplanar in the reference).
Regarding claim 20, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 15, further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) structure connecting the second heat spreader and the first die and the second die (TIM 113 is formed over and in contact with multiple dies and the encapsulant, and the VC-Lid 131 is placed to thermally couple to TIM 113 (FIG. 1A; ¶¶ 30, 40–46); TIM 113 covers multiple dies and couples them to the integrated VC-Lid (FIGS. 7–13; ¶¶ 80–82, 95).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku et al.
Regarding claim 10, Ku et al. discloses the semiconductor package structure as claimed in claim 8, but does not specifically disclose that the attaching structure comprises first pad structures formed over the first heat spreader; second pad structures formed under the second heat spreader,
wherein the first pad structures and the second pad structures are bonded to each other.
Ku et al. discloses the connection is via TIM or adhesive, not via bonding pads.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the filing date of the invention that a well-known alternative to TIM-based bonding or adhesive bonding would be pad to pad bonding as described in claim 10, using this alternative is within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art and is often chosen when maximum conductivity and mechanical strength are of concern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 to 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The cited prior art, including US 2019/0385929 A1, discloses a package in which a second heat spreader (e.g., a lid) is mounted over a first heat spreader (e.g., a ring/frame) using an intervening interface layer (e.g., TIM/adhesive), with the bottom surface of the second heat spreader at or above the elevation of the top surface of the first heat spreader to receive the TIM. None of the references of record teach or suggest the specific vertical relationships now recited in claims 16–18.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on January 9, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893 1-2