DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0212267) (“Kwak”) in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0403026) (“Li”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kwak teaches a display device comprising: pixel electrodes (Figure 2a, items 144) on a substrate (Figure 2A, item 110); light-emitting elements (Figure 2A, items 140+150) on the pixel electrodes; a planarization layer (Figure 2A, item 115) on the pixel electrodes to fill a space between the light-emitting elements; and a common electrode (Figure 2A, item CE) on the planarization layer and the light-emitting elements. Kwak does not specifically teach each of the light-emitting elements comprises a first light-emitting element stack and a second light-emitting element stack on the first light-emitting element stack. However, Li teaches individual light emitting elements where multiple colors of emission are stacked together – see Figure 1, note first light emitting stack 108 and second light emitting stack 112. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use the stacked structure of Li in the device of Kwak, as Li teaches stacking the LED structures on a single axis allows for enhancement of light illumination efficiency within a single pixel area and improve resolution of the entire panel (¶0011).
Regarding Claim 2, Li further teaches a bonding layer (Figure 1, item 110) between the first light-emitting element stack (Figure 1, item 108) and the second light-emitting element stack (Figure 1, item 112).
Regarding Claim 3, Li further teaches the bonding layer comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO) (see inclusion of ITO with the bonding layer described in ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 6, Kwak further teaches the light-emitting elements are randomly arranged on the pixel electrodes (see Figure 2A).
Claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Li as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lutgen et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0357952) (“Lutgen”) and Chae et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0164945) (“Chae”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kwak in view of Li teaches Claim 1 as indicated above. Li further teaches the first light-emitting element stack comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer, and a second semiconductor layer (¶0081), and wherein the second light-emitting element stack comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer, a second semiconductor layer and a third semiconductor layer (¶0088). Li does not specifically teach the LED stacks include an EBL, or superlattice, however, the specific layers required are well known layers that have specifically known functions when included in LED structures. Lutgen teaches using EBLs in LED stacked structures (see Figure 7A) in order to control electron leakage current across the device (¶0113) and superlattices are taught to be included in stacked LED structures by Chae (see ¶0434) in order to help control crystal quality of the emitting layers. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use the teachings of Lutgen and Chae in the device of Kwak as modified, as the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods yielding predictable results is an exemplary rationale supporting a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP ¶2143 - KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding Claim 5, Li further teaches the second semiconductor layer of the first light-emitting element stack is in contact with the first semiconductor layer of the second light-emitting element stack (see Figure 1, not all layers are in electrical contact with each other).
Regarding Claim 7, Kwak further teaches a wavelength-converting portion (Figure 2, item 160) on the common electrode, wherein the wavelength-converting portion comprises: partition walls partitioning emission areas and a non-emission area (Figure 2, item PT divides the surface area of each emission and non-emission are); a wavelength conversion layer (Figure 2, item 160) between the partition walls and overlapping with the emission areas; a light-blocking member (Figure 2, item 172, ¶0095) on the partition walls; and color filters (Figure 2, ¶0171) on the wavelength conversion layer.
Regarding Claim 8, Kwak further teaches a reflective metal layer (Figure 2, item 173, ¶0098) between the common electrode and the partition walls, wherein the reflective metal layer overlaps with the non-emission area (see Figure 2).
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Li, Lutgen, and Chae.
Regarding Claim 9, Kwak teaches a display device comprising: pixel electrodes (Figure 2a, items 144) on a substrate (Figure 2A, item 110); light-emitting elements (Figure 2A, items 140+150) on the pixel electrodes; a planarization layer (Figure 2A, item 115) on the pixel electrodes to fill between the light-emitting elements; and a common electrode (Figure 2A, item CE) on the planarization layer and the light-emitting elements. Kwak does not specifically teach the light-emitting elements have a tandem structure in which a plurality of light-emitting element stacks is stacked. However, Li teaches individual light emitting elements where multiple colors of emission are stacked together – see Figure 1, note first light emitting stack 108 and second light emitting stack 112. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use the stacked structure of Li in the device of Kwak, as Li teaches stacking the LED structures on a single axis allows for enhancement of light illumination efficiency within a single pixel area and improve resolution of the entire panel (¶0011). Li further teaches the first light-emitting element stack comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer, and a second semiconductor layer (¶0081), and wherein the second light-emitting element stack comprises a first semiconductor layer, an active layer, a second semiconductor layer and a third semiconductor layer (¶0088). Li does not specifically teach the LED stacks include an EBL, or superlattice, however, the specific layers required are well known layers that have specifically known functions when included in LED structures. Lutgen teaches using EBLs in LED stacked structures (see Figure 7A) in order to control electron leakage current across the device (¶0113) and superlattices are taught to be included in stacked LED structures by Chae (see ¶0434) in order to help control crystal quality of the emitting layers. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use the teachings of Lutgen and Chae in the device of Kwak as modified, as the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods yielding predictable results is an exemplary rationale supporting a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP ¶2143 - KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding Claim 10, Li further teaches a bonding layer (Figure 1, item 110) between the first light-emitting element stack (Figure 1, item 108) and the second light-emitting element stack (Figure 1, item 112).
Regarding Claim 11, Li further teaches the bonding layer comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO) (see inclusion of ITO with the bonding layer described in ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 12, Li further teaches the second semiconductor layer of the first light-emitting element stack is in contact with the first semiconductor layer of the second light-emitting element stack (see Figure 1, not all layers are in electrical contact with each other).
Regarding Claim 13, Li further teaches a top light-emitting element stack from among the plurality of light-emitting element stacks further comprises a third semiconductor layer (¶0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeya et al. (US Patent No. 10,606,121)
Jang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0206849)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891