DETAILED ACTION
Attorney Docket Number: 243724/306474-00646
Filling Date: 1/17/24
Priority Date: 4/27/2023
Inventor: Cho et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2005/0134804 A1) in view of Hong et al (US 2016/0128194 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto discloses a display device (Figures 1-5) comprising: a first display panel for emitting first light 21 (Para. 39); a second display panel for emitting second light 23 (Para. 40); a third display panel for emitting third light 25 (Para. 41); and a light coupler 37 (Para. 37) for combining the first light 21, the second light 23, and the third light 25, and for outputting combined light (Para. 42); a circuit board 62 (Para. 49) on a first surface of the light coupler 37 (Fig. 2), and electrically connected to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25, wherein the first display panel 21, the second display panel 23, and the third display panel 25 are respectively on a second surface, a third surface, and a fourth surface of the light coupler 37 (Figs. 2, 3).
Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose a bent first flexible circuit board between the first display panel and the circuit board, and wherein the first flexible circuit board electrically connects a first circuit pad unit of the circuit board and the first display panel.
However, Hong discloses a bent first flexible circuit board 300 (Figs. 1, 7, Paras. 34, 39) between the first display panel DA (Para. 35) and the circuit board 500 (Para. 34), and wherein the first flexible circuit board 300 electrically connects a first circuit pad 710, 800 (Paras. 52, 54) unit of the circuit board 500 and the first display panel DA. Hong teaches the above modification is used to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hashimoto structure with Hong pad as suggested above to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit board 62 comprises a connector 31, 33, 35 or a connector connection unit connected to an external device 21f (Para. 45), wherein the connector 31, 33, 35 or the connector connection unit is electrically connected to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25.
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the circuit board 62, 21g, 23g, 25g comprises: the first circuit pad unit (portion between 21g and 21f) electrically connected to the first display panel 21; a second circuit pad (portion between 23g and 23f) unit electrically connected to the second display panel 23; a third circuit pad unit (portion between 25g and 25a) electrically connected to the third display panel 25; a first conductive line 21c connected from the connector 21 or the connector connection unit to the first circuit pad unit; a second conductive line 23c connected from the connector 33 or the connector connection unit to the second circuit pad unit; and a third conductive line 25c connected from the connector 35 or the connector connection unit to the third circuit pad unit (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first surface is perpendicular to the second surface, to the third surface, and to the fourth surface, and wherein the second surface and the third surface face each other 37 (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the light coupler 37 reflects the first light 21, and comprises a first reflective transmissive film 37 (side of 21) that transmits the second light 23 and the third light 25, and a second reflective transmissive film that reflects the third light and transmits the first light and the second light 37 (obvious for prism).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain a second reflective transmissive film that reflects the third light and transmits the first light and the second light for intended purposes.
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising one or more lenses 40 in an output direction of the combined light from the light coupler 37 to converge or focus the combined light in one direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit board 21g, 23g, 25g 62 further comprises passive elements 27 (Para. 38) for applying separate signals to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25.
Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display panel 21, the second display panel 23, the third display panel 25, and the light coupler are fixed by an adhesive (Para. 44).
Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto further discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a housing 63 (Para. 38) surrounding the first to third display panels 21, 23, 25, and coupling the first to third display panels 21, 23, 25 and the light coupler 37 (Figs. 3, 1).
Regarding claim 14, Hashimoto discloses a display device (Figs. 1-5) comprising: a first display panel for emitting first light 21 (Para. 39); a second display panel for emitting second light 23 (Para. 40); a third display panel 25 (Para. 41) for emitting third light; a circuit board 62 (Para. 42)comprising first conductive lines 21c (Para. 39) connected to the first display panel 21, second conductive lines 23c (Para. 40) connected to the second display panel 23, third conductive lines 25c Para. 41) connected to the third display panel 25, and a connector 31, 33, 35 (Para. 42) connected to an external device 21a, 23a, 25a (Paras. 39-41) and connected to the first conductive lines 21c, the second conductive lines 23c, and the third conductive lines 25c.
Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose a bent first flexible circuit board between the first display panel and the circuit board, and wherein the first flexible circuit board electrically connects a first circuit pad unit of the circuit board and the first display panel.
However, Hong discloses a bent first flexible circuit board 300 (Figs. 1, 7, Paras. 34, 39) between the first display panel DA (Para. 35) and the circuit board 500 (Para. 34), and wherein the first flexible circuit board 300 electrically connects a first circuit pad 710, 800 (Paras. 52, 54) unit of the circuit board 500 and the first display panel DA. Hong teaches the above modification is used to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hashimoto structure with Hong pad as suggested above to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Hashimoto discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the circuit board 62 further comprises passive elements 27 (Para. 38) for applying separate signals to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25.
Regarding claim 16, Hashimoto discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the circuit board 62 comprises: the first circuit pad unit (portion between 21f and 21g) electrically connected to the first display panel 21; a second circuit pad unit (portion between 23f and 23g) electrically connected to the second display panel 23; a third circuit pad (portion between 25a and 25g) unit electrically connected to the third display panel 25, one of the first conductive lines 21c connected from the connector 31or a connector connection unit to the first circuit pad unit; one of the a second conductive lines 23c connected from the connector 33 or the connector connection unit to the second circuit pad unit; and one of the a third conductive lines 25c connected from the connector 25c or the connector connection unit to the third circuit pad unit (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2005/0134804 A1) in view of Hong et al (US 2016/0128194 A1) and further in view of Glezer et al (US 2005/0142033 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive is one of cement or optical adhesive, the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive comprises at least one of a black-based dye or a metal.
However, Glezer discloses the adhesive is one of cement or optical adhesive (Para. 522), the display device of claim 10, wherein the adhesive comprises at least one of a black-based dye or a metal (Para. 366).
Glezer teaches the above modification is used to make laminated structure of the device (Para. 366). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Hashimoto adhesive structure with Glezer adhesive structure as suggested above to make laminated structure of the device (Para. 366).
Claim(s) 18-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 2005/0134804 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2015/0219311 A1) and further in view of Hong et al (US 2016/0128194 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Hashimoto discloses a display device (Figures 1-5) comprising: a first display panel for emitting first light 21 (Para. 39); a second display panel for emitting second light 23 (Para. 40); a third display panel for emitting third light 25 (Para. 41); a circuit board 62 (Para. 42) comprising a connector 31, 33, 35 (Para. 42) connected to an external device 21f (Para. 39), and a passive element 27 (Para. 38) for applying separate signals to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25; circuit boards 21g, 23g, 25g connecting each of the first display panel 21, the second display panel 23, and the third display panel 25 to the circuit board 21g, 23g, 25g, wherein the connector 31, 33, 35 is electrically connected to the first display panel 21, to the second display panel 23, and to the third display panel 25.
Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose flexible circuit boards.
However, Cho discloses flexible circuit boards (Para. 61). Cho teaches the above modification is used to transmit various signals of the device (Para. 61). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Hashimoto circuit boards with Cho flexible circuit boards as suggested above to transmit various signals of the device (Para. 61).
Hashimoto does not explicitly disclose a bent first flexible circuit board between the first display panel and the circuit board, and wherein the first flexible circuit board electrically connects a first circuit pad unit of the circuit board and the first display panel.
However, Hong discloses a bent first flexible circuit board 300 (Figs. 1, 7, Paras. 34, 39) between the first display panel DA (Para. 35) and the circuit board 500 (Para. 34), and wherein the first flexible circuit board 300 electrically connects a first circuit pad 710, 800 (Paras. 52, 54) unit of the circuit board 500 and the first display panel DA. Hong teaches the above modification is used to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hashimoto structure with Hong pad as suggested above to transmit the signals of the device (Para. 11).
Regarding claim 19, Hashimoto discloses the display device of claim 18, further comprising: a light coupler 37 for combining the first light 21, the second light 23, and the third light 35, and for outputting combined light; and one or more lenses 40 (Para. 42) in an output direction of the combined light from the light coupler 37 to converge or focus the combined light in one direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Hashimoto discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein the light coupler 37 (side of 21) is configured to reflect the first light 21, and comprises a first reflective transmissive film 37 (sides of 23 and 25) for transmitting the second light 23 and the third light 25, and a second reflective transmissive film 37 (sides of 21, 23) for reflecting the third light and for transmitting the first light and the second light (obvious for the prism).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817