DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner notes the response to the election filed 07 JUL 2026. Examiner withdraws the requirement for the election of species as previously presented as said species appear to be allowable subject matter in the context of the claims as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung ‘570 (US PGPub 2020/0020570) in view of McSwiney ‘885 (US PGPub 2005/0025885).
Claim 1 – Sung ‘570 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming a semiconductor device over a substrate (PG 0039);
forming a trench in the semiconductor device (PG 0043); and
filling the trench with a gap-fill material using a deposition process (PG 0045, silicon nitride “conformally deposited”).
Sung ‘570 does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a precursor used in the deposition process comprises azidosilane, di-azidosilane or halide azidosilane.
McSwiney ‘885 discloses a method for low-temperature silicon nitride deposition (Title, Abstract, PG 0016) and discloses that azidosilanes are known to be suitable precursors for said deposition (PG 0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Sung ‘570 to use deposition precursors comprising azidosilanes to deposit silicon nitride as suggested by McSwiney ‘885, as Sung ‘570 wants to deposit silicon nitride and McSwiney ‘885 teaches that azidosilanes are known to be suitable precursors for silicon nitride deposition.
Claim 7 – Sung ‘570 / McSwiney ‘885 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein a width of the trench is in a range of 3nm to 150nm, and a depth of the trench is in a range of 15nm to 300nm. Selection of suitable dimensions for semiconductor features is held as a prima facie obvious design choice absent critical or unexpected results derived from the selection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As regards Claim 2, the cited azidosilanes are not found for use in the context of the present invention.
As regards Claim 3, azidosilanes are not found for use in the context of flowable CVD as required by the claim.
As regards Claim 4, there is no evidence that the cited azidosilane precursor undergoes the Curtius rearrangement as required.
As regards Claims 5 and 6, curing processes on silicon nitride depositions commensurate with Claim 1 are not found for use in the context of the present invention.
As regards Claim 8, Sung ‘580 discloses secondary trench formations at PG 0047 with deposition of a gate dielectric (silicon nitride is a known gate dielectric), and McSwiney ‘885 discloses ALD deposition of silicon nitride at PG 0016; however, halide azidosilane is not contemplated for this purpose in the prior art.
Claims 9-17 and 21-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Sung ‘570 / McSwiney ‘885 is held to be the closest prior art to Claim 9. The broad steps of the method of Claim 9 are disclosed in Sung ‘580: forming a semiconductor device over a substrate (PG 0036-0048), the semiconductor device comprising a plurality of nanostructures (PG 0039, dummy gates 116), source/drain structures aside the plurality of nanostructures (PG 0048, S/D contacts on adjacent active gates), gate structures around the plurality of nanostructures (PG 0039, active gates 114 interspersed between dummy gates 116), and contact structures above the source/drain structures (PG 0048, capping layer 152); patterning the semiconductor device to form a trench (PG 0043), and filling the trench with a gap-fill material (PG 0045); and patterning the semiconductor device to form a second trench (PG 0046, part of barrier layer 144 must be removed before second ILD layer 146 can be placed), and forming liner structures on sidewalls of the second trench (PG 0046). McSwiney ‘885 discloses the silicon nitride deposition process using e.g. azidosilanes at PG 0016 and 0051 and renders ALD obvious for the second deposition process. However, the required timing of steps in Sung ‘580 does not directly line up with the claim, flowable CVD is not disclosed for the first deposition, and the azidosilane precursor disclosed by McSwiney ‘885 is not disclosed as undergoing the Curtius rearrangement in either deposition process. This combination of discrepancies, coupled with the other limitations of Claim 9, set Claim 9 and dependents clear of the prior art.
Sung ‘570 / McSwiney ‘885 is held to be the closest prior art to Claim 21. The broad steps of the method of Claim 9 are disclosed in Sung ‘580: forming a plurality of transistors (PG 0036, FinFET), comprising: forming a plurality of nanostructures (PG 0039, dummy gates 116), forming source/drain structures aside the plurality of nanostructures (PG 0048, S/D contacts on adjacent active gates), forming gate structures around the plurality of nanostructures (PG 0039, active gates 114 interspersed between dummy gates 116), forming contact structures above the source/drain structures (PG 0048, capping layer 152); and forming a gap-fill material located aside the gate structure above the source/drain structures (PG 0048 in combination with McSwiney ‘885 PG 0016, ALD deposition of the capping layer allows the upper layers of this deposition to read on that structure). McSwiney ‘885 discloses the silicon nitride deposition process using e.g. azidosilanes at PG 0016 and 0051 and renders ALD obvious for the deposition process. However, none of the cited gap-fill materials are disclosed in the cited references or in other related references known to the Examiner. The specific gap-fill material limitation, coupled with the other limitations of Claim 21, set Claim 21 and dependents clear of the prior art.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712