DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 22, 26, and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 16, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen US-20090259358-A1, Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, and Yakes US-20030158638-A1 in view of Chen US-20080177438-A1.
1. (Currently Amended) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
A diagnostic method for enhancing effectiveness [0008] of diagnostic testing on a vehicle [0001], the method comprising the steps of:
(Andreasen [0001] … method for monitoring certain automobile operating parameters for diagnosing operational errors … selects, orders and loads specific live data, in real time, parameters (PIDs), … received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) …, selects only the live data related to the tests used to determine the DTCs, orders the selected live data tests, loads all the PIDs, flags the abnormal PIDs and displays the results)
(Andreasen [0008] The invention eliminates the necessity of manually scanning through possibly several hundred PIDs in order to determine the abnormal PIDS.)
receiving ***test data*** identifying a selected test from a plurality of available tests (e.g. retrieving only tests associated with flags/deviations);
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
identifying multiple operating parameters associated with the selected test;
(Andreasen [0008] selecting only the live data related to the tests used to determine the DTCs and loads and displays all the PIDs)
identifying ***parameters*** associated with the selected test [0008],
Yakes US-20030158638-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for control systems and methods for electric vehicles wherein real-time assessments of each vehicle in a platoon include “…prescribed operational conditions”;
(Yakes [0404] Thus, at step 486, the test control module confirms that the transmission is in neutral and the brakes are locked. Step 486 is performed so that when the ignition is engaged at step 487, it is known that the vehicle will remain stationary. More complete health and operational testing may be performed when the engine is turned on, however, the vehicle may be completely unattended and therefore vehicle movement should be avoided for safety reasons...)
(Yakes [0403] Referring now also to FIG. 55, the operation of the on-board computer system 422 of the vehicle 411 to generate such a status report is shown. … performs a series of tests that assess the operability of various vehicle subsystems. By testing each of the individual subsystems, an overall assessment of the mission readiness of the vehicle 411-414 is obtained.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include prescribed conditions (e.g. neutral, parking brake on, etc.) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yakes, for the benefit of providing safety considerations in vehicle testing [0404].
the ***parameters*** associated with the selected test [claim.8] comprise *** data*** and real-time operational conditions [0008];
(Andreasen [0008; FIG.2] a system and method in the form of a program called automotive DTC live data diagnostics for analyzing live (in real-time) data wherein received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) are programmed to open the live data mode)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
(Andreasen [0012] The portable code reader/scanner 1 is placed in the request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44.)
Yakes US-20030158638-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for control systems and methods for electric vehicles wherein real-time assessments of each vehicle in a platoon include “…prescribed operational conditions… pre-testing conditions”;
(Yakes [0404] Thus, at step 486, the test control module confirms that the transmission is in neutral and the brakes are locked. Step 486 is performed so that when the ignition is engaged at step 487, it is known that the vehicle will remain stationary. More complete health and operational testing may be performed when the engine is turned on, however, the vehicle may be completely unattended and therefore vehicle movement should be avoided for safety reasons...)
(Yakes [0403] Referring now also to FIG. 55, the operation of the on-board computer system 422 of the vehicle 411 to generate such a status report is shown. … performs a series of tests that assess the operability of various vehicle subsystems. By testing each of the individual subsystems, an overall assessment of the mission readiness of the vehicle 411-414 is obtained.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include prescribed conditions (e.g. neutral, parking brake on, etc.) as pre -testing conditions with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yakes, for the benefit of providing safety considerations in vehicle testing [0404].
receiving a first data set from the vehicle indicative of vehicle operating conditions;
(Andreasen [0008; FIG.2] a system and method in the form of a program called automotive DTC live data diagnostics for analyzing live (in real-time) data wherein received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) are programmed to open the live data mode)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
comparing the vehicle operating conditions with the ***diagnostic data*** conditions to determine if the vehicle operating conditions comply with the ***tests associated with*** the selected test are satisfied;
(Andreasen [0018] The invention is described with specific embodiments. However, the intent of the invention is to provide a program that will analyze live data obtained from an on-board computer by comparing the retrieved data with the respective known ranges of normalcy (norms) and selecting only those retrieved values that deviate from the known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
when the vehicle ***is under test***,
receiving a second data set from the vehicle during ***diagnostic test scenarios***,
(Andreasen [claim.1] live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs.)
(Andreasen [0008; FIG.2] a system and method in the form of a program called automotive DTC live data diagnostics for analyzing live (in real-time) data wherein received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) are programmed to open the live data mode)
the second data set including data associated with the multiple operating parameters associated with the selected test, the second data set being received only ***during diagnostics*** for the selected test;
(Andreasen [claim.1] live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs.)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Yakes US-20030158638-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for control systems and methods for electric vehicles wherein real-time assessments of each vehicle in a platoon wherein pre-test control modules confirm operational conditions are satisfied before/while conducting diagnostic testing relating to system parameters to include wherein “…the prescribed operational conditions to determine if the vehicle operating conditions comply with the prescribed operational conditions to ensure prescribed operational conditions ….are satisfied; …when the vehicle operating conditions comply with the prescribed operational conditions; …during a time period in which the prescribed operational conditions are satisfied; …only while the prescribed operational conditions are satisfied…”;
(Yakes [0404] Thus, at step 486, the test control module confirms that the transmission is in neutral and the brakes are locked. Step 486 is performed so that when the ignition is engaged at step 487, it is known that the vehicle will remain stationary. More complete health and operational testing may be performed when the engine is turned on, however, the vehicle may be completely unattended and therefore vehicle movement should be avoided for safety reasons...)
(Yakes [0403] Referring now also to FIG. 55, the operation of the on-board computer system 422 of the vehicle 411 to generate such a status report is shown. … performs a series of tests that assess the operability of various vehicle subsystems. By testing each of the individual subsystems, an overall assessment of the mission readiness of the vehicle 411-414 is obtained.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include prescribed conditions (e.g. neutral, parking brake on, etc.) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yakes, for the benefit of providing safety considerations in vehicle testing [0404].
comparing, over the range of operational conditions, the received second data set with an optimal data set defined over the range to identify a portion of the received second data set that does not comply with the optimal data set; and
(Andreasen [0018] The invention is described with specific embodiments. However, the intent of the invention is to provide a program that will analyze live data obtained from an on-board computer by comparing the retrieved data with the respective known ranges of normalcy (norms) and selecting only those retrieved values that deviate from the known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
identifying ***deviations*** based on the portion of the received second data set that does not comply with the optimal data set, and based at least in part on an operating point within the range of operation conditions at which the portion occurs.
(Andreasen [0018] The invention is described with specific embodiments. However, the intent of the invention is to provide a program that will analyze live data obtained from an on-board computer by comparing the retrieved data with the respective known ranges of normalcy (norms) and selecting only those retrieved values that deviate from the known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Chen US-20080177438-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a most likely solution”;
(Chen [0013] The logged diagnostic data related to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution may be compared with the prioritized result obtained from the prior experience database to confirm that the most likely failure source is the actual failure source.)
(Chen [0037] In this manner, the data logging capability of the automotive diagnostic tool 12 is focused on the systems or components that are associated with the most likely solution in order to verify the source of the problem. The tool 12 may include a data logger 50 for logging data from the onboard diagnostic computer 30. As such, the onboard diagnostic computer 30 may be capable of obtaining operational data associated with each component or system connected thereto. The automotive diagnostic tool 12 may be configured to log such data in response to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution being identified. As such, the automotive diagnostic tool 12 may send a signal to the onboard diagnostic computer 30 requesting such data. A user may be able to program the tool 12 to log data for a selectable period of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a most likely solution with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of correlating diagnostic data/faults with solutions which are most closely associated with rectifying the undesirable conditions identified during diagnostic operations.
6. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the identifying a most likely solution step includes identifying:
a ***calculated*** solution when the portion of the received second data set that does not comply with the optimal data set is a first portion of the received data set, and
a ***calculated*** solution when the portion of the received second data set that does not comply with the optimal data set is a second portion of the received data set.
(Andreasen [claim.1] …automotive DTC live data diagnostics program which determines the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTC.)
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that under a broad reasonable interpretation of the features presented above, DTC’s (as discussed above) pertain to portions of data sets being compared to and against positions of historical/optimum data sets. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the database and DTC’s disclosure of Andreasen teaches a consideration for comparative operations regarding portions/sets of compiled data.
Chen US-20080177438-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a most likely solution”;
(Chen [0013] The logged diagnostic data related to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution may be compared with the prioritized result obtained from the prior experience database to confirm that the most likely failure source is the actual failure source.)
(Chen [0037] In this manner, the data logging capability of the automotive diagnostic tool 12 is focused on the systems or components that are associated with the most likely solution in order to verify the source of the problem. The tool 12 may include a data logger 50 for logging data from the onboard diagnostic computer 30. As such, the onboard diagnostic computer 30 may be capable of obtaining operational data associated with each component or system connected thereto. The automotive diagnostic tool 12 may be configured to log such data in response to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution being identified. As such, the automotive diagnostic tool 12 may send a signal to the onboard diagnostic computer 30 requesting such data. A user may be able to program the tool 12 to log data for a selectable period of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a most likely solution with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of correlating diagnostic data/faults with solutions which are most closely associated with rectifying the undesirable conditions identified during diagnostic operations.
8. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of deriving the test selection signal based on a ***selected test*** of vehicle data.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Yakes US-20030158638-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for control systems and methods for electric vehicles wherein real-time assessments of each vehicle in a platoon include “…preliminary assessment”;
(Yakes [0404] Thus, at step 486, the test control module confirms that the transmission is in neutral and the brakes are locked. Step 486 is performed so that when the ignition is engaged at step 487, it is known that the vehicle will remain stationary. More complete health and operational testing may be performed when the engine is turned on, however, the vehicle may be completely unattended and therefore vehicle movement should be avoided for safety reasons...)
(Yakes [0403] Referring now also to FIG. 55, the operation of the on-board computer system 422 of the vehicle 411 to generate such a status report is shown. … performs a series of tests that assess the operability of various vehicle subsystems. By testing each of the individual subsystems, an overall assessment of the mission readiness of the vehicle 411-414 is obtained.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a preliminary assessment of prescribed conditions (e.g. neutral, parking brake on, etc.) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yakes, for the benefit of providing safety considerations in vehicle testing [0404].
10. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of deriving the test selection signal based on an algorithmic assessment of at least one of the following factors: vehicle data, a vehicle diagnostic condition, user input, PID data, at least one DTC, live data, and freeze frame data.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
16. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of sending a ***command*** to vehicle to cause a vehicle component to facilitate a desired action, the desired action being associated with an expected vehicle data output.
(Andreasen [0012] …the portable code reader/scanner 1 is connected to 40 the automobile 20 on-board computer 21. At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. … request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44. The live data is in the form of PIDs and related tests.)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
20. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving the ***diagnostic operation*** is implemented on a data acquisition and transfer device.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
21. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving the test ***command*** is implemented on a diagnostic server.
([0015] The results are sent to a remote server 56 which contains the same database information concerning the vehicle selective live data retrieval program as the portable code reader/scanner. The remote server 56 uses the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program and compares 57 the retrieved PIDs within ranges of normalcy (norms) 37 and flags 38 the problem PIDs 51. The PDA may display the PIDs 58 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Liebl US-6640166-B2.
2. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of displaying a ***information about*** a relationship between the multiple operating parameters associated with the received second data set.
(Andreasen [0015] The PDA may display the PIDs 58 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a display comprising “…graphic depicting” information”;
(Liebl [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
3. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 2, wherein the graphic is displayed on a data acquisition and transfer device.
(Andreasen [0015] The PDA may display the PIDs 58 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
4. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 2, wherein the ***information*** is displayed on a tablet computer.
(Andreasen [0015] The PDA may display the PIDs 58 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a display comprising “…graphic information”;
(Liebl [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
5. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 2, further comprising the step of incorporating ***information*** of the optimal data set (e.g. known ranges of normalcy (norms)) on the ***display***.
(Andreasen [0008; FIG.2] a system and method in the form of a program called automotive DTC live data diagnostics for analyzing live (in real-time) data wherein received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) are programmed to open the live data mode)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a display comprising “…graphical depiction” information;
(Liebl [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Andreasen US-20060027650-A1.
7. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the test selection signal is received ***from the system*** from a user.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Andreasen US-20060027650-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a test selection from a user”;
(Andreasen [0031] The activate system tests button 18 functions to allow the user to select from various tests capable of being performed by the OBD.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a test selection from a user with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Andreasen, for the benefit of providing the ability for a user to interface with a system request.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Madison US-20160027223-A1.
9. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 8, wherein the step of deriving the test ***operation*** is based on a comparison of the vehicle data to ***vehicle*** data.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Madison US-20160027223-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle diagnostics comprising “…a comparison of the vehicle data to historical vehicle data”;
(Madison [0032] ….compares vehicle characteristic data associated with a vehicle under consideration with information in a historical defect database to identify defects that have occurred in the same or substantially similar vehicles, and the mileage at which those defects occurred… the owner will have a good idea of what component may need replacing. Therefore, the owner may be able to resolve the problem on his own, or if the owner takes the vehicle to an automotive professional, the owner will have a good idea of what is needed to fix the problem, rather than relying solely on the recommendation of the automotive professional.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a comparison of the vehicle data to historical vehicle data with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Madison, for the benefit of providing [0034] the owner will have a good idea of what component may need replacing.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Klausner US-6766232-B1.
11. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 10, wherein the step of identifying the ***test*** includes utilizing ***computations*** that considers one or more of the factors over a range of operational conditions.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Klausner US-6766232-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for identifying faults in a motor vehicle to include “…utilizing a mathematical model that considers one or more of the factors over a range of operational conditions”;
(Klausner [col.5 ln.10] the performance characteristics model is then described using appropriate rules and/or mathematical functions (e.g, convolution). The description of the performance characteristics model aids in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include utilizing a mathematical model with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Klausner, for the benefit of [col.5 ln.10] aiding in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.
12. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 10, wherein the step of identifying ***abnormalities*** is implemented through use of ***computations***.
(Andreasen [0001] … method for monitoring certain automobile operating parameters for diagnosing operational errors … selects, orders and loads specific live data, in real time, parameters (PIDs), … received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) …, selects only the live data related to the tests used to determine the DTCs, orders the selected live data tests, loads all the PIDs, flags the abnormal PIDs and displays the results)
(Andreasen [0008] The invention eliminates the necessity of manually scanning through possibly several hundred PIDs in order to determine the abnormal PIDS.)
Chen US-20080177438-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a most likely solution”;
(Chen [0013] The logged diagnostic data related to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution may be compared with the prioritized result obtained from the prior experience database to confirm that the most likely failure source is the actual failure source.)
(Chen [0037] In this manner, the data logging capability of the automotive diagnostic tool 12 is focused on the systems or components that are associated with the most likely solution in order to verify the source of the problem. The tool 12 may include a data logger 50 for logging data from the onboard diagnostic computer 30. As such, the onboard diagnostic computer 30 may be capable of obtaining operational data associated with each component or system connected thereto. The automotive diagnostic tool 12 may be configured to log such data in response to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution being identified. As such, the automotive diagnostic tool 12 may send a signal to the onboard diagnostic computer 30 requesting such data. A user may be able to program the tool 12 to log data for a selectable period of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a most likely solution with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of correlating diagnostic data/faults with solutions which are most closely associated with rectifying the undesirable conditions identified during diagnostic operations.
Klausner US-6766232-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for identifying faults in a motor vehicle to include “…utilizing a mathematical model that considers one or more of the factors over a range of operational conditions”;
(Klausner [col.5 ln.10] the performance characteristics model is then described using appropriate rules and/or mathematical functions (e.g, convolution). The description of the performance characteristics model aids in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include utilizing a mathematical model with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Klausner, for the benefit of [col.5 ln.10] aiding in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kwak US-20160253849-A1.
13. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of deriving the ***test*** based on a diagnostic assessment of vehicle data ****.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Kwak US-20160253849-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle operations including “…by an artificial intelligence tool “;
(Kwak [0028] … OBD protocol interpreter development unit (115) is a machine-learning module with artificial intelligence operating on a computer server, which can autonomously generate the new OBD interpreter codes without human intervention...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include proceed autonomously with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kwak, for the benefit of operating a system without human intervention.
14. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the steps of identifying multiple operating parameters to identifying the ***diagnosis*** proceed ***operationally*** in response to receipt of the test selection signal.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Chen US-20080177438-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a most likely solution”;
(Chen [0013] The logged diagnostic data related to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution may be compared with the prioritized result obtained from the prior experience database to confirm that the most likely failure source is the actual failure source.)
(Chen [0037] In this manner, the data logging capability of the automotive diagnostic tool 12 is focused on the systems or components that are associated with the most likely solution in order to verify the source of the problem. The tool 12 may include a data logger 50 for logging data from the onboard diagnostic computer 30. As such, the onboard diagnostic computer 30 may be capable of obtaining operational data associated with each component or system connected thereto. The automotive diagnostic tool 12 may be configured to log such data in response to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution being identified. As such, the automotive diagnostic tool 12 may send a signal to the onboard diagnostic computer 30 requesting such data. A user may be able to program the tool 12 to log data for a selectable period of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a most likely solution with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of correlating diagnostic data/faults with solutions which are most closely associated with rectifying the undesirable conditions identified during diagnostic operations.
Kwak US-20160253849-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle operations including operations that “…proceed autonomously “;
(Kwak [0028] … OBD protocol interpreter development unit (115) is a machine-learning module with artificial intelligence operating on a computer server, which can autonomously generate the new OBD interpreter codes without human intervention...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include proceed autonomously with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kwak, for the benefit of operating a system without human intervention.
15. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, wherein the steps of receiving the second data set to ***identify faults*** proceed ***operationally*** in response to determining the vehicle operating conditions comply with ***predetermined values***.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Chen US-20080177438-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a most likely solution”;
(Chen [0013] The logged diagnostic data related to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution may be compared with the prioritized result obtained from the prior experience database to confirm that the most likely failure source is the actual failure source.)
(Chen [0037] In this manner, the data logging capability of the automotive diagnostic tool 12 is focused on the systems or components that are associated with the most likely solution in order to verify the source of the problem. The tool 12 may include a data logger 50 for logging data from the onboard diagnostic computer 30. As such, the onboard diagnostic computer 30 may be capable of obtaining operational data associated with each component or system connected thereto. The automotive diagnostic tool 12 may be configured to log such data in response to the vehicle components associated with the most likely solution being identified. As such, the automotive diagnostic tool 12 may send a signal to the onboard diagnostic computer 30 requesting such data. A user may be able to program the tool 12 to log data for a selectable period of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a most likely solution with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of correlating diagnostic data/faults with solutions which are most closely associated with rectifying the undesirable conditions identified during diagnostic operations.
Kwak US-20160253849-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle operations including operations that “…proceed autonomously “;
(Kwak [0028] … OBD protocol interpreter development unit (115) is a machine-learning module with artificial intelligence operating on a computer server, which can autonomously generate the new OBD interpreter codes without human intervention...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include proceed autonomously with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kwak, for the benefit of operating a system without human intervention.
Yakes US-20030158638-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for control systems and methods for electric vehicles wherein real-time assessments of each vehicle in a platoon include “…prescribed operational conditions”;
(Yakes [0404] Thus, at step 486, the test control module confirms that the transmission is in neutral and the brakes are locked. Step 486 is performed so that when the ignition is engaged at step 487, it is known that the vehicle will remain stationary. More complete health and operational testing may be performed when the engine is turned on, however, the vehicle may be completely unattended and therefore vehicle movement should be avoided for safety reasons...)
(Yakes [0403] Referring now also to FIG. 55, the operation of the on-board computer system 422 of the vehicle 411 to generate such a status report is shown. … performs a series of tests that assess the operability of various vehicle subsystems. By testing each of the individual subsystems, an overall assessment of the mission readiness of the vehicle 411-414 is obtained.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include prescribed conditions (e.g. neutral, parking brake on, etc.) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yakes, for the benefit of providing safety considerations in vehicle testing [0404].
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rothert US-6141610-A.
17. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of identifying the vehicle ***data***.
(Andreasen [0012] …the portable code reader/scanner 1 is connected to 40 the automobile 20 on-board computer 21. At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. … request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44. The live data is in the form of PIDs and related tests.)
Rothert US-6141610-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for diagnostic operations which include “…identifying the vehicle based on the data signal received from the vehicle”;
(Rothert [col.9 ln.35] Continuing with FIG. 4, the data relating to the usage and condition of the vehicle is then processed by the computer as shown by step 409… The transmission also includes information identifying a particular vehicle which may be a identification number such as the Vehicle's Identification Number (VIN) or other identifying data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include an electronic vehicle identifying number with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Rothert, for the benefit of verifying unique identifiers related to vehicle operations and status.
18. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 17, wherein the ***data*** of the vehicle is determined based on ***diagnostic operations***.
(Andreasen [0012] …the portable code reader/scanner 1 is connected to 40 the automobile 20 on-board computer 21. At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. … request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44. The live data is in the form of PIDs and related tests.)
Rothert US-6141610-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for diagnostic operations which include“…identity of the vehicle is determined based on an electronic vehicle identifying number included in the data signal”;
(Rothert [col.9 ln.35] Continuing with FIG. 4, the data relating to the usage and condition of the vehicle is then processed by the computer as shown by step 409… The transmission also includes information identifying a particular vehicle which may be a identification number such as the Vehicle's Identification Number (VIN) or other identifying data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include an electronic vehicle identifying number/signal with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Rothert, for the benefit of verifying unique identifiers related to vehicle operations and status.
19. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The diagnostic method recited in claim 17, wherein the ***diagnosis*** of the vehicle is determined based on information ***related to the*** systems on the vehicle.
(Andreasen [0012] …the portable code reader/scanner 1 is connected to 40 the automobile 20 on-board computer 21. At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. … request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44. The live data is in the form of PIDs and related tests.)
Rothert US-6141610-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for diagnostic operations which include “…identity of the vehicle is determined based on information in the data signal identifying systems on the vehicle”;
(Rothert [col.9 ln.35] Continuing with FIG. 4, the data relating to the usage and condition of the vehicle is then processed by the computer as shown by step 409… The transmission also includes information identifying a particular vehicle which may be a identification number such as the Vehicle's Identification Number (VIN) or other identifying data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include an electronic vehicle identifying number/signal with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Rothert, for the benefit of verifying unique identifiers related to vehicle operations and status.
Claim(s) 22-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1, and Chen US-20080177438-A1, in view of Liebl US-6640166-B2.
22. (Currently Amended) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
Examiner’s Note: Regarding the limitation(s) of claim 22; the limitation(s) present some features that are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
Regarding the limitation “…health status and portions of the testing parameter data that do not comply with the optimal data within a prescribed tolerance as being of a non-optimal health status”;
Chen (US-20030060953-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0034] The code reader 14 further includes an output device 28 configured to indicate a passed or a problem status of the vehicle in response to receipt of the diagnostic trouble ... The panel display may visually indicate the status of the vehicle 10. In addition, in another form, the code reader 14 may include indicator lights 30, 32, 34 to visually indicate the status of the vehicle. Such indicator lights 20, 32, 34 may be color coded with indicator light 30 being green to correspond to a passed status of the vehicle 10, indicator light 32 being red to correspond to a problem status of the vehicle 10, and indicator light 34 being yellow to correspond to an inconclusive status of the vehicle 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a representation of optimal and non-optimal status with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user accessibility regarding operational health/status.
Regarding the limitation “…creating a graphic displaying the testing parameter data …, the graphic comprising a two-dimensional map having (i) a first operating condition parameter associated with a first axis and (ii) a second operating condition parameter associated with a second axis, the two- dimensional map including a plurality of regions corresponding to respective combinations of values of the first operating condition parameter and the second operating condition parameter”;
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface… [col.2 ln.5] a two-dimensional graph is displayed, often the graph has a horizontal axis and a vertical axis. Often the horizontal axis depicts measurements of time, and the vertical axis depicts measurements of a parameter that changes over the course of time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
Regarding the limitation “…creating a color scheme associated with the testing parameter data by assigning a first color to testing parameter data associated with the optimal health status and a second color to testing parameter data associated with the non-optimal health status; and”;
Chen (US-20030060953-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0034] …The panel display may visually indicate the status of the vehicle 10. In addition, in another form, the code reader 14 may include indicator lights 30, 32, 34 to visually indicate the status of the vehicle. Such indicator lights 20, 32, 34 may be color coded with indicator light 30 being green to correspond to a passed status of the vehicle 10, indicator light 32 being red to correspond to a problem status of the vehicle 10, and indicator light 34 being yellow to correspond to an inconclusive status of the vehicle 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a representation of optimal and non-optimal status with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user accessibility regarding operational health/status.
Regarding the limitation “…incorporating the color scheme into the graphic by shading each of the plurality of regions with the first color when the testing parameter data corresponding to the respective combination of values is of the optimal health status, and shading each of the plurality of regions with the second color when the testing parameter data corresponding to the respective combination of values is of the non-optimal health status.”;
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface… [col.2 ln.5] a two-dimensional graph is displayed, often the graph has a horizontal axis and a vertical axis. Often the horizontal axis depicts measurements of time, and the vertical axis depicts measurements of a parameter that changes over the course of time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
However, while Liebl discloses a graphic discussed above, Liebl is silent as to distinctly disclosing “…incorporating the color scheme into the graphic”;
Chen (US-20030060953-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0034] …The panel display may visually indicate the status of the vehicle 10. In addition, in another form, the code reader 14 may include indicator lights 30, 32, 34 to visually indicate the status of the vehicle. Such indicator lights 20, 32, 34 may be color coded with indicator light 30 being green to correspond to a passed status of the vehicle 10, indicator light 32 being red to correspond to a problem status of the vehicle 10, and indicator light 34 being yellow to correspond to an inconclusive status of the vehicle 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a representation of optimal and non-optimal status with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by the combination of Chen and Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user accessibility regarding operational health/status.
23. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses…
Examiner’s Note: the limitation(s) are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 22 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 22.
26. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The automotive diagnostic method recited in claim 22, further comprising the step of sending a ***command*** to the vehicle to cause a vehicle component to facilitate a desired action, the desired action being associated with an expected vehicle data output.
(Andreasen [0012] …the portable code reader/scanner 1 is connected to 40 the automobile 20 on-board computer 21. At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. … request live data mode 41 and the automotive DTC live data diagnostics program proceeds to analyze and send commands to the on-board computer 22 requesting specific live data in real-time that were used to generate the DTCs 44. The live data is in the form of PIDs and related tests.)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
27. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The automotive diagnostic method recited in claim 22, further comprising the step of identifying vehicle operating conditions associated with a diagnostic test.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1, Chen US-20080177438-A1, and Liebl US-6640166-B2, as applied to claim 22 above and further in view of Breed US-20060180371-A1.
24. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The automotive diagnostic method recited in claim 22, wherein the testing parameter data includes ***operational conditions***.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Breed US-20060180371-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… long term fuel trim data, and the operating conditions include RPM and throttle position”;
(Breed [0240-0242] some diagnostic features already available on some vehicles some of which are related to the federally mandated OBD-II and can be included in the general diagnostics and health monitoring features of this invention… Pending DTCs (Diagnostic Trouble Codes); Ignition Timing Advance; Calculated Load Value; Air Flow Rate MAF Sensor; Engine RPM; Engine Coolant Temperature; Intake Air Temperature; Absolute Throttle Position Sensor; Vehicle Speed; Short-Term Fuel Trim; Long-Term Fuel Trim;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include wherein data includes long term fuel trim data, and the operating conditions include RPM and throttle position with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Breed, for the benefit of providing data related to the monitoring and functionality of vehicle systems, increasing awareness of system operations.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1, Chen US-20080177438-A1, and Liebl US-6640166-B2, as applied to claim 22 above and further in view of Toth US-5554992-A.
25. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The automotive diagnostic method recited in claim 22, wherein the ***vehicle parameters are displayed***.
(Andreasen [0014] The PDA 30 may display the PIDs 55 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
Toth US-5554992-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein the step of creating the graphic includes creating a plurality of cells arranged in a grid having a first operational condition parameter associated with one axis of the grid and a second operational condition parameter data associated with another axis of the grid ‘;
(Toth [col.3 ln.12] …graph illustrated in FIG. 1 shows an array of display pixels which are aligned with respect to grid lines that run parallel to the horizontal x and the vertical y axis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include pixel cells contained within a grid to form a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Toth, for the benefit of providing the display means necessary for visually representing data to a user for interfacing/monitoring.
Claim(s) 28, 31, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, and Yakes US-20030158638-A1 in view of Chen US-20080177438-A1.
28. (Currently Amended) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses…
Examiner’s Note: Regarding the limitation(s) of claim 28; the limitation(s) present some features that are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
31. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses…
Examiner’s Note: Regarding the limitation(s) of claim 31; the limitation(s) present some features that are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 6 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 6.
33. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
Examiner’s Note: Regarding the limitation(s) of claim 33; the limitation(s) present some features that are similar in scope to those disclosed in the method of claim(s) 8 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 8.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Liebl US-6640166-B2.
29. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The computer program product recited in claim 28, further comprising the step of displaying a ***informational*** relationship between the multiple operating parameters associated with the received second data set.
(Andreasen [0015] The PDA may display the PIDs 58 and/or return them to the portable code reader/scanner 1 for display 46.)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a display comprising “…graphic depicting” information;
(Liebl [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
30. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The computer program product recited in claim 29, further comprising the step of incorporating a ***display*** of the optimal data (e.g. known ranges of normalcy (norms)) set on the graphic.
(Andreasen [0008; FIG.2] a system and method in the form of a program called automotive DTC live data diagnostics for analyzing live (in real-time) data wherein received and analyzed diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) are programmed to open the live data mode)
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Liebl US-6640166-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a display comprising “…graphical depiction” information;
(Liebl [FIG.4-5] graphical user interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a graphic with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Liebl, for the benefit of providing a visual representation of organized data, such as in the form of a panel display, chart/table, or graph.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Andreasen US-20060027650-A1.
32. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The computer program product recited in claim 28, wherein the test selection signal is received ***from the system*** from a user.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Andreasen US-20060027650-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…a test selection from a user”;
(Andreasen [0031] The activate system tests button 18 functions to allow the user to select from various tests capable of being performed by the OBD.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a test selection from a user with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Andreasen, for the benefit of providing the ability for a user to interface with a system request.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Madison US-20160027223-A1.
34. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The computer program product recited in claim 28, further comprising the step of deriving the test selection ***operation*** based on a comparison of the vehicle data to ***vehicle*** data.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Madison US-20160027223-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle diagnostics comprising “…a comparison of the vehicle data to historical vehicle data”;
(Madison [0032] ….compares vehicle characteristic data associated with a vehicle under consideration with information in a historical defect database to identify defects that have occurred in the same or substantially similar vehicles, and the mileage at which those defects occurred… the owner will have a good idea of what component may need replacing. Therefore, the owner may be able to resolve the problem on his own, or if the owner takes the vehicle to an automotive professional, the owner will have a good idea of what is needed to fix the problem, rather than relying solely on the recommendation of the automotive professional.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a comparison of the vehicle data to historical vehicle data with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Madison, for the benefit of providing [0034] the owner will have a good idea of what component may need replacing.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Jaworski US-20070174749-A1, Yakes US-20030158638-A1 and Chen US-20080177438-A1, as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Klausner US-6766232-B1.
35. (Original) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
The computer program product recited in claim 28, further comprising the step of deriving the test ***command*** based on an assessment of the vehicle data implemented through use of a ***computational system***.
(Andreasen [claim.8] A portable code reader/scanner according to claim 5 wherein the remote server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs from the portable code reader/scanner and uses a database and diagnostic means as found in the portable code reader/scanner and the automotive. DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Jaworski US-20070174749-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to include “…a test selection signal”;
(Jaworski [0018] Each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces 110 includes a bridge 116 to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port 170 and any unit under test 150 that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit 191. The module bridge interface 155 of each of the plurality of units under test 150 comprises a bridge 156 to selectively communicate signals from the diagnostics unit 191 to the boundary-scan test functionality 160 of the respective unit under test 150. More than one diagnostics unit 191 can be communicatively coupled to the unit diagnostic control device 190. In one implementation of this embodiment, the diagnostics unit 191 is a non-critical diagnostics unit.)
(Jaworski [0019] The diagnostics unit 191 has the capability to initiate boundary-scan tests. In one implementation of this embodiment, the unit diagnostic control device 190 controls the diagnostics unit 191 to initiate a boundary-scan test.)
(Jaworski [claim.5] The test system of claim 1, wherein each of the diagnostics-unit interfaces includes a bridge to selectively communicate signals between the unit diagnostic communication port and any unit under test that is communicatively coupled to the diagnostics unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a consideration for a diagnostic unit for vehicles comprising signals between a diagnostic unit and a vehicle under test to (e.g. a test selection signal) with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Jaworski, for the benefit of providing signal structures which communicate between systems in order to transmit data necessary for operational commands.
Klausner US-6766232-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for identifying faults in a motor vehicle to include “…utilizing a mathematical model that considers one or more of the factors over a range of operational conditions”;
(Klausner [col.5 ln.10] the performance characteristics model is then described using appropriate rules and/or mathematical functions (e.g, convolution). The description of the performance characteristics model aids in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include utilizing a mathematical model with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Klausner, for the benefit of [col.5 ln.10] aiding in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1), Klausner US-6766232-B1, Madison US-20160027223-A1, Kwak US-20160253849-A1, in view of Mason US-20130338855-A1.
36. (Currently Amended) Andreasen (US-20090259358-A1) discloses
A diagnostic method for a vehicle, the method comprising the steps of:
identifying a desired performance output (e.g. known ranges of normalcy (norms)) for a first vehicle parameter, the first vehicle parameter being operationally related to a second vehicle parameter and a third vehicle parameter [0012];
identifying a mathematical model that defines a relationship between the first vehicle parameter, the second vehicle parameter, and the third vehicle parameter [0007], the
***system*** using ***data*** to related parameters, as well as the actual effect on the desired parameter, over a range of operating conditions [claim.8];
using ***the system*** to identify a change in at least one of the second vehicle parameter and the third vehicle parameter value based on the desired performance output of the first vehicle parameter [claim.8] by applying ***the system*** to a set of vehicle data along with a targeted value for the desired parameter (e.g. known ranges of normalcy (norms)), wherein an output of the ***system*** is the value(s) for one or more of the related parameters ****.
(Andreasen [0007] “Data Test, DTC” (viewing and displaying in real-time live, changing data from a plurality of module sensors)
(Andreasen [0012] At this point the diagnostic trouble codes, DTCs, may be requested 41 in order to determine problem areas. The DTCs are then analyzed 42)
(Andreasen [claim.8] server receives the DTCs, live data PIDs and tests relating to the PIDs ... DTC live data diagnostics program to determine the live data associated with retrieved DTCs and retrieves only live data parameters (PIDs), and their related tests, that are associated with the retrieved DTCs and flags the PIDs that deviate from their known ranges of normalcy (norms).)
Klausner US-6766232-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for identifying faults in a motor vehicle to include “…a mathematical model”;
(Klausner [col.5 ln.10] the performance characteristics model is then described using appropriate rules and/or mathematical functions (e.g, convolution). The description of the performance characteristics model aids in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include utilizing a mathematical model with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Klausner, for the benefit of [col.5 ln.10] aiding in simplification and therefore in saving memory space and computing resources in a computer of the motor vehicle.
Madison US-20160027223-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicle diagnostics comprising “…using historical data sets and historical adjustments”;
(Madison [0032] ….compares vehicle characteristic data associated with a vehicle under consideration with information in a historical defect database to identify defects that have occurred in the same or substantially similar vehicles, and the mileage at which those defects occurred… the owner will have a good idea of what component may need replacing. Therefore, the owner may be able to resolve the problem on his own, or if the owner takes the vehicle to an automotive professional, the owner will have a good idea of what is needed to fix the problem, rather than relying solely on the recommendation of the automotive professional.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a historical adjustments to related parameters with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Madison, for the benefit of providing [0034] the owner will have a good idea of what repairs/adjustments may need to be done as compared to repairs already completed/known to address the abnormality.
Kwak US-20160253849-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle operations including “…a machine learning model trained“;
(Kwak [0028] … OBD protocol interpreter development unit (115) is a machine-learning module with artificial intelligence operating on a computer server, which can autonomously generate the new OBD interpreter codes without human intervention...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to include a machine learning model with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kwak, for the benefit of operating a system without human intervention.
Mason US-20130338855-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle operations including “…iteratively updating the change using updated data until the desired parameter meets a prescribed operational value or threshold “;
(Mason [0097] Periodic updates can provide updates to the vehicle management system at a specified frequency... Threshold based updates can provide updates when the value of the vehicle characteristic meets or exceeds a specified threshold. The thresholds can be static, determined dynamically by the system, user specified, or determined using any other method.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Andreasen to iteratively updating the change using updated data until the desired parameter meets a prescribed operational value or threshold with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Mason, for the benefit of continually testing/monitoring a system until predetermined/desired operational outputs are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663