DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, per page 7, filed August 25, 2026, with respect to the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of June 8, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Park (US 2021/0057371) discloses (Fig. 15) with a first oxide 110 and second oxide 117, where 110 is not a stop layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2021/0057371). Claim 1, Park discloses (Fig. 15) a semiconductor device, comprising: a first wafer (100/110/117/120/130 considered wafer, hereinafter “wafer1”), comprising: a first substrate (100, first substrate, Para [0020]); a stress tuning structure (110/117/120, first insulating interlayer/first diffusion barrier layer/first adsorption layer, considered stress tuning as 120 have material to increase bonding strength, Para [0019], [0048], [0080], hereinafter “stress”) disposed on the first substrate (stress is on 100), wherein the stress tuning structure (stress) comprises a first oxide layer (110 may be TEOS, Para [0022]) and a second oxide layer (117 may be same material as 130 which may be silicon oxide, Para [0024], [0081]) sequentially disposed on the first substrate (110 and 117 are sequentially disposed on 100), the first oxide layer is not a stop layer (110 is not labeled as etch stop layer), and a first refractive index of the first oxide layer is different from a second refractive index of the second oxide layer (since 110 is TEOS and 117 is silicon oxide they would have different refractive indices); and a first bonding structure (130, first bonding layer, Para [0019]) disposed on the stress tuning structure (130 is on stress); and a second wafer (200/210/217/220/230 considered second wafer, hereinafter “wafer2”), comprising: a second substrate (200, second substrate, Para [0035]); and a second bonding structure (230, second bonding layer, Para [0035]) disposed on the second substrate (230 is on 200), wherein the second bonding structure is bonded with the first bonding structure (230 is bonded to 130). Claim 11, Park discloses (Fig. 15) a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a first wafer (100/110/117/120/130 considered wafer, hereinafter “wafer1”), wherein the first wafer comprises a first substrate (100, first substrate, Para [0020]), a stress tuning structure (110/117/120, first insulating interlayer/first diffusion barrier layer/first adsorption layer, considered stress tuning as 120 have material to increase bonding strength, Para [0019], [0048], [0080], hereinafter “stress”) disposed on the first substrate (stress is on 100) and a first bonding structure (130, first bonding layer, Para [0019]) disposed on the stress tuning structure (130 is on stress), the stress tuning structure comprises a first oxide layer (110 may be TEOS, Para [0022]) and a second oxide layer (117 may be same material as 130 which may be silicon oxide, Para [0024], [0081]) sequentially disposed on the first substrate (110 and 117 are sequentially disposed on 100), the first oxide layer is not a stop layer (110 is not labeled as etch stop layer), and a first refractive index of the first oxide layer is different from a second refractive index of the second oxide layer (since 110 is TEOS and 117 is silicon oxide they would have different refractive indices); providing a second wafer (200/210/217/220/230 considered second wafer, hereinafter “wafer2”), wherein the second wafer comprises a second substrate (200, second substrate, Para [0035]) and a second bonding structure (230, second bonding layer, Para [0035]) disposed on the second substrate (230 is on 200); and bonding the second bonding structure with the first bonding structure (230 is bonded to 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 -6 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0057371) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Hsuch (US Pat. No. 5859458).
Claim 4, Park discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the first refractive index ranges from 1.455 to 1.475. However, Hsuch discloses that the refractive index for TEOS layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.455 to 1.475 as it is a common refractive index range from the TEOS material as taught by Hsuch. Claim 5, Park discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein an absolute value of a difference between the second refractive index and the first refractive index ranges from 0.006 to 0.02. However, Hsuch discloses the refractive index for TEO layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the refractive index range for silicon oxide can be from 1.47 to 1.5 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the silicon oxide layer of Park to have a refractive index range from 1.47 to 1.5 as it is a common index range from TEOS and silicon oxide material as taught by Hsuch. As a result, 110 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.46 and 117 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.47, resulting in an absolute value of a difference between the two to be 0.01. Claim 6, Park discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the second refractive index is greater than the first refractive index. However, Hsuch discloses the refractive index for TEO layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the refractive index range for silicon oxide can be from 1.47 to 1.5 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the silicon oxide layer of Park to have a refractive index range from 1.47 to 1.5 as it is a common index range from TEOS and silicon oxide material as taught by Hsuch. As a result, 110 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.46 and 117 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.47, where 1.47 is greater than 1.46. Claim 14, Park discloses the method of claim 11. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the first refractive index ranges from 1.455 to 1.475. However, Hsuch discloses that the refractive index for TEOS layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.455 to 1.475 as it is a common refractive index range from the TEOS material as taught by Hsuch. Claim 15, Park discloses Park discloses the method of claim 11. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein an absolute value of a difference between the second refractive index and the first refractive index ranges from 0.006 to 0.02. However, Hsuch discloses the refractive index for TEO layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the refractive index range for silicon oxide can be from 1.47 to 1.5 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the silicon oxide layer of Park to have a refractive index range from 1.47 to 1.5 as it is a common index range from TEOS and silicon oxide material as taught by Hsuch. As a result, 110 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.46 and 117 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.47, resulting in an absolute value of a difference between the two to be 0.01. Claim 16, Park discloses Park discloses the method of claim 11. Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the second refractive index is greater than the first refractive index. However, Hsuch discloses the refractive index for TEO layer has a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the refractive index range for silicon oxide can be from 1.47 to 1.5 (Col. 4, lines: 1-5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the TEOS layer of Park to have a refractive index in a range from 1.45 to 1.46 and the silicon oxide layer of Park to have a refractive index range from 1.47 to 1.5 as it is a common index range from TEOS and silicon oxide material as taught by Hsuch. As a result, 110 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.46 and 117 of Park can be chosen to have an index of 1.47, where 1.47 is greater than 1.46.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-10, 12-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record, Chen (US 2016/0197049), Wu (US 2021/0217716), Lai (US 2024/0413034), Park (US 2021/0057371), Hsuch (US Pat. No. 5859458), fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination) the following limitations in combination with the rest of the claim:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein the stress tuning structure has a thickness in a vertical direction, and the thickness ranges from 2000 angstroms to 4000 angstroms.
Regarding Claim 3, wherein the first oxide layer has a first sub-thickness in a vertical direction, the second oxide layer has a second sub-thickness in the vertical direction, and a ratio of the second sub-thickness to the first sub-thickness ranges from 0.25 to 4.
Regarding Claim 12, wherein the stress tuning structure has a thickness in a vertical direction, and the thickness ranges from 2000 angstroms to 4000 angstroms.
Regarding Claim 13, wherein the first oxide layer has a first sub-thickness in a vertical direction, the second oxide layer has a second sub-thickness in the vertical direction, and a ratio of the second sub-thickness to the first sub-thickness ranges from 0.25 to 4.
Regarding Claim 7 (from which claims 8-10 depend), wherein the stress tuning structure has a thickness in a vertical direction, the stress tuning structure further comprises a metal layer disposed in the first oxide layer and the second oxide layer, the metal layer has a third sub-thickness in the vertical direction, and the third sub-thickness is equal to the thickness of the stress tuning structure.
Regarding Claim 17 (from which claims 18-20 depend), wherein the stress tuning structure has a thickness in a vertical direction, the stress tuning structure further comprises a metal layer disposed in the first oxide layer and the second oxide layer, the metal layer has a third sub-thickness in the vertical direction, and the third sub-thickness is equal to the thickness of the stress tuning structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.G.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812