DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 19-25 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heat transfer formation unit in claims 19-25 where the functional language is to form a heat transfer layer for the temperature adjustment target on the support surface of the substrate support where the generic placeholder is unit
The term “heat transfer formation unit” is interpreted as processing module 60H see [0184] of the originally filed specification where the heat transfer layer is formed via heat transfer gas see [0010], raw gas see [0050], formed via a liquid see [0050], and formed via solid [0079] of the original specification.
The term controller is recited in claims 19-25, upon review of the original specification [0025] it is interpreted as element 80 and may include a computer 90 where the computer 90 may include a processor (CPU).
Double Patenting
Claims 19-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-28 of copending Application No. 18/421988 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application fully encompasses the scope of the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 19 and 21: See claim 15 of the reference application where it is recited that a plasma processing apparatus has a processing chamber that is decompressible, a substrate support, and a controller which performs the steps of placing a temperature adjustment target, performing plasma processing, and a step of forming a heat transfer layer (this implies that a heat transfer forming unit or structure is used to form the heat transfer layer) see that the layer uses a liquid medium or solid medium.
Regarding claim 20: See claim 16 of the reference application where it is stated that a gas supply provides a heat transfer medium to the channel.
Regarding claim 22: See claim 15 of the present invention where it recites a temperature adjustment target.
Regarding claim 23: See claims 26-28 of the reference application as the temperature adjustment target includes an edge ring which is separate from the substrate support surface.
Regarding claim 24: See claims 27 and 28 of the reference application where the temperature adjustment target includes the substrate and the edge ring.
Regarding claim 25: See claim 25 of the reference application where an electrostatic chuck clamps the substrate to the support surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al (US 2011/0315318).
Regarding claim 19. Kobayashi et al teaches a plasma processing apparatus, comprising: a processing chamber being decompressible (via pumps and an exhaust pipe see [0050]; a substrate support (mounting table 12) located in the processing chamber 11 and including a support surface on which a substrate (wafer W) is placeable; a heat transfer layer formation unit (see [0057] which creates a heat transfer sheet 38 within the chamber 11) configured to form a heat transfer layer (heat transfer sheet 38, 45) for the temperature adjustment target on the support surface of the substrate support, the heat transfer layer being deformable (see [0064] made of rubber) and including at least one of a liquid layer or a deformable solid layer; and a controller (see [0061]) configured to perform control to cause operations including placing the temperature adjustment target (focus ring and/or substrate) onto the support surface, and performing plasma processing on the substrate on the support surface on which the heat transfer layer is formed. See Figs. 1 and 2 of Kobayashi et al.
Regarding claim 20. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the heat transfer layer formation unit (see [0057] which creates a heat transfer sheet 38 within the chamber 11) supplies a raw gas being a raw material for the heat transfer layer into a processing space in the processing chamber. See [0056] of Kobayashi et al where helium gas is supplied.
Regarding claim 21. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the heat transfer layer formation unit (see [0057] which creates a heat transfer sheet 38 within the chamber 11) supplies a heat transfer medium including at least one of a liquid medium see [0055] where cooling water or a solid medium (see [0064] of Kobayashi et al) with fluidity to the support surface through the substrate support to form the heat transfer layer (heat transfer sheet 38, 45).
Regarding claim 22. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the heat transfer layer formation unit (see [0057] which creates a heat transfer sheet 38 within the chamber 11) places, onto the support surface, the temperature adjustment target (focus ring 25) receiving the heat transfer layer (heat transfer sheet 38, 45 of Kobayashi et al) on a lower surface of the temperature adjustment target to form the heat transfer layer on the support surface.
Regarding claim 23. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the heat transfer layer formation unit (see [0057] which creates a heat transfer sheet 38 within the chamber 11) forms the heat transfer layer on the support surface with the temperature adjustment target being located in the processing chamber and being separate from the support surface. See Fig. 2 where there is a gap between the electrostatic chuck 23 and heat transfer layer 38 and focus ring 25 which makes the target separate from the support surface.
Regarding claim 24. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the temperature adjustment target is at least one of the substrate or an edge ring (focus ring 25 of Kobayashi et al) surrounding the substrate (wafer W) on the support surface. See heat transfer gas supply holes 28 where the target is the substrate see [0056].
Regarding claim 25. The plasma processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the substrate support includes an electrostatic chuck, and the controller (see the discussion of CPU or controller see [0061]) performs control to electrostatically clamp the temperature adjustment target (focus ring 25) onto the support surface with an electrostatic force from the electrostatic chuck 23 see [0053] of Kobayashi et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagaiwa et al (US 2002/0029745) teaches a plasma processing apparatus with a worktable and a heat transfer medium made of silicone rubber see the subsurface and a focus ring, see abstract.
Kimura et al (US 2015/0053347) teaches a wafer support assembly with a controller 108.
Nagayama et al (US 2015/0114567) teaches a focus ring 14 with a thermally conductive sheet 25 made of silicon rubber see [0049] and plasma processing apparatus.
JP4421874B2 teaches an electrostatic chuck where the susceptor has a focus ring 206 with a refrigerant passage 208 see Fig. 13.
Wu et al (US 10, 593, 520) teaches a reaction chamber 10, substrate support (base 30) including a support surface on which a substrate is placeable, and a focus ring 50. Note that a cooling medium pipeline is provided with the base 30, a first heat conducting pad 91 is provided at a portion where the focus ring 50 and the insulating ring 60 and a second heat conducting pad 92 made of elastic (deformable) silica gel material see co. 4 lines 43-53. See Figs. 2 and 3 of Wu et al
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716