Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Claims 1-11 and 16-19 in the reply filed 01/22/2026 acknowledged, Claims 12-15 and 20-37 are withdrawn from further prosecution, and Claims 1-11 and 16-19 are prosecuted given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuji et al (US 2019/0103212).
Regarding Claim 1, Fuji (In Fig 3) discloses an electronics arrangement (20) comprising:
an electrically insulative substrate (21), (¶ 98, II. 10-12) comprising a top side (22) and a bottom side (23), (Fig 3);
an inductor (25) comprising a ferrite core (30), (¶ 71, II. 14-16) above the substrate (21) and an electrically conductive wire (wire of 25) wound around the ferrite core (30), (Fig 3);
a thermally conductive heat transfer structure (40), (¶ 71, II. 1-3 ) operative to transfer heat away from the ferrite core (30), (Fig 3), the heat transfer structure (40) comprising a thermally conductive, electrically insulating element (resin, ¶ 83, II. 12-15) passing through the ferrite core (30), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further discloses wherein The electronics arrangement (20) further comprising a heatsink (50) contacting the substrate (21), (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further discloses wherein the element (40) passes adjacently through the core (30) in a direction that is predominantly perpendicular to the top and bottom sides of the substrate (21), (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji.
Regarding Claim 2, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (40) comprises a thermally conductive material (copper, ¶ 83, II. 1-15) having a thermal conductivity of more than 28 W/mk.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity of more than 28 W/mk to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 3, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further discloses wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (40) comprises a thermally conductive material (copper, ¶ 83, II. 1-15) having a thermal conductivity of more than 140 W/mK.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity of more than 140 W/mk to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 4, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further discloses wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (40) comprises a thermally conductive material (copper, ¶ 83, II. 1-15) having a thermal conductivity of more than 300 W/mK.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity of more than 300 W/mk to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 10, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further wherein the element (27) passes adjacently through the core (30) in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the top and bottom sides of the substrate (), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the element passing adjacently through the core in a direction being predominantly parallel to the top and bottom sides of the substrate to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 17, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (27) comprises Alumina (¶ 97, II. 9-15).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising alumina to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 18, Fuji discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Fuji (In Fig 3) further wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (27) comprises Aluminum nitride (¶ 97, II. 9-15).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising aluminum nitride to benefit from dissipating heat generated at the core during operation of the circuit apparatus, to outside of the circuit apparatus (Fuji ¶ 2, II. 11-14).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji in view of Nishizawa et al (US 2025/0037931).
Regarding Claim 5, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 10.2 F/m.
Instead, Nishizawa (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (27) comprises an electrically insulative material (ceramic, ¶ 57, II. 4-5, ¶ 15, II. 1-6) having a dielectric constant of less than 10.2 F/m.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Nishizawa with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 10.2 F/m to benefit from transferring heat away from the choke (¶ 21, II. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 9.25 F/m.
Instead, Nishizawa (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (27) comprises an electrically insulative material (ceramic, ¶ 57, II. 4-5, ¶ 15, II. 1-6) having a dielectric constant of less than 9.25 F/m.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Nishizawa with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 9.25 F/m to benefit from transferring heat away from the choke (¶ 21, II. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 7, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 7 F/m.
Instead, Nishizawa (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (27) comprises an electrically insulative material (ceramic, ¶ 57, II. 4-5, ¶ 15, II. 1-6) having a dielectric constant of less than 7 F/m.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Nishizawa with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises an electrically insulative material having a dielectric constant of less than 7 F/m to benefit from transferring heat away from the choke (Nishizawa ¶ 21, II. 5-7).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji in view of Sundstorm et al (US 2011/0215891).
Regarding Claim 8, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the electronics arrangement further comprising first and second traces on the top side of the substrate, each of the traces being bonded to a respective end of the wire.
Instead, Sundstorm (In Fig 4) teaches wherein the electronics arrangement (10) further comprising first and second traces (60/60) on the top side of the substrate (56), each of the traces (60/60) being bonded to a respective end of the wire (22A/22B), (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Sundstorm with the electronics arrangement further comprising first and second traces on the top side of the substrate, and each of the traces being bonded to a respective end of the wire.to benefit from storing energy in the magnetic field in its core (Sundstorm ¶ 3, II. 6-9).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji in view of Woo et al (US 2023/0260688).
Regarding Claim 16, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the heat transfer structure further comprises one or more support structures extending through one or more openings in the substrate; and to transfer the heat away from the ferrite core, the thermally conductive heat transfer structure is operative to transfer the heat toward the bottom of the substrate through the one or more openings.
Instead Woo (In Fig 6) teaches wherein the heat transfer structure (143) further comprises one or more support structures (110) extending through one or more openings (55) in the substrate (52); and to transfer the heat away from the ferrite core (120), the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (143) is operative to transfer the heat toward the bottom of the substrate (52) through the one or more openings (55).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Woo with the heat transfer structure comprising one or more support structures extending through one or more openings in the substrate; and to transfer the heat away from the ferrite core, the thermally conductive heat transfer structure being operative to transfer the heat toward the bottom of the substrate through the one or more openings to benefit from allowing the case to have a higher heat resistance than the core cover (Woo ¶ 23, II. 1-4).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji in view of Willis et al (US 2016/0189847).
Regarding Claim 19, Fuji discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Fuji does not disclose wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprises Beryllium Oxide.
Instead, Willis (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the thermally conductive heat transfer structure (206, 207) comprises Beryllium Oxide (¶ 26, II. 10-12).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fuji with Willis with the thermally conductive heat transfer structure comprising Beryllium Oxide to benefit from aiding heat dissipation from the core (Willis ¶ 26, II. 8-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Parallel Core Electromagnetic Device US 2004/0257187, Integrated Magnetic Component US 20200234867, Supporting Component, Interference Suppression Coil Device and Method for the Manufacturing Thereof US 2008/0055035, Magnetic Device US 2022/0044860. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835