DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from JP 2023-007600, filed on 1/20/2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first transfer system” in lines 15-16 in claim 1; “a second transfer system” in lines 17-18 in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuchiyama et al. (US PGPub 2024/0036482, Tsuchiyama hereinafter; the effectively filed date is 7/28/2022, the filing date of JP2022-120823. See MPEP 2151).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiyama discloses a substrate processing system that performs substrate processing, wherein the substrate processing includes at least one of forming a resist film on a substrate or developing the resist film after exposure (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0035]-[0037], [0059], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0122]-[0131], the substrate treatment system includes a wet system and a dry system for forming or developing a resist film on a substrate), the substrate processing system comprising:
a first processing system having one of a wet processing apparatus configured to perform the substrate processing in a wet manner (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0059], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0090], [0122]-[0131], the first system includes wet treatment system 2 includes wet developing apparatuses 30) and a dry processing apparatus configured to perform the substrate processing in a dry manner (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0055], [0058]-[0061], [0070], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0090]-[0091], [0122]-[0131], or the first system includes dry treatment system 3 includes dry treatment apparatuses 121 for performing dry development); and
a second processing system having the other one of the wet processing apparatus and the dry processing apparatus (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0055], [0058]-[0061], [0070], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0090]-[0091], [0122]-[0131], the second system includes wet treatment system 2 includes wet developing apparatuses 30 or the second system includes dry treatment system 3 includes dry treatment apparatuses 121 for performing dry development),
wherein the first processing system includes a common stage that is common to the first processing system and the second processing system (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0029], [0031], [0077], [0133], cassette stage 20 is common to wet treatment system 2 and dry treatment system 3),
wherein the common stage is configured to place a container, which is configured to accommodate a plurality of substrates before being subjected to the substrate processing, on the common stage (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0026]-[0031], [0077], [0133], cassette stage 20 accommodates cassettes C on stage plates 21, and the cassettes house a plurality of wafers W prior to processing),
wherein the substrate processing system further comprises:
a first transfer system configured to transfer the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0117]-[0118], [0122]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 137 or transfer apparatus 134 and transfer apparatus 132 transfers wafers W between wet system 2 and dry system 3 along transfer path 135, 135A); and
a second transfer system provided separately from the first transfer system and connected to at least the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0122]-[0131], transfer apparatus 138 is provided separately from transfer apparatus 137 and is connected to both the wet system 2 and the dry system 3), and
wherein the second transfer system is configured to transfer the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system, or between another stage, which is provided separately from the common stage and on which the container is placed, and the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0122]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein the first processing system is connected to an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 11, 12, paras. [0026]-[0027], exposure apparatus E is connected to the wafer treatment system 1),
wherein the first processing system comprises:
a processing block provided with one of the wet processing apparatus and the dry processing apparatus (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0055], [0058]-[0059], [0070], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0090]-[0091], [0122]-[0131], the first system includes wet treatment system 2 includes wet developing apparatuses 30 in treatment station 11); and
an interface block configured to perform delivery of the substrates between the processing block and the exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 11, 12, paras. [0026], [0044]-[0049], [0130], interface station 12, 12A delivers wafers W between the exposure apparatus E and the treatment station 11), and
wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the first transfer system transfers the substrates to the interface block (Fig. 12, paras. [0026], [0044]-[0049], [0129]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 134 and transfer apparatus 132 transfers wafers W between wet system 2 and dry system 3 along transfer path 135A via interface station 12A).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system (Fig. 12, paras. [0129]-[0131], transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136), and
wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the processing block (Fig. 12, paras. [0129]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 138 transfers the wafers W to wet system 2 in treatment station 11A).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein the first processing system is connected to an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 11, 12, paras. [0026]-[0027], exposure apparatus E is connected to the wafer treatment system 1),
wherein the first processing system comprises:
a processing block provided with one of the wet processing apparatus and the dry processing apparatus (Figs. 1-14, abstract, paras. [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0055], [0058]-[0059], [0070], [0073]-[0077], [0082]-[0087], [0090]-[0091], [0122]-[0131], the first system includes wet treatment system 2 includes wet developing apparatuses 30 in treatment station 11); and
an interface block configured to perform delivery of the substrates between the processing block and the exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 11, 12, paras. [0026], [0044]-[0049], [0130], interface station 12, 12A delivers wafers W between the exposure apparatus E and the treatment station 11), and
wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the first transfer system transfers the substrates to the processing block (Fig. 11, paras. [0026], [0044]-[0049], [0122]-[0128], the transfer apparatus 137 transfers wafers W between wet system 2 and dry system 3 along transfer path 135 to treatment station 11).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system (Fig. 11, paras. [0122]-[0128], transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136), and
wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the processing block (Fig. 11, paras. [0122]-[0128], the transfer apparatus 138 transfers the wafers W to wet system 2 in treatment station 11A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsunaga et al. (US PGPub 2009/0115978, Matsunaga hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuchiyama discloses further comprising a buffer in which a substrate loaded into the substrate processing system from the container placed on the common stage waits for transfer (Figs. 1-4, 11-12, paras. [0030], [0043], [0051]-[0054], [0066], [0077]-[0078], [0083]-[0084], [0108], [0100], [0112], [0125], the delivery tower 50 includes 51, and delivery tower 52 includes cooling apparatus 54, and the wafers W are transferred from the cassette to the delivery tower 51 prior to transfer to the wet treatment system 2 or the dry treatment system 3), but Tsuchiyama does not appear to explicitly describe wherein an interior of the buffer is a low-moisture atmosphere containing less moisture than an atmospheric atmosphere.
Matsunaga discloses wherein an interior of the buffer is a low-moisture atmosphere containing less moisture than an atmospheric atmosphere (Figs. 2-5, 7, 12-13, paras. [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0058]-[0060], [0071], [0082], [0088], [0093]-[0096], [0136]-[0139], [0141]-[0144], [0149], buffer 60 has an atmosphere of extreme low humidity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein an interior of the buffer is a low-moisture atmosphere containing less moisture than an atmospheric atmosphere as taught by Matsunaga in the substrate processing system as taught by Tsuchiyama since including wherein an interior of the buffer is a low-moisture atmosphere containing less moisture than an atmospheric atmosphere is commonly used to prevent the formation of moisture on the substrate within the processing system to prevent contamination in the exposure apparatus (Matsunaga, paras. [0058]-[0060], [0082], [0094], [0096], [0144]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US PGPub 2023/0045336, Yu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein the wet processing apparatus is configured to process the substrates in a sheet-by-sheet manner (Figs. 1, 2, 11, 12, paras. [0035]-[0037], [0072]-[0083], a wafer is transferred to one of the developing apparatus 30 to perform spin coating development), and Tsuchiyama does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the dry processing apparatus is configured to process the substrates at once.
Yu discloses wherein the dry processing apparatus is configured to process the substrates at once (Figs. 5, 9, 10e, paras. [0048], [0163]-[0168], [0210], [0213]-[0214], [0222], the processing chamber 914B comprises four process stations for processing multiple substrates in dry development).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the dry processing apparatus is configured to process the substrates at once as taught by Yu in the dry processing apparatus in the substrate processing system as taught by Tsuchiyama since including wherein the dry processing apparatus is configured to process the substrates at once is commonly used to enhance and optimize throughput (Yu, para. [0048]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US PGPub 20070065760).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuchiyama discloses wherein each of the first transfer system and the second transfer system has a transfer path connected to the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0117]-[0118], [0122]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 137 or transfer apparatus 134 and transfer apparatus 132 transfers wafers W between wet system 2 and dry system 3 along transfer path 135, 135A, and the transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136), but Tsuchiyama does not appear to explicitly describe wherein, among the first transfer system and the second transfer system, a system having the wet processing apparatus has an interior having a same pressure and a same atmosphere as the transfer path.
Ito discloses wherein, among the first transfer system and the second transfer system, a system having the wet processing apparatus has an interior having a same pressure and a same atmosphere as the transfer path (Figs. 1-2, 5-6, 10, 15, paras. [0063]-[0065], [0081], [0112], the pressure and atmosphere inside developing processing chamber is approximately the same as that of the process unit section PU containing arm 17 when the cover 81 is opened connecting the process unit section PU to the processing chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein, among the first transfer system and the second transfer system, a system having the wet processing apparatus has an interior having a same pressure and a same atmosphere as the transfer path as taught by Ito in the substrate processing system with the first transfer system and the second transfer system as taught by Tsuchiyama since including wherein, among the first transfer system and the second transfer system, a system having the wet processing apparatus has an interior having a same pressure and a same atmosphere as the transfer path is commonly used to improve throughput when transferring the substrate (Ito, paras. [0064], [0081]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krupyshev et al. (US PGPub 2015/0013910, Krupyshev hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Tsuchiyama does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is configured to be accessible by a container transfer apparatus that transfers the container to the common stage.
Krupyshev discloses the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is configured to be accessible by a container transfer apparatus that transfers the container to the common stage (Figs. 20-21, 25, 27-28, 34, paras. [0109]-[0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0122], [0135]-[0136], a transfer arm transfers substrates between substrate carrier 3430 on load port 3420D and tool module 2120B, which is connected to tool module 2120A via vacuum tunnel 2010A. The load port 3420D is accessible to main automated material handling system AMHS that also transfers to load port 3420A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is configured to be accessible by a container transfer apparatus that transfers the container to the common stage as taught by Krupyshev in the substrate processing system as taught by Tsuchiyama since including the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is configured to be accessible by a container transfer apparatus that transfers the container to the common stage is commonly used to connect processing modules to maintain a controlled environment during movement of wafers through the modules (Krupyshev, para. [0010]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krupyshev in view of Kimura (JP2003-243281; English language translation included with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 16, Tsuchiyama does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is covered in a portion where the container is placed, and is spaced apart from the common stage.
Krupyshev discloses wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is spaced apart from the common stage (Figs. 20-21, 25, 27-28, 34, paras. [0109]-[0110], [0112], [0114]-[0115], [0122], [0135]-[0136], a transfer arm transfers substrates between substrate carrier 3430 on load port 3420D and tool module 2120B, which is connected to tool module 2120A via vacuum tunnel 2010A. The load port 3420D is accessible to main automated material handling system AMHS that also transfers to load port 3420A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is spaced apart from the common stage as taught by Krupyshev in the substrate processing system as taught by Tsuchiyama since including wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the another stage and the second processing system, and wherein the another stage is spaced apart from the common stage is commonly used to connect processing modules to maintain a controlled environment during movement of wafers through the modules (Krupyshev, para. [0010]).
Tsuchiyama as modified by Krupyshev does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the another stage is covered in a portion where the container is placed.
Kimura discloses wherein the another stage is covered in a portion where the container is placed, and is spaced apart from the common stage (Figs. 1, 2, 8-11, abstract, pages 5, 11 of English translation, carrying-out stage 12 is separated from carrying-in stage 11, and the carrying-out stage 12 including cassettes C3 and C4 is covered in passage 2a of duct 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the another stage is covered in a portion where the container is placed, and is spaced apart from the common stage as taught by Kimura as the arrangement of the another stage in the substrate processing system as taught by Tsuchiyama as taught by Krupyshev since including wherein the another stage is covered in a portion where the container is placed, and is spaced apart from the common stage is commonly used to arrange the cassettes in a predetermined atmosphere to minimize energy consumption while minimizing contamination of the substrate (Kimura, para. [0006], pages 2-3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US PGPub 2013/0330928, Ishikawa hereinafter) in view of Matsunaga et al. (US PGPub 2009/0115978, Matsunaga hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa discloses a substrate processing method of performing substrate processing by using a substrate processing system (Figs. 1-7, abstract, paras. [0024], a wafer processing system 1 process a wafer W),
wherein the substrate processing includes at least one of forming a resist film on a substrate or developing the resist film after exposure (Figs. 1-7 paras. [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0046]-[0049], [0056]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069], [0080], a film forming device 26 forms a resist film on a wafer W, and a developing device 28 supplies a developing liquid to the exposed resist film),
wherein the substrate processing system comprises:
a first processing system having one of a wet processing apparatus configured to perform the substrate processing in a wet manner and a dry processing apparatus configured to perform the substrate processing in a dry manner (Figs. 1-7 paras. [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0046]-[0049], [0056]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069], [0080], a film forming device 26 forms a resist film on a wafer W using gas in a vacuum atmosphere, and a developing device 28 supplies a developing liquid to the exposed resist film);
a second processing system having the other one of the wet processing apparatus and the dry processing apparatus (Figs. 1-7 paras. [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0046]-[0049], [0056]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069], [0080], a film forming device 26 forms a resist film on a wafer W using gas in a vacuum atmosphere, and a developing device 28 supplies a developing liquid to the exposed resist film); and
wherein the substrate processing method comprises:
making the substrate loaded into the substrate processing system wait in a buffer (Figs. 1-7, paras. [0028]-[0032], [0052]-[0054], the substrates are loaded into the load-lock chambers 21, 22 from the cassettes and wait for transfer into the processing devices); and
performing the substrate processing in a wet or dry manner after the making the substrate wait (Figs. 1-7, paras. [0028]-[0032], [0035]-[0037], [0039], [0046]-[0049], [0052]-[0054], [0056]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069], [0080], the substrates are loaded into the load-lock chambers 21, 22 from the cassettes and wait for transfer into the processing devices including a film forming device 26, which forms a resist film on a wafer W using gas in a vacuum atmosphere, and a developing device 28, which supplies a developing liquid to the exposed resist film). Ishikawa does not appear to explicitly describe a buffer having an interior of a low-moisture atmosphere that contains less moisture than atmospheric atmosphere.
Matsunaga discloses a buffer having an interior of a low-moisture atmosphere that contains less moisture than atmospheric atmosphere (Figs. 2-5, 7, 12-13, paras. [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0058]-[0060], [0071], [0082], [0088], [0093]-[0096], [0136]-[0139], [0141]-[0144], [0149], buffer 60 has an atmosphere of extreme low humidity),
making the substrate loaded into the substrate processing system wait in a buffer (Figs. 2-5, 7, 12-13, paras. [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0058]-[0060], [0071], [0082], [0088], [0093]-[0096], [0136]-[0139], [0141]-[0144], [0149], the substrate waits in the buffer);
performing the substrate processing after the making the substrate wait (Figs. 2-5, 7, 12-13, paras. [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0058]-[0060], [0064], [0070]-[0071], [0082], [0087]-[0088], [0093]-[0096], [0136]-[0139], [0141]-[0144], [0149], after waiting in the buffer, the substrate is further processed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a buffer having an interior of a low-moisture atmosphere that contains less moisture than atmospheric atmosphere as taught by Matsunaga in the substrate processing method processing the substrate in a wet or dry manner as taught by Ishikawa since including a buffer having an interior of a low-moisture atmosphere that contains less moisture than atmospheric atmosphere is commonly used to prevent the formation of moisture on the substrate within the processing system to prevent contamination in the exposure apparatus (Matsunaga, paras. [0058]-[0060], [0082], [0094], [0096], [0144]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious further comprising a controller, wherein the buffer includes a gas buffer having an interior of an inert gas atmosphere, and a vacuum buffer having an interior of a vacuum atmosphere, and wherein the controller is configured to perform a control to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the wet processing apparatus wait in the gas buffer, and to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the dry processing apparatus wait in the vacuum buffer. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
The dependent claims would likewise be allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Tsuchiyama discloses a controller (Fig. 1, para. [0067], controller 5), but Tsuchiyama fails to describe or suggest the buffer includes a gas buffer having an interior of an inert gas atmosphere, and a vacuum buffer having an interior of a vacuum atmosphere, and wherein the controller is configured to perform a control to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the wet processing apparatus wait in the gas buffer, and to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the dry processing apparatus wait in the vacuum buffer.
Matsunaga discloses wherein an interior of the buffer is a low-moisture atmosphere containing less moisture than an atmospheric atmosphere (Figs. 2-5, 7, 12-13, paras. [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0058]-[0060], [0071], [0082], [0088], [0093]-[0096], [0136]-[0139], [0141]-[0144], [0149], buffer 60 has an atmosphere of extreme low humidity), but Matsunaga fails to describe or render obvious the buffer includes a gas buffer having an interior of an inert gas atmosphere, and a vacuum buffer having an interior of a vacuum atmosphere, and wherein the controller is configured to perform a control to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the wet processing apparatus wait in the gas buffer, and to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the dry processing apparatus wait in the vacuum buffer.
Wood et al. (US PGPub 2016/0118280) discloses first and second buffer chambers connected to an inert gas supply and vacuum pump (Figs. 3, paras. [0025], [0027], buffer chambers 130a, 130b), but Wood fails to describe or render obvious wherein a controller is configured to perform a control to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the wet processing apparatus wait in the gas buffer, and to make a substrate scheduled to be processed by the dry processing apparatus wait in the vacuum buffer
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein a plurality of processing blocks is provided along a width direction, along which the exposure apparatus and the substrate processing system are aligned, with a relay block interposed therebetween, wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system, and wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the relay block. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Although Tsuchiyama discloses a relay block between treatment blocks (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0109]-[0112], [0122]-[0131], relay block BL5) and discloses wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0122]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136), Tsuchiyama does not describe or render obvious wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the relay block.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein a plurality of processing blocks is provided along a width direction, along which the exposure apparatus and the substrate processing system are aligned, with a relay block interposed therebetween, wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system, and wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the relay block. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Although Tsuchiyama discloses a relay block between treatment blocks (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0109]-[0112], [0122]-[0131], relay block BL5) and discloses wherein the second transfer system transfers the substrates between the first processing system and the second processing system (Figs. 11-12, paras. [0122]-[0131], the transfer apparatus 138 transfers wafers W between the wet system 2 and the dry system 3 along transfer path 136), Tsuchiyama does not describe or render obvious wherein, as a transfer of the substrates to the first processing system, the second transfer system transfers the substrates to the relay block.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grzeskowiak et al. (US PGPub 2023/0078946) discloses a wet development track and a dry development chambers in a hybrid development apparatus.
Choi (US PGPub 2018/0308729) discloses a hybrid substrate processing tool equipped with wet and dry development.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882