DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
The foreign priority application No.2021-122884 Filed on July 28, 2021 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2015/0004801).
With regard to claims 1, 9, and 10, Rahman et al. teach a composition comprising zirconium oxide propionate, a polymer, and PGMEA (Composition Example 8 in par.0066).
PGMEA (propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate) is the “solvent” in claim 1, and zirconium oxide propionate is the “metal compound” in claim 1.
Zr is a metal in Group 4 of the Periodic Table, so zirconium oxide propionate meets the limitations of claims 9 and 10.
The polymer comprises repeating units of 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate, benzyl methacrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and glycidyl methacrylate (par.0067).
This polymer is the polymer in claim 1, wherein:
-the 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate repeating unit is a first structural unit of formula (1), wherein R1 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon with 1 carbon atom and R2 is a substituted monovalent hydrocarbon group with 6 carbon atoms; and
- the benzyl methacrylate repeating unit is a second structural unit of formula (2), wherein R3 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon with 1 carbon atom, L is a divalent linking group, n=0, and Ar is a group obtained by removing one hydrogen atom from an unsubstituted aromatic ring.
Therefore, the composition in par.0066 of Rahman et al. anticipates the composition in claims 1, 9, and 10 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 4, the 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate repeating unit is a first structural unit of formula (1), wherein R2 is a chain hydrocarbon with 5 carbon atoms, wherein a part of hydrogen atoms are substituted with fluorine atoms.
The examiner would like to note that a chain hydrocarbon includes a branched hydrocarbon (see par.0083 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claims 7 and 8, the polymer comprises the repeating unit of 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate (claimed first structural unit of formula (1)) in amount of about 22mol%, and the repeating unit of benzyl methacrylate (claimed second structural unit of formula (2)) in an amount of about 22 mol%.
These amounts are within the claimed ranges.
With regard to claims 12 and 15, Rahman et al. teach that the composition is coated onto a silicon wafer and baked to form a film (par.0073, par.0049), which is equivalent to the step of “applying a composition directly to a substrate to form a resist underlayer film” in claims 12 and 15.
The composition comprises zirconium oxide propionate, a polymer, and PGMEA (par.0066).
PGMEA (propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate) is the “solvent” in claims 12 and 15, and zirconium oxide propionate is the “metal compound” in claims 12 and 15.
The polymer comprises repeating units of 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate, benzyl methacrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and glycidyl methacrylate (par.0067).
This polymer is the polymer in claims 12 and 15, wherein:
-the 1,1,1-trifluoro-2-trifluoromethyl-2-hydroxy-4-pentyl methacrylate repeating unit is a first structural unit of formula (1), wherein R1 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon with 1 carbon atom and R2 is a substituted monovalent hydrocarbon group with 6 carbon atoms; and
- the benzyl methacrylate repeating unit is a second structural unit of formula (2), wherein R3 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon with 1 carbon atom, L is a divalent linking group, n=0, and Ar is a group obtained by removing one hydrogen atom from an unsubstituted aromatic ring.
Rahman et al. further teach that a photoresist composition is applied over the film (par.0050),it is image-wise exposed and developed to obtain a photoresist pattern (par.0053). This is equivalent to the step of “forming a resist pattern directly on the resist underlayer film” in claim 12.
The substrate and the layer formed by the composition are etched using the photoresist pattern as a mask (par.0054). This meets the limitations for the step of “forming a pattern on the resist underlayer film by etching using the resist pattern as a mask” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2013/0337179).
With regard to claims 1, 9, and 10, Wang et al. teach a composition comprising HEMA/MMA copolymer, PGMEA, and TYZOR AA-105 (Examples 1-3 in Table 2-1, par.0227).
PGMEA (propylene glycol methyl ether acetate) (par.0196) is the “solvent” in claim 1.
TYZOR AA-105 is represented by the formula:
(par.0186), and it is the “metal compound” in claim 1.
Ti is a metal in Group 4 of the Periodic Table, so TYZOR AA-105 meets the limitations in claims 9 and 10.
HEMA/MMA copolymer, wherein HEMA is 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate and MMA is methyl methacrylate (par.0177-0178) does not meet the limitations for the polymer of claim 1.
However, Wang et al. teach that 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA) is functionally equivalent to OH-styrene as monomer that comprises at least one hydroxyl group in the polymer (A) (abstract, par.0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer of OH-styrene/MMA in the composition of Wang et al., because 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA) and OH-styrene are functionally equivalent as monomer that comprises at least one hydroxyl group in the polymer (A).
A OH-styrene/MMA polymer is a polymer in claim 1, wherein:
-the MMA repeating unit is a structural unit of formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbons group having 1 carbon atom; and
- the OH-styrene repeating unit is a structural unit of formula (2), wherein R3 is a hydrogen atom, L is a single bond, n=0, and Ar is a group obtained by removing one hydrogen atom from an unsubstituted aromatic ring.
Therefore, the composition in claims 1, 9, and 10 is obvious over the composition of Wang et al.
With regard to claim 2, Wang et al. teach that the organometal compound may be present in an amount greater than 75wt% based on the sum of the organometal compound and polymer (par.0027).
The polymer may represent less than 3.33 parts per 10 parts of metal compound, and this range overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claim 3, OH-styrene/MMA polymer meets the limitations for a polymer the MMA repeating unit is a structural unit of formula (1), wherein R2 is an unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbons group having 1 carbon atom.
With regard to claims 7 and 8, OH-styrene/MMA polymer (30/70 w) (see Table 2-1 in par.0227) comprises 27mol% OH-styrene (“second repeating unit”) and 73 mol% MMA (“first repeating unit”). These amounts are within the claimed ranges.
With regard to claim 11, the composition of Example 3 in Table 2-1 comprises TYZOR AA-105 in amount of 4.5% by mass based on all the components of the composition. This amount is within the claimed range.
With regard to claim 15, Wang et al. teach that the composition is spin-coated onto a wafer and it is baked to form a film(par.0232-0233). This step is equivalent to the step of “applying a composition directly to a substrate” in claim 15.
Wang et al. teach a composition comprising HEMA/MMA copolymer, PGMEA, and TYZOR AA-105 (Examples 1-3 in Table 2-1, par.0227).
PGMEA (propylene glycol methyl ether acetate) (par.0196) is the “solvent” in claim 15.
TYZOR AA-105 is represented by the formula:
(par.0186), and it is the “metal compound” in claim 15.
HEMA/MMA copolymer, wherein HEMA is 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate and MMA is methyl methacrylate (par.0177-0178) does not meet the limitations for the polymer of claim 15.
However, Wang et al. teach that 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA) is functionally equivalent to OH-styrene as monomer that comprises at least one hydroxyl group in the polymer (A) (abstract, par.0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer of OH-styrene/MMA in the compositions of Wang et al., because 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA) and OH-styrene are functionally equivalent as monomer that comprises at least one hydroxyl group in the polymer (A).
A OH-styrene/MMA polymer is the polymer in claim 15, wherein:
-the MMA repeating unit is a structural unit of formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbons group having 1 carbon atom; and
- the OH-styrene repeating unit is a structural unit of formula (2), wherein R3 is a hydrogen atom, L is a single bond, n=0, and Ar is a group obtained by removing one hydrogen atom from an unsubstituted aromatic ring.
Claims 1, 5-9, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koumura et al. (US 2014/0220783).
With regard to claim 1, Koumura et al. teach a resist underlayer film-forming composition comprising a polymer (A1), wherein the polymer (A1) may include a structural unit (I) and a structural unit (III) including a -CH2OH group and an aromatic group (par.0038-0039).
The examples of structural unit (I) include structural units of formulas:
, wherein R1 may be a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group (par.0015, par.0042).
The examples of structural unit (III) include structural units of formulas:
(par.0049).
Koumura et al. do not specifically teach the polymer in claim 1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the polymer in claim 1, because Koumura et al. teach a polymer which may comprise a structural unit (I) and a structural unit (III), and provide examples of structural units (I) and structural units (III).
A polymer comprising structural units (I) and (III) in par.0042 and par.0049 of Koumura et al. is a polymer wherein:
-the structural units (I) are equivalent to the first structural unit of formula (1) in claim 1, wherein R1 is a hydrogen atom, or a substituted or unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon group with 1 carbon atom, and R2 is an unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon with 1 to 6 carbon atoms; and
- the structural unit (III) are equivalent to a second structural unit of formula (2) in claim 1, wherein R3 is a hydrogen atom, L is a single bond, n=1, Ar is a group obtained by removing two hydrogen atoms from an unsubstituted aromatic ring, R4 is a monovalent hydroxyalkyl group with 1 carbon atom.
Koumura et al. teach that the resist underlayer film-forming composition further comprises a solvent (par.0126), and a promoter, such as a metal compound (par.0135, par.0138).
With regard to claims 5 and 6, the structural unit (III) in par.0049 of Koumura et al. are equivalent to a second structural unit of formula (2), wherein n=1 and R4 is a monovalent hydroxyalkyl group with 1 carbon atom (monohydroxymethyl group).
With regard to claim 7, Koumura et al. teach that the polymer comprises a structural unit (I) in an amount of preferably 5 to 40mol% (par.0043). This range overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claim 8, Koumura et al. teach that the polymer comprises a structural unit (III) in an amount of preferably 5 to 40mol% (par.0050). This range overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claim 9, Koumura et al. teach that the metal compound may comprise silver, manganese, osmium, copper, iron, nickel (par.0139). These metals belong to Groups 3 to 16 of the Periodic Table.
With regard to claims 12, 14, and 15, Koumura et al. teach a method comprising the steps of:
-forming a resist underlayer film on a substrate using the resist underlayer film-forming composition;
-forming a silicon-based oxide film on the surface of the resist underlayer film;
-applying a resist composition to the surface of the silicon-based oxide film, followed by exposure, heating, and development to form a resist pattern;
-sequentially dry-etching the silicon-based oxide film and the resist underlayer film using the resist pattern as a mask (par.0146).
The step of forming a silicon-based oxide film on the surface of the resist underlayer film of Koumura et al. is the step of “applying a composition for forming a resist underlayer film directly to a substrate to form a resist underlayer film” in claims 12 and 15.
The step of forming a silicon-based oxide film on the surface of the resist underlayer film of Koumura et al. meets the limitations of claim 14.
The step of applying a resist composition to the surface of the silicon-based oxide film, followed by exposure, heating, and development to form a resist pattern of Koumura et al. is the step of “forming a resist pattern indirectly on the resist underlayer film” in claim 12.
The step of sequentially dry-etching the silicon-based oxide film and the resist underlayer film using the resist pattern as a mask of Koumura et al. is the step of “forming a pattern on the resist underlayer film by etching using the resist pattern as a mask” in claim 12.
The resist underlayer film-forming composition comprises a polymer (A1), wherein the polymer (A1) may include a structural unit (I) and a structural unit (III) including a -CH2OH group and an aromatic group (par.0038-0039).
The examples of structural unit (I) include structural units of formulas:
, wherein R1 may be a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group (par.0015, par.0042).
The examples of structural unit (III) include structural units of formulas:
(par.0049).
Koumura et al. do not specifically teach the polymer in claims 12 and 15.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the polymer in claims 12 and 15, because Koumura et al. teach a polymer which may comprise a structural unit (I) and a structural unit (III), and provide examples of structural units (I) and structural units (III).
A polymer comprising structural units (I) and (III) in par.0042 and par.0049 of Koumura et al. is a polymer wherein:
-the structural units (I) are equivalent to the first structural unit of formula (1) in claims 12 and 15, wherein R1 is a hydrogen atom, or a substituted or unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon group with 1 carbon atom, and R2 is an unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon with 1 to 6 carbon atoms; and
- the structural unit (III) are equivalent to a second structural unit of formula (2) in claims 12 and 15, wherein R3 is a hydrogen atom, L is a single bond, n=1, Ar is a group obtained by removing two hydrogen atoms from an unsubstituted aromatic ring, R4 is a monovalent hydroxyalkyl group with 1 carbon atom.
Koumura et al. teach that the resist underlayer film-forming composition further comprises a solvent (par.0126), and a promoter, such as a metal compound (par.0135, par.0138).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (US 2015/0004801) in view of Ootsubo et al. (WO 2020/241712, with citations from the English equivalent US 2022/0075267).
With regard to claims 13 and 14, Rahman et al. teach the method of claim 12 (see paragraph 5 above), but fail to teach a step of forming an organic underlayer film or a silicon-containing film directly or indirectly on the resist underlayer film.
Ootsubo et al. teach a film-forming composition comprising a metal compound, an organic compound, and a solvent. The film-forming composition forms a resist underlayer film on a substrate, then a resist film is coated, exposed, and developed (abstract).
Ootsubo et al. further teach that an organic underlayer film or a silicon-containing film may be formed on the resist underlayer film before applying a resist layer (par.0183-0193).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to form an organic underlayer film or a silicon-containing film on the film formed with the composition of Rahman et al. and before forming a resist layer, because these types of intermediate layers are conventionally used in the art.
Conclusion
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722