Claim(s) 1, 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference teaches a system for sublimation growth process of a semiconductor, silicon carbide, note entire reference and translation. The system has a crucible with a longitudinal axis. There is a means to fix a seed at one end and the starting material at the other end, note figure 1, translation page 6. There is a heating system which surrounds the crucible, note figure and page 6. The heater creates heating along the longitudinal axis. The system includes a thermal insulation unit that surround the crucible that has a radial or axial asymmetric form to compensate for irregular temperature field ,note figure 1 and translation page 3.
With respect to claim 2, the Gao reference teaches a heating means with is induction coils to heat translation page 6.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the type of carbon insulation. The Gao reference does teach carbon as an insulation material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to have carbon in the form of a felt (instant claim 3) or bendable sheet (instant claim 4) in the Gao reference in order to shape the insulation to the desired form increasing the uniformity on the temperature in the crucible.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the metal strut heating member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to use a metal struct in the Gao reference in order to hold the heating coils in place and stable during the process.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the heating tube arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to arrange the heating tubes as wanted in the Gao reference in order to create the desired temperature profile across the crucible as the tube place with materially affect the heating.
Claim(s) 8 to 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the shape of the insulation including slots, gaps and trenches. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to have a various shape insulation including slots, trenches and gaps in the Gao reference in order to create and adjust the temperature profile, noting the reference does teach creating a uniform profile using the insulation.
Claim(s) 13 to 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (CN-109280976).
The Gao reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the growth rate, mean value and circumference. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable growth rate, mean value in the Gao reference in order to have a uniformly grown silicon carbide on a substrate.
With respect to claim 15, the Gao reference teaches the circumference to be the outer of the grown crystal, note fig 1.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in silicon carbide sublimation growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714