DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/423,515 filed on May 06, 2026.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Display Device Comprising Multiple Anti-reflection Layers for Controlling External Light Reflectance”.
Election/Restrictions
6. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17, w.r.t. Species II (Figs. 5-6), in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged.
7. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
8. Claims 2, 10, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the following, the claims should be recited to avoid indefiniteness due to lack of antecedent basis, and/or smooth flow of claim languages/phrases:
2. (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 1, wherein a first surface of the first passivation layer contacts the overcoat layer, a second surface
a first surface of the second passivation layer contacts the second refractive layer, and a second surface of the second passivation layer contacts the outer refractive layer.
10. (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 1, wherein when an external light is applied to the display device, at least a portion of the external light is reflected at an outer surface of the outer refractive layer or at an interface between the second passivation layer and the second refractive layer, and is provided as first reflected light of which a phase is inverted with respect to a phase of the at least a portion of the external light, and
at least another portion of the external light is reflected at an interface between the first refractive layer and the second refractive layer or at an interface between the first passivation layer and the first refractive layer and is provided as second reflected light of which a phase is maintained with respect to a phase of the at least another portion of the external light.
11. (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 10, wherein at least a portion of the first reflected light and at least a portion of the second reflected light dissipated by destructive interference with each other.
Appropriate corrections are needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
13. Claims 1-9, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2022/0320471 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2022/0357485 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lim et al. a display device comprising (Figs. 4A, 5):
a display layer (DP-ED, para [0072]);
an overcoat layer (OC, para [0070]) disposed on the display layer (DP-ED) and including an organic material (see para [0108]); and
an anti-reflection layer (ARL, para [0109]) disposed on the overcoat layer (OC),
wherein the anti-reflection layer (ARL, Fig. 5, para [0113]) comprises:
a first passivation layer (IL1);
a first refractive layer (IL2) disposed on the first passivation layer (IL1) and having a first refractive index;
a second refractive layer (IL3) disposed on the first refractive layer (IL2) and having a second refractive index;
Lim et al. is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, the anti-reflection layer comprises:
a second passivation layer disposed on the second refractive layer; and
an outer refractive layer disposed on the second passivation layer and having an outer refractive index,
wherein the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer include an oxide,
the first refractive index is less than the second refractive index, and
the outer refractive index is less than the first refractive index.
Kobayashi et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), the anti-reflection layer (40, para [0034]) comprises:
a first passivation layer (41, para [0034] lower stack);
a first refractive layer (42, para [0034] lower stack) disposed on the first passivation layer (41 lower stack) and having a first refractive index (1.20-1.60, para [0045]);
a second refractive layer (41 upper stack) disposed on the first refractive layer (42 lower stack) and having a second refractive index (2.00-2.60, para [0044]);
a second passivation layer (42 upper stack) disposed on the second refractive layer (41 upper stack); and
an outer refractive layer (50, para [0021] fluorocarbons, para [0035]) disposed on the second passivation layer (42 upper stack) and having an outer refractive index (1.35-1.42 well known for fluorocarbons),
wherein the first passivation layer (41 lower stack) and the second passivation layer (42 upper stack) include an oxide (titanium oxide, para [0045], silicon oxide, para [0045]),
the first refractive index (of 42: 1.60) is less than the second refractive index (of 41: 2.00-2.60), and
the outer refractive index (of 50: 1.42) is less than the first refractive index (of 42: 1.60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Kobayashi et al. modify the anti-reflection layer with the multi-layer anti-reflection layers on the display structure of Lim et al., in order to achieve high infrared transmittance, excellent flexibility, and make the color tone of reflected light neutral (para [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
The combination of Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teaches wherein, a first surface (lower surface) of the first passivation layer (41 lower stack) contacts the overcoat layer (OC), a second surface (upper surface) opposite to the first surface of the first passivation layer (41) contacts the first refractive layer (42),
a first surface of the second passivation layer (42) contacts the second refractive layer (41), and a second surface of the second passivation layer (42) contacts the outer refractive layer (50).
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Kobayashi et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), an outer surface of the outer refractive layer (50) is exposed to an outside such that the outer refractive layer (50) forms an outermost structure of the display device (combination of Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches a display device comprising (Fig. 5), the first refractive layer (IL1) includes silicon oxynitride (SiOxNy) (SiON, para [0115]), and
the second refractive layer (IL2) includes silicon nitride (SiNx, para [0115]).
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), the outer refractive layer (50) includes one or more among silica, an organic material (fluorocarbons, para [0035]) at least partially substituted with a fluorine group, an inorganic material at least partially substituted with a fluorine group, and an organic/inorganic hybrid material at least partially substituted with a fluorine group.
Regarding claim 6, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
The combination of Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teaches wherein, the first passivation layer (IL1) and the second passivation layer (42) include silicon oxide (SiOx) (para [0114], Lim et al. and para [0045], Kobayashi et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Kobayashi et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), the first refractive index is in a range of 1.60 to 1.69 (1.60),
the second refractive index is in a range of 1.70 to 2.10 (2.0), and
the outer refractive index is in a range of 1.23 to 1.40 (1.35).
Regarding claim 8, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Kobayashi et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), a thickness (41nm) of the second passivation (42) is less than a thickness (53nm) of each of the first refractive layer (41), the second refractive layer (42), the first passivation layer (41), and the outer refractive layer (50).
Regarding claim 9, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 8 from which this claim depends.
The combination of Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. discloses wherein, the first refractive layer (42, Fig. 1, Kobayashi et al.) has the thickness in a range of 50 nanometers (nm) to 150 nm (53nm, see abstract, considering the upper limit),
the second refractive layer (41) has the thickness in a range of 50 nm to 150 nm (52nm, see abstract, considering the upper limit),
the first passivation layer (IL1, Fig. 5, Lim et al.) has the thickness in a range of from 200 nm to 300 nm (150nm, para [0132]),
the outer refractive layer (50) has the thickness in a range of 1 nm to 10 nm (para [0035], Fig. 1, Kobayashi et al.), and
the second passivation layer (42) has the thickness in a range of 20 nm to 50 nm (41nm, see abstract, considering the lower limit).
However, Lim et al. or Kobayashi et al. is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein the outer refractive layer has the thickness in a range of 50 nm to 150 nm. It would have been obvious to select intended ‘thickness of the outer refractive layer’ to be within the quoted range, to achieve high infrared transmittance. In addition, to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thickness or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen thickness or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen thickness is critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), further comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels (B, G, R) forming sub-pixel areas (para [0067]), respectively,
wherein the anti-reflection layer (ARL) includes an inorganic material (para [0114], Fig. 5) disposed over the sub-pixel areas (para [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Figs. 4A, 5), the overcoat layer (OC) and the first passivation layer (IL1) are combined with each other without an adhesive layer interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 14, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), further comprising:
a color conversion layer (CCL) disposed on the display layer (DP-ED) and including a quantum-dot (QD1, QD2, para [0096]); and
a color filter layer (CFL, para [0070]) disposed on the color conversion layer (CCL) and configured to selectively transmit light of one color (this is a functional limitation/an intended use).
Regarding claim 15, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), the display layer (DP-ED) includes an organic light emitting diode (para [0060]).
Regarding claim 16, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), the overcoat layer (OC) forms a base on which the anti-reflection layer (ARL) is disposed.
Regarding claim 17, Lim et al. and Kobayashi et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 16 from which this claim depends.
Lim et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 4A), the overcoat layer (OC) has a thickness in a range of 3 micrometers (μm) to 10 μm (para [0134]).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim 10 (claim 11 depends on the claim 10) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 10 is allowed because all prior arts to include those on record either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious of a display device comprising:
Claim 10 recites …. wherein when an external light is applied to the display device, at least a portion of the external light is reflected at an outer surface of the outer refractive layer or at an interface between the second passivation layer and the second refractive layer, and is provided as first reflected light of which a phase is inverted with respect to a phase of the at least a portion of the external light, and
at least another portion of the external light is reflected at an interface between the first refractive layer and the second refractive layer or at an interface between the first passivation layer and the first refractive layer and is provided as second reflected light of which a phase is maintained with respect to a phase of the at least another portion of the external light.
15. Prior arts made of record in PTO-892 and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: the prior arts, Lim et al. (US 2022/0320471 A1) and Kobayashi et al. (US 2022/0357485 A1) are cited as close prior arts, wherein Lim et al. depicts the similar structure of the display device comprising display device with anti-reflection layers, and Kobayashi et al. discloses multiple anti-reflection layers with passivation layers. However, the prior arts do not disclose the limitations recited in claim 10, therefore, either by itself or in combination with other arts fail to disclose the quoted limitation in the section 14.
Examiner’s Note
16. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812